Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

So you think after covid has passed there'll be no late bars or nightclubs.... put down whatever your smoking, programme for government actually goes the opposite way with later opening hours and a move towards a more European model for late night venues.

They'll open as usual once a vaccine is in widespread use, until then it is what it is just make the best of it. Late night bars and nightclubs are an awful idea until a vaccine is in widespread use, as much as I'd like to be back in both we can't at the moment, the 10.30/11.30 closing is a compromise for the moment, better than nothing

I`d say that poster Dickie is correct, there is a agenda to close as many pubs for good as they can and to reduce the populations`s ability to drink alcohol as much as they can. They want to turn the pubs into cafes or in rural villages for them to become social centres and that is the overall plan. We can all see that and we must push back against this and get the pubs open.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Many pubs in Dublin are Gastro pubs so noone in Dublin should have difficulty having a few drinks over the xmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,160 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

So you think after covid has passed there'll be no late bars or nightclubs.... put down whatever your smoking, programme for government actually goes the opposite way with later opening hours and a move towards a more European model for late night venues.

They'll open as usual once a vaccine is in widespread use, until then it is what it is just make the best of it. Late night bars and nightclubs are an awful idea until a vaccine is in widespread use, as much as I'd like to be back in both we can't at the moment, the 10.30/11.30 closing is a compromise for the moment, better than nothing
    The conspiracies have ramped up considerably the last few days.

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭ingo1984

Drifter50 wrote: »
    I`d say that poster Dickie is correct, there is a agenda to close as many pubs for good as they can and to reduce the populations`s ability to drink alcohol as much as they can. They want to turn the pubs into cafes or in rural villages for them to become social centres and that is the overall plan. We can all see that and we must push back against this and get the pubs open.

Don't think that's their agenda. If they wanted to curb drink consumption, just task it to the hilt like the Scandinavian countries or like they do with the cigarettes.

Some pubs may close as a result of this but majority will survive. Owners may sell up due to lack of ability to finance their debts, but someone will just step in and take over the pub and keep it going. Similar to what happened during financial crash.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,302 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

pjohnson wrote: »
    The conspiracies have ramped up considerably the last few days.

Don't get me wrong I'm all for opening pubs, and when the time comes late bars and clubs once a vaccine is being distributed.

But come on like a conspiracy theory that this is all some sort of plan to kill off pubs, give me a break. Wonder are they having this discussion in other countries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

LuasSimon wrote: »
    Many pubs in Dublin are Gastro pubs so noone in Dublin should have difficulty having a few drinks over the xmas.

I think the dublin pubs will remain closed, the government loves kicking dublin more

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭the rock29

I personally think this is a joke between wet pubs and pubs serve food has anyone noticed how many staff from the industry are doing nothing and trying to get work but can't due to the restrictions and are all only temporary contract or twenty hours a week minimum wage while staff are relying on the pup payment which is very hard to live on so having food in a premises and catch covid what a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,258 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Looking increasingly likely that the pubs are going to open in some capacity over the Xmas period.

Anyone else buzzing for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭Degag

Agreed. Some of the histrionics on this thread lately are either laughable or quite worrying depending on what hat you’ve on.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭opinionated3

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Looking increasingly likely that the pubs are going to open in some capacity over the Xmas period.

I'm hopeful rather than optimistic. Having that said I believe my local is gearing up to be open late in the month and is probably going to accept bookings from regulars only, which certainly I'd be overjoyed with as it's a small rural pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭MelbourneMan

There has been no decision made yet, but I would be very concerned is there is a yielding to lobbying pressure and they are let open.

Even the limited opening of pubs with their own facilities and chef for food brings what to my view are unacceptable risks.

There has been no decision made yet, but I would be very concerned is there is a yielding to lobbying pressure and they are let open.

Even the limited opening of pubs with their own facilities and chef for food brings what to my view are unacceptable risks.

Nah, it's safe as long as people don't act the b*llocks! It was grand during the summer. Social distance, table service, masks going to the toilet.......

I'm looking forward to it!

Good job it's only your view and not someone with influence.
    I'm sure the employees and publicans will be delighted to get back earning their wages as normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

Good job it's only your view and not someone with influence.
    I'm sure the employees and publicans will be delighted to get back earning their wages as normal.

the problem is theres too many panic artists like himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,999 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

I see from today’s Indo that only pubs with their own kitchen can reopen, so no more buying in food from a local restaurant or takeaway

Another example of knee-jerk rules made up that have no basis in science, a general theme of FFFG's entire management of "Controlling Covid"...

....having a kitchen that cooks the food on the premises is going to protect all the customers from the Virus, I mean if you buy a pizza from the takeaway next door then you're going to get the Virus!?
    ...same dumb rule as the €9 meal....:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

There is no Covid related logic to what they are doing. Zero. Firstly on the meal thing and now especially on the fact that the pub needs a kitchen and a chef. It holds absolutely zero reasoning for why it would prevent the spread of the Virus. Literally nothing. In fact, having more people in the work place is probably worse.

The Vintners cannot accept this laying down. They have been very weak on the whole thing. They will unforgiveably betray pub owners if they do not go for the nuclear option.

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭Timmy O Toole

I don't think pubs are to open in any capacity from what I am seeing it's only resteraunts with a chef and a kitchen .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

rubadub wrote: »

It's astonishing that people are still feigning ignorance about this coming out with the likes of such bullshit like "durrr, does food have antiviral properties...durrr". Do they think they look smart by making themselves out to be completely ignorant stupid cnuts?

I find it extremely hard to believe anybody who is dying for pubs to reopen has never heard and understood the phrase "eating is cheating", or has never had their own or others friends mammys try to "line their stomachs" with food knowing they are going on planning on getting shitfaced. Then these idiots attempt to take the rest of us for stupid cnuts claiming a meal will literally make no difference at all! who do they think they are kidding!?

If you can't make a valid point without resorting to abusive language, maybe it isn't that valid. Reported.

That's a straw man argument that dwarfs the Wicker Man.

Can you point out where everyone has been asking for pubs to be open so people can go out on massive session and get hammered? No? Didn't think so, haven't been too many examples of that.

The point is that pubs should be open, and should have been open, regardless of whether they serve food, under the same restrictions as restaurant and pubs that do serve food. (I notice Leo's gone very quiet on his promise that pubs would be treated the same way as other sectors.)

During the summer, that was for sittings of 1:45. Not too many sessions I've been on where people were absolutely hammered by then. I can't see how food is going to have an effect over that short a period (other than people actually ending up more inebriated by drinking faster to try to finish the drinks that were interrupted by the food).

Many of the pubs that did open partnered with a local takeaway or restaurant to serve food. There have been loads of posts on this thread (somewhat nonsensically) saying any pub could open because that was all they had to do. We even had that ridiculous regulation that a record had to be kept of what every individual ate. Yet apparently now that's not enough. So it's clearly not about ensuring food is consumed alongside alcohol.

Again, this isn't about all-night sessions of people getting hammered. They're gone for a while (apart the ongoing ones outdoors or in house parties). This is about allowing pubs to open so small group of friends can meet up and say hi over a couple of drinks. Or people living alone can go out and have a couple of drinks in a social setting with other human beings around, rather than sitting at home.

But but but but but .... they can do that in restaurants! They can if they can get a booking. Which people on their own are unlikely to get at this time of year. That also imposes a financial limitation (oh but but but people who can't afford meals out shouldn't be spending money on drink ... not any of our business how people choose to spend their own money).

But but but but but .... some people in pubs will go out to get hammered. Kick them out. If they get totally obnoxious and refuse to leave, call the guards. There's been regulations in place around that since 2001. I've also seen plenty of obnoxiously loud and drunk people in restaurants.

But but but but but .... some pubs will just totally ignore the rules! So close them, and object to their license renewal. Closing an entire sector on the assumption that some individual pubs won't follow rules is ludicrous. The same applies to any sector. We don't ban everyone from having cars because some people drink drive.

But but but but but .... Alcohol is evil. People drink too much. Close the pubs. That's a separate issue. We're in the middle of a pandemic, and supposed to be focused on dealing with that. Also, if you think people are drinking any less just because the pubs are closed you're in for a shock.

But but but but but .... All such indoor activities are too big a risk, all pubs and restaurants should stay closed. Leaving aside the issue that as pretty much everyone pointed out, people will still go out and socialise in a far less supervised or structured way (Not that I particularly believe the assertion that they've magically suddenly been able to trace the cause of the increase in autumn back to people drinking) the fact remains, admittedly surprisingly, the numbers don't bear this out. Restaurants opened the end of June, with food pubs following shortly afterwards as soon as they realised they could. Yet the numbers remained pretty much the same for the entire month of July before ramping up at the August bank holiday.

I find the whole argument pretty offensive, it's basically supporting the stereotype that the Irish are a bunch of idiot alcoholics incapable of controlling themselves. Ironically it's largely the same argument that was used against the opening of cafe bars 10-15 years ago, which would have been allowed open now. There are plenty of people capable of going out for a couple of quiet drinks.
    LuasSimon wrote: »
    That's not much good to the remaining hundreds of businesses at risk of going bust. This isn't about people finding somewhere to have a few drinks, it's about letting businesses which closed voluntarily in March open 9 months later and operate responsibly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭PommieBast

If any of my locals are actually open I'll pop by but my working assumption is that Dublin pubs are a lost cause.

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Lefty2Guns

Not getting my hopes up as you know they will have some ruling judging by the sound bites coming out. The latest one with the kitchen and chef is a joke. One of my locals has done up the beer garden and created space for food stalls and it looks great. Will they not qualify to open as they don't have a kitchen? Even though the same food stalls can be found dotted around Dublin every weekend. Talk about shafting the publicans.

There is no Covid related logic to what they are doing. Zero. Firstly on the meal thing and now especially on the fact that the pub needs a kitchen and a chef. It holds absolutely zero reasoning for why it would prevent the spread of the Virus. Literally nothing. In fact, having more people in the work place is probably worse.

The Vintners cannot accept this laying down. They have been very weak on the whole thing. They will unforgiveably betray pub owners if they do not go for the nuclear option.

Exactly! Most Gastro Bars have tiny kitchens with staff in close quarters..

And how many pub owners are going to scramble to convert the old storeroom at the back of pub to a kitchen and have Billy the barman as the new head chef, more chances of dying from food poising than Covid!

And yes you're right, pub owners should be marching on the Dail every week over the Amateur hour handling of the pub/hospitality sector, yet they all seem to be taking it lying down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I don't think pubs are to open in any capacity from what I am seeing it's only resteraunts with a chef and a kitchen .

Please don’t get him started.

It's not going to happen I work at the industry at the Lva and Vfi are not doing enough to get there premises open and usual serve food you can open oh you can't get covid eating food it's a joke to all the staff who want to work again in the industry and can't get employment

Yeah but loads and loads of pubs have kitchens so they will be able to open, just like a lot of them were before.

Yes that's true but do they have certificate from the health and food authority a cert you have to have so there is loads not going to open

There is no Covid related logic to what they are doing. Zero.

Can I ask you, and others also of the opinion that there is a lack of logic to the restrictions being applied, that on balance, it is more likely that rather than there being no logic, it is just that you cannot see the logic?

And that is is more likely that you are in error, than are forty varied members of NPHET, experts in public health, medicine, epidemiology with extensive experience and strong academic background and credentials ?

Unless you personally have an understanding and experience to both explain the flaws in their thinking, and explain why your conflicting analysis is the correct one, you would have to concede that you are probably the one with the incorrect view ?

Can I ask you, and others also of the opinion that there is a lack of logic to the restrictions being applied, that on balance, it is more likely that rather than their being no logic, it is just that you cannot see the logic?

And that is is more likely that you are in error, than are forty varied members of NPHET, experts in public health, medicine, epidemiology with extensive experience and strong academic background and credentials ?

Unless you personally have an understanding and experience to both explain the flaws in their thinking, and explain why your conflicting analysis is the correct one, you would have to concede that you are probably the one with the incorrect view ?

Less than one third of one percent of cases are attributable to the pubs. And they employ over 50000 people. But we keep them closed. Logic??!!

Yes, thats exactly the type of thinking those people espouse.

But they seem to lack the critical analysis to see the flaw in such a simplistic statement, or to consider that if matters were indeed according to that 'logic', that it is really plausible that such a conclusion be beyond the comprehension of the members of NPHET.

Nphet don't care about their employment or their mental health. That much is obvious or else they would be doing their best to give these people a chance to show they can operate just as safely as barbers, gyms etc...I think it's obvious at this stage that there is an anti alcohol narrative being pursued by these " experts".

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,748 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

This is the problem. NPHET while Id probably disagree with the "experts" status youve given them are exactly what you describe ie so called "experts" in public health.

NPHET should have had a few economists / business persons on the team in order to to balance out the danger to our economy and country as well as our health.
    An economist could have given an alternative view to lockdowns and restrictions or maybe come up with an alternative altogether to what we are getting from NPHET.

Our economy has to survive this as well as our people.

The flaws in their thinking is that its a single tunnelled vision view of the whole pandemic.

This virus doesnt kill as many as NPHET make out it does. We could have had parts of the economy open for business as usual while protecting the vulnerable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Can I ask you, and others also of the opinion that there is a lack of logic to the restrictions being applied, that on balance, it is more likely that rather than there being no logic, it is just that you cannot see the logic?

The lack of logic is just say 2 groups of 4 people sit at a table in a pub for 2 hours.

One group sits there and they have 4 pints each over 2 hours. There are 4 services of the 4 rounds.

Group 2 has 4 pints and a small meal over the 2 hours. There are 5 services of the 4 rounds and group of meals.

Who is more likely to contract the Virus, Group 1 or Group 2?

Remember you have a 2/3 people added to the kitchen service and you have increased the contact between staff and customer. You have also entered a new dynamic of cutlery and condiments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Can I ask you and others of your opinion. Regarding Ireland’s Public Health Service, which the members of NPHET run and have ran for years. Do you think this is an excellent service? Well run? Scandal free?

If not, why the fcuk would you trust them to be cogent to fight Covid, when not one of them is a virologist or epidemiologist??

Licensed Vintners Association

Government proposals proof they do not trust publicans, pub staff or pub customers
    The measures being put forward by Government are proof they do not trust publicans, pub staff or pub customers, according to the Licensed Vintners Association (LVA). Following suggestions the Government is to block the reopening of ‘wet’ pubs next month while also making it more difficult for pubs who serve food to reopen, the LVA say such measures have nothing to do with public safety and amount to a political decision being taken by the Government.

“Where is the evidence that ‘wet’ pubs pose a greater risk than restaurants or food pubs?” said Donall O’Keeffe, Chief Executive of the LVA. “Where is the evidence that people are more likely to catch Covid-19 if they don’t have a €9 meal? Where is the evidence that people are less likely to be infected if the meal they have was prepared in a dedicated kitchen rather than coming from a nearby pizzeria? There is no data to support these measures, this is a political decision with the Government showing they are happy to destroy the pubs of this country.

“The Government’s own guidelines have the same social distancing measures and time limits in place for ‘wet’ pubs, food pubs and restaurants. Yet they are pursuing policies which will only keep the ‘wet’ pubs closed and ensure that more venues are classified as ‘wet’ pubs. If all these different types of venue have to have the same social distancing, time limits and implement table service only how is one more dangerous than the other?

“This is the Government formally saying they don’t trust the publicans of this country to follow the guidelines, they don’t trust pub staff to implement them and they don’t trust pub customers to behave themselves. The Government is pushing a message of “individual responsibility” but when it comes to pubs and pub customers it seems they are quite happy to deny us such rights and freedoms.

“Our industry has been hit extremely hard during this pandemic. Instead of trying to protect the 50,000 people and their families who depend on this industry they are almost vindictive in their desire to keep us closed. Well trust is a two way street. Trust in this Government has been eroding for some time and it will be interesting to see what their lack of trust in the pub sector and our customers will mean in the weeks ahead,” Mr. O’Keeffe concluded.

250 ‘wet’ pubs in Dublin will have been kept shut by the Government for 260 consecutive days by the 1st December. More than half the pubs in the country are ‘wet’ pubs. Most were only allowed to open for two weeks from the end of September, long after the current rise in infections began.

PROPOSALS WILL ALLOW BERLIN D2 TO OPEN AGAIN, WHILE KEEPING PUBS LIKE GROGANS CLOSED
    © 2020 Licensed Vintners Association | Sitemap | Privacy Policy | Website maintained by Cogency

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭Tazz T

The irony of all this is that the gov made all the pubs spend thousands putting in place safety measures and they haven't been allowed to use them.

The sad fact is that if wet pubs aren't allowed to open at Xmas at the end of the second wave when infections are low, they won't open until the start of summer after the third wave and the whole pandemic has passed.

It used to be about flattening the curve, but now it's just about Level 3 and above and keeping schools open. Even the thought of opening wet pubs is taboo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,248 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Even if they open it won't be as normal. Less than half capacity in most. I guess if they have open windows, open earlier have a 5 pint limit and close early it could work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭Neowise

saabsaab wrote: »
    Even if they open it won't be as normal. Less than half capacity in most. I guess if they have open windows, open earlier have a 5 pint limit and close early it could work.
    Why the 5 pint limit? If there is 4 at the table, only 1 person is allowed a second pint?

Neowise wrote: »
    Why the 5 pint limit? If there is 4 at the table, only 1 person is allowed a second pint?

Bring along a mate who's a teetotaller, then you can have 10 pints... easy solution, no limits on Lemonade...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭SB71

Critical analysis, how about NPHET actually producing evidence to actually show that pubs are a cause of a spike in cases, they cant because there is none, it's mere guesswork,completely flawed logic.

If someone was arrested on suspicion of murder or something and brought to court and insifficient evidence was produced do you think a judge or jury would convict that person because the arresting officer has "strong suspicion" this person is guilty, not a chance,NPHET despite being asked numerous times to produce actual evidence not hearsay have failed to do so, but they are so fixated on pubs hell will freeze over because Tony and his lackeys ever recommend they open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,505 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

SB71 wrote: »
    Critical analysis, how about NPHET actually producing evidence to actually show that pubs are a cause of a spike in cases, they cant because there is none, it's mere guesswork,completely flawed logic.

If someone was arrested on suspicion of murder or something and brought to court and insifficient evidence was prodiuced do you think a judge or jury would convict that person because the arresting officer has "strong suspicion" this person is guilty, not a chance,NPHET despite being asked numerous times to produce actual evidence not hearsay have failed to do so, but they are so fixated on pubs hell will freeze over because Tony and his lackeys ever recommend they open.

NPHET still going off Februarys data model. Planning field hospitals and mass graves and keeping everything closed is the biggest farce in history.

Cue a rush for pubs to buy a grill or cheap oven and bang in a few pizzas or toasted sandwiches in them just to comply with what are frankly the most bizzare nonsensical set of rules one can possibly imagine, jaysus when does this lunacy end, first it's the 105 minutes time limit and the €9 covid meal now more of the same, again you'll have the garda doing the rounds on weekends visiting pubs except this time they'll be asking to see where the oven or grill is, can you imagine the conversation garda asking"have ya an oven in here, well have ya" :eek::D

Even the most talented screenwriter would struggle to come up with such completely bonkers shi*e like this,what planet are these people actually on:eek:

the rock29 wrote: »

Good old Germans, they might be quite rigid and reserved but they would never accept any of the lunacy that we Irish have to contend with, proper order too.

NPHET still going off Februarys data model. Planning field hospitals and mass graves and keeping everything closed is the biggest farce in history.

Due to the measures put in place, thank God we didn't need field hospitals and mass graves like other countries who haven't handled this crisis as well.

Things could have been so much worse had we just let those who want to run wild do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

ingo1984 wrote: »
    Don't think that's their agenda. If they wanted to curb drink consumption, just task it to the hilt like the Scandinavian countries or like they do with the cigarettes.
    Exactly, there is still talk of this MUP nonsense coming in. MUP is not a tax, though many have been duped into believing it is, the pro MUP people keep very quiet about the fact the supermarkets are going to get the bulk of this profit, we only get a small % via VAT. If they increase excise to match MUP we stand to get billions in tax, it would add maybe a euro onto the price of a pint, so of course they won't.

I find it amusing that a few years ago you would always hear about how the politicians were helping out the pubs as they were buddies with publicans or were publicans themselves -which I did believe to some degree, but now the conspiracy crowd think they want to close them. A dramatic increase in excise would really help this plot, we need all the tax we can get so it would be a sneaky excuse to do it instead of MUP if they really did want to ruin pubs.

MOH wrote: »
    If you can't make a valid point without resorting to abusive language, maybe it isn't that valid. Reported.
    :eek: teacher, TEACHER, he said a bad word! I can picture you down the boozer, "haha!! you said sh*t/damn/fiddlesticks, I find that abusive, you lose!!! I WIN the argument, your points are no longer valid". Bizarre logic!

Obviously it hit a nerve as I see you are among those still feigning ignorance about the reasoning behind the meals. Why? seriously WHY? honestly, nobody believes you are that ignorant (hopefully no words you might find offensive this time, so no bizarre cop out!)
    An operational kitchen now, is it? But I thought any food was scaring away the virus, so a pub could do a deal with a nearby restaurant to source food from them...
    I also think the operational kitchen thing is nonsense. The substantial meal rules regarding children have been in pubs for years, and in restaurants for 50+ years. It is obvious that the aim is to curb drunkeness through food (I always considered it to be common knowledge!), so I see no reason why pubs bringing in outside catering should be ruled out. In fact I would think many pubs doing that might be more cautious about it, thinking it more likely to get a visit from the gardai to see if they are complying if they have no kitchen. I have only been in 1 pub since lockdown (much as I would like to be), and as I said most of my friends are heavy drinkers so have also avoided them, so maybe I am wrong and many pubs without kitchens are taking the piss about it, if I owned one I would be extra cautious and not want to ruin it for the rest of my fellow publicans.

MOH wrote: »
    Can you point out where everyone has been asking for pubs to be open so people can go out on massive session and get hammered? No?
    No, correct, I cannot point that out.:confused: Not sure why you are asking me that?!, I certainly never claimed everyone asking for pubs to be open wants to get hammered...

I was simply saying the vast majority of people know fine well the intention of the meal laws. The only people I would believe who say they do not understand it would be very moderate or non-drinkers who genuinely do not realise that food intake greatly effects your blood alcohol level after drinking the same amount of alcohol. I have no time for liars, and many people on these threads are openly lying. They are making idiots out of themselves and causing further confusion to those who might genuinely be confused about it.

I see in your lengthy post you still refused to answer the question about this law being in place (which I have asked repeatedly), not surprising, nobody has, for very obvious reasons...
    Children aged 15 and over, who are accompanied by their parent or guardian, can stay on the premises after 9:00 (10:00 pm from May to September) if they are attending a private function where a substantial meal is being served

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭piplip87

Was taking to one of the local publicans today who started doing pizzas from the place next door but ran a tight ship, kept time limits and social distancing in place at all times. Says this week would have been his best week in possibly 10 years after the Cavan win the other night if it wasn't for COVID. I feel so sorry for those who did run tight ships during the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,248 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Neowise wrote: »

5 per person, beer or anything else you like including red lemonade!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,851 ✭✭✭redarmy

BREAKING NEWS
    Restaurants and pubs that serve food preparing to open next Friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭Degag

redarmy wrote: »
    BREAKING NEWS
    Restaurants and pubs that serve food preparing to open next Friday

Where did you see that?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,309 ✭✭✭Cork2021

Fianna Fáil parliamentary party not happy that pubs won’t be opening. (Traditional pubs)

https://twitter.com/mcconnelldaniel/status/1331691961061945345?s=21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,934 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Cork2021 wrote: »
    Fianna Fáil parliamentary party not happy that pubs won’t be opening. (Traditional pubs)

https://twitter.com/mcconnelldaniel/status/1331691961061945345?s=21

He has a very valid point. All the work traditional pubs have gone too to get the premises up to covid regulation standard and there not allowed even open at that