Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Barry Cowen sacked

• Registered Users Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    You said you knew it was someone in FF that released the story, so who in FF?

I don't know who it was but you'd have to ask cui bono. Dara Calleary would be my guess, nose well out of joint at getting fcuked over by FF and might just be in line to take the job if Cowen gets the shove.

What's your guess?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Feisar wrote: »
    Was just on drink aware there. Two pints = 4 units = 4 hours to process.

15mins - finish drink and head to Croke Park
    60mins - watch game
    15mins - leave and get grub ordered
    60mins - eat and head for the car
    30mins - get out of Dublin
    45mins - get pulled

3hours 45 mins. I suppose it is possible?

35mins each half plus half time itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Cute Hoor

Yes you do. This is from the Irish Times. It has a paywall so I'll just post it for you

"Mr Cowen was banned from driving for three months and fined €200 in 2016 when he was found to have been over the limit after attending the All-Ireland football final.

It subsequently emerged that he would have been under the limit had he been driving on a full licence rather than a provisional one."

So, if he had a full licence, he wouldn't have been breaking the law. On either count.

Did you post this earlier

That's NOT what he was disqualified for, by my understanding. The ban was for driving unaccompanied on a learner permit.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Feisar wrote: »
    Was just on drink aware there. Two pints = 4 units = 4 hours to process.

15mins - finish drink and head to Croke Park
    60mins - watch game
    15mins - leave and get grub ordered
    60mins - eat and head for the car
    30mins - get out of Dublin
    45mins - get pulled

3hours 45 mins. I suppose it is possible?

The match would have been 70 minutes, plus a bit of injury time at the end of both halves and a 15 minute half time. Did he confirm he wasn't at the minor game? Honestly, it stinks.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Yes you do. This is from the Irish Times. It has a paywall so I'll just post it for you

"Mr Cowen was banned from driving for three months and fined €200 in 2016 when he was found to have been over the limit after attending the All-Ireland football final.

It subsequently emerged that he would have been under the limit had he been driving on a full licence rather than a provisional one."

So, if he had a full licence, he wouldn't have been breaking the law. On either count.

But he DIDN'T have a full licence. So he was above the limit. End of.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Cute Hoor wrote: »
    Match started at 3:30, in his seat by 3:15 at the very latest, an hourish to drink the 2 pints, so started his drinking spree at 2:15ish, caught at 8:18

And all ignoring the absolute state of match day traffic.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,466 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Did you post this earlier

That's NOT what he was disqualified for, by my understanding. The ban was for driving unaccompanied on a learner permit.

do you have a source for that? i haven't seen any newspaper stories that said the ban was for driving unaccompanied. the penalty for driving unaccompanied is points and a fine, not a 3 month ban.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,554 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Why is this such a big deal?

Do we want to go through a list of things that TDs have done and there was nothing about it?
    Imo Simon Harris should never be allowed hold a seat again over the children's hospital debacle if this is being considered a big deal. Like being hopeless at the job is far worse than a very minor drink driving charge.

And before anybody starts accusing me of being an FF'er, I certainly am not. I despise them and particularly Micheal Martin.

I'm just laughing at how this is considered newsworthy.

do you have a source for that? i haven't seen any newspaper stories that said the ban was for driving unaccompanied. the penalty for driving unaccompanied is points and a fine, not a 3 month ban.

You haven't seen it ohno because it doesn't exist, simple as

• Registered Users Posts: 40,466 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

You haven't seen it ohno because it doesn't exist, simple as

ah right. I've just copped you were quoting somebody else. Anybody who says he got a 3 month ban for driving unaccompanied is talking nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

The match would have been 70 minutes, plus a bit of injury time at the end of both halves and a 15 minute half time. Did he confirm he wasn't at the minor game? Honestly, it stinks.

True, also pointed out by McMurphy. God my GAA knowledge is bad!

If what he said is try he'd want to get his liver checked as it ain't up to scratch!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭declanflynn

If the statement provides total clarity, fantastic, if it leaves unanswered questions then he is just digging a bigger hole for himself, the questions won't go away.
    Prince Andrew 2

• Registered Users Posts: 9,536 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

I’m pretty sure that it was in the media at the time, because it was known here in the wilds of Tipperary! It didn’t go to court, as the reading was so low.

“ The Fianna Fáil TD was on his way home from the All-Ireland football final. He had two drinks before the game and something to eat after it.

Mr Cowen was breath-tested on the spot, where alcohol was detected. He was again tested at a Garda station.

He was found to be over the limit.

Mr Cowen was punished with a fixed charge penalty notice, a €200 fine and he was disqualified from driving for three months.

The case did not go to court as the amount of alcohol in his system did not reach the level required for a prosecution.”
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/revealed-cabinet-ministers-drink-driving-ban-39338911.html

You're pretty sure it was in the media at the time? If you're pretty sure then link to article from the time.

What stinks about this story is that it wasn't reported at the time. It looks like the story was hushed up at the time and by trying to be too clever by half the story now resurfaces.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Pedro K

Drunk driving isn't the issue here. That's NOT what he was disqualified for, by my understanding. The ban was for driving unaccompanied on a learner permit.

Make your mind up, will you? As an aside, saying 'if he had a full licence he wouldn't have been breaking the law,' is pointless. If my aunt had balls she'd be my uncle. Cowen didn't have a licence. He was breaking the law.

McMurphy wrote: »

Ha ha. Makes you wonder alright. O'Callaghan was livid being left out as well but he probably wouldn't want the agriculture gig.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

eagle eye wrote: »
    Why is this such a big deal?

The least qualification for a minister of state should be that they are of good repute. A serial law breaker doesn't meet the standard and shouldn't be a minister.

If you go on the road after drinking, you're increasing the likelihood of killing someone. Suggesting that I'm moralising by having an issue with this is a little bizarre. A lot of drink driving apologists out in force today it seems.

The poster you're quoting there, if this was a SF TD or a PBP TD she'd have a different tune.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭declanflynn

Match started at 3:30, in his seat by 3:15 at the very latest, an hourish to drink the 2 pints, so started his drinking spree at 2:15ish, caught at 8:18
    Its obvious that he had 4 or more pints.
    Politicians never learn(especially ff ones), if he had come out when it happened told the whole story truthfully people would
    A. Believe him
    B. Maybe have some sympathy for him
    C. Have more respect for him
    But the way he has unfolded this story its turning into the end of his career and it's very hard to feel sorry for him.
    In M Martin it looks like we have our own Boris Johnson
    Barry will do like Domonic and brazen it out

• Registered Users Posts: 38,554 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

The least qualification for a minister of state should be that they are of good repute. A serial law breaker doesn't meet the standard and shouldn't be a minister.
    Irish TD = dodgy character

• Registered Users Posts: 56,352 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Are there any TDs calling for resignation?

How about SF, they are the largest opposition party in the state’s history, and they did say they would hold the government to account? What is their view here?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,740 ✭✭✭Allinall

walshb wrote: »
    Are there any TDs calling for resignation?

How about SF, they are the largest opposition party in the state’s history, and they did say they would hold the government to account? What is their view here?

SF asking for a resignation for something dodgy in a TD's past?

Not a chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,663 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Looks like Cowen is going to make a boll1x of this tonight as well, he is going to make a statement but won't answer any questions, the questions won't go away Barry.

We are barely a wet week into the return of Fianna Fail to power and the arrogance is dripping off them already. No scrutiny and no accountability are allowed because they see themselves as our betters.

Has this been named Cowengate yet? The media are definitely milking it...

The media need to be careful not to cause copyright infringement :pac:

61YtKafqCsL._AC_SX569_.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Pathetic level of discourse.

If you can't rant about Sinn Féin you resort to criticising posters. And yet the content of the posts go uncommented upon. It's classic you really.

Just come out and say you condone unlicenced drink drivers and be done with it.

Why don’t you quit ranting

• Registered Users Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

I don't know who it was but you'd have to ask cui bono. Dara Calleary would be my guess, nose well out of joint at getting fcuked over by FF and might just be in line to take the job if Cowen gets the shove.

What's your guess?

Actually I have heard it was Calleary that is the source of this as well...probably speculation but the fact you heard the same..interesting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

The reading was low. I'd imagine he is telling the truth about the couple of pints before the game with the food. No way was the reading that low after a serious session. Again im not excusing a DUI but I would ask people to remember the context of the whole thing. The Indo and their source have an axe to grind here and i'd love to know who their source is. Is it a member of AGS or someone close to Cowen?

I'd think this will blow over by the weekend.

Yea I do know, it is total bull, what I am really struggling to understand is why he didn't just come out and say what actually happened, he was only a relatively small amount over the limit, it's not as if he was totally p1ssed, coming out with the pure and utter bullsh1t just got people's backs up. When you're in the hole throw away the shovel.

But you don’t know, unless you physical sat with him that day and watched him all day.

You do understand the difference between actually knowing and guessing? At the moment you are guessing

So am I by the way but at least I’m admitting it

What's your guess?

I don’t have a guess, I don’t know. I doubt it was someone in FF because if that was the case they would have released prior to him getting his current role. It was always on the cards he was getting a minister role

If you wanted to get him out of a minister role then hit him prior to announcement and then it would be impossible for him to get the job, not after it doesn’t make sense

Most TD are friendly with Garda in their areas, all the Garda in Ireland talk between each other so I would expect a number of TD knew about this

Who gained the most by putting FF front and centre this week in news???

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    But you don’t know, unless you physical sat with him that day and watched him all day.

You do understand the difference between actually knowing and guessing? At the moment you are guessing

So am I by the way but at least I’m admitting it

Are you suggesting that it is possible (even remotely possible) to fail a test 6 hours after drinking 2 pints, if you think this is possible then obviously we are both guessing and Brian is one of those very strange people who holds the liquor in his system longer that anybody else.

DellyBelly wrote: »
    Actually I have heard it was Calleary that is the source of this as well...probably speculation but the fact you heard the same..interesting

He's guessing.

Calleary is keeping his powder dry for a run at the leadership. If it's found out its him then it would be curtains for him.

Are you suggesting that it is possible (even remotely possible) to fail a test 6 hours after drinking 2 pints, if you think this is possible then obviously we are both guessing and Brian is one of those very strange people who holds the liquor in his system longer that anybody else.

Don't forget that he was on a learner permit at the time. The allowances are really low for a leaner. Almost half of what it is for a full license.