Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Barry Cowen sacked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Well that didn't take long, I mean for FF to get up to their usual tricks.

I don't for a minute think that ABFF are squeaky clean either in lots of ways, but honestly to have this happen within a week of taking office is deja vu.

But I'd say he will survive this, MM won't sack him I don't think, and he sure as hell won't resign either. As you were.

If he is gone next week I will be very surprised, but doubt it really.

You do know this happened years ago???

Why would he be sacked or resign?

As I pointed out to numerous other posters, have you checked what is lurking in the other parties?

I think you will find it’s a hell of a lot worse

• Registered Users Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭quinnd6

It's really hard to follow your angry response given you can't use the quote feature correctly. But I'll try.

For starters, I don't think you understood the phrase "free-for-all". You see in the early noughties there were very lax regulations regarding provisional licences. You didn't need to do any lessons to get one and on your second one you could drive unaccompanied. At no point did you have to do a test to get a renewed second provisional.

I never made it to a third provisional though, because having a provisional was a bit below me. Insurance premia were so high so I don't know why people would drive without a full licence.

I did a shít tonne of lessons so I could learn and even when I was leading up to do my test I did a load of mock tests because as a car obsessive I really "needed" get a full licence.

Now granted, that's not everyone's story. But at no point was this taken as a right or as an entitlement.

It seems to me that you believe driving is an entitlement. It's not. It's not up to society to make things easier and as I said, I would have preferred if the current regime was brought in decades ago.

What I want to make impossible is for unaccompanied unlicenced drivers to be on the road. I don't know why anyone wouldn't be in favour of that.

---

Regarding your own personal issues with driving. Your insurance idea is beyond laughable and that is literally coming from a point of expertise.

Also, the Covid crisis hit in March, so I'm guessing you had ample time to learn before that? I mean you're hardly complaining about something you just decided to do during pandemic restrictions.

Well it wouldn't be a fair society if someone like you was in charge anyway for that I'm sure.
    I know it's pointless in arguing with someone on a forum and I'm not going to explain why I didn't get around to getting enough lessons to feel ready for doing a test.
    I can't turn back time.
    I was starting to get better at driving before covid19 pandemic, I did do many lessons but that's the only driving I did. I didn't drive unaccompanied ever.
    I believe if things keep going the way they're going a lot of people won't get to learn to drive and that's a problem
    because they won't be able to afford it.
    The bus system in Ireland is terrible like they go every 2 hours and in some places they rarely go at all.
    So everyone is entitled to at least a chance at driving I think.
    Anyway I'll be fine when all this is over I'll be getting a ton of lessons too.
    Anyway sorry I've gone completely off topic so I'm outta here.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,179 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Shefwedfan wrote: »

As I pointed out to numerous other posters, have you checked what is lurking in the other parties?

Let the man stand in the dock and give his story Shef. You are working too hard.

Normal way these things go is he'll give a statement and then we'll see if there is any more dirt on him.
    This could take down him and Michael if there are lies being told.

Let the man stand in the dock and give his story Shef. You are working too hard.

Normal way these things go is he'll give a statement and then we'll see if there is any more dirt on him.

Off the boat Francie?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

They wouldn't lie about something like this.

But let's not bring up the past Francie. Ya hear?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Twas an ideal time for Mehole to sack Cowen, replace with Callery, gain plaudits from the minions from Mayo and elsewhere and show the rest of us that FF had changed with him at the helm.

Instead we got same old, same old.....

Thank you

Off the boat Francie?

Never debate the point. Always point "over there".

I thought spending the day on the internet defending a political party was below you? You don't half accuse Francie often enough about the same.

Your arguing against your own opinion? You do realise that

This is hilarious

• Registered Users Posts: 13,898 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Ah, good, thanks for that.

Your issue is that he is FF. Thanks for clarifying that.

I didn't clarify that but fair play to you for trying to deflect from this FF TD breaking the law.

Never debate the point. Always point "over there".

I thought spending the day on the internet defending a political party was below you? You don't half accuse Francie often enough about the same.

You have yet to raise a valid point, every one of your “points” so far have been shown up to be incorrect. Which in the end on all of them you have agreed you where incorrect

• Registered Users Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Garda vetting for all election candidates should be mandatory. LOL can you imagine!

Sone journalist(I use the term loosely) is probably write now writing a story...we'll see.

You have yet to raise a valid point, every one of your “points” so far have been shown up to be incorrect. Which in the end on all of them you have agreed you where incorrect

Sure they are shef. Sure they are. Move along now.

What time is he taking the stage for his performance?

*Actor references may or may not be coincidental. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭WishUWereHere

Apologies if this has been mentioned before-just home from work & haven’t the time to read back over 30 pages.

Why is BC allowed to make a statement and nobody allowed to ask questions? Also I would love to find out just what the hell is a ‘regularised license’

Until this bloke answers real questions-not from Áine Lawlor who was really meek last Sunday on TWIP

• Registered Users Posts: 29,118 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Cute Hoor wrote: »
    Match started at 3:30, in his seat by 3:15 at the very latest, an hourish to drink the 2 pints, so started his drinking spree at 2:15ish, caught at 8:18

What state was he in when he got into the car and started his journey in heavy Croke Park traffic, around 90 minutes earlier?

What time is he taking the stage for his performance?

*Actor references may or may not be coincidental. :)

Why are you and friends going to watch on the boat while reading boards? Mighty crack :-)

Sure they are shef. Sure they are. Move along now.

It’s been fun watching you rant and rave all day while not making any sense :-)

Best of luck, thanks for all the lovely comments

• Registered Users Posts: 19,663 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Apologies if this has been mentioned before-just home from work & haven’t the time to read back over 30 pages.

Why is BC allowed to make a statement and nobody allowed to ask questions? Also I would love to find out just what the hell is a ‘regularised license’

Until this bloke answers real questions-not from Áine Lawlor who was really meek last Sunday on TWIP

Because they know that his story is a crock of sh1t and if questions are allowed it will fall to pieces. Welcome to accountability the FFG way.

Ah 2009, it's great to see ya again.

And we are only a week in. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Oops!

Just like old times!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Because they know that his story is a crock of sh1t and if questions are allowed it will fall to pieces. Welcome to accountability the FFG way.

Week1.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,129 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Garda vetting for all election candidates should be mandatory. LOL can you imagine!

Whatever about Garda vetting you would surely expect the Taoiseach to do his due diligence on people put forward for cabinet posts.

Why are you and friends going to watch on the boat while reading boards? Mighty crack :-)
    It’s been fun watching you rant and rave all day while not making any sense :-)

Best of luck, thanks for all the lovely comments

The hack of this.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

What the hell is he making a statement for, did he never hear of; “never complain, never explain”

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭buried

Just gone into his seat now for statement

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

Feisar wrote: »
    What the hell is he making a statement for, did he never hear of; “never complain, never explain”

He has to make a statement because brazening it out isn't gonna work this time. The lack of sense to his story isn't helping him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

There needs to be a "declaration of innocence" submitted in writing to an open access database by every candidate for every election.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

Because as a serial law breaker he's not fit to hold the office of minister.