Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs not following Government Guidance

• 11-07-2020 5:49pm
    Registered Users Posts: 13,754 ✭✭✭✭

Gibneys in Malahide not requiring food to be purchased, a booking to be made or time restrictions enforced, all which are required by Gov guidance.

Mods if this thread breaks any rules, feel free to delete.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,649 Mod ✭✭✭✭pinkypinky

Go straight ahead and report them to the Gardaí then.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users Posts: 30,077 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

There's nothing the Gardai can do immediately unless they file it away as a basis to object to licence renewal.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 24,993 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Inquitus wrote: »
    Gibneys in Malahide not requiring food to be purchased, a booking to be made or time restrictions enforced, all which are required by Gov guidance.

A booking is not required. Pubs may take 'walk ins' if they can accommodate them provided other rules are followed.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,438 ✭✭✭The Davestator

You need to read the actual law and stop being such a curtain twitcher.

There is no need for booking or a minimum spend if the person is not buying alcohol for instance. I can walk into any pub and buy a soup and a coffee and that's fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,754 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

There is no need for booking or a minimum spend if the person is not buying alcohol for instance. I can walk into any pub and buy a soup and a coffee and that's fine.

The people concerned went on an all day drinking session, 8 hours odd, that's clearly against the rules! Practically next door to the Police Station too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

The people concerned went on an all day drinking session, 8 hours odd, that's clearly against the rules! Practically next door to the Police Station too!

Are you a disgruntled wife or something?

So did I on Saturday and it was great craic. Report it to the police if you feel so strongly and go into pub too and complain to management. No point giving out here.

The rules are in place for a reason, this sort of irresponsible behaviour helps noone.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

We don't tolerate personal insults in this forum. Please be civil.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

Notice a lot of pubs where the name is no longer on the receipt....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭antimatterx

I was in Gibneys today, they served us pints and 10 minutes later they came up and said we have to buy good. We said we would have chips each and they scoffed at us. We said that the menu is shocking, and we're not ordering **** food. We paid the bill and left.

Well, Gibneys wouldn't serve us chips today. They said we have to order a meal. When I said that's not a law, we were asked to leave.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,792 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Well, Gibneys wouldn't serve us chips today. They said we have to order a meal. When I said that's not a law, we were asked to leave.

Except it is the law. Has to have the form of a substantial meal

L1011 wrote: »
    Except it is the law. Has to have the form of a substantial meal

OK, but there was no food at any table.

That's because they are not following the rules, and shame on them!

• Registered Users Posts: 68,792 ✭✭✭✭L1011

They may have eaten already. So far we only know that you refused to comply with the law

• Registered Users Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

I was walking down Camden Street/Portobello area yesterday around 5pm and there seemed to be a lot of pubs with people drinking at the outdoor tables but no food with it. Fine, if the meals were still being prepared but the fact not one table had food seemed a bit suspect!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭maebee

Son No.1 and his mate were on Inish Mór yesterday for a day's fishing. When the fishing ended, they headed for the pub. They couldn't get near it. Crowds inside. No distancing whatsoever. Full of Americans, Spanish and French. Unbelievable.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

maebee wrote: »
    Son No.1 and his mate were on Inish Mór yesterday for a day's fishing. When the fishing ended, they headed for the pub. They couldn't get near it. Crowds inside. No distancing whatsoever. Full of Americans, Spanish and French. Unbelievable.

And some people wonder why the numbers are rising again. There have been idiots on boards.ie bragging about breaking the law. Better to take the medicine now and suffer than have a return and be destroyed,

• Registered Users Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭maebee

feargale wrote: »
    And some people wonder why the numbers are rising again. There have been idiots on boards.ie bragging about breaking the law. Better to take the medicine now and suffervthan have a return and be destroyed,

?? I was trying to make the point that a pub on an island (of all places) was not observing the distancing guide.

.....So did I on Saturday and it was great craic.....
    Many of us are working long hours on the front line trying to keep this virus away yet you're happy to brag that you went on an all day session in a pub. Would the 'craic' be so great if your partner, child, parent etc. died because of your stupidity? Take your head out of the sand and show a bit of responsibility and maturity.
    ?? I was trying to make the point that a pub on an island (of all places) was not observing the distancing guide.
    All pubs here are on an island! (Sorry, I couldn't resist!)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

Many of us are working long hours on the front line trying to keep this virus away yet you're happy to brag that you went on an all day session in a pub. Would the 'craic' be so great if your partner, child, parent etc. died because of your stupidity? Take your head out of the sand and show a bit of responsibility and maturity.

All pubs here are on an island! (Sorry, I couldn't resist!)

The problem is none of us are seeing any signs of the virus in the community so people are getting back to normal life. The time for wearing masks was at the beginning of the pandemic imo not now. I myself have zero interest in the pub but I certainly don’t blame anyone for pushing to get back to normal. The entire thing is blown out of proportion at this point.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

It was the Irish pub owner most at fault.

The problem is none of us are seeing any signs of the virus in the community...
    The daily statistics are widely available.
    ...The time for wearing masks was at the beginning of the pandemic imo not now.....
    True, but there was a huge shortage and priority was given to frontline workers.
    ...The entire thing is blown out of proportion.....
    That what the presidents of the USA and Brazil said too.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

Sorry to say that the whole social distance thing goes out the window when people gather for a meal and a few drinks. Its also impossible for management or staff
    of a place to be expected to make sure that this is policed. Only a matter of time before were back to a shut down.

.... Its also impossible for management or staff
    of a place to be expected to make sure that this is policed....
    It's not at all impossible - just not financially viable for them. Limit numbers and place staff at door (like shops do) and have a 'one out/one in' system.

Big big difference in shopping and socialising. And socialising what you are doing when you're out for a few drinks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭Hannibal36

Or better yet,every pub just run a daily BLM protest and then they won't have to adhere to any of these regulations,problem solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Duke of Url

If pubs can not implement health and safety protocols then close them all. Every other industry that opened with the same type of protocols in relation to social distancing, limited numbers and so on which drove the curve down. Sure even restaurants are able to implement a clear process to keep people safe with bookings and limited numbers.

Pubs cant do any of this as for every pint a person drinks, this increase in impaired judgement could effect a high number of other individuals within the pub.

Big big difference in shopping and socialising. And socialising what you are doing when you're out for a few drinks
    You have 105 minutes and must have a substantial meal. Do you really think that those abiding by the guidelines will get drunk in that time?

You can shop without any time limit.

You have 105 minutes and must have a substantial meal. Do you really think that those abiding by the guidelines will get drunk in that time?

You can shop without any time limit.

Who mentioned getting drunk. We are told our judgement is impaired for driving after half a pint or less so how much is our judgement impaired after 3 or 4 pints or a bottle of wine which is easily doable in that time. And do you honestly think every one is going out for the food.