Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donald Trump Presidency discussion Thread VIII (threadbanned users listed in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Half of one percent difference triggers an automatic recount in Georgia. Its happening independent of any of the nonsense on view from the Trump campaign. The Sec State seems like a good guy.

He wouldn't be averse to the old purges and voter suppression tbh but he seems to be playing this straight and isn't overly concerned with the presidential race moreso with the senate races and control of the senate.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Joe Manchin would like to run in 2024 and he makes a lot of sense for democrat's (in some way, in others he's a non runner of course). For that to happen he needs to be able to display independence to continue to appeal to the moderate republican voters he would be seen to do well with.

I don't think he will get the nod for the run for the president but he would be mad to throw away the good position he has put himself in as a pragmatic, can work with both sides and seemingly morally sound politician. Wouldn't agree with everything he says or does of course but he has a thin line to thread and he walks it well.

He will be an asset to a Biden presidency too in bringing some of his like minded but republican colleagues on board on certain issues. I think McConnell will still wreak havoc naturally and it would be better for all if he had been sent back to the minority at the very least but it looks like Biden will have a placeholder presidency for the most part, hopefully he can achieve some good with his own senate connections and the likes of Manchin to help.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,825 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

He wouldn't be averse to the old purges and voter suppression tbh but he seems to be playing this straight and isn't overly concerned with the presidential race moreso with the senate races and control of the senate.

It looks like Perdue is running scared of the Georgia run-off election between him & [D] Jon Ossoff in Jan and Loeffler is facing [D] Warnock in the same run-off elections.

Two days ago, another GOP senator Roy Blunt was publicly telling Trump to concede, today he's changed his tune, he's advising Trump to continue NOT conceding. Edited to insert Roy Blunt.

Edit: I had a look at the latest voting stats putting the GOP ahead of the Dems by two senators. Now if the GOP lost Loeffler [which seems certain if the vote numbers keep going as they are] and Perdue were to be overtaken by Ossoff either presently or in the run-off, then it would likely be a dead heat when the Senate voted on any issue, causing the Vice President to be called in to break the vote deadlock. The Senate run-off elections are on 05 Jan, the swearing-in of Biden on the 20 Jan.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Half of one percent difference triggers an automatic recount in Georgia. Its happening independent of any of the nonsense on view from the Trump campaign. The Sec State seems like a good guy.

Just saw him being interviewed by Wolf Blitzer. You could see he was absolutely petrified he might say the wrong thing, i.e. that which might bring the wrath of Trump down on him.

Hard to blame him, considering the ire Trump aimed at Philadelphia City Commissioner Al Schmidt, a Republican, who has defended the integrity of elections in the city.

• Registered Users Posts: 900 ✭✭✭Midlife

If any fact lays bare Trump's character and why he's unfit to be president it's that he hasn't done a thing now for 10 days.

The country's doing worse with Covid than ever, the same problems exist all over and basically all he's done since the election is fire a guy and play the odd game of golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Midlife wrote: »
    If any fact lays bare Trump's character and why he's unfit to be president it's that he hasn't done a thing now for 10 days.

The country's doing worse with Covid than ever, the same problems exist all over and basically all he's done since the election is fire a guy and play the odd game of golf.

For someone who doesn't sleep much he spends hardly any time doing anything productive. Executive time appears to be all that is on the schedule these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

You have to feel it for The Donald, if he were president of Russia, North Korea, or Iraq in previous years then he could hang on for however long he wanted, he’s just unfortunate that he’s American.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

Trump appoints another loyalist (and Senate Rejected) General into a high ranking Pentagon role.

Trump Installs Senate-Rejected Retired General As Pentagon Policy Chief
    https://www.defenseone.com/policy/2020/11/anthony-tata-named-undersecretary-policy/169926/

What is he up to?
    In June, Trump named Tata to the top policy post, but could not persuade the Senate Armed Services Committee to usher him to the floor for a vote. Tata drew fire for falsely saying that former President Barack Obama was a “terrorist leader” and a Muslim. He has pushed conspiracy theories on Twitter that former CIA Director John Brennan sought to overthrow Trump and even to have him assassinated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

I am almost to the point where I actually hope Trump manages to get around the election result.

The US voters sleepwalked into picking him in 2016, and then eyes wide open 72m+ voted for him again. They almost deserve their entire structures to crumble at this point.

The only issue, of course, is the knock-on effect across the rest of the world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,768 ✭✭✭abff

Leroy42 wrote: »
    I am almost to the point where I actually hope Trump manages to get around the election result.

The US voters sleepwalked into picking him in 2016, and then eyes wide open 72m+ voted for him again. They almost deserve their entire structures to crumble at this point.

Your statement doesn’t make any sense. What about the 77m+ who voted against him? Do they also deserve to be punished?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,375 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

BluePlanet wrote: »
    Trump appoints another loyalist (and Senate Rejected) General into a high ranking Pentagon role.

Trump Installs Senate-Rejected Retired General As Pentagon Policy Chief
    https://www.defenseone.com/policy/2020/11/anthony-tata-named-undersecretary-policy/169926/

What is he up to?
    Theories going around that they're trying to find out what the US Intelligence services have on Trump. Get bendy people into the top slots at the pentagon and they get the clearance to see this stuff. Allegedly.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,265 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Leroy42 wrote: »

I hope he doesn't get around the result as I see the US as being more than sufficiently anti-democratic as things are.

That said, part of me hopes he refuses to vacate his office despite the official result being a Biden victory. The US system's checks and balances clearly need a major rethink and this could well be the catalyst.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,828 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

prawnsambo wrote: »
    Theories going around that they're trying to find out what the US Intelligence services have on Trump. Get bendy people into the top slots at the pentagon and they get the clearance to see this stuff. Allegedly.

There's a degree of logic to that , but surely as POTUS he could just ask for it?

He has the power to request access to anything I would have thought..

It's not like subtlety is a trait of his.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,379 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

I hope he doesn't get around the result as I see the US as being more than sufficiently anti-democratic as things are.

That said, part of me hopes he refuses to vacate his office despite the official result being a Biden victory. The US system's checks and balances clearly need a major rethink and this could well be the catalyst.

It would so gratifying to see him being escorted out of The White House in handcuffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Trump has been retweeting accounts bashing Fox News and supporting NewsMax. He then tweeted this out:

https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/1326920264203046915

Feels like he's moved onto a new stage in the grieving process.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,828 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

If nothing else , Trump has shattered the illusion that they have "Checks & Balances"

Not unlike some of the discoveries made in the UK during Brexit most of their presumed "controls" were actually just convention or based on an assumption that all sides would act in good faith.

If a Biden administration achieved little else ,codifying and giving teeth to those checks & balances would be a massive step forward.

mourning the future & sour grapes

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,265 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

It would so gratifying to see him being escorted out of The White House in handcuffs.

That, sure if I'm being honest. But more than that it simply isn't acceptable to have so corrupt and venal a president who's so overtly acting in his own interests and not those of the American people.

The GOP are little more than a craven peronsality cult at this stage who'll need to figure out what their next move will be once he's removed one way or another. As far as I can tell, the only thing that's held Trump back in office is his the fact that the man is completely and utterly incapable of anything save for spouting conspiracy theories on Twitter, fawning over tyrants and patting himself on the back.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

Unless Trump has some backers with deep pockets, he is not going to be setting up his own network as he has no funds of his own and no bank will touch him

Quin_Dub wrote: »
    If nothing else , Trump has shattered the illusion that they have "Checks & Balances"

Not unlike some of the discoveries made in the UK during Brexit most of their presumed "controls" were actually just convention or based on an assumption that all sides would act in good faith.

If a Biden administration achieved little else ,codifying and giving teeth to those checks & balances would be a massive step forward.

Will a Biden administration even be able to do anything since the supreme court has been perverted to the point where it's just a tool of the American right?

In fairness, it remains to be seen how the new Justice will act but it's not encouraging.

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭hirondelle

kilns wrote: »
    Unless Trump has some backers with deep pockets, he is not going to be setting up his own network as he has no funds of his own and no bank will touch him

His grand business idea has been latterly to licence the Trump "brand"- so he doesn't do any of the investing, the licencees pay him for the privilege of using his name. Trump News is what the cultists really want so something like OANN would probably be interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,236 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Trump has been retweeting accounts bashing Fox News and supporting NewsMax. He then tweeted this out:

https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/1326920264203046915

Time of death of the Donald trump and Fox News love fest is 4:10pm on November 12th, 2020. It was coming and you could see it with anchors like Bret baier getting lots of tweets saying how Trump voters will no longer watch and Fox News is gone.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

hirondelle wrote: »
    His grand business idea has been latterly to licence the Trump "brand"- so he doesn't do any of the investing, the licencees pay him for the privilege of using his name. Trump News is what the cultists really want so something like OANN would probably be interested.

Thats true, however it will always remain in the backround I believe. Murdoch is powerful enough to bury him if he wants and Murdoch only cares about the bottom line and if Trump comes after Fox News he will be destroyed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,687 ✭✭✭✭looksee

A opinion writer on MSNBC is suggesting that Trump is an inevitable pick for 2024 because he has sorted out the top end of the GOP so that syncophants are running the show, and he has a huge following to build on. Not convinced, but its an alarming thought.

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭hirondelle

kilns wrote: »
    Thats true, however it will always remain in the backround I believe. Murdoch is powerful enough to bury him if he wants and Murdoch only cares about the bottom line and if Trump comes after Fox News he will be destroyed

Oh I wouldn't doubt that- I was really responding to the point that he couldn't raise the money himself to start one.

You could see him ending up broadcasting from Waynes World's basement.

Schwwwinng.

Quin_Dub wrote: »

Since the English Civil War, Parliament's authority has always been supreme in a de facto sense here. It's effectively a 650-person dictatorship with very few tangible constraints. Convention and a sense of fair play as it turn out are poor substitutes for proper rules and institutions.

That said, one thing about Boris Johnson is that I can't ever see him acting anywhere near as badly as Trump. The man at least has an idea of what a statesman should be and how he should act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,722 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Donald J. Trump

@FoxNews daytime ratings have completely collapsed. Weekend daytime even WORSE. Very sad to watch this happen, but they forgot what made them successful, what got them there. They forgot the Golden Goose. The biggest difference between the 2016 Election, and 2020, was @FoxNews!
    The rage at Fox News abandoning Trump is palpable.

Meanwhile the trickle of Republicans coming out to recognise the Biden victory continues. At some stage, there will be enough of a critical mass of Republicans there that they will have no choice but to make Donald give up, or else cut him loose. Trump of course is showing no signs of standing down. I think it's going to get ugly soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

How much of his time do you think he spends thinking up hair-brained schemes to remain?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Duke of Url

I think one of the biggest dangers is when he leaves office he will still receive intelligence briefings.

What he does with that information after Jan 20th and a lack of advisers will be interesting and potentially dangerous.

I think one of the biggest dangers is when he leaves office he will still receive intelligence briefings.

What he does with that information after Jan 20th and a lack of advisers will be interesting and potentially dangerous.

He doesn't bother reading them anyway by all accounts, I don't see that changing.