Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Barry Cowen sacked

• Registered Users Posts: 13,480 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Cowen doing a Bertie tonight.

Total waste of time given that he's going to go unchallenged.

He may as well recite his favourite poem.

He also failed to display a tax disc 14 years ago, he confirms tonight.

He repeats he only drank 2 drinks on the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Oops!

He has already brushed it aside and gone "full irish TD" mode....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,152 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Cowen doing a Bertie tonight.

Amnesia??

Nothing about expenses in his speech, he apologises again and seems to want people to feel sorry for him.

jojofizzio wrote: »
    Amnesia??

The emotional style.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭WishUWereHere

Oops! wrote: »
    Just like old times!

And to think we have to put up with these shower of law-unto-themselves for another 5 effing years.

The way these plonkers are carrying on, coupled with CV19, 2008 will be a walk in the park.”

Sinn Fein laughing all the way to the ballot box with this.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭buried

Dara Calleary was sitting beside him during the statement

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 69,179 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

His bullish - I have important things of state to do, don't be annoying me little people - approach won't go down well.

The regularisied phrase is uber Fianna Fail.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭declanflynn

Never did it b4 or after that one time??

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

Never did it b4 or after that one time??

I wonder what the chances actually are of being caught and then if one done it once? Odds must be lottery stuff. As my Dad would say, I wouldn't want to be anywhere near him in a lightning storm.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 33,105 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

He also failed to display a tax disc 14 years ago, he confirms tonight.

He repeats he only drank 2 drinks on the day.
    Is that to go with the speeding?
    Maybe driving isn't for him...

• Registered Users Posts: 774 ✭✭✭capefear

He had a chance to put this to bed tonight but I don’t think he did, still to many unanswered questions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

I think that should be that now. The penalty for his crime was applied and served. I'd really hope that the parties in govt will think twice now about slinging mud at SF in the future. Glass stones and houses etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Garda vetting for all election candidates should be mandatory. LOL can you imagine!
    not a bad shout actually.

surprised the parties dont some type of a binding full disclosure system to avoid this kind of thing

• Registered Users Posts: 13,898 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Saw the short clip of Cowen they showed on RTE's 9 o'clock news.

Embarrassing stuff.

Talked about regularising his licence.

If he passed his driving test, why didn't he say so and give the location and date for clarity?

It stinks.

And he's certainly invited people in to dig.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

not a bad shout actually.

surprised the parties dont some type of a binding full disclosure system to avoid this kind of thing

Well when you think about it, some of the successful candidates will go on to achieve high office, and the rest of them are in a very responsible position by representing us. They should be clean as a whistle, every single one of them.

Maybe it will be something that will happen, but I doubt it very much.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

I hope someone asks him is he really sure he just had two drinks. And the Taoiseach should be asked is it credible that he only had two some hours before he failed the test.

Maybe a ten stone pioneer would fail in that amount after that king, but it’s not very believable in Cowen’s case.

Would also be interesting to ask him if he attended some or all of the minor match on the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,152 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Saw the short clip of Cowen they showed on RTE's 9 o'clock news.

Embarrassing stuff.

Talked about regularising his licence.

If he passed his driving test, why didn't he say so and give the location and date for clarity?

It stinks.

And he's certainly invited people in to dig.

How does one”regularise” one’s licence???:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 56,356 ✭✭✭✭walshb

At least he hasn’t “drink drive’ since....

Well, we should fooking hope so, pal..

But here’s one for you Barry, lad: how many times did you drink drive before getting caught? That might be of more relevance..

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Irish politicians are not renowned or falling in their swords. They generally have to be dragged kicking and screaming to a resignation.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

So he got caught speeding, drink driving, he drove unaccompanied on a learner permit.

I wonder how many penalty points he collected on his learner permit.

There might be more drip drip in this.

It's easy to see why the spin doctors wouldn't allow him to be questioned on his story.

Irish politicians are not renowned or falling in their swords. They generally have to be dragged kicking and screaming to a resignation.

Indeed.

But now, with the OTT scrutinisation and aggro and hostility and virtue signalling and wokeness and social media, it’s not as bad!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,940 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

so even after being brought o court for speeding he didn't go get a proper license

Going to make call..

Cowen will resign or be sacked..

Gaining wee bit too much traction now..

• Registered Users Posts: 69,179 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Cowen getting roasted by Road Victim Group chairwoman.

It's not going away.

Cowen getting roasted by Road Victim Group chairwoman.

It's not going away.

Still waiting for her to mention the most serious charge...drink driving..