Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Barry Cowen sacked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Just answer the question . Why should we believe Barry Cowen?

I think you will find I asked a question first, in normal life you would answer or at least admit you have no idea and retract the post

• Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    I think you will find I asked a question first, in normal life you would answer or at least admit you have no idea and retract the post

I can't be bothered telling you. Sure you seem to believe that Barry Cowen is an honest man in the normal sense of the word.

McMurphy wrote: »
    Alternative what?

I'm not saying Barry Cowen is lying, I just think his excuse is far fetched.

Unless of course by "2 X drinks" Barry meant two naggins, and by "something to eat afterwards" he meant a bag of tayto?

Yeah, I think he perhaps is being careless with the truth.

This thread is really not the hill you should choose to die on tbh.

So you dont know, maybe just post that anymore instead of your far feteched stories which you have nothing to back it up

I can't be bothered telling you. Sure you seem to believe that Barry Cowen is an honest man in the normal sense of the word.

Did I say he was honest?

You posted that you knew it was FF who released the story, so please tell us all who it was? or just admit you havent a clue and we can move on

• Registered Users Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

I didn’t read any of them, once I seen you had quoted every post I knew it was a rant

Fingers in ears time. How typical of a Fianna Fáil supporter.

Every FF trope on display here.

The local cumann will have to strike a medal for you and your service.

Fingers in ears time. How typical of a Fianna Fáil supporter.

Every FF trope on display here.

The local cumann will have to strike a medal for you and your service.

At first I thought that this was a non-story, but I have to admit the more I hear about it, the more it seems like he genuinely should step down. Speeding i dont mind. Everyone does it and it's not really an issue (unless you're obviously taking the piss and going twice the limit or something), but drinking and driving in 2016, when everyone is aware that it's heavily illegal and frowned upon, and doing it on a learner permit.. doesn't really show much regard for the public.

The issue here really, is that Micheal is going to look like a buffoon if he doesn't make Cowen step down. This is a great opportunity to make Micheal look strong and decisive, rather than corrupt/incompetent which is the image that will stick if he doesn't face this.

He has 2.5 years in the job and he's already looking shoddy. Be a good chance to be seen to do something worthwhile.

Has this been named Cowengate yet? The media are definitely milking it...

Just quoting that, as it's brilliant :D

Please provide your alternative with proof? thanks......

Ooooh. Someone has touched a nerve.

What is it you get for blindly defending him? Do you get the warm fuzzies or is there something more substantial in the works?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

So you dont know, maybe just post that anymore instead of your far feteched stories which you have nothing to back it up

Just for clarity here, do you think it's plausible that a fully grown adult could have 2 drinks before a gaa match, sit through the match, have something to eat afterwards, traverse from Croke Park on All Ireland Sunday - westbound (relative because Mayo were playing) to where ever it was in Kildare he was stopped, and still fail a breathalyser test?

At first I thought that this was a non-story, but I have to admit the more I hear about it, the more it seems like he genuinely should step down. Speeding i dont mind. Everyone does it and it's not really an issue (unless you're obviously taking the piss and going twice the limit or something), but drinking and driving in 2016, when everyone is aware that it's heavily illegal and frowned upon, and doing it on a learner permit.. doesn't really show much regard for the public.

The issue here really, is that Micheal is going to look like a buffoon if he doesn't make Cowen step down. This is a great opportunity to make Micheal look strong and decisive, rather than corrupt/incompetent which is the image that will stick if he doesn't face this.

He has 2.5 years in the job and he's already looking shoddy. Be a good chance to be seen to do something worthwhile.

Just quoting that, as it's brilliant :D

The statement will be full of regret. But it won't be regret for the incident but regret for being caught.

Mícheál at this stage will let him brazen it out. Mícheál Martin has no legacy to protect. He just needs a few years in the trough and then he'll head off. He won't care.

---

Personal statement tonight at 830 and no questions after.

Just for clarity here, do you think it's plausible that a fully grown adult could have 2 drinks before a gaa match, sit through the match, have something to eat afterwards, traverse from Croke Park on All Ireland Sunday - westbound (relative because Mayo were playing) and still fail a breathalyser test?

Alchol affects everyone different. Depends on a huge number of factors so I have no idea.

I personally have gone to an All Ireland and had no alcohol all day if you are suggesting that nobody can watch a game without drinking.

Now I have gone to one as well and got hammered :P

What is it you get for blindly defending him? Do you get the warm fuzzies or is there something more substantial in the works?

I would have expected a one word response which was positive might have stopped you ranting, but no

• Registered Users Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Cute Hoor

Looks like Cowen is going to make a boll1x of this tonight as well, he is going to make a statement but won't answer any questions, the questions won't go away Barry.

So because people were always breaking the law then we shouldn't enforce the laws at any point?

Reminds me of the story of the person that was driving home from work, doing 80 in a 50.

Garda pulls him over and he says I'm stopping you for speeding.

"What? But I always speed on this road, and no one has ever stopped me!"

Cute Hoor wrote: »
    Looks like Cowen is going to make a boll1x of this tonight as well, he is going to make a statement but won't answer any questions, the questions won't go away Barry.

He has already served punishment for his crime, he is making a statement, what more do you want?

I would have expected a one word response which was positive might have stopped you ranting, but no

Yes, I'm ranting.

Shef, you have barely any credibility at this stage on this subject. It's best you don't try take the high road. You're posting in here today has been a shambles at best.

Calm toi and have a couple of pints and a large meal. It'll sort ya.

Alchol affects everyone different. Depends on a huge number of factors so I have no idea.

Ah hold on, are you saying that you can have 2 pints and then fail a breath test at least 5 hours (but more likely 6/7 hours) later. The world's top scientists will be descending on Clara to study Brian's metabolism.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

walshb wrote: »
    Aren't you great.

Drink driving, sure what's the problem.......?

Drunk driving is the real issue.....
    Yes. Pretty much.
    So, maybe being a wee bit tipsy is not big deal to you....

I bet it would be a real big deal to the people you could kill and the families you could destroy with this horrendous attitude.

How many people have been killed by drivers whose blood alcohol level was lower than the old limit yet above the current one? Very few, if any.

The simple fact now is that most fatal accidents, in this country, alcohol is "not a factor". At all. Good! Yet we still treat it as if it is the major cause and not only that, we increase demonisation for those at the lower end of the scale which is NOT where the problem lies.

Its only effect is to boost the potential for outrage among the priggish/politicallycorrect/woke (select your synonym of choice) among the population. As if, in this day and age, that were needed.
    Your attitude here on this topic is disgraceful

As I was saying....

He has already served punishment for his crime, he is making a statement, what more do you want?

If the statement provides total clarity, fantastic, if it leaves unanswered questions then he is just digging a bigger hole for himself, the questions won't go away.

Ah hold on, are you saying that you can have 2 pints and then fail a breath test at least 5 hours (but more likely 6/7 hours) later. The world's top scientists will be descending on Clara to study Brian's metabolism.

I said I dont know, same as you don't know.

How is that so hard to figure out?

Yes, I'm ranting.

Im glad we finally agree on something

If the statement provides total clarity, fantastic, if it leaves unanswered questions then he is just digging a bigger hole for himself, the questions won't go away.

If you want this level of clarity from Cowan do you expect the same from every politician?

I said I dont know, same as you don't know.

How is that so hard to figure out?

Yea I do know, it is total bull, what I am really struggling to understand is why he didn't just come out and say what actually happened, he was only a relatively small amount over the limit, it's not as if he was totally p1ssed, coming out with the pure and utter bullsh1t just got people's backs up. When you're in the hole throw away the shovel.

Im glad we finally agree on something

Pathetic level of discourse.

If you can't rant about Sinn Féin you resort to criticising posters. And yet the content of the posts go uncommented upon. It's classic you really.

Just come out and say you condone unlicenced drink drivers and be done with it.

If you want this level of clarity from Cowan do you expect the same from every politician?

Absolutely! Why should it be different for anybody else. Obviously the higher up the food chain you are the more difficult it becomes.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

Just for clarity here, do you think it's plausible that a fully grown adult could have 2 drinks before a gaa match, sit through the match, have something to eat afterwards, traverse from Croke Park on All Ireland Sunday - westbound (relative because Mayo were playing) to where ever it was in Kildare he was stopped, and still fail a breathalyser test?

Was just on drink aware there. Two pints = 4 units = 4 hours to process.

15mins - finish drink and head to Croke Park
    60mins - watch game
    15mins - leave and get grub ordered
    60mins - eat and head for the car
    30mins - get out of Dublin
    45mins - get pulled

3hours 45 mins. I suppose it is possible?

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭silver2020

If the alcohol limit for your license is 20mg as it is for learner permits, then quite easily there'd be a level there, but I would suspect it might have been a pint after the match.

I never rated him and his driving on a provisional license / learners permit for years would show that he is not suitable to be a minister. A sort of "I couldn't be bothered" attitude.

I don't rate the ban as an issue as it was a very low level and well below then limits for a full license holder. But he's a fool and it just smacks of the old FF and frankly he should never have been in the running for a ministerial position in the first place even if he had a perfect driving record and full license since he was 17.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

Yes you do. This is from the Irish Times. It has a paywall so I'll just post it for you

"Mr Cowen was banned from driving for three months and fined €200 in 2016 when he was found to have been over the limit after attending the All-Ireland football final.

It subsequently emerged that he would have been under the limit had he been driving on a full licence rather than a provisional one."

So, if he had a full licence, he wouldn't have been breaking the law. On either count.

Feisar wrote: »
    Was just on drink aware there. Two pints = 4 units = 4 hours to process.

15mins - finish drink and head to Croke Park
    60mins - watch game
    15mins - leave and get grub ordered
    60mins - eat and head for the car
    30mins - get out of Dublin
    45mins - get pulled

3hours 45 mins. I suppose it is possible?

Match started at 3:30, in his seat by 3:15 at the very latest, an hourish to drink the 2 pints, so started his drinking spree at 2:15ish, caught at 8:18