Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Barry Cowen sacked

• Registered Users Posts: 56,377 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Martin should have done this two weeks ago..

I said it then..

• Registered Users Posts: 4,513 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Seems very harsh

• Registered Users Posts: 27,340 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

He hung himself there really. If he'd had held up his hands, said sorry and kept the head down, he would have been got away with it.

As soon as he questioned the Garda report and implied that they were lying that was it. The Gardai played him like a fiddle referring the case to GSOC and that ensured the story was never going away.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,206 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Janey.

Well, at least Micheal gets to go through all the shyte of ministerial selection again!

Greens must've put the gun to the head. Still and all, thats got to be a record. Did he get one quiet day in the job?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

jackboy wrote: »
    I thought Micheal Martin said the file wasn’t too bad. Bizarre.

Yeah I don't understand this bit at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭KevRossi

SF 1 FF 0, early goal for Mary Lou, nodded in at the far post.

Ehhh, this is Thomas Byrne's baby. Not sure what SF had to do with his sacking. He was under pressure from the media who kept 'finding' new info on him.

the Biffo dynasty is over.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,531 ✭✭✭✭Water John

MM is Taoiseach of a three party Govn't. FF in the past would have brazened it IWT.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭Jizique

JeffKenna wrote: »
    Yeah I don't understand this bit at all.

It wasn’t bad for a FF minister (old enough to remember some others)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,195 ✭✭✭jos28

murpho999 wrote: »
    Wow is this the new FF?

Actually sacking a minister who's done outrageous things?

This is ground breaking for them, I'd say the coalition partners had a huge say in this, and that's a good thing.

Well said Murph

• Registered Users Posts: 6,286 ✭✭✭emo72

Let he who is without sin cast the first stone. Sooner or later no one will be a politician.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭ChelseaRentBoy

walshb wrote: »
    Martin should have done this two weeks ago..

I said it then..

Yeah he's looked really weak and inept waiting this long.

SF as the strong opposition put him under huge pressure.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,125 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

SF 1 FF 0, early goal for Mary Lou, nodded in at the far post.
    I could make a joke about her rifling it in....or someone else claiming it....but I won't....

quick? it has been 10 days.

must have been the shortest ministerial tenure ever in Ireland though?

here's the Thomas Byrne story for those who don't know

https://gript.ie/thomas-byrne-unconvincing-denial/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

KevRossi wrote: »
    Ehhh, this is Thomas Byrne's baby. Not sure what SF had to do with his sacking. He was under pressure from the media who kept 'finding' new info on him.

Thomas Byrne has denied any involvement.

emo72 wrote: »
    Let he who is without sin cast the first stone. Sooner or later no one will be a politician.
    Let's hope so we have far far too many as it is.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Limpy

Will Dara replace him?

emo72 wrote: »

as a politician you don't pull a U-ey at a Garda drink-taken checkpoint and expect to get away with it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Wow.

Meehole Martin just made himself look even worse now. Zero leadership.

I'd imagine Calleary is secretly delighted and id imagine he will start canvassing for a tilt at the leadership.

Good old FFG.

• Registered Users Posts: 52,016 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

MM learning that being Taoiseach is not all it’s cracked up to be.
    Be careful what you wish for.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Is it Cowen or Cowan?

you're not very well informed on that score....

https://gript.ie/thomas-byrne-unconvincing-denial/

• Registered Users Posts: 27,340 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

He hung himself there really. If he'd had held up his hands, said sorry and kept the head down, he would have been got away with it.

As soon as he questioned the Garda report and implied that they were lying that was it. The Gardai played him like a fiddle referring the case to GSOC and that ensured the story was never going away.

bazermc wrote: »
    Is it Cowen or Cowan?

Cowen, for some reason.

glasso wrote: »
    as a politician you don't pull a U-ey at a Garda checkpoint and expect to get away with it!
    There clearly a lot lot more to come.
    He had a speeding fine before?
    How many years was he driving on a learners license 15+ years?...is he saying he had someone with him on all the journeys?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Only has himself to blame. He should have notified his party leader when it happened. He had weathered the storm despite being made to look an idiot with the learner permit etc. But choosing to go on the offensive regarding the Garda report while refusing to reveal who his ‘witness’ was shows the arrogance of the man.

I’d believe a random Garda’s version of events over this chancer any day.

Good riddance.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,664 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

He'll have plenty of spare time now to learn to drive.

he pulled a U-ey -> when that was inevitably confirmed he was done - come clean or not.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,586 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Well he would say that wouldn't he.

Limpy wrote: »
    Will Dara replace him?

You would imagine so.

Just shows you, snakery does pay.... Thomas Byrne.