Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,372 ✭✭✭bladespin

Across the world there is plenty of evidence of transmission in pubs and restaurants.. But public health is concerned with aggregates, if an action reduces disease then you do that action, you do not futter around looking for "evidence" while people are dying.

Are they dying though? Numbers are up, no argument there but the death rate etc is not, yet anyway, and yes if you're putting someone out of a job or closing their business, I'd want some proof.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

They weren't given the powers

Absolute spoofer.

Gardai now have the power to close pubs and restaurants that breach public health rules.

The legislation has come into place after President Michael D Higgins signed the "Criminal Justice Enforcement Powers Covid-19 Bill" into law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

MOH wrote: »
    I've been limiting my contacts over the last couple of weeks so I could safely meet someone for dinner Christmas Eve at 6. That's my Christmas screwed.
    I'm not getting over it.

I am so sick to death of all the lies at this point that I took 5 minutes to scrawl on this in response to a shocking bit of misleading data manipulation in the main thread. Obviously the hospitality bit doesn't include non-food pubs but since people seem to be lumping them all in together at this stage:

corvirus1.png

(Source, which in turn is sourced from HSE data. Green and red annotations mine)

It's definitely all hospitality and nothing to do with schools. And everything was definitely going up until level 5 saved us all.

Per your graph, the numbers decreased significantly after level 5 was introduced at the end of October but the schools were still open. In fact, schools have been open for 4 months straight. If it was the case that schools were such a huge contributer, that line would have been continuing to go upwards since 1st September

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭aziz

Just seen the board failte “dine out safely this Christmas “ add on telly now
    What a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,505 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

aziz wrote: »
    What a joke

It's a balmy 6 degrees and lashing here, you'd want to be mad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

aziz wrote: »
    What a joke

What a waste of an advertising budget more like?

We are all paying for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Can restaurants still do takeaway in new lockdown? Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭alexonhisown

According to gov.ie takeaway from 27th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

Per your graph, the numbers decreased significantly after level 5 was introduced at the end of October but the schools were still open. In fact, schools have been open for 4 months straight. If it was the case that schools were such a huge contributer, that line would have been continuing to go upwards since 1st September

I'm not sure I follow? The line did continue to go up from when schools opened until the L3 turned it around just before the L5 restrictions came in?

Or do you mean that schools remained open during L5 so the restrictions wouldn't have affected schools?

According to the HSE figure, over 80% of clusters begin at home (or that was the case last time I checked a while ago). Which, clearly, isn't possible - they have to come into a household from somewhere (unless it's in the drinking water in which case Irish Water have a lot to answer for).
    If kids pick it up in school but are asymptomatic, but then pass it to their parents, that would still continue under level 5. But the opportunities for it to spread beyond the household would be curtailed by level 5, which is where the restrictions would have an effect.

And to be honest, I'm not the one who decided correlation is proof of anything. Our minister of health stated that the EY report showed "unambiguous" evidence that "wet pubs" were responsible for increases. And that was based on a 10% increase over two weeks, at a time when the the report noted other contributing factors such as "universities opening and specific sporting events".

So by that standard of proof, surely a 50% increase three weeks after schools opened is cast-iron proof?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭Dickie10

looks like the publican i chatted last week on the street was right he said mid may before any openings at the least. VFI were told paddys day, not a hope and this year i think its folllowed quick enough by easter so there afraid of that too. Hotels and family type holiday is what they want to open around easter, they said they actually dont want wet pubs as thier model for hospitality going forward. what the hell is up with them , they seem anti pub not anti drink, as if they were shops wouldnt be able to sell 24 cans of guinness for 20 euro, which is disgraceful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Dickie10 wrote: »
    looks like the publican i chatted last week on the street was right he said mid may before any openings at the least. VFI were told paddys day, not a hope and this year i think its folllowed quick enough by easter so there afraid of that too. Hotels and family type holiday is what they want to open around easter, they said they actually dont want wet pubs as thier model for hospitality going forward. what the hell is up with them , they seem anti pub not anti drink, as if they were shops wouldnt be able to sell 24 cans of guinness for 20 euro, which is disgraceful

So the vfi were caught unawares by todays announcement, but they have a leak who knows the governments plans for the next 7 months.....

Someone in this scenario is spoofing.

Not half as disgraceful as what pubs got away with charging for one.

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scoondal

Normal pubs with people squashing up around the bar will not be seen for a couple of years. In 2021, they should get to "table service" bars like in most civilised countries.

Scoondal wrote: »
    Normal pubs with people squashing up around the bar will not be seen for a couple of years. In 2021, they should get to "table service" bars like in most civilised countries.

They’re not real bars.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 199 ✭✭Morries Wigs

lost interest when you said wet pubs-another victim of conditioning from media

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    What a waste of an advertising budget more like?

We are all paying for it.

Even if they pulled it, we would still be paying for it. Advertising is often locked in weeks in advance, that's why you see adverts for sold out gigs etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

From a thread on the first page of Reddit Ireland today called We need to talk about the drink...
    As it happens, I wrote a comment in another thread today with some facts and figures:
    • Ireland has a high per capita total alcohol consumption of 13 litres. That compares to 9.8 litres for the European average and 6.4 litres for the global average.
    • Alcohol consumption in Ireland almost trebled between 1960 and 2001, rising from 4.9 litres of pure alcohol per person (>15 yrs old) to a peak 14.3 litres.
    • 37% of drinkers report that they binge drink on a typical occasion. 22% of drinkers were found to binge drink at least once a week, and 39% do so at least one a month.
    • In 2016, 37.8% of the total population in Ireland aged 15+years reported consumption of at least 60 grams or more of pure alcohol on at least one occasion in the past 30 days i.e. heavy episodic drinking.
    • Every day, 1,500 beds in our overcrowded hospitals are occupied by people with alcohol-related problems.
    • One in four deaths of young men aged 15-39 in Ireland is due to alcohol
    • Alcohol is responsible for 88 deaths every month in Ireland. That’s over 1,000 deaths per year.
    • The Drinkaware Index (2019) revealed complacent and complicit over-consumption of alcohol among Irish adults with 74% believing that drinking to excess is "just a part of Irish culture".
    How many people say they are not problem drinkers, while also saying they don't have a single hobby or pastime to engage in now that pubs are closed?

I said it was pointless trying to debate with the majority of drinkers in this thread

But the points (and facts) raised in the Reddit Ireland post were too strong not to share

• Registered Users Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭opinionated3

So we have officially moved on to demonise those who choose to socialise via the local pub? My god, I think Tony can quit now, his work here is done😒

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    From a thread on the first page of Reddit Ireland today called We need to talk about the drink...

I said it was pointless trying to debate with the majority of drinkers in this thread

But the points (and facts) raised in the Reddit Ireland post were too strong not to share
    More nanny state rubbish, would one expect any less from Reddit, a circle jerk bastion of self-serving, left-leaning, latte-sipping urbanites. Big deal, Irish people like a drink. Note - we are not the worst offenders either, according to those statistics. There are people in this country whose sole objective is to demonise drink, who hate Irelands reputation and association with drink, and who want to usher-in this European style "cafe culture" utopia. Frankly it's pathetic. People should be free to live their lives, and have personal responsibility, we don't need the government to regulate every element of our existence. People who suffer from alcoholism need to accept the choices they made, and the whole industry should not be demonised due to unfortunate circumstances of a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,981 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

So we have officially moved on to demonise those who choose to socialise via the local pub? My god, I think Tony can quit now, his work here is done😒

It's nothing about demonizing those that go for a pint. The reality is government have to make choices or else this epicdemic will get out of control. Its decision is that keeping certain sectors of the economy going. It considers that productive sectors, the food production sector, distribution sectors, construction factories and Education are priority. Essential retail is considered priority.

It has to make decisions. This time it is chancing that it can leave certain sections of non essential retail open. This is something it should have done in the last lockdown. It instructions to them is not go start massive sales which draw crowds. If a few irresponsible retailers do that then all the sector will close down again.

It considered wet pubs, gastro pubs and restaurants as well as hair and beauty saloons as higher risk and non essential to the economy at present. It's a decision that they have made along with a stay at home instructions. It may be wrong but that is there decision.

If schools are spreading it as much as pubs and restaurants but it can keep one open then it's decision is to keep schools open. The numbers have climbed it has to make a decision. It was interesting the the start of this pandemic the WHO said perfection and doing everything completely correctly was not the answer. Speed of decision was critical, you will make mistakes learn from them as you will not get everything right. That why lads looking at statics and expecting that these are the complete answers are not looking at the complete picture

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,994 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

were pubs and restaurants even making a profit during the few weeks they were open? ( a quicker shut down might waste supplies they bought)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,999 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

It's nothing about demonizing those that go for a pint. The reality is government have to make choices or else this epicdemic will get out of control. Its decision is that keeping certain sectors of the economy going. It considers that productive sectors, the food production sector, distribution sectors, construction factories and Education are priority. Essential retail is considered priority.

And of course Gastropubs and Restaurants are a major customer for the Food production sector, purchasing millions of €uro in food and drink each week... now with that demand stopped it will lead to job losses and closures in food/meat producers....something most don't think about when they go on a rant about the Pint drinker...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

if you don't feel safe in the pub, don't go !
    I left one last week for this reason, but i felt alot more vunerable trying to get xmas shopping done in stores.
    the whole management of this pandemic has been the biggest f up in Irish history, since the day we let the Brits back in Croke park.
    Shamefull stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭Tazz T

You realise this is a coronavirus thread. This has zero relevance. I'm sure there's a thread on drink issues in Ireland somewhere else.

More nanny state rubbish, would one expect any less from Reddit, a circle jerk bastion

The only circle jerk I've seen online this week is among the drinkers in this thread. The mental gymnastics being done to justify social adult playgrounds staying open during a pandemic is quite something

Reddit Ireland has over 300,000 subscribers. And they're all "self-serving, left-leaning, latte-sipping urbanites"? Every single one?

This popped up too https://www.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/kif9oq/friend_sent_me_this_today_dont_know_whether_to/

Some lads in Ireland were so desperate for a pint that they set up their own pub. In a fire truck

Any other year this would be fcuking hilarious. But now?

The only circle jerk I've seen online this week is among the drinkers in this thread. The mental gymnastics being done to justify social adult playgrounds staying open during a pandemic is quite something

Reddit Ireland has over 300,000 subscribers. And they're all "self-serving, left-leaning, latte-sipping urbanites"? Every single one?

This popped up too https://www.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/kif9oq/friend_sent_me_this_today_dont_know_whether_to/

Some lads in Ireland were so desperate for a pint that they set up their own pub. In a fire truck

Any other year this would be fcuking hilarious. But now?

Fair play to them. Looks harmless enough.. whilst also a nice Christmas pressie for the anti booze outragers.

Hardly the size of cloakroom schoolkids run though screaming their heads off 5 days a week? ( twice a day outside every class from junior infants to 6th year)

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Fair play to them. Looks harmless enough.. whilst also a nice Christmas pressie for the anti booze outragers.

Hardly the size of cloakroom schoolkids run though screaming their heads off 5 days a week? ( twice a day outside every class from junior infants to 6th year)

Yeah I thought the drinkers in here might appreciate a fire truck turned into a pub to get around rules put in place to stop the spread of a once in a century virus

Tazz T wrote: »
    You realise this is a coronavirus thread. This has zero relevance. I'm sure there's a thread on drink issues in Ireland somewhere else.

A post quoting facts about Ireland's drinking habits has no relevance in a thread with "Pub" in it's title?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,372 ✭✭✭bladespin

A post quoting facts about Ireland's drinking habits has no relevance in a thread with "Pub" in it's title?

Newsflash: Drink can be consumed in other places to.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

Yeah I thought the drinkers in here might appreciate a fire truck turned into a pub to get around rules put in place to stop the spread of a once in a century virus

Yeah because 7 men in a Big Red Fire Engine are hardly not going to cause a covidiotoutburstthesizeofalargeunpronounceablenameinwales?

Hold tight.

if you don't feel safe in the pub, don't go !
    I left one last week for this reason, but i felt alot more vunerable trying to get xmas shopping done in stores.
    the whole management of this pandemic has been the biggest f up in Irish history, since the day we let the Brits back in Croke park.
    Shamefull stuff

Every country accross the world is struggling with the his pandemic. If it gets out of control it has bigger effects on jobs than at present. Little old Ireland with the poorest health service in the developed world has managed this pandemic not perfectly but a hell of a lot better than many Countries. Our it seems will be one of the few economy in Europe that has growth this year. We have a low mortality rate compared to many. It will cost us less and our economy will recover faster it is predicted than many

Shameful indeed

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭aziz

bladespin wrote: »
    Newsflash: Drink can be consumed in other places to.

Quick,close down all these other places

This is a thread about Covid-19 and pub closures due to restrictions. There appears to be nothing in that post that's in any way relevant to Coronavirus, unless I missed it?

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    And of course Gastropubs and Restaurants are a major customer for the Food production sector, purchasing millions of €uro in food and drink each week... now with that demand stopped it will lead to job losses and closures in food/meat producers....something most don't think about when they go on a rant about the Pint drinker...

Yes they are but people still need to eat so the food is redirected through the retail sector. There is a huge increase in spending on more expensive food products. I heard that Organic free range bronze turkeys virtually few out the doors of Tesco at 34 euro/ Kg that kg now not per turkey even thought they were in bags

Irish whiskey is selling very well as are other sectors of the drinks industry. Ya I like a pin but if it's the choice between granny living 3-4 years more, kids get to go to school or a pint in the local that I miss. The pint in the local gets it in the neck pardon the pun

Slava Ukrainii

Not unless it's related to pub closures do to coronavirus restrictions, no.

The word "Opening" is in the thread title too. I've a nice post about the ribbon cutting at the opening of a new leisure centre, if you'd like to see it?

edit:
    Actually, sorry, that was mean of me to tease.
    I figured I should just share the link

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,221 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod:

Can we stay on topic please. If you want to start a thread about Ireland having or not having a drink problem there are other forums for this.

In the same fashion that cervical cancer issues are not related to Covid-19, neither are the last few posts. Both interesting topics in their own right I have no doubt, but they don't have a place in this particular forum.

Thanks.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,534 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Scoondal wrote: »

Sitting on a stool at the bar and drinking a pint is the pinnacle of drinking and the height of civility.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,221 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Amirani wrote: »
    Sitting on a stool at the bar and drinking a pint is the pinnacle of drinking and the height of civility.

Agreed. I miss it so much :( We didn't even get the little period since start of December here, neither of the locals serve food and the hotel couldn't get the staff for the Christmas period so stayed shut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,999 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

if it's the choice between granny living 3-4 years more, kids get to go to school or a pint in the local that I miss. The pint in the local gets it in the neck pardon the pun

Wow, amazing logic, wish it was that simple.. if that was the case i'm sure the authorities would have closed the pubs 8 months ago... :rolleyes:

I'm sure if it was the case of No Beer = Granny living then we'd all be teetotalers..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Benimar

Wow, amazing logic, wish it was that simple.. if that was the case i'm sure the authorities would have closed the pubs 8 months ago... :rolleyes:

I'm sure if it was the case of No Beer = Granny living then we'd all be teetotalers..

Given some of the posts in this thread (never mind the clusterfcuk that is the Restrictions thread) I'm pretty sure we wouldn't be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Per year?

Well believe it or not that is it more or less in a nutshell. The government has to make choices NPHET wanted a full shutdown I think from earlier in the week.The authorities have closed wet pubs they allowed them to open in late September band shut them in a flash again.

How do you propose that we reduce the incidence rate n:rolleyes: All you want

Slava Ukrainii

Well believe it or not that is it more or less in a nutshell. The government has to make choices NPHET wanted a full shutdown I think from earlier in the week.The authorities have closed wet pubs they allowed them to open in late September band shut them in a flash again.

How do you propose that we reduce the incidence rate n:rolleyes: All you want

Well maybe people who are going to be seeing granny should think twice before they go to the pub or restaurant. Or anywhere else they might be exposed, like spending the whole day shopping with mates. That's it in a nutshell. It's not complicated. Don't put yourself at risk of contracting Covid if there's a chance you will pass it on to vulnerable people.

The people who aren't capable of grasping are exactly the ones who'll go to house parties anyway when everything is shutdown which isn't going to help granny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,933 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Tell ya what I felt it tonight walking home from work and seeing all the empty pubs. This night the city/towns should be hopping with many a drink been consumed. ****ing virus

Out of interest what countries still have pubs opened ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

So here we are again, last day of the pubs being open where you can relax with a couple of drinks for a while. I booked a table for 115 today so guess I`m lucky. Going to turn up early and see is a table is free or I can wait somewhere else. The pub 1ve booked says they are shut at 3 sharp so it looks looks we will be all out on our ears by 330.

Probably back home staring at the walls, opening a slab of beer again by 4 or 5. Might as well savour the final couple of hours, the next week or 2 is going to be so depressing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Drifter50 wrote: »
    So here we are again, last day of the pubs being open where you can relax with a couple of drinks for a while. I booked a table for 115 today so guess I`m lucky. Going to turn up early and see is a table is free or I can wait somewhere else. The pub 1ve booked says they are shut at 3 sharp so it looks looks we will be all out on our ears by 330.

Probably back home staring at the walls, opening a slab of beer again by 4 or 5. Might as well savour the final couple of hours, the next week or 2 is going to be so depressing.

My local isn’t even bothering opening today.

Drifter50 wrote: »

Absolute disaster isnt it. Was in a local Tuesday night. Got there at 5.30, had dinner. Didnt leave the place till 11.15. The pints were lovely. Felt it tho yesterday morning :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

Absolute disaster isnt it. Was in a local Tuesday night. Got there at 5.30, had dinner. Didnt leave the place till 11.15. The pints were lovely. Felt it tho yesterday morning :D

And more of the same yesterday I suppose?

• Registered Users Posts: 744 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

Where's yer man that waa on here going on about " Delicious creamy pints" ?