Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Covid19 Part XIX-25,802 in ROI (1,753 deaths) 5,859 in NI (556 deaths) (21/07)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

I would hate to put my children through that test; the nasal swabbing looks intense!
    I would get them tested if they needed it though (hopefully they never will)

What if they are being swabbed as a requirement of a return to fully open schools?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

The contact tracing app is available for iOS on the App Store this evening

https://apps.apple.com/ie/app/covid-tracker-ireland/id1505596721

Just downloaded it. I would be a person that wants the economy fully open and this will help us get back to some kind of normality.

fr336 wrote: »
    How long until certain anti mask, anti lockdown, anti restriction people pipe up and say "Contract tracing app? I'm not givin dem my details, invasion of privacy init!"

South Korea, you have to sign a form allowing them access to your phone contacts, location etc on entering the country and you upload the app .
    Saw it a good few weeks ago on TV but surprised it has not arrived here yet.
    Imagine the reactions at the airport ..

Edit , just overlapped posts
    Do you have to have an iPhone for the app?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,676 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Honestly can't see there being a big pick up on the COVID app. I have it downloaded and passed it on to my friends but like if it wasn't for Boards I wouldn't have a clue.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,699 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Is it available on the Google app store yet?

No. Perhaps tomorrow? I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,384 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

it is available on play store now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,665 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

alentejo wrote: »
    What happened in Dame Lane during the weekend was wrong! end of. However, being outside the chances of catching covid are reduced by a factor of ten. ie. being outside you are a lot less prone to catching the disease.

I thing AGS and DCC should very quickly have a plan for the 20th of July to allow outdoor drinking which is safe. I think you can have a balance between some sort of crowd control and out door gatherings, however needs to be controlled.

The majority of pub owners should / will be / are responsible ..

I think pubs reopening will be pushed to beyond July 20th because of this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

Ineedaname wrote: »
    There's a bit more to that story now in fairness. It wasn't just because of the cigarette lighter. They were illegally carpooling and socialising with the guests. Apparently some were even sleeping with them.

Sad state of affairs when the Sun provides more complete information

http://www.thesun.ie/news/world-news/5615296/australia-melbourne-spike-sex-hotels/amp/

What happened in Dame Lane during the weekend was wrong! end of. However, being outside the chances of catching covid are reduced by a factor of ten. ie. being outside you are a lot less prone to catching the disease.

I thing AGS and DCC should very quickly have a plan for the 20th of July to allow outdoor drinking which is safe. I think you can have a balance between some sort of crowd control and out door gatherings, however needs to be controlled.

+1 this .
    Seated at tables outside or move on ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Honestly can't see there being a big pick up on the COVID app. I have it downloaded and passed it on to my friends but like if it wasn't for Boards I wouldn't have a clue.

It’s to officially launch at 11am tomorrow so I’m sure there’ll be press releases about it in the morning.

I'm hoping there'll be a big take-up but not sure if it will happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,687 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

it is available on play store now

2% with symptoms :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,842 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

I don't know how after 20th July will work tbh. If there's no requirement for meals there likely won't be prebooking so nocontact details taken so contact tracing an issue.

If there's no meals ore prebooking people will hardly be still made to sit down? And if no prebooking, does the time limit go out the window too? Otherwise how are they meant to keep track of how long people were in the pub?

I think pubs may have to manage how many people they let in with 1m distance but not sure how that works if people aren't sitting down. I think it could get fairly messy.

But agree, need to have more street furniture outside pubs and tbh street furniture in general and more pedestrainisation of streets like Princes Street in Cork. Compared to rest of Europe we have barely any street furniture.

I'm hoping there'll be a big take-up but not sure if it will happen.

I’m optimistic about it tbh. I know places like Singapore only had a 14% uptake but there was certainly a sense here of people putting their shoulder to the wheel to help at the start of all this. I’m sure there’ll be a vocal minority on social media saying it’s an invasion of privacy, or other that claim it’ll miss some interactions, etc. But it’s just another tool to help in the overall scheme of things.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,302 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Goldengirl wrote: »
    +1 this .
    Seated at tables outside or move on ?

Its been happening for weeks, I'm not sure why people think this weekend is new. During the warm weather the canal was jammed every day, last 3 weeks its been camden street/wexford street & Dame Lane area.

Secondly as the gardai said today it was a public order issue. Bags of cans isn't a pubs issue to be fair. They arrived up, without bookings and when groups couldn't get in anywhere, people went off around to the spar got cans and stood in the street drinking, some got takeaway pints but the vast majority was cans. Heard the same thing from multiple people working in bars around the area. The pubs stuck to the guidelines are didn't let them in and instead of fcuking off home people hung around for a few hours before eventually the Gardaí decided it was time to go home, they didn't bother until late in the evening, they let it go most of the day.

Drinking in the street is an issue for the Gardaí. DCC won't allow outdoor seating in parts of Dame Lane its too small.

fritzelly wrote: »

Thatll be all over the shop at the start from people playing around to see what the app can and cannot do. When I downloaded it about an hour ago it was at 22 checkins. Now at >600. Not terrible for something that was released quietly until tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,981 ✭✭✭spookwoman

Lot of little sh*ts will be putting in symptoms

Thatll be all over the shop at the start from people playing around to see what the app can and cannot do. When I downloaded it about an hour ago it was at 22 checkins. Now at >600. Not terrible for something that was released quietly until tomorrow.

Be funny if everyone says I have symptoms - NPHET will be like WTF

Anyone have a link to the play store download?

Just search covid tracker

Can you submit your symptoms, arrange a test + get your results via the app?

• Registered Users Posts: 410 ✭✭Icantthinkof1

What if they are being swabbed as a requirement of a return to fully open schools?

I don’t think I would consent for my children to be swabbed considering no one with the exception of healthcare staff are being routinely tested I think to inflict that on children would be wrong.
    Although I would consent to them having a swab to their throat it’s the nose one I have an issue with

Covid tracker ireland or search HSE and its there

Can you submit your symptoms, arrange a test + get your results via the app?

Nope - it's only for contact tracing if you are matched with someone who has it and then the app lets you know and then you can manually arrange a test

Be funny if everyone says I have symptoms - NPHET will be like WTF

No. They will use it to justify a further lock down.

Covid tracker ireland or search HSE and its there
    I need the link to send a friend they wouldn't be the best at finding things

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.covidtracker.hse

https://covidtracker.gov.ie/

Nope - it's only for contact tracing if you are matched with someone who has it and then the app lets you know and then you can manually arrange a test

Maybe it will help with the madness of the Autumn when there will be colds and flu (probably less than normal) and people are a bit more panicked.

thanks all.

thanks all.

App has a share feature which might come in handy, hit share and sends on the link to whoever you want.

I'd say they'll be relying on people doing that for it to get decent usage figures

The app's at nearly 5k downloads now, that was quick.

3555 check-ins

spookwoman wrote: »
    3555 check-ins

And over 6,000 app registrations.

The app's at nearly 5k downloads now, that was quick.

Downloaded. Did not give my phone number though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

How does app record who is infected, if they check-in with symptoms on the app? Also of Bluetooth is switched off, or your phone goes onto Airplane Mode, I presume it doesn't work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Downloaded and invited several work colleagues to download it also.

How does app record who is infected, if they check-in with symptoms on the app? Also of Bluetooth is switched off, or your phone goes onto Airplane Mode, I presume it doesn't work?

If you test positive then you upload your ID's so the app can notify other users you were in contact with - the phone periodically checks if you have been near that ID
    If BT is off then it cannot work

Its been happening for weeks, I'm not sure why people think this weekend is new. During the warm weather the canal was jammed every day, last 3 weeks its been camden street/wexford street & Dame Lane area.

Secondly as the gardai said today it was a public order issue. Bags of cans isn't a pubs issue to be fair. They arrived up, without bookings and when groups couldn't get in anywhere, people went off around to the spar got cans and stood in the street drinking, some got takeaway pints but the vast majority was cans. Heard the same thing from multiple people working in bars around the area. The pubs stuck to the guidelines are didn't let them in and instead of fcuking off home people hung around for a few hours before eventually the Gardaí decided it was time to go home, they didn't bother until late in the evening, they let it go most of the day.

Drinking in the street is an issue for the Gardaí. DCC won't allow outdoor seating in parts of Dame Lane its too small.

Well then make it a public order offence to be drinking outdoors until they are happy it's not a risk to health anymore anymore. People won't hang around as much without alcohol,and the guards should be moving them on if so .
    The guards have to make more of an effort to ensure that there isn't more of this heaving in the streets,. It's just going to cause upset amongst the vast majority of people taking this seriously .
    I know you and others don't think there is much of a risk anymore , I respect that is your opinion . But we just don't know what way this will go, imo , and I have no faith in our present Minister for Health and Taoiseach to act quickly if we do see outbreaks , after the indecisiveness of the last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Well then make it a public order offence to be drinking outdoors until they are happy it's not a risk to health anymore anymore. People won't hang around as much without alcohol,and the guards should be moving them on if so .
    The guards have to make more of an effort to ensure that there isn't more of this heaving in the streets,. It's just going to cause upset amongst the vast majority of people taking this seriously .
    I know you and others don't think there is much of a risk anymore , Irespect that is your opinion . But we just don't know what way this will go, imo , and I have no faith in our present Minister for Health and Taoiseach to act quickly if we do see outbreaks , after the indecisiveness of the last week.

Surely drinking outdoors is actually safer if anything. Putting some actual organisation around it may be a better approach than forcing everyone indoors

Over 10k downloads of the app now and over 5000 check ins

AdamD wrote: »
    Surely drinking outdoors is actually safer if anything. Putting some actual organisation around it may be a better approach than forcing everyone indoors

Yes, that's what we were saying about tables outside?
    But the other poster replied that DCC would not allow that .. it's a few posts back .

I know you and others don't think there is much of a risk anymore , I respect that is your opinion . But we just don't know what way this will go, imo , and I have no faith in our present Minister for Health and Taoiseach to act quickly if we do see outbreaks , after the indecisiveness of the last week.

While its not illegal in general to drink in public that does depend on the bye laws of the area your in. Im fairly sure DCC have a byelaw that public drinking is illegal, I'd need to double check, but saying that if that is the case (I'm 90% certain it is) that comes down to being a policing issue for the Gardaí.

I've heard a few people now saying that the Gardaí were stopping and getting into photos with anyone that asked and only started asking people to move on much later into the evening after the bad PR had started.

In terms of my opinion on risk, yes its currently low I feel, the chances of catching it are very very small. I'd be more worried if this gathering had been indoors than outdoors, I'd have no issue being in an outdoor crowd myself. Thats not to say I'd want to be drinking in Dame Lane, I've better things to be at or I'll just book a table in a pub.
    But people are going to have to get used to see groups as gatherings of 500 are allowed from 20th July.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

their seems genuine excitement about this new app on here lol

MD1990 wrote: »
    their seems genuine excitement about this new app on here lol

If enough download it, contact tracing will be quick and will help knock out any cluster or outbreak. We don’t want to lockdown again!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭ElTel

@Martina1991

With such low numbers of positives atm could, or perhaps should they be doing batch testing instead?
    I'm not sure that's the correct term but if 50 (say) swabs are given one test, testing speeds up and you and other techs workload would be more efficient?

I'm not sure if a swab can be "halved" though.

I've found your posts very informative the last few months and appreciate all the work your still doing in these testing times. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,904 ✭✭✭Polar101

I think the way the Gardai have handled this isn't the best.. Dame Lane is such an obvious place for a drunk crowd gathering that if they really wanted (or could) do something about it, they would have. Now they didn't do much, since the crowds were allowed to gather there. So the "this isn't good" tweets are a bit disingenious.

While its not illegal in general to drink in public that does depend on the bye laws of the area your in. Im fairly sure DCC have a byelaw that public drinking is illegal, I'd need to double check, but saying that if that is the case (I'm 90% certain it is) that comes down to being a policing issue for the Gardaí.

I've heard a few people now saying that the Gardaí were stopping and getting into photos with anyone that asked and only started asking people to move on much later into the evening after the bad PR had started.

In terms of my opinion on risk, yes its currently low I feel, the chances of catching it are very very small. I'd be more worried if this gathering had been indoors than outdoors, I'd have no issue being in an outdoor crowd myself. Thats not to say I'd want to be drinking in Dame Lane, I've better things to be at or I'll just book a table in a pub.
    But people are going to have to get used to see groups as gatherings of 500 are allowed from 20th July.

Yes . Pissed off really cos was meant to be at a concert on Saturday night, which was cancelled , then see that video on social media !
    Feels like one law for some , and another for others :(