Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,805 ✭✭✭mightyreds

If people really gave a ****e about feeding the homeless how about individuals arrange to pay for a meal for a homeless person themselves.

I’ll tell you why, it’s because they don’t care about homeless people and they just want an excuse to pour gallons of stout down their gullet.

Do you think they wont pour gallons of stout down their gullet now the donation to charity is taken away.

I'm not sure of your point at all really they can still go get a bowl of wings and drink as much as they want, the idea was a good one and helped out some charities with little effort on the person having a drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,835 ✭✭✭Allinall

Zebra3 wrote: »
    And they're not trying to stop the spread of covid in pubs.

But you know that.

So what are they trying to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Notmything

PommieBast wrote: »
    To actually ban alcohol sales outright would be instant political suicide. The whole €9/1hr45min things are a fudge intended to keep most places closed.

Won't disagree with you, I can remember the furore when the idea of continental cafe bars was floated.

My take is the €9 meal instruction is to reduce the time spent in a pub, and also to reduce the likelihood of people going on pub crawls. Don't think there are many who will fancy eating 3-4 meals in a short space of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

Notmything wrote: »
    Won't disagree with you, I can remember the furore when the idea of continental cafe bars was floated.

My take is the €9 meal instruction is to reduce the time spent in a pub, and also to reduce the likelihood of people going on pub crawls. Don't think there are many who will fancy eating 3-4 meals in a short space of time.

Exactly. The €9 is a ploy to stop people going out to pubs. A type of levy. People dont want to pay it, so dont go out, less socializing, leas Covid spread, less close contacts etc etc. And it’s working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,930 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

hynesie08 wrote: »
    If waterford win, you will be on here within 10 minutes going "good luck with social distancing tonight, up the deise"

They won't win though......

Got your wish but still out drowning the sorrows and enjoying it. Pub is been run very well with the standard food options of microwave pizza and nachos with bolagnese/cheese thrown over it

Exactly. The €9 is a ploy to stop people going out to pubs. A type of levy. People dont want to pay it, so dont go out, less socializing, leas Covid spread, less close contacts etc etc. And it’s working.

And yet there is a chink in the armour: common sense. Arrived at a so-called gastro pub after 8pm, most of the tables had been cleared of food. No difficulty ordering a pint without the unnecessary munch. Everyone contented, drinking away to their heart's content. Spoke to the manager, he said bar a few anal retentives most folks were grateful for the opportunity. Safely socially distanced and all, those few that didn't oblige were turfed. None of this staying at home garbage. Tell that to supermarkets, retail and hair salons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭hynesie08

And yet there is a chink in the armour: common sense. Arrived at a so-called gastro pub after 8pm, most of the tables had been cleared of food. No difficulty ordering a pint without the unnecessary munch. Everyone contented, drinking away to their heart's content. Spoke to the manager, he said bar a few anal retentives most folks were grateful for the opportunity. Safely socially distanced and all, those few that didn't oblige were turfed. None of this staying at home garbage. Tell that to supermarkets, retail and hair salons.

Jesus lad, you keep wandering into these lax gastro pubs despite your hatred of them and the ponces that inhabit them, and not only do they welcome you with open arms, they flout the rules openly for you......

You missed a trick not doing the euromillions Friday, with your luck you'd have 200mil in your pocket......

Or you're just talking bollocks.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,158 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Jesus lad, you keep wandering into these lax gastro pubs despite your hatred of them and the ponces that inhabit them, and not only do they welcome you with open arms, they flout the rules openly for you......

You missed a trick not doing the euromillions Friday, with your luck you'd have 200mil in your pocket......

Sure from the start they were complaining about pubs being closed/forced out of business, WHILE claiming a "secret knock" let them in to carry on as usual :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

No they won't because they're still complying with the purchase of a €9 meal, doesn't say you have to eat it, just buy one
    this is the law, it is not just simply a case of buying one, and it seemingly does not have to be 9euro (I think eddie rockets enforcement years ago allowed it for a burger slightly under 9 euro)

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2020/si/560/made/en/print
    You do not sound like a bull****ter, like so many others here. I still find it odd that people do not realise the purpose of these laws which have been in place for 50+ years. Some do think it is solely some sort of fine or deterrent or "levy" as you say. It is indeed a deterrent for many, but that is not the original purpose of the long standing law.

I am amazed at the ignorance about alcohol & food, my mother who only has a few glasses of wine per year knows fine well that food has a huge effect on reducing drunkeness. I always thought this was common knowledge. You have some oddballs feigning ignorance about it (not you, you do sound genuinely ignorant about it), spouting on like they are seasoned pub goers yet unaware of the "eating is cheating" mentality. It's cringeworthy shite, they are lying through their teeth claiming they literally see no sense in the "meal rules", yet then go on to claim others are lying about other stuff... I really do not know what the deal is with these freaks, do they really think they think they look smart by claiming to be mentally challenged ignorant fools? if so it's backfiring badly.

I have said numerous times that restaurants are often granted licences in residential areas where pubs would not have a hope of opening. This is due to the fact that it would be unexpected to have people using them as they typically do pubs. The meal laws are in place for decades but are largely unknown since people were not treating restaurants like pubs so there was no need to enforce them. If 10 years ago someone did get permission to open a "fake sushi restaurant" which was for all intents & purposes a "stag party, nightclub pub" in a quiet residential area then they would enforce the meal rules to put a halt to it or strongly deter it.

This is why I was also asking people about nightclub style pubs, the type of pub where if you saw a video you would be hard pushed to tell the difference between it and a nightclub. If you think traditional "auld lad pubs" should be open what rules would you put in place if you think "nightclubs" or "nightclub style pubs" should be closed. That berlin bar place had some dickhead barman standing on a bar counter pouring drinks down peoples mouths, like some cheesy 80s film, but could be trying to make out like it's a restaurant, let alone a pub.

It is similar to people saying "junk food" should be taxed, there is difficulty in legally defining it (flora light might end up being a "junk food" due to a high fat content, just as low sugar tropicana is subject to sugar tax while regular tropicana is not). Most seem to be against the idea of nightclubs opening so I would be interested in hearing how they would differentiate between nightclub style pubs and "half empty auld lad pubs". The seating rule is one thing, as it rules out "dancefloors" which would be a hard thing to define in law.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭the kelt

rubadub wrote: »
    this is the law, it is not just simply a case of buying one, and it seemingly does not have to be 9euro (I think eddie rockets enforcement years ago allowed it for a burger slightly under 9 euro)

You do not sound like a bull****ter, like so many others here. I still find it odd that people do not realise the purpose of these laws which have been in place for 50+ years. Some do think it is solely some sort of fine or deterrent or "levy" as you say. It is indeed a deterrent for many, but that is not the original purpose of the long standing law.

I am amazed at the ignorance about alcohol & food, my mother who only has a few glasses of wine per year knows fine well that food has a huge effect on reducing drunkeness. I always thought this was common knowledge. You have some oddballs feigning ignorance about it (not you, you do sound genuinely ignorant about it), spouting on like they are seasoned pub goers yet unaware of the "eating is cheating" mentality. It's cringeworthy shite, they are lying through their teeth claiming they literally see no sense in the "meal rules", yet then go on to claim others are lying about other stuff... I really do not know what the deal is with these freaks, do they really think they think they look smart by claiming to be mentally challenged ignorant fools? if so it's backfiring badly.

I have said numerous times that restaurants are often granted licences in residential areas where pubs would not have a hope of opening. This is due to the fact that it would be unexpected to have people using them as they typically do pubs. The meal laws are in place for decades but are largely unknown since people were not treating restaurants like pubs so there was no need to enforce them. If 10 years ago someone did get permission to open a "fake sushi restaurant" which was for all intents & purposes a "stag party, nightclub pub" in a quiet residential area then they would enforce the meal rules to put a halt to it or strongly deter it.

This is why I was also asking people about nightclub style pubs, the type of pub where if you saw a video you would be hard pushed to tell the difference between it and a nightclub. If you think traditional "auld lad pubs" should be open what rules would you put in place if you think "nightclubs" or "nightclub style pubs" should be closed. That berlin bar place had some dickhead barman standing on a bar counter pouring drinks down peoples mouths, like some cheesy 80s film, but could be trying to make out like it's a restaurant, let alone a pub.

It is similar to people saying "junk food" should be taxed, there is difficulty in legally defining it. Most seem to be against the idea of nightclubs opening so I would be interested in hearing how they would differentiate between nightclub style pubs and "half empty auld lad pubs". The seating rule is one thing, as it rules out "dancefloors" which would be a hard thing to define in law.

Your're right, consuming food does make a difference in regards to reducing drunkeness.

Where theres no sense in this current €9 meal restriction is that if it was all about the act of having something to eat making a difference as Michaeal Martin claimed then where that food comes from is irrelevant? Right?

But of course its not, thats where this rule makes no sense for many.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

the kelt wrote: »
    Your're right, consuming food does make a difference in regards to reducing drunkeness.

Where theres no sense in this current €9 meal restriction is that if it was all about the act of having something to eat making a difference as Michaeal Martin claimed then where that food comes from is irrelevant? Right?

But of course its not, thats where this rule makes no sense for many.

The issue of where the food comes from is simply dealt with, the meal is supposed to be a "substantial meal", which is not a basket of chicken wings shared between a group of people at a table, or a slice of Pizza, and other methods that were being used to get round proper compliance with the rules. Then there were the places reheating frozen Pizzas in a microwave, same issue.

A take away van in the back yard is also not ideal, in as much as the pub concerned doesn't have the other facilities that are normally associated with food preparation and service, and also doesn't have the trained staff that are required. Then there's the issue of things like insurance liability in the event of a problem.

Yes, it's a coarse seive that's been used to try and limit socialising in an environment that is a high level suspect for the spread of Covid, and it's not ideal, but in theory, it has helped to reduce the numbers, and that should be a good thing.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

It is similar to people saying "junk food" should be taxed, there is difficulty in legally defining it (flora light might end up being a "junk food" due to a high fat content, just as low sugar tropicana is subject to sugar tax while regular tropicana is not). Most seem to be against the idea of nightclubs opening so I would be interested in hearing how they would differentiate between nightclub style pubs and "half empty auld lad pubs". The seating rule is one thing, as it rules out "dancefloors" which would be a hard thing to define in law.

Put down the top hat and cane, and stop the ridiculous song and dance act.

The eating law is old, Covid restrictions are not. You waffle on about “eating is cheating” and how food affects drunkenness. But that isn’t what the current restriction are about, unless food made in a pubs pizza oven causes less drunkenness than food made in the cafe next door.

And you’ve been told before about “ how they would differentiate between nightclub style pubs and "half empty auld lad pubs".” You don’t differentiate as they are both pubs, you have the same uniform rules. Max of 6 per table, table service, masks on when entering and leaving. Same as we have currently. 2m between tables or 1hr 45max.

It must be burning you up something awful that I can have a gander in the door of a public house and assess the scene: there were no uptight clods and food present, which immediately made it attractive. And the "open arms" palaver, a quiet nod is enough. Believe it or not, this is a scenario replicated all over Ireland. People keeping their beaks shut (good luck deciphering the location I refer to) and enjoying their taste. Anyone have an appetite or Garda starts sniffing around, a toastie can be produced from the kitchen. Simple stuff really. Equating that to a Euromillions win, right :rolleyes: I'll be returning to this spot later in the week which undoubtedly will make me a billionaire. Rage all you want, ultimately it's an exercise an futility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

the kelt wrote: »
    I brought up that point when people were thinking pubs bringing in genuine substantial meals was some sort of loophole being exploited. It was not, it was doing its purpose, reducing drunkeness, what the law is obviously in place for and what so many still act ignorant about, sad fuckers, taking people for idiots. (I am a heavy drinker and hate eating while drinking as it reduces the effect, not that it that should matter but I expect some conspiracy type arsehole will brand me an anti-drink cutrain twitcher or some such shite -this thread is teeming with these sad pathetic lying cunts)

I thought it was totally unfair to exclude pubs who were genuinely in keeping with the spirit of the rules, i.e. food to stop drunkness and the lowered inhibitions that go along with it. My first thought was that there were possibly many pubs without full kitchens who were taking the piss, and so they wanted to shut them down and unfortunately the rest who were legit suffered too. Sort of similar to what I am saying about mostly empty quiet "auld lad pubs" having to be closed, as the qualify under the same legal definition as the ones they are really worried about. Of course I do not expect them to come out and blatantly say this, just as they do not blatantly say food reduces drunkness.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

I brought up that point when people were thinking pubs bringing in genuine substantial meals was some sort of loophole being exploited. It was not, it was doing its purpose, reducing drunkeness, what the law is obviously in place for and what so many still act ignorant about, sad fuckers, taking people for idiots. (I am a heavy drinker and hate eating while drinking as it reduces the effect, not that it that should matter but I expect some conspiracy type arsehole will brand me an anti-drink cutrain twitcher or some such shite -this thread is teeming with these sad pathetic lying cunts)

I thought it was totally unfair to exclude pubs who were genuinely in keeping with the spirit of the rules, i.e. food to stop drunkness and the lowered inhibitions that go along with it. My first thought was that there were possibly many pubs without full kitchens who were taking the piss, and so they wanted to shut them down and unfortunately the rest who were legit suffered too. Sort of similar to what I am saying about mostly empty quiet "auld lad pubs" having to be closed, as the qualify under the same legal definition as the ones they are really worried about. Of course I do not expect them to come out and blatantly say this, just as they do not blatantly say food reduces drunkness.

Mod:

Just like it's not ok to have a go at people who support the restrictions, it's also not ok to attack those who do not in this manner and other posts of yours.

Do not post in this thread again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Holohan and Co will never agree to reopen the pubs properly. They will always have a reason to keep us away from enjoying 6 pints.

They will insist on the 2 hour limits for as long as they possibly can. They'll be back next winter telling us to restrict pubs for winter flu

• Registered Users Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭opinionated3

We managed to get a booking at a local hotel last Saturday evening. First time having a beer in nearly two months. Place was booked solid so instead of getting a table in the bar area, we were seated in an adjacent room. Unfortunately i can't say I enjoyed the night. Food was ok, nothing special. Guinness was soft to say the least, not a patch on my local pub. They were pretty strict on the timekeeping as well. Table nearest us had the manager come to them and basically tell them to settle the bill and vacate the premises. It's all very weird and regimented to me. Whilst we were glad to get out of the house and socialise ( if that's what we'll call it 😒) I'm not sure I'll be doing it again. Definitely not the same establishment, might try some other place.
    Btw the irony of holohan praising our youth last week is ridiculous. They couldn't care less. Went to our nearest shopping centre at the weekend and see scores of teenagers walking around maskless and zero social distancing. We are clearly not all in this together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Think it depends where you go. I was in a big pub in Dun Laoghaire on Saturday night and once we'd finished the meal, it seemed pretty much like your standard 'wet' pub for the rest of the evening. Seemed to be a lot of very young wans in there who didn't seem to be eating at all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭Gervais08

We managed to get a booking at a local hotel last Saturday evening. First time having a beer in nearly two months. Place was booked solid so instead of getting a table in the bar area, we were seated in an adjacent room. Unfortunately i can't say I enjoyed the night. Food was ok, nothing special. Guinness was soft to say the least, not a patch on my local pub. They were pretty strict on the timekeeping as well. Table nearest us had the manager come to them and basically tell them to settle the bill and vacate the premises. It's all very weird and regimented to me. Whilst we were glad to get out of the house and socialise ( if that's what we'll call it 😒) I'm not sure I'll be doing it again. Definitely not the same establishment, might try some other place.
    Btw the irony of holohan praising our youth last week is ridiculous. They couldn't care less. Went to our nearest shopping centre at the weekend and see scores of teenagers walking around maskless and zero social distancing. We are clearly not all in this together.

Six of them outside the chipper yesterday, no masks nothing.

Holohan hasn’t the first clue, I wouldn’t send him to pick up after the dog let alone manage a global healthcare crisis.

If he got more than a 2.2 in his medical degree, I’m Britney Spears.

Gervais08 wrote: »
    Six of them outside the chipper yesterday, no masks nothing.

Holohan hasn’t the first clue, I wouldn’t send him to pick up after the dog let alone manage a global healthcare crisis.

If he got more than a 2.2 in his medical degree, I’m Britney Spears.

Why would anyone wear a mask outside??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Went for a ramble yesterday to clear the head and curse the gastropubs when I rambled past a little snug bar I recalled from my youth. There was a smallish fella standing in the door with a shock of red hair, winking out at me.

"D'you fancy a pint?", says he. "Do I wha?!", says I.

So in I tipped while the coast was clear clear for a few oul pints of plain, bejaysus it was glorious. Ah the craic and the porter black, what a time to be alive, and nary a vol-au-vent or a gourmet burger to be seen.

Gerrup outta that, says he.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,805 ✭✭✭mightyreds

We managed to get a booking at a local hotel last Saturday evening.

Did the same myself went for some Christmas shopping at the weekend couldn't move in Liffey Valley SC and Stephens green SC there was that many wedged in, queues on Grafton street for the popular shops was unreal.

Headed back to the hotel about 4 the bar would serve alcohol if you had breakfast as part of your room, so I stayed for a couple of hours and headed off to get ready for dinner, at dinner there was no time limit and also no enforcement of not allowing separate tables of 6 as a party of 14 was just behind us.

Got back to the hotel at 10 for a night cap before they finished up at 11, heading back to the room there was rooms full of people having parties who had just been moved on from the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

Tazz T wrote: »
    Think it depends where you go. I was in a big pub in Dun Laoghaire on Saturday night and once we'd finished the meal, it seemed pretty much like your standard 'wet' pub for the rest of the evening. Seemed to be a lot of very young wans in there who didn't seem to be eating at all.

Don't tell anyone that here. They'll just call you a liar.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭Gervais08

Why would anyone wear a mask outside??

It’s a closed over walkway, they’re practically on top of one another and 2 were walking into the shop till stopped.

Gervais08 wrote: »
    It’s a closed over walkway, they’re practically on top of one another and 2 were walking into the shop till stopped.

You have to wear a face covering on public transport or inside a retail store. No laws for anywhere else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭AdrianBalboa

The persecution complex on display by the drinkers in this thread is laughable. Inventing conspiracies about hoity-toity upper crust snobs gorging on fine dining while the working man can't have his pints in peace. Nobody cares if you want to poison yourselves with Guinness. Though I'm a teetotaller myself I couldn't give a monkey's about people's drinking habits.

What I am considered with, is people openly flouting regulations installed to keep more people alive until the virus is under control. A nod and a wink, microwavable sandwiches and "bienvenue mon amis" from Charles de Gaulle himself.

While it is fun to laugh at the people imagining themselves in speakeasies with Al Capone, it's very concerning to see the numbers rising and these people in particular blaming everyone else but themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Sam Hain

2ndcoming wrote: »
    Went for a ramble yesterday to clear the head and curse the gastropubs when I rambled past a little snug bar I recalled from my youth. There was a smallish fella standing in the door with a shock of red hair, winking out at me.

"D'you fancy a pint?", says he. "Do I wha?!", says I.

So in I tipped while the coast was clear clear for a few oul pints of plain, bejaysus it was glorious. Ah the craic and the porter black, what a time to be alive, and nary a vol-au-vent or a gourmet burger to be seen.

Gerrup outta that, says he.

Is this story set during the Spanish Flu pandemic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,949 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Allinall wrote: »
    So what are they trying to do?

You claimed they were trying to stop the spread of Covid.

Do you think reopening pubs will do that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

The persecution complex on display by the drinkers in this thread is laughable. Inventing conspiracies about hoity-toity upper crust snobs gorging on fine dining while the working man can't have his pints in peace. Nobody cares if you want to poison yourselves with Guinness. Though I'm a teetotaller myself I couldn't give a monkey's about people's drinking habits.

What I am considered with, is people openly flouting regulations installed to keep more people alive until the virus is under control. A nod and a wink, microwavable sandwiches and "bienvenue mon amis" from Charles de Gaulle himself.

While it is fun to laugh at the people imagining themselves in speakeasies with Al Capone, it's very concerning to see the numbers rising and these people in particular blaming everyone else but themselves.

Who said anything about " the working man can`t have his pints in peace" I don`t know where you got that from, I can`t see anything here. Like in all walks of life there is a cross section of compliance with the gastro pubs that are open now. Most are very sharp, some are very lax and thats the way it is. Tis all a bit sad the way we are turning on each other but this is what Saint Tony wants so he can push through his cafe culture rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 SB79

Another successful weekend on the gargle, some things I've noticed, the first pub I was in which is one I'd frequent more often the garda came in twice during the night,I know one of the barman well he says they are constantly harassing them even though they are doing everything right.

The other pub the cops didn't appear once, this is a pub close to a garda station where some garda themselves drink, so selective in the pubs they are "visiting" or some might say harassing, I'll let you draw your own conclusions here.

Enjoy the pints folks 😎

Drifter50 wrote: »
    ... this is what Saint Tony wants so he can push through his cafe culture rubbish.

Dr Holohan might like to see alcohol consumption moderate in Ireland for the betterment of public health but I'm pretty sure the current measures are to combat the pandemic and not to impose sobriety on everyone.

People can do what they want to their livers after this is all over, but for now, for the common good I think it's fair that we're asked to stay out of pubs for a while. I know others don't agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭PommieBast

Yes, it's a coarse seive that's been used to try and limit socialising in an environment that is a high level suspect for the spread of Covid, and it's not ideal, but in theory, it has helped to reduce the numbers, and that should be a good thing.
    Short of banning on-sales completely I doubt they could have come up with any alternative that was not a fudge in one way or another. Trouble is the way the summer reopening was incrementally pushed back and then giving pubs the de-facto choice between bending rules and remaining closed was only ever going to end badly.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,666 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Tazz T wrote: »

Was in one not far from DL, wen sunday at 2, ordered food at 6, left about 10.
    Like old times tbh

The regulations on 9e meals have 0 scientific basis. "Flouting" these rules have no correlation to spread of covid.
    Numbers are stable, quit the scare tactics.

I'm pretty sure the experts don't claim any scientific basis for €9 meals. I'm not sure if that's the point.

The regulations on 9e meals have 0 scientific basis. "Flouting" these rules have no correlation to spread of covid.
    Numbers are stable, quit the scare tactics.

Don't expect anything approaching honest debate. Retiring/socially inept sorts who don't go near pubs not having a clue what actually happens inside one (shocker), meanwhile dreaming up paranoid fantasies about secret knocks or prohibition era whimsy. The reality is somewhat more prosaic, just heading in the door and giving a place the once over. Food or no food, I haven't witnessed any shenanigans. People respectfully socially distancing and minding their own business. The way it ought to be. The only leniency has been in terms of food service with a jar, and there are now a handful of places in my home town not strictly enforcing the meal. I'm far from alone in exploiting this, and those who don't like that are well entitled to mind their own business. As you rightly point out, the "nine euro" invention has no credible basis to support it. Or why traditional pubs have been unfairly discriminated against. Only fretful homebodies who don't possess one iota about the pub setting leaning on the jaded stereotype of drunken buffoonery.

Yes, we're the "socially inept" ones while this thread is page after page of people begging to go to the pubs and drink pints of gargle alone without talking to anyone. Something isn't adding up there, I'm afraid.

Let's get real here: if the pubs reopened (especially now at Christmas!) without the substantial meal levy they would be packed with pissed up revelers, bumping into each other, giving each other headlocks and spraying each other with spittle. Cases of the virus would explode and increase exponentially and our health system would collapse. That's all it is. Nobody cares if you drink, nobody cares if you're just a regular guy lookin' for a brewskie. There's no conspiracy from the upper crust to keep the common man out of their drinking holes.

All of the posters in here boasting about their "say nothin' and dere's yore change" anecdotes are just as bad as the cute hoor politicians you complain about. Bending the rules to suit your own interests, looking for loopholes, "sure it's alright if you..."

You're just as bad as them. You're hypocrites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Oops!

Yes, we're the "socially inept" ones while this thread is page after page of people begging to go to the pubs and drink pints of gargle alone without talking to anyone. Something isn't adding up there, I'm afraid.

Let's get real here: if the pubs reopened (especially now at Christmas!) without the substantial meal levy they would be packed with pissed up revelers, bumping into each other, giving each other headlocks and spraying each other with spittle. Cases of the virus would explode and increase exponentially and our health system would collapse. That's all it is. Nobody cares if you drink, nobody cares if you're just a regular guy lookin' for a brewskie. There's no conspiracy from the upper crust to keep the common man out of their drinking holes.

All of the posters in here boasting about their "say nothin' and dere's yore change" anecdotes are just as bad as the cute hoor politicians you complain about. Bending the rules to suit your own interests, looking for loopholes, "sure it's alright if you..."

You're just as bad as them. You're hypocrites.[/QUOTE[/B]

Is'nt that what we were told at the start of all this? Life needs to go on....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 SB79

Don't expect anything approaching honest debate. Retiring/socially inept sorts who don't go near pubs not having a clue what actually happens inside one (shocker), meanwhile dreaming up paranoid fantasies about secret knocks or prohibition era whimsy. The reality is somewhat more prosaic, just heading in the door and giving a place the once over. Food or no food, I haven't witnessed any shenanigans. People respectfully socially distancing and minding their own business. The way it ought to be. The only leniency has been in terms of food service with a jar, and there are now a handful of places in my home town not strictly enforcing the meal. I'm far from alone in exploiting this, and those who don't like that are well entitled to mind their own business. As you rightly point out, the "nine euro" invention has no credible basis to support it. Or why traditional pubs have been unfairly discriminated against. Only fretful homebodies who don't possess one iota about the pub setting leaning on the jaded stereotype of drunken buffoonery.

well said agree totally

Oops! wrote: »
    Is'nt that what we were told at the start of all this? Life needs to go on....
    Yes it is what we were told at the start of all this. Guess what? It hasn't changed. And it won't change until we get a vaccine out in the wider public. That's life, pal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Oops!

Yes it is what we were told at the start of all this. Guess what? It hasn't changed. And it won't change until we get a vaccine out in the wider public. That's life, pal.

If you say so....:rolleyes:

Yeah that's right, I do say so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

Yeah that's right, I do say so.

you're coming across as a right idiot if your trying to be all high and mighty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

copeyhagen wrote: »
    you're coming across as a right idiot if your trying to be all high and mighty.

It's the internet.

Most people come across as right idiots to someone.

Do you see them fully lifting restrictions without a majority being vaccinated?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Do you see them fully lifting restrictions without a majority being vaccinated?

It is not a great question in fairness. I don't think they will be using the Vaccine rollout as a measurement of when they can reduce lockdown?

But the rollout of inoculations will inevitably lead to a decrease in hospital admissions and infections, when this starts materialising you will see restrictions easing.

Everyone will be back drinking and cavorting again, bring it on please.

Once the important demographies are inoculated you will see the gubbermint immediately looking for a return on their investment, that will mean getting pubs, restaurants, and other indoor venues open fully again.

It is only a matter of time now.

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    It is not a great question in fairness. I don't think they will be using the Vaccine rollout as a measurement of when they can reduce lockdown?

But the rollout of inoculations will inevitably lead to a decrease in hospital admissions and infections, when this starts materialising you will see restrictions easing.

Everyone will be back drinking and cavorting again, bring it on please.

Once the important demographies are inoculated you will see the gubbermint immediately looking for a return on their investment, that will mean getting pubs, restaurants, and other indoor venues open fully again.

It is only a matter of time now.

I mostly agree, but I can't see the magic day when the bells of Christchurch ring and we all meet on o connell St and hug...... I think it'll very much be a slowly phased reduction in restrictions, and while I'd love to see "we're vaccinating group x, so food pubs only need 1m and pint pubs can open with time limit and distance restrictions" I think we'll be at least be at 25% vaccination before anything extra is lifted....

It is not just the pubs they need opening, the airports also and the country as a whole.

Once the HSE and the elderly get their jabs it will rollout quick enough. It is more cost efficient to vaccinate everyone than fork out 350 a week. Believe.

I reckon we are back drinking by Paddy's day. Flights too.

It is not just the pubs they need opening, the airports also and the country as a whole.

Once the HSE and the elderly get their jabs it will rollout quick enough. It is more cost efficient to vaccinate everyone than fork out 350 a week. Believe.

I hope you're right, but I don't think you are....

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Probably for another thread but the main stumbling block will likely be supply in the first few months. I am hopeful of a normal summer though.

Necro wrote: »
    Probably for another thread but the main stumbling block will likely be supply in the first few months. I am hopeful of a normal summer though.

Fair point... and I think we can ( or should ) also factor in the " Irishness " of how things roll out. Lets be honest, we are not best known for our efficiency?

But the way I see it once health workers, the elderly and the vulnerable get their jabs I cannot see why restrictions don't start getting lifted?

The question should be what is the population of people over 70 + healthcare workers + vulnerable persons? That is basically the break even point from a safety point of view?