Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More from Roderic O'Gorman (MOD NOTE IN OPENING POST)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

Barrett shouldn't have been invited to that protest much like Gemma as it just gave the Antifa/Government media shills something to latch onto. But it was great to see the little Antifa protest backfire on them as the headline I saw around international commentators was Antifa cointer-demo an anti pedo demonstration. Well-done Leah Doherty Well-done

Who actually organised the protest?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,117 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

iebamm2580 wrote: »
    Just look up his name on twitter, it was in relation to a bike he had robbed in 2011 i think.

e19892c70a91ffd9046e4c05c08fd363.JPG

TomTomTim wrote: »
    Or the fact that the "leaders" of said movement are explicitly Marxists, as you can see here: https://nypost.com/2020/06/25/blm-co-founder-describes-herself-as-trained-marxist/

You're quoting Breitbart reports there.

But even if they're correct, so what?

You're quoting Breitbart reports there.

But even if they're correct, so what?

Karl Marx was the leader of Communist and personally killed 100 billion people.

paw patrol wrote: »
    i don't get people like you.

Who cares who shows up? Id march arm in arm with Hitler and Stalin on an anti-peado march.

Sorry, but what exactly is an 'anti-paedo' march and what would it be trying to achieve.

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭excludedbin

RWCNT wrote: »
    Karl Marx was the leader of Communist and personally killed 100 billion people.

I'm afraid you have it wrong. In 1998 Karl Marx threw Milton Friedman off Hell In a Cell and plummeted through sixteen copies of Das Kapital.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭ronivek

Sorry, but what exactly is an 'anti-paedo' march and what would it be trying to achieve.

It's a populist rallying cry at best; at worst a crafted smokescreen to hide the true reason for their objections. Society is already vehemently anti-paedophile; even the merest hint of it is illegal and that's ignoring the visceral reaction many people have as soon as its even hinted at.

And the people who are banging on that particular drum are limiting discourse on the practical matters at hand; such as discussions around Gender Recognition for children. Multiple threads about the topic are already gone due to the small few who keep derailing them with this nonsense; and this one is about to be gone shortly too.

• Registered Users Posts: 41,080 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

paw patrol wrote: »
    i don't get people like you.

Who cares who shows up? Id march arm in arm with Hitler and Stalin on an anti-peado march. I've been on marches with the far left - who I really don't like on the basis we'd a common aim.

Opposing it , makes you look like a peado apologist or worse.

The notion that petty right/left political spectrum rows supercede the safety of kids.
    That would be funny if it's wasn't so tragic.

That march wasnt really about paedophilia at all though.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Who actually organised the protest?

Fascists

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Anti Peado equals fascist now Joey does it? What about your sister in arms Leah Doherty and her laced milk shakes or the Antifa violence that took place in the free speech demo you were at?
    Btw only some lads speakers took an auld kick there at the weekend #SpeakersLivesMatter
    So thats a yes

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

That march wasnt really about paedophilia at all though.

lets say you have somebody who's never even heard of Justin Barrett, Gemma, grand Torino etc... who has no idea who the national party are, lets say they were a tourist and stumbled across this. If they listened to all the speeches, if they read the banners, if they even talked to a lot of the non 'infamous' participants , what would they conclude that protest was about ?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

So thats a yes

Lol whatever Joey say hello to Leah Eamonn and Fiona for me :)

lets say you have somebody who's never even heard of Justin Barrett, Gemma, grand Torino etc... who has no idea who the national party are, lets say they were a tourist and stumbled across this. If they listened to all the speeches, if they read the banners, if they even talked to a lot of the non 'infamous' participants , what would they conclude that protest was about ?

What paedophile were they protesting? Anything can seem decent if you don't know the details behind their motivations. If you didn't know who the nazis were and walked into a protest about banking, you likely wouldn't conclude they were fascists either.

Meanwhile the two most prominent members of the protest have smeared sex abuse victims and claimed church sexual abuse was because of gay people... So not exactly coming across as decent motivations.

Lol whatever Joey say hello to Leah Eamonn and Fiona for me :)

I dont actually know any of them but it says a lot that you support violemce against antifascists.

Terry Pratchet

I dont actually know any of them but it says a lot that you support violemce against antifascists.

Never said I did Joey but it sure looks like you support Antifa violence. Btw the cops were there on Saturday didn't see any of the protesters being arrested the only one I saw being loaded into the back of a cop van was one of the Antifa crowd

Given how the National Party twerps conduct themselves, probably that it's organised by a bunch of conspiracy loonies like the Pizzagaters in the US.

But we're not talking about such a person and none of us here are ignorant of who they are and what this march was really about, so the thought experiment is pointless. That the far-right try to cloak themselves in seemingly (because they're very easily exposed as lies) reasonable objections is entirely predictable. Any reasonable person can see what they're up to, however.

They were calling for the death of a gay, left wing politician because of those facts and nothing more. It's just sad that so many people here are defending that. I thought threatening violence against one's political opponents was something ye opposed.

Never said I did Joey but it sure looks like you support Antifa violence. Btw the cops were there on Saturday didn't see any of the protesters being arrested the only one I saw being loaded into the back of a cop van was one of the Antifa crowd

You were cheerleading it on earlier

Terry Pratchet

Based on the nooses on the posters, they would probably conclude that it was a good old fashioned lynching.

Good God almighty, they really are just chucking ****e at a wall and seeing what sticks at this point. Why in the hell would Tatchell have any input into our government? How much longer will we have to suffer these far right cretins banging their homophobic drum? Yeah, good man, Mattie, too cowardly to just come out and say what he means so we're treated to more of this thin pretext about caring for children while making snide insinuations about innocent people.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭Acosta

But he's fine with the church continuing to run schools. And would no doubt actively be against it's removal from education altogether. As would most others at Saturday's rally. An actual real organisation responsible for rampant pedophilia.
    You lot are only fooling yourselves.

Acosta wrote: »
    But he's fine with the church continuing to run schools. And would no doubt actively be against it's removal from education altogether. As would most others at Saturday's rally. An actual real organisation responsible for rampant pedophilia.
    Lol yeah that was in the past the new church is the woke culture we find ourselves in. Much prefer to have kids go to Catholic Patronage schools then say Educate Together when they want to shame children if they are white
    https://twitter.com/emernowlan/status/1280536515546951680?s=19

Lol yeah that was in the past the new church is the woke culture we find ourselves in. Much prefer to have kids go to Catholic Patronage schools then say Educate Together when they want to shame children if they are white

:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

Nothing in there at all about shaming white children

Terry Pratchet

What paedophile were they protesting? Anything can seem decent if you don't know the details behind their motivations. If you didn't know who the nazis were and walked into a protest about banking, you likely wouldn't conclude they were fascists either.

Meanwhile the two most prominent members of the protest have smeared sex abuse victims and claimed church sexual abuse was because of gay people... So not exactly coming across as decent motivations.
    Given how the National Party twerps conduct themselves, probably that it's organised by a bunch of conspiracy loonies like the Pizzagaters in the US.

But we're not talking about such a person and none of us here are ignorant of who they are and what this march was really about, so the thought experiment is pointless. That the far-right try to cloak themselves in seemingly (because they're very easily exposed as lies) reasonable objections is entirely predictable. Any reasonable person can see what they're up to, however.

They were calling for the death of a gay, left wing politician because of those facts and nothing more. It's just sad that so many people here are defending that. I thought threatening violence against one's political opponents was something ye opposed.
    Based on the nooses on the posters, they would probably conclude that it was a good old fashioned lynching.

I think such a person would have seen it as an anti-paedophile / anti child gender swapping demonstration . I think you need to look past your own views of the national party and see that despite who they are and what you (correctly ) think of them, that a lot of people went to that protest purely to speak out against the childrens minister, the bill he inherited and Peter tatchell.

PbP hold anti homelessness demonstrations all the time, Brendan ogle's home sweet home / Apollo house thing etc.. were all directly branded by, funded by and headed up by absolute dyed in the wool marxists. Not everyone who went to those protests or donated would want to see the political Ireland those people would want, they wanted to raise awareness for the homeless, I agree that Barrett had political aims with that protest just as ogle or Paul Murphy did with theirs, it doesn't make the protest a 'fascist' one the same way every homeless march wasnt a socialist one.

Acosta wrote: »

Pure dog whistling.

Not even Mattie is thick enough to believe that there is a real issue here. But he is clearly confident that many of his supporters are thick enough to fall for it.

:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

Nothing in there at all about shaming white children

even the term white priviledge is racist against white people, they built an entire education policy around it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭Acosta

https://twitter.com/emernowlan/status/1280536515546951680?s=19

You've changed the subject now, but anyway it looks good to me. What's wrong with teaching kids about racism and how difficult it can be for black kids and people? I've seen some bad racism in my time, but honestly the most dirtiest racism I've ever come across was in primary school. Stuff that what make your skin crawl. Teaching kids the horrors of racism early on is a good thing.

I think such a person would have seen it as an anti-paedophile / anti child gender swapping demonstration . I think you need to look past your own views of the national party and see that despite who they are and what you (correctly ) think of them, that a lot of people went to that protest purely to speak out against the childrens minister, the bill he inherited and Peter tatchell.
    By calling for his hanging? Pull the other one. They were an angry mob whipped up by the usual anti-everything lot whose only mistake was loudly declaring their intentions by making heavy use of depicting nooses. Maybe you agree with them, because your defence of it is nothing short of baffling otherwise. It's not exactly something ambiguous, they were clearly there calling for his hanging.
    PbP hold anti homelessness demonstrations all the time, Brendan ogle's home sweet home / Apollo house thing etc.. were all directly branded by, funded by and headed up by absolute dyed in the wool marxists. Not everyone who went to those protests or donated would want to see the political Ireland those people would want, they wanted to raise awareness for the homeless, I agree that Barrett had political aims with that protest just as ogle or Paul Murphy did with theirs, it doesn't make the protest a 'fascist' one the same way every homeless march wasnt a socialist one.
    The fact that they were calling for the hanging of a gay, left wing politician because he's gay and left wing is what makes it fascist. He's not a paedophile, no matter how much they insist he is. Let the useless idiots present some evidence if they have it but if they did, you can be damn sure they would've by now.

It's more bully-boy tactics by the far right, trying to threaten and intimidate a politician who won't kowtow to them. I'm glad O'Gorman is standing up and I only hope more people follow his example. Those scumbags have no place in Irish society.

even the term white priviledge is racist against white people, they built an entire education policy around it.

Explain how the term is racist against white people.

in the same way that 'black people are all good at basketball' is racist. In cases it might anecdotally present itself as true, and most professional basketball players are black , but to automatically assume any given black person is better at basketball than another race is a racial stereotype. In the same way that presuming white people are automatically not discriminated against / have advantages for being white is prejudiced and a stereotype.

it is a trait specifically directed towards a singular race emphasising a difference purely based on race.