Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,258 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

I don't think anyone mentioned a free for all in the pubs

It's been mentioned loads of times on this thread.

never_mind wrote: »
    He’s not wrong, in fairness... you go to a pub with mates... ah sure we will go back to mine etc

And it's these people who are the reason we need to have these restrictions in place. The lads who will act the b*llocks in the pub!

Just because they act the maggot at home doesn't mean we give them carte blanche to do it in public places as well

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭Gervais08

The Level 3 that we had in October where pubs with an outside space could open for 15 - are we going back to that ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 didyoufart?

You seem to have a lot of inside knowledge about this. Been at a few of them yourself maybe?

There's house parties happening in every countryside, village, town, city in Ireland.

Yes I have been at plenty of them. Some with 50 plus in a house but generally around 20.

Usually try to get to two a week.

MrStuffins wrote: »
    And it's these people who are the reason we need to have these restrictions in place. The lads who will act the b*llocks in the pub!

Just because they act the maggot at home doesn't mean we give them carte blanche to do it in public places as well

Ffs do you think every pub going person horses around with a jar in them ???

Idiotic suggestion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,624 ✭✭✭votecounts

Gervais08 wrote: »
    The Level 3 that we had in October where pubs with an outside space could open for 15 - are we going back to that ?
    nope. wet pubs closed until the new year or after lockdown 3

Ffs do you think every pub going person horses around with a jar in them ???

Idiotic suggestion.

No. But it doesn't take many. People are doing it up and down the country.

There's a post literally a few posts back from a fella saying he's going to two house parties a week. This is what I'm talking about.

votecounts wrote: »
    nope. wet pubs closed until the new year or after lockdown 3

Ridiculous that - that wanker Holohan and his “gastropub” ****e. He has zero clue about rural Ireland. Muppet he is.

No. But it doesn't take many. People are doing it up and down the country. Look at your fella for example....

See what I mean?

And the reason its happening is because the pubs or shut.

No. But it doesn't take many. People are doing it up and down the country.

Seen them all have you ?

Perhaps we should be reporting you for travelling to document this?

And the reason its happening is because the pubs or shut.

Yeah, I know!

If we can't trust people like you not to put us all at risk in private, we can't trust you to do it in public either.

There are too many people doing what you're doing and it's leading to tough decisions needing to be made.

Seen them all have you ?

I'm just taking this poster at his word.
    There's house parties happening in every countryside, village, town, city in Ireland.

Yes I have been at plenty of them. Some with 50 plus in a house but generally around 20.

Having trouble keeping up with the thread?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

Really? Well then if this is true then no wonder cases have not fallen as quickly as they should have. Confirms what I thought all along. Anyway enjoy your house parties while you still can. On the law of averages you will eventually be rumbled but sure that won`t bother you will it?

I'm just taking this poster at his word.

Having trouble keeping up with the thread?

Not at all, point im trying to get across is would you rather people drinking in a regulated environment where the guards check up on for social distancing like the last time pubs were open or unregulated house parties?

Ridiculous that - that wanker Holohan and his “gastropub” ****e. He has zero clue about rural Ireland. Muppet he is.

And you think you do? Are you living in a rural area yourself?

Really? Well then if this is true then no wonder cases have not fallen as quickly as they should have. Confirms what I thought all along. Anyway enjoy your house parties while you still can. On the law of averages you will eventually be rumbled but sure that won`t bother you will it?

Rumbled by what, Covid? Probably already had it but wouldn't know as 80% of people who get it have extremely mild symptoms or are asymtomatic.

Not my fault the government made a **** of the nursing homes where 50% of deaths occurred

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,945 ✭✭✭growleaves

Rumbled my hole.

The guards have serious criminals to go after. They aren't staking out party houses.

If someone is blasting music at the whole neighbourhood all night then a squad car may eventually turn up.

Not at all, point im trying to get across is would you rather people drinking in a regulated environment where the guards check up on for social distancing like the last time pubs were open or unregulated house parties?

I've said a million times, I'm all for pubs being open with restrictions. It worked before and I think it can work again.

I'd prefer if we could trust people enough to look out for each other, not mess about and allow pubs to be open unrestricted. But I'm a realist and this is not the reality.

Having people throwing house parties is not a reason to open the pubs, it's quite the opposite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭never_mind

PTH2009 wrote: »

He’s not wrong, in fairness... you go to a pub with mates... ah sure we will go back to mine etc

• Registered Users Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

Just saying I'm a Dub and would not step foot in a "gastro pub". Embarrassing places full of knobs. I used to be fuming when the job would try and force me to go to such hollow **** holes on social nights.

Just give me a normal, quiet, boozer where you can sit down and a chat without any airs of pretence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

Just saying I'm a Dub and would not step foot in a "gastro pub". Embarrassing places full of knobs. I used to be fuming when the job would try and force me to go to such hollow **** holes on social nights.

Just give me a normal, quiet, boozer where you can sit down and a chat without any airs of pretence.

To be fair any pub that can sell carvery or a few wings is a gastro pub technically.

Do what I did the last time. Get your wings in a takeaway pack, microwave them later / tomorrow. They can fuxk off if they think I'm eating with my pints.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

To be fair any pub that can sell carvery or a few wings is a gastro pub technically.

Do what I did the last time. Get your wings in a takeaway pack, microwave them later / tomorrow. They can fuxk off if they think I'm eating with my pints.

Ah you know what I mean, the type of places that were trendy to attend and popular for work socials before all this happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

This read of the situation is unhelpful.

The NPHET recommendations, backed by a thorough analysis of the current position and projections, are, from a perspective of continued control of the virus, for very close to Level 5 restrictions for the duration through the holiday season. This is the unpleasant truth, however much people dislike the bad news. This is determined not by NPHET, 'agendas', or 'Tony'.
    But by the virus. No lobbying, wishful thinking, self delusion, or desires for a Christmas as it might have been know, come what may, can sweep this away.

People must be informed of, and understand this situation.

There will be a very high price to pay for relaxations lower than a hybrid Level 4 / Level 5. The government is informed of this state, and will make its decisions in due course.

Did a moderator not tell you not to post n this thread again?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,156 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Sorry to say but I've given up on the whole thing. Mentally I'm a bit shattered . My wages are cut. My wife's wages are decimated. We're stuck in a routine now of go to work, come home, eat dinner, walk the dog, watch ****e TV, take care not to spend too much time with our parents "just in case" etc.
    We can't socialise, she can't go to her fitness classes with her friends, I can't play golf etc. This would all be acceptable to us if there was an endpoint in sight but with nphet, Tomas Ryan etc, I'm afraid this is a never-ending cycle of depression. I'd love nothing more now than to arrange to meet our friends in the small rural pub we frequent, have a few pints and a nice chat to catch up. So simple but yet so far out of reach.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

Do Chaplins on Hawkins Street do food? Love that spot! Might head in there over the Christmas actually!

I'm afraid not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭HBC08

Another news site is running that it will be LESS than the 1 hour 30mins... won't bother my backside if you have to leave after an hour.

Yet people who are clicky with staff will be allowed flout.

We always have to do things half arsed here. The cases rose at the same time as the rest of Europe so keeping the bars closed was pointless and shows there was no benefit.

What News site,do you have a link?

That would be horrible if true,I hate the 2 hour thing as it is.It was okay the last time as most places would let you stay on til 3 hours anyway.
    At Christmas though they're going to have to kick you out bang on whatever the time limit is as the table will be guarenteed to be booked again.The option of going to a pub that was doing €9 pizzas or linking up with a chipper is also gone.

However ill save my outrage as like a lot of hysterical posts on here its not true

And you think you do? Are you living in a rural area yourself?

Yes - else why would I be interested ?

• Registered Users Posts: 626 ✭✭✭mikekerry

Sorry to say but I've given up on the whole thing. Mentally I'm a bit shattered . My wages are cut. My wife's wages are decimated. We're stuck in a routine now of go to work, come home, eat dinner, walk the dog, watch ****e TV, take care not to spend too much time with our parents "just in case" etc.
    We can't socialise, she can't go to her fitness classes with her friends, I can't play golf etc. This would all be acceptable to us if there was an endpoint in sight but with nphet, Tomas Ryan etc, I'm afraid this is a never-ending cycle of depression. I'd love nothing more now than to arrange to meet our friends in the small rural pub we frequent, have a few pints and a nice chat to catch up. So simple but yet so far out of reach.....

It's terrible.
    So many people feel like this.
    It's like we are in a permament state of limbo, groundhog day and it's a crap groundhog day.
    If this shower really cared for the elderly they would not be letting people die on their own in hospitals with no visitors.
    Unbelievable cruelty.
    So it's clear they do NOT care about the elderly ( or anyone else for that matter).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Do Chaplins on Hawkins Street do food? Love that spot! Might head in there over the Christmas actually!

Don't forget your Santa Outfit.

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Don't forget your Santa Outfit.

img.gif?width=980

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

There is no doubt rural Ireland like everything else is coming out of this worse than Dublin or other cities , at least half of Dublin Pubs have a food angle which gives you plenty of options still when they reopen.

My fathers hometown in Munster has 5 pubs , one of which has a mickymouse food angle which may not be adequate this time meaning there may be no pub open in that town for christmas. That suits the government down to the ground as rural ireland is perceived as a nuisance and recent governments want to make rural ireland as unattractive a place to live as possible forcing young people into the cities and large towns. Closing most rural garda stations was the nail in the coffin for many towns .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Tazz T

I'd say a lot of people feel like this now and if the government don't relax restrictions meaningfully over Xmas, they're not going to get any buy in from the public when they need to tighten them next year. That's perhaps a greater danger. Then again, maybe that's why we're seeing fines being introduced now.

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭the rock29

I agree about mental health being a problem has the people in power thought of staff in the industry suffering with the stress of not having work and worried about providing for there families and maybe afraid of losing there homes etc I would like to know there thought on how you can eat food and not catch covid 19 with social distance where wet pubs can distance People safely have people in Ireland forget about the community in there area weather it rual or city it's time for the LVA and VFI staff customers to walk and protest to the Dail like famers did blocking the city up and make the government listen

• Registered Users Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

Reducing the time from 1hr 45!!?

It’s already too short

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

Reducing the time from 1hr 45!!?

It’s already too short

Surely can't be true.

Sorry I also forgot to say can some reporter not put them on the spot and ask to explain why food pubs can open and wet pubs can't open and not back down exaplain to me like I am a child and not back down make show what fools there are people will open there eyes very quickly and protest

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 396 ✭✭Open the Pubs

Yes it really is a knife into rural areas, most villages won't have a gastro pub and many small towns will be in same boat. Bigger towns may only have a couple, which will difficult to get into now with other places shut.

I don't even blame NPHET for this one, the Cabinet decided this.
    I looked at the Cabinet sub committee and none of the 6 men on it are from rural area so I'm not surprised they don't give a **** about wet pubs or rural areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,983 ✭✭✭Degag

Madness if it was true. Would be better to keep them closed. I’m not even close to warmed up after 90 mins

• Registered Users Posts: 15,310 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

MattS1 wrote: »
    Surely can't be true.

Wait and see. Wouldn't be surprised if it went to 90mins but its tight as it is.

Now let's be honest it wasn't applied riguarolsy in alot of places.

Tazz T wrote: »
    I'd say a lot of people feel like this now and if the government don't relax restrictions meaningfully over Xmas, they're not going to get any buy in from the public when they need to tighten them next year. That's perhaps a greater danger. Then again, maybe that's why we're seeing fines being introduced now.

I think the buy in has gone from many with so many stupid decisions. I'm hearing about more sheebens operating serving regulars. I'd say that will increase now wet pubs aren't even getting 2 weeks at Christmas.

Then expect more raids and fines to be issued.

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭pawdee

I've said a million times, I'm all for pubs being open with restrictions. It worked before and I think it can work again.

I'd prefer if we could trust people enough to look out for each other, not mess about and allow pubs to be open unrestricted. But I'm a realist and this is not the reality.

Having people throwing house parties is not a reason to open the pubs, it's quite the opposite.

I've told you a billion times not to exaggerate!

Then expect more raids and fines to be issued.

Unlikely, as it hasn't really happened so far only to homebars that made too much noise some even posting online.

Most guards I know want to drink in these places not shut them down. They'll be mostly checking reopened gastropubs for compliance.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,156 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Unlikely, as it hasn't really happened so far only to homebars that made too much noise some even posting online.

Most guards I know want to drink in these places not shut them down. They'll be mostly checking reopened gastropubs for compliance.

100%. I know of one where the local sergeants other half was supping away every weekend. There was even a 25 euro entry fee to get in the door.
    This will become the norm for this Christmas. I already know of house parties being organised for st Stephens day and new year's Eve. That's the real effect of these restrictions.....

Most of the best pubs in Dublin are "wet pubs" that haven't even been allowed open since March. It could be next March for them! They probably got the rawest deal of all, totally discriminated against.

And unlike rural pubs, the Dublin wet pubs will have vultures circling to buy them out and build a hotel or student accommodation!

It will end. Stay positive. Hard to sometimes. Better treatments and medicine are coming. Surround yourself with postive people, be it on the phone or person, and avoid the news. Prime Time and Six One news for example are depressing as hell. Things will get better sooner rather than later.

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭Leinster90

the rock29 wrote: »
    Sorry I also forgot to say can some reporter not put them on the spot and ask to explain why food pubs can open and wet pubs can't open and not back down exaplain to me like I am a child and not back down make show what fools there are people will open there eyes very quickly and protest

I’m not a reporter but it’s because people get less drunk when they are eating as well as drinking. When people get drunk, they become less inhibited and less likely to obey social distancing and other precautions.

This is the same reason people will only be allowed to stay in a restaurant or gastropub for a limited period of time.

The people to blame for this are the minority who cannot drink and behave responsibly at the same time. We all know these people, they are too self-centred to limit their alcohol intake and we all have to suffer because of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭pawdee

I know of a very large and very remote indoor venue in the southwest that's open with live music 3 nights a week...... 4 bars, DJ, strippers, cockfighting, showjumping, mud-wrestling, barbeque, cinema, swingers club, climbing wall, book club, cookery demos, go karting, pool parties, waterslide, rifle range, orienteering, you name it. I've heard the carry on in the toilets is unbelievable and NO social distancing whatsoever. And the neck on them playing Amhrán na bhFhiann at 4am? I don't know how they're getting away with it to be honest. This is the kind of carry on that's ruining it for the rest of us.

Licensed Vintners Association
    Government can't hide behind NPHET when they decide to single out wet pubs
    Government can’t hide behind NPHET now
    Any decision to keep wet pubs closed while other parts of hospitality open will be political decision based on zero evidence made by FF, FG and Green Party
    The Government can’t hide behind NPHET now and any move to separate out ‘wet’ pubs will be a political decision made by members of Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael and the Green Party which is not backed up by any evidence, according to the Licensed Vintners Association (LVA).

Zero evidence exists that ‘wet’ pubs carry a greater risk than other hospitality venues such as restaurants or gastropubs. Any ‘risk’ is the same for all venues where alcohol is served, with zero distinction being made between these different types of outlets.

The same time limits apply in wet pubs, gastropubs and restaurants. The same social distancing requirements apply. Table service is also compulsory in all these venues.

The Gardaí also have the same powers to shut down on the spot any of these venues who are not complying with the regulations.

As Donall O’Keeffe, Chief Executive of the LVA says, the Government are now exposed if they choose to single out one part of the hospitality sector:

“The Government can’t hide behind NPHET now if they decide to single out the ‘wet’ pubs and keep them closed. It will now be quite clear this is a decision that is only being made by members of Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael and the Green Party and they will have to own that decision. NPHET didn’t tell them that only the ‘wet’ pubs should be kept closed. There is no evidence which exists that ‘wet’ pubs pose a greater risk than restaurants or gastropubs. The same regulations and enforcements are in place for all these types of venue – the same social distancing and the same time limits. We welcome restaurants and gastropubs being allowed to trade, but if the Government allows them to open while keeping the wet pubs closed, it will be exposed as simply their political choice. And that is a choice the individual TDs in Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael and the Green Party can expect to pay their own political price for,” Mr. O’Keeffe concluded.

GOVERNMENT PROPOSALS PROOF THEY DO NOT TRUST PUBLICANS, PUB STAFF OR PUB CUSTOMERS
    © 2020 Licensed Vintners Association | Sitemap | Privacy Policy | Website maintained by Cogency

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    8 months on and people still think this

There's no point in changing people's minds when they're this mis-informed. It's a waste of energy

IFR is trending down to more flu like levels, 0.14% in one study ...