Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,552 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

alps wrote: »
    Watch your nuts.

Derogation farmers need to go to 15% nut in the 1st April...

Fill th bin now..
    Ye know I eased off on the N last year after the silage was made. I cut it out altogether with seaweed and molasses foliar. Went back with a round of N in September.
    Anyway I had the grass quantity and quality but my milk urea figure was on the floor. I think it even went to 8 or 9. Only for I brought the meal up to a 16 pr I would I feel have had to start spreading N again.
    The milk quantities were starting to drop a bit too quick I felt and the 16 nut saved that. Now maybe if I had a legume to help but I hadn't and grass with no N applied.

So it's not simple, keeping people on a 15 could make people spread the bag when it's not the way we should be going.

Be interesting to see how people get on with mss with no N applied and 15's or if they require meal at all.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,201 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

ozil10 wrote: »
    Just curious if this has ever happened anyone else and how it was resolved?
    Bought a bull last spring to mop up cows after ai
    Bull was fertility tested on farmers farm in March
    All good on the cert
    Arrived on my farm in April
    Bull settled in fine
    Breeding season was just over 9 weeks
    I AI'd cows for 6 weeks
    Then ai'd what the bull was after for first week just to make sure he was active and working
    Ai man said there was semen on his straw when he inseminated
    So i thought all well and good
    Bull was active and working away
    Anyways after 9 weeks i was getting repeats
    And scanning in late september showed all the cows bulled by the bull were empty

Last cow calved there last week and i got no calf of the bull i bought
    Clearly infertile
    Not looking to go down legal route or anything like that
    Just wondering has anybody had a simillar experience
    Cheers

I m afraid thats bulls for you .i have seen bulls in the past that i reckon went blank for a while.moving to a new environment may expose them to bugs that while they dont outwardly show signs may put system inder pressure.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,220 ✭✭✭Grueller

Selling pedigree bulls here for years. The advice has always been buy a bull for spring in the Autumn. Nobody ever does though.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,550 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Grueller wrote: »
    Selling pedigree bulls here for years. The advice has always been buy a bull for spring in the Autumn. Nobody ever does though.

We have ours sold since before Christmas. Have 3 young bulls but wont sell them until the summer

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭ozil10

K.G. wrote: »
    I m afraid thats bulls for you .i have seen bulls in the past that i reckon went blank for a while.moving to a new environment may expose them to bugs that while they dont outwardly show signs may put system inder pressure.

Maybe so
    But in my eyes i bought an infertile bull

• Registered Users Posts: 4,829 ✭✭✭straight

ozil10 wrote: »
    Maybe so
    But in my eyes i bought an infertile bull

I wouldn't bother using him on his own for another year anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭ozil10

straight wrote: »
    I wouldn't bother using him on his own for another year anyway
    Definitely not
    Ill get him fertility tested but i know he isnt fertile now at this stage
    Be off to the factory after that

Could be worse
    I could be supplying milk to glanbia
    Oh wait i am 🤣

• Registered Users Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

I'd a friend who got caught with a high profile Hereford breeder, €3000 bull. No satisfaction. Another who got caught with a very high profile Limousin breeder same story.
    If I remember the IFJ exposed the amount of bulls that never sired a calf, it was shocking.

The amount if dud bulls and breeders out there is a disgrace, buyer beware I suppose, but one would be better off having a good reliable breeder to start with.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Tbh youd want to be fertility testing them on your own farm and close to breeding. Have had bulls do fine one year and test poor the following year. A high temp, bit of lameness or anything could effect semen quality 5/ 6 weeks later.

Anyone who has ever come back to us about a bull we have treated them fairly. I think twice in over 20 years. 1 lad said he couldn't handle the bull, he was going after him with the tele porter and wondering why the bull was going for him. Another farmer didn't have fencing to keep the bull in.

• Registered Users Posts: 49 morclc

Has anyone ever used the Bova AI angus bull Lanigan Red Deep Canyon (ZLL) on friesian heifers? Is he easy calving?

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭jd_12345

morclc wrote: »
    Has anyone ever used the Bova AI angus bull Lanigan Red Deep Canyon (ZLL) on friesian heifers? Is he easy calving?

I haven’t used red Angus but apparently you’ll get very few red calves from them unless you have Jersey blood .... In case you’re looking for the red element alone.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

morclc wrote: »

Yes, years ago, and no problems (iirc!)
    Hecwas only a handy young bull at the time but he's a big unit now so I'd ask Michael O'Neill ;)

I thought he'd gone up in the world and was only used on pedigrees nowadays.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,220 ✭✭✭Grueller

Folks, where on tams in agfood is the application for the auto calf feeder?

• Registered Users Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Morris Moss

Anybody read about the new green left party, they haven't launched yet, but one policy they are considering is stopping milk production in Ireland.

You have to wonder are these people in the real world, they think people are entitled to everything for nothing and someone else can pay for it.

Feck me if the rain with the last hour is anything to go by its gonna be a long weekend...
    Sicken yet hole to put em back in but looking likely now

• Registered Users Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

Grueller wrote: »
    Folks, where on tams in agfood is the application for the auto calf feeder?

under tmas schemes

Anybody read about the new green left party, they haven't launched yet, but one policy they are considering is stopping milk production in Ireland.

You have to wonder are these people in the real world, they think people are entitled to everything for nothing and someone else can pay for it.

They'll get my vote. I'll take the compensation and go back to the 39 hour week.

• Registered Users Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Morris Moss

They'll get my vote. I'll take the compensation and go back to the 39 hour week.

Even better a 30 hour working week is what they want.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,552 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Mao Zedong McHugh.

Didn't I tell ye about that talk in those circles. Luke Ming and Matt Carthy would have the same rhetoric.

They make Pippa Hackett and Eamon Ryan as sane people.

Pulverize the life out of soil and finish it off with fungicide and pesticides and wash what's left of the soil into the waterways and it's an example to behold for the Greens cos "it's plant based" but stick a cow on it, keep and increase the carbon in the soil and God forbid add value from the cow by milking her then it's sacrilege.

This is where we've ended up now from people being left in their own little bubble.

The recent meatball study from "uni's" in Ireland and Europe comparing calorific value and environmental value never mentioned soil degradation and increased nutrient leaching from tillage over grassland and never considered the fact milk products may be an added calorific value from that meatball.
    We're in a present state where high tech money and from livestock haters pay for studies that they've already influenced the outcome. It's a backward step for science.
    But whoever pays the piper..

The present teagasc water catchment program with Ballycarney showing the highest nitrates waterway leaching in the country is a real thorn of the side of the anti cow brigade because it shows the reality of tillage farming not just here but in Europe, America's, worldwide.
    I've no doubt something will be done to stop that information being shared. Either Ballycarney catchment will be closed down or something such is the power of the anti cow - anti dairy cow and the pro tillage brigade who are quite happy to sit back and let things develop and even have a bit of a say themselves in matters.

Mao Zedong McHugh.

Didn't I tell ye about that talk in those circles. Luke Ming and Matt Carthy would have the same rhetoric.

Pulverize the life out of soil and finish it off with fungicide and pesticides and wash what's left of the soil into the waterways and it's an example to behold for the Greens cos "it's plant based" but stick a cow on it, keep and increase the carbon in the soil and God forbid add value from the cow by milking her then it's sacrilege.

This is where we've ended up now from people being left in their own little bubble.

The recent meatball study from "uni's" in Ireland and Europe comparing calorific value and environmental value never mentioned soil degradation and increased nutrient leaching from tillage over grassland and never considered the fact milk products may be an added calorific value from that meatball.
    We're in a present state where high tech money and from livestock haters pay for studies that they've already influenced the outcome. It's a backward step for science.

The present teagasc water catchment program with Ballycarney showing the highest nitrates waterway leaching in the country is a real thorn of the side of the anti cow brigade because it shows the reality of tillage farming not just here but in Europe, America's, worldwide.
    I've no doubt something will be done to stop that information being shared. Either Ballycarney catchment will be closed down or something such is the power of the anti cow - anti dairy cow and the pro tillage brigade who are quite happy to sit back and let things develop and even have a bit of a say themselves in matters.

They're in an echo chamber basically, and if they keep hearing their own side of the story they believe it eventually and no science or common sense is going to change that.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

They're in an echo chamber basically, and if they keep hearing their own side of the story they believe it eventually and no science or common sense is going to change that.

Limit the number of flights you can take, they are anti capitalism, but got no issues with selling hoodies for a 100% markup on the cost of manufacturing, usual champagne socialism and formed purely on the typical left wings main downfall of I'm gonna keep on falling out with my existing party until I got a party that is exactly my ideals.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Any recommend grass measuring apps other than PastureBase?

I have it on my phone but find it more complicated than need be. I just want to see growth rates and input the demand. I’ve no interest in all the other bells and whistles PBI has

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

Scanned the autumn calvers today. 3 out of 50 not in calf. 1 was a heifer might be a twin to a bull.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Scanned the autumn calvers today. 3 out of 50 not in calf. 1 was a heifer might be a twin to a bull.

Well done. How long were you breeding?

Any recommend grass measuring apps other than PastureBase?

I have it on my phone but find it more complicated than need be. I just want to see growth rates and input the demand. I’ve no interest in all the other bells and whistles PBI has

Agrinet maybe?

Mooooo wrote: »
    Well done. How long were you breeding?

11 weeks

• Registered Users Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭alps

Mooooo wrote: »
    Agrinet maybe?
    If you could....miss it soooooo much..😰😥

• Registered Users Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Mao Zedong McHugh.

That land at ballycarney isn't prime veg land thoooooooo, if lads need a stone fork and aren't familiar with setting a murphy switch to use it. Every acre gets ploughed almost and catches lots of rain to wash away soil and being banky terrain doesn't help. I know the guy who farms veg at the back of Larry's factory and while it has the right soil but the stone(affects finish quality of root veg) and lack of irritation infrastructure(epa are asking farmers to submit 'voluntarilly' water extraction volumes) will hold it back, nevermind the weather to harvest. Why you gots no fresh greens industry like herbs or lettuce in the area, Slaney valley could have the potential though.
    Combinables will become rotation in an animal free countryside cause no volume of feed grain needed despite so much imported gm is used anyway. Could the next greenwash press release be how there's a fair few ports around the place so the gm soya doesn't need to be lorried too far so is more sustainable? :pac: Irish grains arent reliable enough quality wise for human consumption (Oats = mosaic virus) to have a big industry, the lads wanting a mill to grow bulking flour will struggle for mycotoxins from fungal disease with wheats.
    I'm not intending to make a row but these people will then just come up with fluff nonsense of using warehouse farms in urban areas with technology like hydrophonics under led lights and robotic railing to maximise floor space. There's a reason the dutch and spain are used to grow veg for Europe atm. Not all land is made equal, growing commercial veg(think of loading an artic off a bay vs in side door of a van scale) or plant based products as the buzz word goes would be focused in on the prime land (silt-sand area of the loam triangle) with the 12 months of summer diet, air freight, export dirty practices hypocritical BS that goes with the agenda of the greens etc.

One of those days/ nights whatever. Daft cow calving messing around for an hour just to get hold of her. Ropes on and Jack out a Whitehead heifer. Go in to main calf shed then to wash ropes and an early Feb born heifer calf fecking dead in the pen. Fcuk sake, smashing calf