Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,559 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

You really are a piece of work. Traditional pubs don't have months to play with, many are already hanging on by a thread and flippant comments like yours are removed from the stark reality publicans face this winter.

Piece of work...
    flippant comments...

Look, the reality of the situation isn’t subject to my observations.

I don’t want to see anyone lose business but I can observe that it’s happening. I’m genuinely sorry for anyone who has lost their job or business during Covid or the recession that will likely follow. If I flippantly said the pubs will open tomorrow and the economy will be great, it wouldn’t make it happen.

Let’s just deal with reality on reality’s terms. Pubs are a non essential business and they’re likely to be high on the list to close if numbers get out of hand again. Not their fault, just the way it is.

The vaccine rollout will be the best chance of getting back towards normal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭Gervais08

Piece of work...
    flippant comments...

Look, the reality of the situation isn’t subject to my observations.

I don’t want to see anyone lose business but I can observe that it’s happening. I’m genuinely sorry for anyone who has lost their job or business during Covid or the recession that will likely follow. If I flippantly said the pubs will open tomorrow and the economy will be great, it wouldn’t make it happen.

Let’s just deal with reality on reality’s terms. Pubs are a non essential business and they’re likely to be high on the list to close if numbers get out of hand again. Not their fault, just the way it is.

The vaccine rollout will be the best chance of getting back towards normal.

Nonessential in your narrow minded opinion only.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

You really are a piece of work. Traditional pubs don't have months to play with, many are already hanging on by a thread and flippant comments like yours are removed from the stark reality publicans face this winter.

Not one pub were I live will be open for the season... just checked... this includes the food pub that served up to 100 if not more a day tourists when opened over the summer from all over the world including a few of those up in the dail. Great grand for you to have your hols and yet the rural folk cant have a pint or even a cuppa tea over Christmas. Says it all and we should have been level one all along.

Gervais08 wrote: »

Yea non essential in my mind.

Do you think they’re essential?
    Can you make the case that they’re essential?

Yea non essential in my mind.

Do you think they’re essential?
    Can you make the case that they’re essential?

Can and have many times on this thread alone.

So it should be easy to do it again. Will you tell me why pubs are essential?

No, you can read back - I get paid to be someone’s researcher and I clocked off an hour ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

socialising with friends and family.

i only see my mates to go for a pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Anyone got anything booked for Friday?

No but Saturday 2 places and a hotel Sunday. Have to make up for lost time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭lcstress2012

finbarrk wrote: »
    I didn't realise the guidelines were out? Any link?

Yeah I don’t know where he got that info.there’s no guidelines at the moment for this time round. Should here in the next few days I’d say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,257 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

They are non-essential to society. There is absolutely no realistic argument you could make otherwise.

"Old men in rural towns are ignorant of any other way to socialise" doesn't cut it I'm afraid

copeyhagen wrote: »

You might want to look up the definition of "essential"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,504 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

You might want to look up the definition of "essential"

By your logic the only things that are essential are eating, drinking and breathing.

Get out of it. Deluded beyond belief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭TheRedDevil10

Guidelines attached

• Registered Users Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

Some lads on here won't be satisfied unless everyone else in the country locks themselves in their rooms and becomes miserable bastards just like them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,248 ✭✭✭saabsaab

GazzaL wrote: »
    Some lads on here won't be satisfied unless everyone else in the country locks themselves in their rooms and becomes miserable bastards just like them.

Ah now! They are only asking people to hold their drink or reduce visits until the vaccine comes in. Only 2 months or so now!

By your logic the only things that are essential are eating, drinking and breathing.

That seems quite extreme. May I ask what exactly you are basing this on?

My logic is based on knowing what "essential" means. Pubs are not essential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,999 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

You're right, the Privilege they use to look down on those who don't have a number of fancy Restaupubs on their doorstep, sure let the rural pub user suffer for another few months who cares so long as i'm alright Jack!
    Then calling pubs "not essential" but brag about getting "free creamy pints" with their €9 substantial meal... they have some neck on them...

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    You're right, the Privilege they use to look down on those who don't have a number of fancy Restaupubs on their doorstep, sure let the rural pub user suffer for another few months who cares so long as i'm alright Jack!
    Then calling pubs "not essential" but brag about getting "free creamy pints" with their €9 substantial meal... they have some neck on them...

I sense a persecution complex in your posts. Pubs are non-essential. There hasn't been a single worthwhile argument from any poster here to say they are. Old lads wanting a few pints does not make them essential.

You seem to think that anyone disagreeing with you is "looking down on rural pubs". To be honest, I have no idea where you've got this from.

Also, I'm not sure where you've got "Restaupubs" from but you're trying too hard. It's not gonna catch on my friend. Not catchy enough!

They are non-essential to society. There is absolutely no realistic argument you could make otherwise.

"Old men in rural towns are ignorant of any other way to socialise" doesn't cut it I'm afraid

No it wouldn’t when you don’t give a **** about anyone.

And your patronizing mischaracterisation there - sickening. “Ignorant” is not a factor - literally having no other outlet for social interaction is. Your posts are vile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭aziz

saabsaab wrote: »
    Ah now! They are only asking people to hold their drink or reduce visits until the vaccine comes in. Only 2 months or so now!

It was 2 weeks at the start of this ☹️

No it wouldn’t

Glad we agree on this.

Still, I haven't seen an argument for them being essential.

literally having no other outlet for social interaction

Absolutely not true. There is no universe in which the only outlet for social interaction for ANYONE is the pub. That's quite ridiculous and there's no way you really believe this.

I suggest you look up what "literally" means.

Tenzor07 wrote: »

It’s very strange alright, I think self hatred comes to mind.

fin12 wrote: »
    It’s very strange alright, I think self hatred comes to mind.

I wouldn't go as far as to say Tenzor07 hates himself, but I do sense a persecution complex

No, you can read back - I get paid to be someone’s researcher and I clocked off an hour ago.

Aww, my poor tiny mind remains closed for lack of explanation as to the reason pubs are essential.

I'm on mobile and there are now 600 pages.

Not a single legitimate reason as to why pubs are essential

copeyhagen wrote: »

Can you only see friends and family in a pub? Why is that?

Also, even if he really meant this, and genuinely thought that the only possible place he could meet his friends and family was the pub, that doesn't make it true.

I know a lad who "knows" that the moon is a base for a race of secret lizard overlords..... doesn't make him right!

You know what, I’m the bigger person - I’ll throw you a bone.

I have no family. My friends are not in my town or even county.

Yet. I can - or could - walk into my local and within a short time have a chat; human contact; welcome interaction.

I’m not unique in this situation; there are hundreds of thousands more. For people to blithely say that this is rubbish do not give one ****e for the mental health of those who have no one.

While that certain to get a few likes from the usual suspects, it’s not true.

I’ll be happy for pubs or reopen when it’s a sensible, safe thing to do. And the vaccine is the key to making that happen. Hope’s the rollout goes smoothly and lots of business can get back to normal.

It’s not just pubs that will benefit, all the o the other things you and I both look forward to will be able to get back towards normalcy in the next few months with a bit of luck the vaccines are effective and they can be rolled out successfully.

Yet. I can - or could - walk into my local and within a short time have a chat; human contact; welcome interaction.

A) Just because you can do this, does not make it the only place to have social interaction.

B) Just because your mates live abroad, does not make pubs essential.

Cause some people don’t have a home, also can’t have visitors for what ever reason. So ur hardly going to be hanging around a park late at night meeting up, most community centers / gaa club house are locked at night. Cafes close early, libabry close early. Cinema can’t talk in one. Restaurant might not be an option cause plenty of people can’t afford to eat out.

Cause some people don’t have a home

Sorry, are you saying that pubs are essential to the homeless?

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭the rock29

Pubs are for social interaction humans are soical creatures

Sorry, are you saying that pubs are essential to the homeless?

I’m talking about a place where people can socialize, if I don’t have a home u can’t have visitors so where u going to meet people at night? If meeting up during the day isn’t an option.

You know what, I’m the bigger person - I’ll throw you a bone.

I have no family. My friends are not in my town or even county.

I’m not unique in this situation; there are hundreds of thousands more. For people to blithely say that this is rubbish do not give one ****e for the mental health of those who have no one.

Thank you for being such a big person that you offered an argument for the assertion you made previously. I had no idea that would make one a bigger person, I thought it was normal to be able to make an argument...

Thank you for that, even though I real really doubt the assertion that there are hundreds of thousands of people who have no friends or family and only get their chat in pubs. But exaggeration aside, I’ll assume your point is genuine, you have no family or friends, and you can’t get human contact any other way.

Am I to assume you’ve tried other ways to get human contact? Like, what ways have you tried and failed to get human contact?

I would say that most people can get human contact in lots of ways that don’t need a pub. How is it that your only way to get human contact is in the pub?

the rock29 wrote: »
    Pubs are for social interaction humans are soical creatures

My martial arts class is also for social interaction. It's not essential though.
    so where u going to meet people at night?

You wanting to meet people at night isn't essential.

It's pretty clear nobody has a convincing argument for pubs being essential. I see the normal crew liking posts but are being VERY quiet. Strange that!

My martial arts class is also for social interaction. It's not essential though.

You wanting to meet people at night isn't essential.

It's pretty clear nobody has a convincing argument for pubs being essential. I see the normal crew liking posts but are being VERY quiet. Strange that!

Because u deem them non essential , you are not going to be open to any argument. Might aswell be talking to a brick wall.

Thank you for being such a big person that you offered an argument for the assertion you made previously. I had no idea that would make one a bigger person, I thought it was normal to be able to make an argument...

Thank you for that, even though I real really doubt the assertion that there are hundreds of thousands of people who have no friends or family and only get their chat in pubs. But exaggeration aside, I’ll assume your point is genuine, you have no family or friends, and you can’t get human contact any other way.

Am I to assume you’ve tried other ways to get human contact? Like, what ways have you tried and failed to get human contact?

I would say that most people can get human contact in lots of ways that don’t need a pub. How is it that your only way to get human contact is in the pub?

Funny lots of people source human contact online but when it comes to meeting up, is usually done in a pub/ restaurant setting. We are talking about physical socializing here. Phone calls, zoom calls will never replace face to face meetings no matter how much society wants to ram technology down our throats.

Because u deem them non essential , you are not going to be open to any argument. Might aswell be talking to a brick wall.

I'm open to arguments. I'm asking for them, and I appreciate you putting one forward because others are lurking and liking posts without actually putting anything out there.

However, your argument is not strong enough and, in fact, only barely qualifies are an argument.

You wanting to meet people at night, during a pandemic where meeting people is detrimental, is not essential!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

I wouldn't go as far as to say Tenzor07 hates himself, but I do sense a persecution complex

Mod

Threadbanned

Do not post in this thread again.

Cause some people don’t have a home, also can’t have visitors for what ever reason. So ur hardly going to be hanging around a park late at night meeting up, most community centers / gaa club house are locked at night. Cafes close early, libabry close early. Cinema can’t talk in one. Restaurant might not be an option cause plenty of people can’t afford to eat out.

If we’re starting from a subset of homeless people then were talking about a fairly small group. But are we also assuming these people have nobody to phone and chat with? Nobody they could go for a walk with? Anything to get through the next few months until the vaccine is rolled out sufficiently?

Funny lots of people source human contact online but when it comes to meeting up, is usually done in a pub/ restaurant setting. We are talking about physical socializing here. Phone calls, zoom calls will never replace face to face meetings no matter how much society wants to ram technology down our throats.

Online contact doesn’t have to replace physical contact in the long term, but it’s much better than nothing in the short term. And we are only talking a few months at this stage. The end really is in sight as the vaccines seem to work.

I don’t know if technology is being rammed down our throats. Nobody is forcing me to use Boards. Is someone forcing you to post or are you doing so by choice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭Dickie10

the dream was so vivid i can remember the people in it and th drinks they were having and everything

Online contact doesn’t have to replace physical contact in the long term, but it’s much better than nothing in the short term. And we are only talking a few months at this stage. The end really is in sight as the vaccines seem to work.

I don’t know if technology is being rammed down our throats. Nobody is forcing me to use Boards. Is someone forcing you to post or are you doing so by choice?

No I like using boards but it’s nothing compared to hanging out physically with people.

Sorry I wouldn’t believe a thing this government say about timescales, I have myself geared for not being back to normal till 2022.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭lcstress2012

Guidelines attached

It says nothing about time limits, so how long can we stay or is it at discretion of the restaurant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,805 ✭✭✭mightyreds

It says nothing about time limits, so how long can we stay or is it at discretion of the restaurant?

If the restaurant is really busy you have 2hrs minus 15 minutes tidy up time , if it's quiet stay as long as you want.

mightyreds wrote: »
    If the restaurant is really busy you have 2hrs minus 15 minutes tidy up time , if it's quiet stay as long as you want.

My local is opening Friday and isn’t imposing limits - their only rule is “be sound”.

I’m off work Friday as I was meant to up North scattering my Dad’s ashes and they have severe restrictions at the minute.

I’ll call in and while away a few hours with a book, a chat and swapping a few racing tips!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I sense a persecution complex in your posts. Pubs are non-essential. There hasn't been a single worthwhile argument from any poster here to say they are. Old lads wanting a few pints does not make them essential.

You seem to think that anyone disagreeing with you is "looking down on rural pubs". To be honest, I have no idea where you've got this from.

Also, I'm not sure where you've got "Restaupubs" from but you're trying too hard. It's not gonna catch on my friend. Not catchy enough!

Hairdressers - non essential.
    Florists - non essential.
    Nail and beauty salons - non essential.
    Penney’s - non essential.
    Gastropubs - non essential.
    Toy Shops - non essential.
    Soft Furnishing stores - non essential.
    Electrics stores eg Curry’s, DID etc - non essential.

Loads of non-essential stuff is open. Non-essential means nothing.