Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Free For All!

• 07-07-2020 1:33am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭

Just watching Batman trilogy for nostalgia this evening and with the craziness of the last four, nearly five months I've been thinking a lot about the insane year Cork has had. We're like Gotham city. I'm sure people are always thinking like that when they compile all the mad incidents that go down in their town but this year has decidedly raised the bar in my estimation.

Some of the frontrunners for absolutely flipping sh!t on its head so far have been:

- Nasty virus going around (although that's a global issue, I know)
    - Toddler Santina Crawley senselessly murdered by her father's girlfriend on Boreenmanna Road (yesterday last year)
    - Douglas SC getting nearly burned down by a lady driving in with smoking car bonnet whose engine then exploded
    - Dismembered body of Frankie Dunne tragically found on Boreenmanna Road (very bad year for that road), seemingly because he owed a eastern European guy who worked in the [redacted] €80 for poitín
    - Hammer attacks on young people by the cinema in Blackpool
    - Horrific stabbing to death of student Cameron Blair on Barrack Street
    - Timmy Hourihan's tent set on fire as he slept by the Mardyke, poor guy was so lovely and he died in that incident
    - Storm Ataiya, Cameron, Dennis wrecking the place and incredibly high winds other random nights
    - Mallow checkpoint lad who had drugs in the car driving at a garda and getting shot during lockdown
    - 82 year old woman just recently, suffering a broken shoulder as a lad on a bike snatched her handbag outside Merchant's Quay
    - Mount Oval youths pucking the the heads off each other the other week
    - Recent incident that must not be mentioned in Carrigaline
    - Machetes slashing lads at football training in Wilton this week
    - Some tool going on a high speed chase and shooting at gards with a pellet gun at the weekend

Have I missed anything? Have we entered the Twilight Zone?

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Eduard Khil

Leader of The Free State being from Cork

• Registered Users Posts: 34,263 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Cork used see be great City.

So glad I decided enough is enough and moved out of it. Best thing I ever did.

Each to their own though. These types of attacks are happening all over, they just seem be more accepted now.

• Registered Users Posts: 357 ✭✭Frostybrew

I know "there's no such thing as bad publicity" but surely a cinema attacking it's own customers with hammers is not going to be good for business.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,316 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Those storms and that virus, someone should do something. Write to your TD.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Add "Covid" parties in Cork student gafs.

No word on the news about all the GAA clubs in Cork that have had to cancel training because of suspected cases though.

Found a cool channel where they do audio recordings from a night's emergency responders and simulate the action on a video game!!!

Should have said it's based in Cork.

• Registered Users Posts: 300 ✭✭theglobe

Cork used see be great City.

So glad I decided enough is enough and moved out of it. Best thing I ever did.

Each to their own though. These types of attacks are happening all over, they just seem be more accepted now.

Where do you live now?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

s1ippy wrote: »
    - Douglas SC getting nearly burned down by a lady driving in with smoking car bonnet whose engine then exploded

The rumours that they drove in with the car smoking are false, and there is a known fault with that model of car (Opel Zafira B) where the fan blower resistor pack can fail and catch fire, i.e. it was an electrical fire, not the engine, not an explosion.

I suspect some of your other descriptions are also less than accurate. Rumours and sensationalist nonsense aren't going to do this city any favours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,553 ✭✭✭Cork Trucker

The shopping centre have dismissed that the car was already on fire prior to entering the car park. What’s says publicly she privately are two different things, but I’m sure they know what happened by now with all their investigations, cctv etc. How many shops other than Tesco, Marks & Spencer will reopen is going to be interesting.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

No city in the world is going to be perfect, us Irish love a good moan and focusing on the negative aspect of things.

Cork city has plenty of positive things going for it and they far outweigh the negatives.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

I don't doubt that the hearsay that goes around will be dubious. Aren't we even allowed to mention the incidents lest they besmirch the good name of the place?

Tbh if it keeps the city from getting even more overcrowded I say definitely raise awareness of the fact that it's no garden of Eden. I absolutely love Cork and living here, btw. I travel widely all over the world in normal circumstances, but to me, Cork is home and there's nowhere else that would do.

Developments on the murder of Francis Dunne over the weekend, which is great news. The rumour mill had it that the person who did it was long gone out of the country but that was very much unfounded.
    https://twitter.com/CorkSafetyAlert/status/1282659166427975680?s=19

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Was in the city over the weekend and I must say there's a definite change in how it feels now. It seems like a free for all with drug addicts and alcoholics. Seem two incidents Saturday in broad daylight that looked violent.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

smurgen wrote: »
    Was in the city over the weekend and I must say there's a definite change in how it feels now. It seems like a free for all with drug addicts and alcoholics. Seem two incidents Saturday in broad daylight that looked violent.

I was reading about an incident in Galway, where two guys were attacked in Eyre Square in broad daylight. This was about 1 30pm, and by all accounts it seemed to be an unprovoked attack. So everywhere has it's issues. That doesn't make what's happening in Cork ok though. And going by your post, it seems the new dedicated garda unit, to deal with drug related crime in town, is not making much of a difference.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭wally1990

Walked through North main street for the first time in a long long time

, christ, it is absolutely an awful looking spot now,

very run down

, the top half is brutal from the casino/slots shop down to the hardware store

, the bottom half isn't much better

• Registered Users Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭.red.

it seems the new dedicated garda unit, to deal with drug related crime in town, is not making much of a difference.

Stopping, searching and arresting a heroin addict is too dangerous, and too much work, which then leads to robberies and trouble as they're left alone by the authorities.
    It's far easier to stop young lads and do them for very small quantities of cannabis. It's still a drugs bust for the stats, newspapers and Facebook groups to drool over. It looks good, even if it's making almost zero difference on the streets.

To be fair, the unit has had some very good busts, notably a good few arrests for knives, cocaine and heroin so it is making a difference. Just not enough of a difference as they seem focused on the easy stats, instead of the important ones.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,128 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I see more and more people approached for money and they are handing it over. It must be intimidating for them, I don't even acknowledge when I'm asked I just walk on.
    "Sorry bud do ya have €2 for the bus"

The city isn't policed, most of us saw frontline gaurds on the beat for the first time in a while during the lockdown.

Still its far from the worst and alot of the incidents the OP mentioned above are regular occurences in most cities.

wally1990 wrote: »
    Walked through North main street for the first time in a long long time

, christ, it is absolutely an awful looking spot now,

very run down

, the top half is brutal from the casino/slots shop down to the hardware store

, the bottom half isn't much better

Place should be bulldozed to the ground, its an absolute eyesore. Dunnes leaving that street but the final nail in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,286 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

rob316 wrote: »
    Place should be bulldozed to the ground, its an absolute eyesore. Dunnes leaving that street but the final nail in it.

Are there any plans to rejuvenate that area? They seem to just be leaving it go to dogs and are concentrating on McCurtain Street.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭beer enigma

There are a lot of very old Cork buildings there that need to be looked after rather than bulldozed.

Jeepers, let's just knock down the street and build it up with glass and concrete donut shops. NOT

it was public petition that saved the two buildings near castle Street.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

I see more and more people approached for money and they are handing it over. It must be intimidating for them, I don't even acknowledge when I'm asked I just walk on.

The city isn't policed, most of us saw frontline gaurds on the beat for the first time in a while during the lockdown.

Still its far from the worst and alot of the incidents the OP mentioned above are regular occurences in most cities.

I think the spate of violent crime in the city, within the past year has been unprecedented. There always has been crime in Cork, but we have seemed to have reached the bottom of the barrel this past year. I agree that the city is far from the worst, but the difference between the city now compared to 10 to 15, or even as recently as 6 years ago is pretty jarring.

I ignore these people as well, but it must be very intimidating for women and the elderly etc. Cork has a lot of positives, it's a great city overall, but at the moment the city centre is overrun with junkies and winos. You say that things aren't that bad, well they aren't that great either.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users Posts: 8,691 ✭✭✭corks finest

No city in the world is going to be perfect, us Irish love a good moan and focusing on the negative aspect of things.

Cork city has plenty of positive things going for it and they far outweigh the negatives.

Correct bud

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,510 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

I think the spate of violent crime in the city, within the past year has been unprecedented. There always has been crime in Cork, but we have seemed to have reached the bottom of the barrel this past year. I agree that the city is far from the worst, but the difference between the city now compared to 10 to 15, or even as recently as 6 years ago is pretty jarring.

I ignore these people as well, but it must be very intimidating for women and the elderly etc. Cork has a lot of positives, it's a great city overall, but at the moment the city centre is overrun with junkies and winos. You say that things aren't that bad, well they aren't that great either.

Most of the winos are sound. Difficult lives, but harmless. I remember around 10 years ago a lot of the new types came in from Dublin and places, some of them were nasty.

Big heroin problem now, totally due to bad government policy if you ask me, but I have no idea how either of these cohorts contribute to the crime problem we have.

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    Most of the winos are sound. Difficult lives, but harmless. I remember around 10 years ago a lot of the new types came in from Dublin and places, some of them were nasty.

Big heroin problem now, totally due to bad government policy if you ask me, but I have no idea how either of these cohorts contribute to the crime problem we have.

Ya there just pests, out of their heads and fairly harmless. Ya I had an issue with a dublin junkie years ago, to be fair there isn't much strength in a junkie, I shoved him and he went down in a heap.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 Voltairey

I went out for a walk in the early evening and instead of going around the estates like I usually do, i decided I had the energy to venture further than usual so I went into town for the first time since probably October.

The place was extremely creepy and unsettling. There were a lot of people just staggering around the place. I can't walk very fast due to an injury, but I didn't want to be talking to people for too long either and I was approached four times for change in less than half an hour.

On the lane off Paul Street an elderly man unexpectedly grabbed me very roughly and started yanking me by the shoulder. I was absolutely panicked and he was really hurting me so I screamed for help, whereupon he ran away. Nobody was around to see it and I called a relative to collect me. The whole experience was awful and I won't be going back in there in a hurry. It was like a ghetto or Mad Max or something, not a garda to be seen.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,455 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Voltairey wrote: »
    There were a lot of people just staggering around the place. I can't walk very fast due to an injury

You weren't catching your reflection in a window by any chance? :D

I don't doubt your experience but I'd walk through town every couple of weeks for the last few years and have never had anything like the experience you described. I certainly noticed more winos over lockdown but only because they had nowhere else to go and there were so few other people in town.

Was checking my phone waiting for someone and this oul codger wino asks for spare change.
    I ignored him. Then he asks a second time and gives me a shoulder, then I told him to fûck off for himself.

Was checking my phone waiting for someone and this oul codger wino asks for spare change.
    I ignored him. Then he asks a second time and gives me a shoulder, then I told him to fûck off for himself.
    Yes it's gone to ****

Cork is gone to hell from what it was,last Monday week early, before 10 on the morning, Pana was practically lined with junkies/ tappers from Roche's stores to start of merchants quay, one aggressive bastard roaring at a female junkie sprawled on the ground, not a lawman in sight, I walked back up to check the chsrityshoos on N main street ,,,, not a pretty sight ,ore of the same, didn't see one Garda in 40 minutes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

s1ippy wrote: »

Developments on the murder of Francis Dunne over the weekend, which is great news. The rumour mill had it that the person who did it was long gone out of the country but that was very much unfounded.
    https://twitter.com/CorkSafetyAlert/status/1282659166427975680?s=19

You've jumped to a few conclusions there. The person arrested was about the circumstances where the suspect absconded, afaik. Considering who it was, it would be a much much bigger story otherwise.

Yes it's gone to ****

He was so small and pathetic he wasn't worth giving a slap to. He'd definitely come off second best. One of these days he's going to have a puck off the wrong dude.

• Registered Users Posts: 393 ✭✭PreCocious

There must be two towns.

I was in there in Sunday and there was a fine buzz, quite busy as well.

We'd often head in early evening for a stroll around (change of scenery) and haven't seen any serious issues. Certainly not the widescale zombie apocalypse reported by others.

Sometimes I wonder is the "Cork is Bad" vibe just an overreaction similar to the message "Cork is Closed" that was put out when a street was closed for three hours each day.