Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

I don't know where we're going, but it can only be 5K away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Autosport wrote:
    Printer in work stopped working yesterday and the helpdesk were supposed to fix it and they are as helpful as a goat, it’s an IT problem

Have you tried turning it off & back on again.

Couchside with a cuppa, another manic day at the coalface.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

What do you all think of the budget?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,997 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Grandeeod wrote: »
    What do you all think of the budget?:eek:

I don't smoke so pretty shocked a pack costs 14 quid. The last time I paid attention they were around 7!

The lack of holidays /duty free will really turn them into cash cows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭On the Beach

Sardonicat wrote:
    How can you be certain you're not dreaming ?

Having a nightmare you mean surely?.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,409 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Having a nightmare you mean surely?.. :D
    I fekin' well hope so! I wish my man servant would hurry up and wake me up. I'm getting very bored with this.

I don't smoke so pretty shocked a pack costs 14 quid. The last time I paid attention they were around 7!

It'll be like an episode of Porridge!

Does the black market trade round Mary St still go on? Back 10 years ago I had Polish housemates and they did well out of bringing back the oul Polski Cigski. Had a few cartons meself. Very glad I don't smoke anymore.

A tenner a pack, the last time I smoked. But smokes have been lashed out of it for years now. A real cash cow indeed.

Sardonicat wrote: »
    It'll be like an episode of Porridge!

Does the black market trade round Mary St still go on? Back 10 years ago I had Polish housemates and they did well out of bringing back the oul Polski Cigski. Had a few cartons meself. Very glad I don't smoke anymore.

The Eastern European cigski run is alive and well. I have Latvian friends that depend on it. Booze too.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

I haven’t seen or heard anything about the budget, how bad is it?

Budget and Covid News digested. Feeling positive. Ms G sorted for school as usual. Dinners all done (having mine in a bit). All relaxed here as we roll into dreamland. I'm winding down with a wonderful documentary about Oliver Reed, one fantastic actor. Thankful that I got to enjoy a few pints with him in Cork, before he passed. All by accident. Stay cool folks!

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Budget and Covid News digested. Feeling positive. Ms G sorted for school as usual. Dinners all done (having mine in a bit). All relaxed here as we roll into dreamland. I'm winding down with a wonderful documentary about Oliver Reed, one fantastic actor. Thankful that I got to enjoy a few pints with him in Cork, before he passed. All by accident. Stay cool folks!
    How can we out cool having a jar with Oliver Reed? ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

Couchside with a Coffee watching the Delaney proramme, cold night.
    Hope ye all are well:)

How can we out cool having a jar with Oliver Reed? ;)

I don't think we can and I didn't do it in a touristy hanger on scenario either. But sure look, it was as it was back then, down there. Different times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,624 ✭✭✭votecounts

UDAWINNER wrote: »
    Couchside with a Coffee watching the Delaney proramme, cold night.
    Hope ye all are well:)

Same here but a beer in hand:)
    Bloody cold here brrr
    Budget could have been a lot worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Looking for something lighthearted to watch. Just after re-watching Silence of the Lambs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,519 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Budget has made very little difference to me, which is surprising.
    Cheap cat food up for grabs on Amazon for Prime Day. Saves on some Covid shopping although, like many, I feel Prime Day is becoming too commercialised.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Chilled out here couchside and watching a fascinating documentary on undersea exploration of a sunken slave ship. :)

It's worth a ganders up at Mars tonight. The next time it will be this close will be 2035.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,309 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

It's worth a ganders up at Mars tonight. The next time it will be this close will be 2035.

I prefer a Snickers myself :D

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,282 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

Good morning world, work time for me :) We have a full schedule today so it doesn’t even look like we have any pandemic.

Binged watched THE RANCH, season 1-8 so a total of 80 episodes, I got to the stage where I thought that i was part of their family.

Starting a course today, unfortunately for me it is now all online. I really think I need the structure of a classroom setting to motivate myself. Also, it's online webinars & I'm so bad with technology I don't even know if I'll be able to get onto it!!!!
    Panic.

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭bolgbui41

bubblypop wrote: »
    Starting a course today, unfortunately for me it is now all online. I really think I need the structure of a classroom setting to motivate myself. Also, it's online webinars & I'm so bad with technology I don't even know if I'll be able to get onto it!!!!
    Panic.

Good luck! Learning online is so different to the classroom, but hopefully you'll manage to get into the swing. And definitely let your IT department and/or teacher know if you're struggling with tech. You won't be alone alone on that front - a significant amount of my term so far has been writing out point-by-point notes on accessing and using new software.

Where I am is on a break from my favourite seminar group (because they turn up and both ask and answer questions). Only 4.5 hours my work day ends and I can meet my friend for a long lunch outside - cannot wait :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭IamMetaldave

Happy hump day wherers!

It was a wet morning down the pier this morning! It's been more than a week since I was down and got some cool snaps.

529213.JPG

529214.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,282 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

Thought I would share a blue sky with you.

529215.jpeg

Starting to feel Christmas in the air the past few days. Think everyone could do with a bit of magic this year.

Smurf, here's a blue sky with a twist :) I got myself a proper camera a couple of weeks ago and the zoom is crazy! I took this last Wednesday morning.

529217.JPG

Happy hump day wherers!

It was a wet morning down the pier this morning! It's been more than a week since I was down and got some cool snaps.

I was hoping you'd be out, sunrise over howth looked lovely this morning.... Not that I was out, I can see from the bedroom window. But not close enough for a picture.

What camera did you get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭thomil

Good morning everyone!

No glorious sunrise shots from me unfortunately, deskside and completely exhaustipated...

Good luck trying to figure me out. I haven't managed that myself yet!

I was hoping you'd be out, sunrise over howth looked lovely this morning.... Not that I was out, I can see from the bedroom window. But not close enough for a picture.

What camera did you get?

You were better off at home PC! :) When I left it was dark and nasty... had I known it was going to be so epic I would have walked down to Bullock Harbour instead, it's cracking spot for sunrise! And moon rise for that matter :D

I got a Nikon P950. It's awesome, but it's a vertical learning curve :pac:

You were better off at home PC! :) When I left it was dark and nasty... had I known it was going to be so epic I would have walked down to Bullock Harbour instead, it's cracking spot for sunrise! And moon rise for that matter :D

I got a Nikon P950. It's awesome, but it's a vertical learning curve :pac:

Niiiiice, I've my eye on a new lens (nikon f5.6).... In a previous life it would have gone straight onto the credit card but I've taken extra time off work to spend with the kids, now I have to save and budget.... First World problems n all that :D

Deskside here, losing the will to live, I'm off tomorrow and that's the only thing keeping me going today.

How much annual leave do you get :D (rhetoric qs)

Living the high life once again :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,519 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Couch, tea, painkillers and missus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭NewRed2

Sipping coffee at my desk in work. Still getting over my wisdom tooth extraction from yesterday evening.
    Dentist was lovely, however she did manage to accidentally scare the living crap out of me when she said "oh we'll need the other one please nurse, it's giving more resistance than expected" and then "actually this one isn't doing the trick either, pass me the other".
    I mean c'mon!!!! I don't need to be hearing that! I was already bricking it!!!
    It's a slightly watered down version of sitting on a plane and your pilot saying "Don't worry folks, we have a second engine anyway!".

And then even after it was all over they charge me 200 euro. I mean thank God I was already numb coz that really stung!! :D

NewRed2 wrote: »
    Sipping coffee at my desk in work. Still getting over my wisdom tooth extraction from yesterday evening.
    Dentist was lovely, however she did manage to accidentally scare the living crap out of me when she said "oh we'll need the other one please nurse, it's giving more resistance than expected" and then "actually this one isn't doing the trick either, pass me the other".
    I mean c'mon!!!! I don't need to be hearing that! I was already bricking it!!!
    It's a slightly watered down version of sitting on a plane and your pilot saying "Don't worry folks, we have a second engine anyway!".

And then even after it was all over they charge me 200 euro. I mean thank God I was already numb coz that really stung!! :D

You're already back at work!? Fair play to you. I'd be milking that one for all it was worth. I'd definitely want the tooth fairy to visit me and bring me somitting nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭NewRed2

You're already back at work!? Fair play to you. I'd be milking that one for all it was worth. I'd definitely want the tooth fairy to visit me and bring me somitting nice.

haha, yeah I hear ya! But I'm self-employed so when its busy I gotta be here.
    Rest assured if I wasn't self-employed I'd be milking it to eternity, I'd be requesting a month off to recover.... and then another month for the psychological trauma! And possibly, maybe a pay rise :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,105 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Am working inside while admiring the world outside.

Niiiiice, I've my eye on a new lens (nikon f5.6).... In a previous life it would have gone straight onto the credit card but I've taken extra time off work to spend with the kids, now I have to save and budget.... First World problems n all that :D

Jesus! That's some serious coin! But I guess that's a regular thing with photography :D It's mad going from iPhone camera to "a real" camera and not having Apple working all it's magic in the camera app to make everything wonderful! It's a whole new kettle of fish.

Yeah I bought a dslr when the first was born... Actually a black Friday deal in argos.... And my first being himself was back in tallaght hospital, can't remember what for, breathing probably or viral infection, so I slipped into the square and got it there (his dad was with him, didn't abandon him :))

I wanted proper photos rather than phone snaps.

Now I'm thinking of maybe trying some nature photography but a pipeline dream.... An expensive pipeline :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,519 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Now joined by pupper who is on a sleepover with us, yay!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Bussing it between meetings today. Busy as usual.

Beautiful sunny day out there. :) Think I'll take a good walk in the park later on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The Crazy Cat Lady

couchside

*puts feet up for the evening*

I'm absolutely shattered, glad I have no more meetings today

My new shopping gadget is so good :D I brought a six-pack of water in Dunnes today. One or two downsides is that you'd hear me coming from a mile away with the big wheels it has, and the handle on it needs fiddling with it for it to come down, but these things are quite minor :)

Also got another parcel today (inspired by a boards person in the TH thread) :D

I'm about to go in search of a wheelie bag myself.. Give my back a break before it breaks :pac:

It's diet coke time for me here.. Wonder if I play that that song will that guy appear?!

I'd do laundry all day long if I thought he'd stroll into my kitchen :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,797 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Kitchen side making dinneir

y4de3L.gif

Ah Seph, thanks for posting a video of yourself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,265 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Seph, put your shirt back on, you’ll catch a chill in this weather :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The Crazy Cat Lady

*wolf whistles at seph * :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,797 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Ah Seph, thanks for posting a video of yourself :)
    Poochie05 wrote: »
    Seph, put your shirt back on, you’ll catch a chill in this weather :eek:

*wolf whistles at seph * :D

*flexes his biceps and kisses them*

😏😃