Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Have you ever been on a tacky holiday

• 01-07-2020 9:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,260 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

You know the type, queues of chungwans waiting to get into some supermassive drinking place with dance music pumping. Tackiest place I've been is pace ville in Malta but I am aware it can get a whole lot worse than that. Does anyone have some good tales from visiting the likes of Shagaluf and the codology that goes on there. I have never been to Spain at all but I might go once this corona thing blows over so would be delighted if someone could let me know what to expect

I am not having a go at Spain in case anyone is wondering. I would book the ferry and take the car over and tour around seeing the sights but probably head to a tacky area for a day or two just to see the carry on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,322 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Benalmadena....21 just finished college went with a gang of uni friends.
    I have never drunk so much in my entire life.

The highlights included
    - Sitting up all night drinking waiting for the sun to rise....only to realize it had already rose behind us...
    -Winning a dirty dancing contest!

Would I change the holiday. No.
    Would I want to go on it again. No.
    Would I wear more suncream. Yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭buried

Few years ago I went with a gang to Benidorm. Lets just say if you want to get into a twisted, desperate psychotic mindset where you literally want to annihilate sections of your own fellow species, annihilate them without any semblance of guilt or shame, go to that f**king kip.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Hersonissos, 3 fat frogs for a tenner, 6red bull and vodkas for a tenner. Drank ourselves silly.

Malia just down the red and that was absolutely grim.

Ya.....one years ago,just before recession kicked off......obviously not since

It was great craic though,and loved it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 140 ✭✭gailforecast

You know the type, queues of chungwans waiting to get into some supermassive drinking place with dance music pumping. Tackiest place I've been is pace ville in Malta but I am aware it can get a whole lot worse than that. Does anyone have some good tales from visiting the likes of Shagaluf and the codology that goes on there. I have never been to Spain at all but I might go once this corona thing blows over so would be delighted if someone could let me know what to expect

I am not having a go at Spain in case anyone is wondering. I would book the ferry and take the car over and tour around seeing the sights but probably head to a tacky area for a day or two just to see the carry on

Yup. Went to Ibiza with the lads 1st year in college. One of the funniest things I’ve ever seen is my buddy bartering with a prostitute for 30 minutes before she finally agreed to give him a handjob for 4 quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

Never, actually ... kinda wish I had back when I was young and before I gave up alcohol!! Just for the experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

No, I would've absolutely hated it. Even when I was in my late teens, a book and a cup of tea was more my... cup of tea. I can't explain it, but I become extremely depressed in situations like that. I avoid noisy pubs for similar reasons. It's a very alienating experience, being surrounded by people having fun and not being able to 'get it'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,263 ✭✭✭bobbyss

Trabolgan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,930 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Everytime I hear the words Benidorm i just think of loud fat OAP English people. That ****e comedy sitcom prob painted me that picture.

Was in Hambrug last February and staying near the Reeperbahn. **** me it was tacky and sleazy at the same time. Prossies trying to get business off ya, lads forcing ya to go into this club. It was a good holiday but very different. I'd love to see how the Dam is

Were tacky enough here with the Americans both North and south failing for it. Irish night's with Irish dancing food and the likes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,687 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

3 weeks in Aya Napa in 2001.
    2 weeks in Hersonnisos in 2002.
    2 weeks in Kos in 2003.

Madness.

Prefer city breaks or more touristy holidays than piss ups.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭368100

buried wrote: »
    Few years ago I went with a gang to Benidorm. Lets just say if you want to get into a twisted, desperate psychotic mindset where you literally want to annihilate sections of your own fellow species, annihilate them without any semblance of guilt or shame, go to that f**king kip.

Is that mostly to do with the behaviour of our friends across the water?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Full moon party on Ko Pha Ngang, drinking cheap sandbuckets full of rum, energy drink and cola until sun rise, straight from the beach on a boat to Ko Samui to catch a flight to Frankfurt via Bangkok. Worst flight ever!

368100 wrote: »
    Is that mostly to do with the behaviour of our friends across the water?

Yeah pretty much 3, every night over there me and a couple of our crew nearly got into some scrape with some backward "OI! OI!" from over there. I mean, these people would really make you think about things, how their society is ran, even in a bit of sun and nice scenery these gadges are still on the make for trouble. Seems to be what they want, so in the end or in the middle of it, you end up twistedly thinking "why not give the trouble to them if that's what they want" Very bad. "holiday destination" in name only, especially if you are Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭368100

buried wrote: »
    Yeah pretty much 3, every night over there me and a couple of our crew nearly got into some scrape with some backward "OI! OI!" from over there. I mean, these people would really make you think about things, how their society is ran, even in a bit of sun and nice scenery these gadges are still on the make for trouble. Seems to be what they want, so in the end or in the middle of it, you end up twistedly thinking "why not give the trouble to them if that's what they want" Very bad. "holiday destination" in name only, especially if you are Irish.

I went on a stag to Tenerife a couple of years ago and there were about 14 on it.
    Groom knew plenty in England so the group was roughly half Irish half English.
    We all got on really well at the start....had a great laugh at waterpark etc....we were all in a big villa so plenty of craic in evenings.
    One day I remember England vs Ireland 6 nations rugby on at the time and We were sitting in bar watching it...all mixed up. There was a bit of friendly prodding on both sides during the match but when England lost, the Irish lads stepped up the Slagging for about 5 or 10 mins and let it drop after that.
    Next bar we went into and every where we went for rest of the holiday, the English boys sat at different tables and didn't mix with us, Groom ended up jumping back and forth between the two.......last night I saw them out drinking they were looking for a fight....despite one of them being a police officer.
    I'll never set foot on Tenerife again, it's a hole.
    4 of us were mugged, most aggressive muggers I've ever seen, so far as running after you to get your phone and wallet. Never experienced it nearly As bad in the other canaries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,309 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Nope, that would be my worst nightmare. I'm proud to say I've only been on one hen night also.
    I was never into binge drinking, drugs, hook ups, whatever constitutes as tacky.
    I saw The Inbetweeners movie by accident, it made me very thankful that I never went through a phase like that.
    I'm not stuffy either, I like to cut loose on a holiday overeating and enjoying a few nights out in bars but I can remember it all the next day!

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,854 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Torremeleenos 2012.

Food poisoning, severe severe hangovers, sunburn and heat exhaustion.

Sleep deprivation caused by all night Running battles in the apartment complex between northern Irish, English and Germans. Stabbings and all sorts.

Fun times ....

Never again.

368100 wrote: »
    I went on a stag to Tenerife a couple of years ago and there were about 14 on it.
    Groom knew plenty in England so the group was roughly half Irish half English.
    We all got on really well at the start....had a great laugh at waterpark etc....we were all in a big villa so plenty of craic in evenings.
    One day I remember England vs Ireland 6 nations rugby on at the time and We were sitting in bar watching it...all mixed up. There was a bit of friendly prodding on both sides during the match but when England lost, the Irish lads stepped up the Slagging for about 5 or 10 mins and let it drop after that.
    Next bar we went into and every where we went for rest of the holiday, the English boys sat at different tables and didn't mix with us, Groom ended up jumping back and forth between the two.......last night I saw them out drinking they were looking for a fight....despite one of them being a police officer.
    I'll never set foot on Tenerife again, it's a hole.
    4 of us were mugged, most aggressive muggers I've ever seen, so far as running after you to get your phone and wallet. Never experienced it nearly As bad in the other canaries

Did you ever go to Sicily 3? The people there love the Irish, I think a lot of it has to do with the fact all of our group games at Italia 90 were played over there. Fantastic Island, lovely people, you go to the medieval food market over in Palermo and tell them lads you are Irish, they will literally give you food in bags for free!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Sure isn't that what your late teen years are for?

Ayia Napa @ 18 (feck that's almost 20 years ago)
    Hersonisos @ 19
    Americas, Tenerife @ 20

Not a regret to be had but to funk would I contemplate doing it again.

Went to Americas maybe four years later with the missus and it was a completely different holiday, t'was actually really nice and didn't set foot in Tramps once :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

I went to Los Angeles once. It doesn't get any tackier than that.

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Magaluf twice and Benidorm once. Was good fun but would never go again, had my fill of it.

Benidorm is just as tacky as it appears on the TV show. Full of English oul ones driving about on their mobility scooters. Thankfully was only there for a long weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

Hersonissos - first holiday abroad without parents.

Loved it at the time but looking back it was carnage, way too much alcohol of all sorts, beyond basic accommodation, cheap horrible food, dirty sleazy sweaty nightclubs and it smelt vile.

Was drunk for about 2 days after arriving home in bits.

There's no way on earth I would every return. Santa Ponza and Ibiza after that before actually maturing enough to want something decent instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭selectamatic

20200701-233936.jpg

Hopped aboard the euro 2016 bandwagon with a gang of lads.

Bought a €600 people carrier and off we went.

Best 2 weeks of drinking and craic a man could hope for. Tacky yes but lots of great memories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,450 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Yeah, back in my early 20's... couldn't drag me to those places now but they were fun at the time! It was a week in Playa d'Finglas one year and Ayia Napa the following year if I recall... good times, but never again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

Never willingly, it has always been my idea of a living nightmare. The only time I went on tacky holiday was when I went to Benidorm with an ex boyfriend a few years ago. He surprised me with the whole trip booked after 6 weeks of dating. Its not that I wasn't grateful but it was horrible. We spent four days in a packed resort and nights in tacky, loud, sweaty bars and clubs. Ive never witnessed so many fights in my life. We clearly had very different ideas of a nice holiday. I hate nothing more than sitting by a packed pool in the blistering heat and it's all he wanted to do, besides going for out drinks and greasy food.
    We went out one night after a football match had been on, ive no interested in football but guessed an English team had been playing due to the amount of English football fans with football jerseys and flags, drinking, fighting and generally being very loud. This night was easily the worst night out ive ever had, it wasnt fun at all and generally just felt uneasy and unsafe.
    A group of football supporters started a fight with my ex because 'he looked at them funny', someone came over and calmed them down sensing our obvious discomfort. We left and went back to the resort, it was the best thing to happen that night as it got my ex out of the gross bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Amsterdam - sad and desperate really. The Casa Rosso was very , interesting ! :P

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Went to Koh Sumai with a gang of absolute ledges. We’re talking Fiachra, we’re talking Fionn, we’re talking Oisin. The pool especially was complete cornage. There were goys bleeding blue and white all over the place. Safe to say, it was some of the greatest horseplay of all time.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 FordIsraeli

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Yeah, back in my early 20's... couldn't drag me to those places now but they were fun at the time! It was a week in Playa d'Finglas one year and Ayia Napa the following year if I recall... good times, but never again.

Just reading through and right before I seen this post I thought to myself how hasn’t Playa Del Ingles been mentioned yet lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

greenspurs wrote: »
    Amsterdam - sad and desperate really. The Casa Rosso was very , interesting ! :P

Legalizing something doesn't take away from how depressingly sad it is.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,507 ✭✭✭cml387

Not us but friends of ours.
    First morning, down in reception waiting for rep.
    Enter harassed looking woman, goes straight to reception:

"Where's me bleedin' methadowan!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

2018, Woman and I giving it absolute arseholes at 4am at the all-night rooftop "Ibiza" disco in the Hippodrome in Lanzarote. "I come 'ere on a plane, you cant! Where's the fackin' CHIPS?!?" I never had such a laugh in my life. :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Not really but I wanted to. When I was younger I tried to round up the lads to go to Ibiza but they wouldn't go.
    I think they were afraid of being judged or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Putting Amsterdam on the same level as Benidorm is ridiculous. Avoid the obvious spots that the Brit-hordes, and the dealers feeding on them, flock to and you're in one of Europe's premier cities. You're hardly going to be running into Gaz and the rest of the Grimsby crew admiring the Vermeers in the Rijksmuseum.

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    Putting Amsterdam on the same level as Benidorm is ridiculous. Avoid the obvious spots that the Brit-hordes, and the dealers feeding on them, flock to and you're in one of Europe's premier cities. You're hardly going to running into Gaz and the rest of the Grimsby crew in the Rijksmuseum.

I didn't put it on the same level.
    My experience of Amsterdam was as I said.
    It wasn't for me, out of a lot of cities I have been to, it is well down the list.

• Registered Users Posts: 973 ✭✭✭grayzer75

Two weeks in Magaluf in 1998 on a Club 18-30 holiday with my mate - absolute carnage but the best of craic. Nearly needed a new liver by the end of that fortnight but wouldn't change a thing. BCM, Banana's, TeePee's, Carwash, Stop among many others that got a hammering on a nightly basis. Countless party games and bar crawls to boot. The hotel was full of English, Irish, Scots and Welsh and not one bit of hassle thank fook, a great bunch of people up for the craic with no attitudes. The nightly games of killers used to set the tone and banter for the rest of the night.

Am I glad I went - 100% yes
    Can I remember it all - nope
    Would I do it again - maybe try it for a weekend lol
    Would I recommend it - definitely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

When the lads were going on them I didn't have the dosh. When I got the dosh, the lads got kind of settled. So my dealings with the Med were more city breaks: nice food, museums and galleries.

That reminds me... must drop down to the optician and see if he has managed to repair my monocle.

No, just the thought of it makes me want a cup of tea and a lie down. I hate crowded bars and that's just the beginning of the list of things that I would hate about a group holiday like that.

Tackiest place I've ever been is Vegas, but I've been there with a) My granny, twice (Gran is a big Barry Manilow fanilow), b) other older members of my family and hence not quite as sad as being in Vegas with your granny, and b) My cousins, who were at least the same age as me and hence not quite as sad as being in Vegas with either your siblings/parents or your granny.

Vegas is pretty much everything I don't like and the undertone of pure seediness and pervading air of desperation is depressing. Some people love it though, such is the glorious diversity of human preference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

gmisk wrote: »
    Benalmadena....21 just finished college went with a gang of uni friends.
    I have never drunk so much in my entire life.

The highlights included
    - Sitting up all night drinking waiting for the sun to rise....only to realize it had already rose behind us...
    -Winning a dirty dancing contest!

Would I change the holiday. No.
    Would I want to go on it again. No.
    Would I wear more suncream. Yes.

Benal is great.

Couple of my mates own apartments there and we go over a few times a year. Does what it says on the tin. Cheap and good weather. When I was younger the 24 hour square used to be mental.

It's way quieter though in the last number of years, even during the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,479 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

sugarman wrote: »
    Never. Would absolutely have hated it.

I really dont understand the appeal of those British and Irish package holidays of heading to the exact same spot every year in Spain/Greece/Turkey that are full loudy mouth pieces that cant hold their drink. Drinking Irish/Brisish beers in an Irish pubs. Getting sunburned like Lobsters by the pool / or on the absoutely rammed beaches while their feral children do as they pleased unsupervised. Theyre the types that bring their teabags and sausages/rashers with them because they dont like "eating foreign" on their one week away.

Nightmare stuff. Avoid like the plague

It's not my cup of tea either but I hate how people look down on others because they don't like the same breaks they do.

No, been to some of the places but during off season and staying in nice enough places, pleasant heat and loads of pool space to yourself

Ush1 wrote: »
    Benal is great.

Couple of my mates own apartments there and we go over a few times a year. Does what it says on the tin. Cheap and good weather. When I was younger the 24 hour square used to be mental.

It's way quieter though in the last number of years, even during the summer.

Nude beach there ?

We stayed in Benal years ago, the fcuikng footpaths were alive with cockroaches every evening ! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,742 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Been to Ibiza twice once to Ibiza town side and the other to San Antonio, have to say both holidays were brilliant, party all night and relax by the pool during the day. I don't drink but was still great craic, would I go now? Probably to the Ibiza town side of the island it wasn't as mad as San Antonio. Ayia Napa for a week couldn't wait to get home.

Been to Vegas 3 times, I don't mind the place, its great to drive too from Los Angeles and there is the hoover dam and Grand Canyon to visit and the different hotels but can't do more that 2/3 nights it gets boring then, unless you are loaded and love to gamble. Night time walking the strip is torture with the crowds and the people handing out leaflets to some bar/club/casino/strip club. The older part of Vegas is not too bad where the golden nugget casino is, it's a bit calmer there. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,440 ✭✭✭Homelander

Not really. Friends went on a few when we were younger but the whole drinking seven days straight/clubbing aspect of it never appealed to me. Always much preferred a European city break where you can go to museums and landmarks. Don't get me wrong - would still drink myself silly in the company of friends though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Staplor

Ayia Napa, booked a cheap holiday with my mate we went for 1 week. Stayed in the cheapest dive going. There were a group of lads who were kicked out of a course in Ireland who all booked for 2 weeks.

They destroyed the place, mopeds through windows, new tattoo's every night, constantly drunk, the highlight was when one of them threw my book in the pool and started slagging me for reading. All this ran up to day 3. On day 4 they started befriending everyone who was there for a week, seeing would anyone swap flights with them, the boys had spent 2 weeks money in 3 nights. One of them was stabbed too, in the hotel.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Tenerife with 9 other lads years ago. Was brilliant fun. Cost about 350 quid for the week for flights and accom.

No wild stories unfortunately apart from a lot of alcohol being consumed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Golden Sands Bulgaria 2003.
    From 9pm every night the "strip" was lined with prostitutes touting for business. Including outside this place;
    https://mapio.net/pic/p-101666050/

I once saw a fat elderly German in Speedos taking two of them to his hotel.

There was one hotel where a bunch of d"ckheads were on the balcony shooting people on the street with air rifles. My friend got hit on the shoulder!

Russian mafia knife fights in some neighbouring hotels at night.

Going closer to the beach it was nicer, more family oriented, quieter bars and restaurants. We opted to spend our evenings there!
    we didn't spend a lot of time in the resort overall, we did fishing on the Black sea, daytrips to monasteries, Varna etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

No, sounds like utter hell on earth.

Pasty drunken Irish advertising the fact with wearing of GAA tops and Brits whinging that the food's a bit foreign. Drinking in faux Irish/British theme pub hellholes. Flags hanging out of balconies. Screw that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Aglomerado wrote: »
    Golden Sands Bulgaria 2003.
    From 9pm every night the "strip" was lined with prostitutes touting for business. Including outside this place;
    https://mapio.net/pic/p-101666050/

I once saw a fat elderly German in Speedos taking two of them to his hotel.

There was one hotel where a bunch of d"ckheads were on the balcony shooting people on the street with air rifles. My friend got hit on the shoulder!

Russian mafia knife fights in some neighbouring hotels at night.

Going closer to the beach it was nicer, more family oriented, quieter bars and restaurants. We opted to spend our evenings there!
    we didn't spend a lot of time in the resort overall, we did fishing on the Black sea, daytrips to monasteries, Varna etc.

Would you recommend Bulgaria overall? Like if you avoided the obvious kips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    Would you recommend Bulgaria overall? Like if you avoided the obvious kips.

Yes absolutely! The people are nice, good food and drink it's good value (was 17 years ago anyway!) . I want to go back to see Sofia/ Nessebar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Not really in my teens, but my twenties were tacky and brilliant.

My teens were in the Ireland of the 1980's when there wasn't a penny in the country and only the well heeled went on foreign holidays.

Got married in my early 20's and spent the best, happiest and most memorable years taking the kids off to Santa Ponsa for two weeks, and would love to do it all over again. Sure it could be considered tacky, nights in The Dubliner and stumbling home pissed drunk, my son (28 now) aften reminds me of how he'd be on my shoulders steering me by the ears back to the appartments, the kiddies clubs etc

All tacky as hell, but the memories are priceless.. Hopefully I'll do it all again when grandchildren come along :)

The last few years have been city breaks with my daughter, we've some lovely memories made doing that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

Bunch of us went to Oktoberfest when we were fresh out of college. It was absolute carnage. I managed to pull a blonde German lady with an amazing set of breasts. Part of me was just delighted I wasn't going to be sleeping in a leaky tent. She had the full beer lady outfit, which stayed on for round one, good times.

First they came for the socialists...