Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Poorside wrote: »
    Did you drink a ball of pints in the gym?

Wouldn't go near a gym during Covid. But could do plenty of armwork in the pub....:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭SB71

sasta le wrote: »
    What part of the country?

Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

copeyhagen wrote: »
    local gym has a temperature check machnine as you walk in for your booked slot. face towards rthe screen, gives your temp.

why couldnt the pubs be allowed to do something similar?!

At least two pubs I know have in Cork city have digital temp check on arrival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

Scoundrel wrote: »
    Was in my local on Sunday food was required and masks and sanitiser but no time limit thankfully in at 3 out at 10 full as a bingo bus.

Hope it wasn’t as smelly!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

Hope it wasn’t as smelly!

I should clarify I was full as a bingo bus not the pub:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,930 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Can we merge the 2 pubs threads

PTH2009 wrote: »

Did u get to a pub since they have opened?

good idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭lcstress2012

Has anyone been to the Betsy in Swords with a group? Is it only 6 at a table or more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭hynesie08

the rock29 wrote: »

But if pint pubs aren't allowed open, he'll still have to sell food, so €19 before you can have a pint......

Has anyone been to the Betsy in Swords with a group? Is it only 6 at a table or more?

6 to a table is the law, and if slim is still running that spot, he'll be sticking to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

Called by a local gastro pub on Saturday afternoon for a bit of grub. Place was very busy I have to say but in fairness everyone was sat at their tables.

Just got a Mi Wadi with my carvery as I was driving.

There was one group of lads. All looked late 20s or early 30s and had clearly been there a few hours. Didn't appear to be eating food. All looking at the GAA match on the telly. I counted 7 at the one table and noticed groups swapping seats at various times, so clearly not all from the one household.

I didn't say anything at the time to the owner as I knew he wouldn't give a damn. I rang the local Garda station after I left and they couldn't have been more helpful. They said a patrol would be knocking by that pub in the next hour and if the group was still there they'd move them on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Mr rebel

fin12 wrote: »
    At least two pubs I know have in Cork city have digital temp check on arrival.

Yeah Clancy’s has one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

hynesie08 wrote: »
    But if pint pubs aren't allowed open, he'll still have to sell food, so €19 before you can have a pint......

Pub deosnt have a kitchen, they were bringing in some food during the summer but afaik there was no requirement to buy a meal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Anniepowaa

Called by a local gastro pub on Saturday afternoon for a bit of grub. Place was very busy I have to say but in fairness everyone was sat at their tables.

There was one group of lads. All looked late 20s or early 30s and had clearly been there a few hours. Didn't appear to be eating food. All looking at the GAA match on the telly. I counted 7 at the one table and noticed groups swapping seats at various times, so clearly not all from the one household.

I didn't say anything at the time to the owner as I knew he wouldn't give a damn. I rang the local Garda station after I left and they couldn't have been more helpful. They said a patrol would be knocking by that pub in the next hour and if the group was still there they'd move them on.
    Nerd

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

I was going to jokingly say you should of rang the Gardai on them half way through the post, but you actually did. You lads are a parody of yourselves.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Sam Hain

Embarrassed for you. Went out for a Carvery and a Mi Wadi and a good old nose, why not just stay at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

We both no that none of the above happened

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

ShyMets wrote: »
    We both no that none of the above happened

Exactly, anyone that believes that bull can contact me by pm about some magic beans I have for sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,504 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

17 units of patrol cars deployed plus the armed response unit to drag 7 youngfellas out of a pub.

It was probably the goblet breaking their very real no TV rule that sprung the gardai into action

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

I find it funny that yiz all think it's a joke people letting their hair down. I passed the big 40ft Wetherspoons the other night. Packed, load of tables without food (fair enough it could have been and gone), tonnes of kids milling around between tables, plenty more roaring drunk at closing. If this behaviour gets the rates up before Christmas and brings on new restrictions to spoil that, the I'd have to ask was it worth it. I don't think it's a crazy concern given how things went wrong in Wales quickly after a relaxation.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Why are people so keen to see these 'wet pubs' open again? Most pubs in rural towns and villages in Ireland are depressing kips with no atmosphere, a limited drinks selection, disgraceful toilets, and a clientele made up mostly of middle-aged and elderly male alcoholics. Absolutely awful places that hadn't kept up with the times anyway. They stink of piss, beer, and quiet despair.

The modern pub that places an emphasis on quality food, a small but focused wine list, and a range of different beers is the future of the business anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,504 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Why are people so keen to see these 'wet pubs' open again? Most pubs in rural towns and villages in Ireland are depressing kips with no atmosphere, a limited drinks selection, disgraceful toilets, and a clientele made up mostly of middle-aged and elderly male alcoholics. Absolutely awful places that hadn't kept up with the times anyway. They stink of piss, beer, and quiet despair.

The modern pub that places an emphasis on quality food, a small but focused wine list, and a range of different beers is the future of the business anyway.

Folks, don't bite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

boombang wrote: »
    I find it funny that yiz all think it's a joke people letting their hair down. I passed the big 40ft Wetherspoons the other night. Packed, load of tables without food (fair enough it could have been and gone), tonnes of kids milling around between tables, plenty more roaring drunk at closing. If this behaviour gets the rates up before Christmas and brings on new restrictions to spoil that, the I'd have to ask was it worth it. I don't think it's a crazy concern given how things went wrong in Wales quickly after a relaxation.

"passed by"
    "plent more at closing"

wtf were you doing, circles of the streets and curtain twitching?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,248 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Me I like a no atmosphere, a limited drinks selection, disgraceful toilets, and a clientele made up mostly of middle-aged and elderly male alcoholics. Keeping up with the times makes no sense anyway. Nice to have a good wallow in some quiet despair every so often.

saabsaab wrote: »
    Me I like a no atmosphere, a limited drinks selection, disgraceful toilets, and a clientele made up mostly of middle-aged and elderly male alcoholics. Keeping up with the times makes no sense anyway. Nice to have a good wallow in some quiet despair every so often.

A disgrace that people could exercise their right to a quiet pint and minding their own business. And there's nothing I can do to control them, just casting high-minded aspersions about a rural culture I don't remotely understand or relate to. Shocking altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

And that Guards name, was Albert Einstein.

And then everybody clapped...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,654 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

I'm glad someone is concerned about regulations.

Hope you enjoyed your meal

• Registered Users Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Thats me

17 units of patrol cars deployed plus the armed response unit to drag 7 youngfellas out of a pub.

It would be cheaper to hire one sniper :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

The guards are very receptive to complaints. I rang them in Ennis and told them that the Gourmet Store was breaking regulations. They couldn't do anything as I hadn't witnessed a breach, but they said they would be keeping an eye on them from now on. Apparently it hadn't been part of their regular patrols until now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

If traditional pubs are not your thing then move on but don`t moan at other people who enjoy the quiet atmosphere, relax with a rake of porter, watch the footie, chat to some like minded individuals who are not all middle aged and elderly male alcoholics by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,949 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

The desperation of the curtain twitchers.

"They weren't eating".

• Registered Users Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

The reality is that the traditional model of the rural pub was already in serious trouble before the COVID-19 pandemic. Young people don't want to spend their evenings sitting on a barstool in a pub with no atmosphere staring at a match on the TV and drinking one of the 4 beers they have on tap. It's just not a model that works. Again, I wasn't exactly being outrageous when I suggested that the main customers of these places are men with serious drink problems. Irish society has moved on, and very few normal people want to spend a Wednesday evening in a smelly, soulless pub with nothing more than crisps and peanuts as snacks.

You'll always have the exception to this of course, the 'old man pubs' like Neachtain's in Galway, or Toners in Dublin. However the majority of publicans have either realised the game is up and have closed down, or have changed their business model to attract younger customers. This means having good food, craft and artisan beers, a considered wine list, and entertainment that extends beyond listening to some fat, red-nosed barman going on about whatever rubbish pops into his head. Romantic Ireland's dead and gone and all that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 redbluemew

Possibly dumb question.
    So you have to order a meal and then you are allowed to have multiple pints till your time is up?
    or is it if you want another pint, you have to order another meal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,248 ✭✭✭saabsaab

redbluemew wrote: »
    Possibly dumb question.
    So you have to order a meal and then you are allowed to have multiple pints till your time is up?

No requirement for another meal. You probably have time for another 4 or 5 pints.

I can’t wait till all this sh*t is over, and no one has to ever justify themselves again for going to the pub.

redbluemew wrote: »
    Possibly dumb question.

If u had to buy a meal every time u ordered a drink, I think half the places would be empty, who the f*ck could afford that?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Dirty rat god be with the days when fcukers like you were shot.

Mod:

Threadbanned when you come back from your holiday

If u had to buy a meal every time u ordered a drink, I think half the places would be empty, who the f*ck could afford that?

Anybody could afford.. but there is no reason. If you are an alcoholic - just buy spirits and enjoy yourself. If you want to watch TV - just turn your TV on. If you need socialisation then call your friend. There is no reason to go to public places and exchange infections there.

Thats me wrote: »
    Anybody could afford.. but there is no reason. If you are an alcoholic - just buy spirits and enjoy yourself. If you want to watch TV - just turn your TV on. If you need socialisation then call your friend. There is no reason to go to public places and exchange infections there.

Well I certainly could not afford to buy 11 meals when I had 11 drinks out last Saturday. And the reason for me was I enjoy it, end of. Not engaging with u further so no need to reply.

Well I certainly could not afford to buy 11 meals when I had 11 drinks out last Saturday.

LOL, how you can afford Internet access if you cannot byu few meals for yourself? :D

And the reason for me was I enjoy it, end of. Not engaging with u further so no need to reply.

I do not enjoy myself starting from 13th of March 2020. I'm not vulnerable person, i have no elderly people in contact with me. This is just pandemic and i understand my responsibility. Not engaging with you or any other idiot in the internet, so you no need to reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,930 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Eating the meal is more like a chore at this stage but once it's done and your 2M away from another table it's fair game and you can enjoy a few pints

None of my business what the other tables are having and vice versa

Eating the meal is more like a chore at this stage but once it's done and your 2M away from another table it's fair game and you can enjoy a few pints

None of my business what the other tables are having and vice versa

The craven need of some people to stick their beak in...it must be borne out of a desperate grab at attention. Totally dissatisfied with their own lives, it becomes imperative they meddle in others. All this achieves of course, as that they become further alienated from fellow humans and themselves. A self-reinforcing cycle of negativity, indeed there's one lad here fit for the psychiatrist's couch. Sad really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

The reality is that the traditional model of the rural pub was already in serious trouble before the COVID-19 pandemic. Young people don't want to spend their evenings sitting on a barstool in a pub with no atmosphere staring at a match on the TV and drinking one of the 4 beers they have on tap. It's just not a model that works. Again, I wasn't exactly being outrageous when I suggested that the main customers of these places are men with serious drink problems. Irish society has moved on, and very few normal people want to spend a Wednesday evening in a smelly, soulless pub with nothing more than crisps and peanuts as snacks.

You'll always have the exception to this of course, the 'old man pubs' like Neachtain's in Galway, or Toners in Dublin. However the majority of publicans have either realised the game is up and have closed down, or have changed their business model to attract younger customers. This means having good food, craft and artisan beers, a considered wine list, and entertainment that extends beyond listening to some fat, red-nosed barman going on about whatever rubbish pops into his head. Romantic Ireland's dead and gone and all that.

Neachtain's an old man pub? Go way out of that ffs :pac: They've also got a very good menu, decent range of craft beers and a huge whiskey list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

copeyhagen wrote: »
    "passed by"
    "plent more at closing"

wtf were you doing, circles of the streets and curtain twitching?

I live next door to it. I could see in to it as I passed by. I could hear the roaring drunks at closing from my bed.

No curtains twitching here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

. Again, I wasn't exactly being outrageous when I suggested that the main customers of these places are men with serious drink problems. Irish society has moved on, and very few normal people want to spend a Wednesday evening in a smelly, soulless pub with nothing more than crisps and peanuts as snacks.

However the majority of publicans have either realised the game is up and have closed down, or have changed their business model to attract younger customers. This means having good food, craft and artisan beers, a considered wine list, and entertainment that extends beyond listening to some fat, red-nosed barman going on about whatever rubbish pops into his head. Romantic Ireland's dead and gone and all that.
    Not sure what planet you're living on, you really need to get out more.

Though please stick to your wine bars, spare any of us having to be stuck in a room with someone as judgemental and soulless as you going on about whatever rubbish pops into your head.

Some amount of bleedin aul wans and curtain twitchers on here, i bet you go to mass every day and believe everything that the giovernment and NPHET tell you, pubs are dangerous, travel is dangerous . schools are safe :eek::rolleyes: