Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

And more of the same yesterday I suppose?

Ahh no. Going to take it easy until Stephens day :D

if you don't feel safe in the pub, don't go !
    I left one last week for this reason, but i felt alot more vunerable trying to get xmas shopping done in stores.

If you now tested positive for covid, would you blame it on your visits to the pub, or to the shops? I bet you'd blame it on the shops.

Telling non pub goers to avoid pubs won't make non-pub goers any safer, if the people they come into contact with in the stores were in the pub the night before. Like yourself.

Transmission can occur anywhere, its minimising contacts to stop transmission that has always been the goal, not shutting down pubs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

Ahh no. Going to take it easy until Stephens day :D

Would this be at 1 or 2 nod and wink watering holes by any chance?

No just a few drinks with a few mates at one of there home built bars :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,283 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

No just a few drinks with a few mates at one of there home built bars :D

The fact that you think anyone believes your shtick is kind of cute. You’re at home on your own on boards.ie ffs :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭accensi0n

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Out of interest what countries still have pubs opened ?

Afghanistan
    Albania
    Algeria
    Andorra
    Angola
    Antigua & Deps
    Argentina
    Armenia
    Australia
    Austria
    Azerbaijan
    Bahamas
    Bahrain
    Bangladesh
    Barbados
    Belarus
    Belgium
    Belize
    Benin
    Bhutan
    Bolivia
    Bosnia Herzegovina
    Botswana
    Brazil
    Brunei
    Bulgaria
    Burkina
    Burundi
    Cambodia
    Cameroon
    Canada
    Cape Verde
    Central African Rep
    Chad
    Chile
    China
    Colombia
    Comoros
    Congo
    Congo {Democratic Rep}
    Costa Rica
    Croatia
    Cuba
    Cyprus
    Czech Republic
    Denmark
    Djibouti
    Dominica
    Dominican Republic
    East Timor
    Ecuador
    Egypt
    El Salvador
    Equatorial Guinea
    Eritrea
    Estonia
    Ethiopia
    Fiji
    Finland
    France
    Gabon
    Gambia
    Georgia
    Germany
    Ghana
    Greece
    Grenada
    Guatemala
    Guinea
    Guinea-Bissau
    Guyana
    Haiti
    Honduras
    Hungary
    Iceland
    India
    Indonesia
    Iran
    Iraq
    Israel
    Italy
    Ivory Coast
    Jamaica
    Japan
    Jordan
    Kazakhstan
    Kenya
    Kiribati
    Korea North
    Korea South
    Kosovo
    Kuwait
    Kyrgyzstan
    Laos
    Latvia
    Lebanon
    Lesotho
    Liberia
    Libya
    Liechtenstein
    Lithuania
    Luxembourg
    Macedonia
    Madagascar
    Malawi
    Malaysia
    Maldives
    Mali
    Malta
    Marshall Islands
    Mauritania
    Mauritius
    Mexico
    Micronesia
    Moldova
    Monaco
    Mongolia
    Montenegro
    Morocco
    Mozambique
    Myanmar, {Burma}
    Namibia
    Nauru
    Nepal
    Netherlands
    New Zealand
    Nicaragua
    Niger
    Nigeria
    Norway
    Oman
    Pakistan
    Palau
    Panama
    Papua New Guinea
    Paraguay
    Peru
    Philippines
    Poland
    Portugal
    Qatar
    Romania
    Russian Federation
    Rwanda
    St Kitts & Nevis
    St Lucia
    Saint Vincent & the Grenadines
    Samoa
    San Marino
    Sao Tome & Principe
    Saudi Arabia
    Senegal
    Serbia
    Seychelles
    Sierra Leone
    Singapore
    Slovakia
    Slovenia
    Solomon Islands
    Somalia
    South Africa
    South Sudan
    Spain
    Sri Lanka
    Sudan
    Suriname
    Swaziland
    Sweden
    Switzerland
    Syria
    Taiwan
    Tajikistan
    Tanzania
    Thailand
    Togo
    Tonga
    Trinidad & Tobago
    Tunisia
    Turkey
    Turkmenistan
    Tuvalu
    Uganda
    Ukraine
    United Arab Emirates
    United Kingdom
    United States
    Uruguay
    Uzbekistan
    Vanuatu
    Vatican City
    Venezuela
    Vietnam
    Yemen
    Zambia
    Zimbabwe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,526 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

That all?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

MadYaker wrote: »
    The fact that you think anyone believes your shtick is kind of cute. You’re at home on your own on boards.ie ffs :rolleyes:

Maybe in the Saviola Shebeen?`

I dont care if you believe me or not. I am going to enjoy my Christmas and not be living in fear of Covid :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭questionmark?

I say the pubs in Afghanistan and Somalia are great Craic alright. Go away out of that with that list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,526 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I say the pubs in Afghanistan and Somalia are great Craic alright. Go away out of that with that list.

Ignore the rest of the list so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,656 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

And the ones in half of Europe that have been closed for most of December.

Did you just get a list of countries in the world and cut Ireland out of it? Need to try harder.

Maybe in the Saviola Shebeen?`

I would tell you where the shebeen is but you probabably rat me out to the guards :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭Gamb!t

accensi0n wrote: »
    Afghanistan
    Albania
    Algeria
    Andorra
    Angola
    Antigua & Deps
    Argentina
    Armenia
    Australia
    Austria
    Azerbaijan
    Bahamas
    Bahrain
    Bangladesh
    Barbados
    Belarus
    Belgium
    Belize
    Benin
    Bhutan
    Bolivia
    Bosnia Herzegovina
    Botswana
    Brazil
    Brunei
    Bulgaria
    Burkina
    Burundi
    Cambodia
    Cameroon
    Canada
    Cape Verde
    Central African Rep
    Chad
    Chile
    China
    Colombia
    Comoros
    Congo
    Congo {Democratic Rep}
    Costa Rica
    Croatia
    Cuba
    Cyprus
    Czech Republic
    Denmark
    Djibouti
    Dominica
    Dominican Republic
    East Timor
    Ecuador
    Egypt
    El Salvador
    Equatorial Guinea
    Eritrea
    Estonia
    Ethiopia
    Fiji
    Finland
    France
    Gabon
    Gambia
    Georgia
    Germany
    Ghana
    Greece
    Grenada
    Guatemala
    Guinea
    Guinea-Bissau
    Guyana
    Haiti
    Honduras
    Hungary
    Iceland
    India
    Indonesia
    Iran
    Iraq
    Israel
    Italy
    Ivory Coast
    Jamaica
    Japan
    Jordan
    Kazakhstan
    Kenya
    Kiribati
    Korea North
    Korea South
    Kosovo
    Kuwait
    Kyrgyzstan
    Laos
    Latvia
    Lebanon
    Lesotho
    Liberia
    Libya
    Liechtenstein
    Lithuania
    Luxembourg
    Macedonia
    Madagascar
    Malawi
    Malaysia
    Maldives
    Mali
    Malta
    Marshall Islands
    Mauritania
    Mauritius
    Mexico
    Micronesia
    Moldova
    Monaco
    Mongolia
    Montenegro
    Morocco
    Mozambique
    Myanmar, {Burma}
    Namibia
    Nauru
    Nepal
    Netherlands
    New Zealand
    Nicaragua
    Niger
    Nigeria
    Norway
    Oman
    Pakistan
    Palau
    Panama
    Papua New Guinea
    Paraguay
    Peru
    Philippines
    Poland
    Portugal
    Qatar
    Romania
    Russian Federation
    Rwanda
    St Kitts & Nevis
    St Lucia
    Samoa
    San Marino
    Sao Tome & Principe
    Saudi Arabia
    Senegal
    Serbia
    Seychelles
    Sierra Leone
    Singapore
    Slovakia
    Slovenia
    Solomon Islands
    Somalia
    South Africa
    South Sudan
    Spain
    Sri Lanka
    Sudan
    Suriname
    Swaziland
    Sweden
    Switzerland
    Syria
    Taiwan
    Tajikistan
    Tanzania
    Thailand
    Togo
    Tonga
    Trinidad & Tobago
    Tunisia
    Turkey
    Turkmenistan
    Tuvalu
    Uganda
    Ukraine
    United Arab Emirates
    United Kingdom
    United States
    Uruguay
    Uzbekistan
    Vanuatu
    Vatican City
    Venezuela
    Vietnam
    Yemen
    Zambia
    Zimbabwe

You forgot Ireland, they are still open ;)

Saw this earlier in the thread, in relation to those who travelled abroad returning with the virus.

When Sorcha came back from Provence to Foxrock, and spread it to her hairdresser, who then spread it to her sister, who brought it to the nursing home she worked in, the 25 patients in the nursing home were not treated as having been travel related. Only Sorcha was.

Its a pity there are those who cannot apply the same logic to pubs.

When Sorcha came back from Provence her night out in the pub to Foxrock, and spread it to her hairdresser, who then spread it to her sister, who brought it to the nursing home she worked in, the 25 patients in the nursing home were not treated as having been travel related pub related. Only Sorcha was.

Before you pounce, I would also apply the same to non-essential retail.

No matter what potential source of spread you name, it's always some other person's/activity's fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    And the ones in half of Europe that have been closed for most of December.

Did you just get a list of countries in the world and cut Ireland out of it? Need to try harder.

Why dont you post a more accurate list?

Why would I?

It's meaningless - we're not other countries, their habits, demographics, laws, patterns of covid spread etc etc are not the same as ours.

We're acting on the situation this country as it is at this moment.

Why would I?

It's meaningless - we're not other countries, their habits, demographics, laws, patterns of covid spread etc etc are not the same as ours.

We're acting on the situation this country as it is at this moment.

Don't be coming in here with your logic and reason! We want the pubs open and fcuk everything else!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

Don't be coming in here with your logic and reason! We want the pubs open and fcuk everything else!

Your attitude, and the issues of wet pubs that are open and operating illegally and being closed by Gardai are two of the reasons I'd be happy to see this thread closed for at least the next 2 months. it's not serving any sort of useful purpose any more other than to give trolls and the like a platform to contine to demonstate their ignorance, or excessive dependence on alcohol.

Sick to the back teeth of people that are only interested in sticking 2 fingers in the air to the vast majority of people that are trying to avoid Covid, to protect others that they are close to for whatever reason.

Local pub in the town here was responsible for a massive cluster back when the GAA team and supporters lost the run of themselves when a local team won a cup, it's taken nearly 2 months to get the number of new cases back below the national average, and they've now been closed again this week for a number of breaches of the rules. Never should have been open again in the first place, but clearly, the owner/landlord thinks he's above the law.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭never_mind

Ok, I love a pint in a pub, gastro or otherwise, but I agree with this move as sad as I am. What bothers me is there is NO indication about when they’ll be open again. Is this going to turn into lockdown 1 where we had zero idea about when it would end?

Your attitude, and the issues of wet pubs that are open and operating illegally and being closed by Gardai are two of the reasons I'd be happy to see this thread closed for at least the next 2 months. it's not serving any sort of useful purpose any more other than to give trolls and the like a platform to contine to demonstate their ignorance, or excessive dependence on alcohol.

Sick to the back teeth of people that are only interested in sticking 2 fingers in the air to the vast majority of people that are trying to avoid Covid, to protect others that they are close to for whatever reason.

Local pub in the town here was responsible for a massive cluster back when the GAA team and supporters lost the run of themselves when a local team won a cup, it's taken nearly 2 months to get the number of new cases back below the national average, and they've now been closed again this week for a number of breaches of the rules. Never should have been open again in the first place, but clearly, the owner/landlord thinks he's above the law.

I agree with your post entirely - but I've a feeling the one above was a sarcastic one (at least I hope it was or I wouldn't have thanked it!!)

never_mind wrote: »
    Ok, I love a pint in a pub, gastro or otherwise, but I agree with this move as sad as I am. What bothers me is there is NO indication about when they’ll be open again. Is this going to turn into lockdown 1 where we had zero idea about when it would end?

But they DON'T have any idea when they can let them open again...... the virus is galloping upwards, it depends on when we all collectively manegeto get it down again.

Admittedly it would be nice if we could have a number to aim for, but I think it depends on many more factors than just simple numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,135 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

accensi0n wrote: »
    Afghanistan
    Albania
    Algeria
    Andorra
    Angola
    Antigua & Deps
    Argentina
    Armenia
    Australia
    Austria
    Azerbaijan
    Bahamas
    Bahrain
    Bangladesh
    Barbados
    Belarus
    Belgium
    Belize
    Benin
    Bhutan
    Bolivia
    Bosnia Herzegovina
    Botswana
    Brazil
    Brunei
    Bulgaria
    Burkina
    Burundi
    Cambodia
    Cameroon
    Canada
    Cape Verde
    Central African Rep
    Chad
    Chile
    China
    Colombia
    Comoros
    Congo
    Congo {Democratic Rep}
    Costa Rica
    Croatia
    Cuba
    Cyprus
    Czech Republic
    Denmark
    Djibouti
    Dominica
    Dominican Republic
    East Timor
    Ecuador
    Egypt
    El Salvador
    Equatorial Guinea
    Eritrea
    Estonia
    Ethiopia
    Fiji
    Finland
    France
    Gabon
    Gambia
    Georgia
    Germany
    Ghana
    Greece
    Grenada
    Guatemala
    Guinea
    Guinea-Bissau
    Guyana
    Haiti
    Honduras
    Hungary
    Iceland
    India
    Indonesia
    Iran
    Iraq
    Israel
    Italy
    Ivory Coast
    Jamaica
    Japan
    Jordan
    Kazakhstan
    Kenya
    Kiribati
    Korea North
    Korea South
    Kosovo
    Kuwait
    Kyrgyzstan
    Laos
    Latvia
    Lebanon
    Lesotho
    Liberia
    Libya
    Liechtenstein
    Lithuania
    Luxembourg
    Macedonia
    Madagascar
    Malawi
    Malaysia
    Maldives
    Mali
    Malta
    Marshall Islands
    Mauritania
    Mauritius
    Mexico
    Micronesia
    Moldova
    Monaco
    Mongolia
    Montenegro
    Morocco
    Mozambique
    Myanmar, {Burma}
    Namibia
    Nauru
    Nepal
    Netherlands
    New Zealand
    Nicaragua
    Niger
    Nigeria
    Norway
    Oman
    Pakistan
    Palau
    Panama
    Papua New Guinea
    Paraguay
    Peru
    Philippines
    Poland
    Portugal
    Qatar
    Romania
    Russian Federation
    Rwanda
    St Kitts & Nevis
    St Lucia
    Samoa
    San Marino
    Sao Tome & Principe
    Saudi Arabia
    Senegal
    Serbia
    Seychelles
    Sierra Leone
    Singapore
    Slovakia
    Slovenia
    Solomon Islands
    Somalia
    South Africa
    South Sudan
    Spain
    Sri Lanka
    Sudan
    Suriname
    Swaziland
    Sweden
    Switzerland
    Syria
    Taiwan
    Tajikistan
    Tanzania
    Thailand
    Togo
    Tonga
    Trinidad & Tobago
    Tunisia
    Turkey
    Turkmenistan
    Tuvalu
    Uganda
    Ukraine
    United Arab Emirates
    United Kingdom
    United States
    Uruguay
    Uzbekistan
    Vanuatu
    Vatican City
    Venezuela
    Vietnam
    Yemen
    Zambia
    Zimbabwe

Incorrect they are closed in the UK and Germany, as well as France. There is no pubs in Poland

PS last time I tried to have a point in the UAE they threatened to take my left hand off

Slava Ukrainii

But they DON'T have any idea when they can let them open again...... the virus is galloping upwards, it depends on when we all collectively manegeto get it down again.

Admittedly it would be nice if we could have a number to aim for, but I think it depends on many more factors than just simple numbers.

Inaccurate.

The last lockdown when we were in level 5 had a deadline plus a target (50-100). This wasn’t achieved but we still opened. Govt should take its head out of its Arse, go for a hard lock down for two weeks and then commit to opening after it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

Great post as usual steve.

It's actually quite sickening to see posters joking about shebeens and breaking guidelines while thousands are dying worldwide. Whether it's a lack of education, selfishness, or just trolling, I dont know, but the lack of empathy displayed on here seems almost inhumane at times.

Inaccurate.

The last lockdown when we were in level 5 had a deadline plus a target (50-100). This wasn’t achieved but we still opened. Govt should take its head out of its Arse, go for a hard lock down for two weeks and then commit to opening after it.

And if the numbers are still too high at that stage?

Then they're just accused of breaking even more promises.

They don't have a crystal ball.

And if the numbers are still too high at that stage?

Then they're just accused of breaking even more promises.

They don't have a crystal ball.

Yeah I get that, but level 5 didn’t work last time and I’m not sure how it didn’t. This might get us back down to 30” or so but what do we do then? Giving people a time scale is so much better to frame psychologically. If they did 2 week hard lock (5.5!) then 4 weeks of Level 5 then try and commit to at least 3 by the end of that would be much easier for us all to commit to. People who are breaking lockdown are fatigued from it all and without any form of hope is making it harder.

Either way, we all know the vaccine programme will be full of delays and they’ll end up buying the wrong fridges or end up smashing thousands of doses accidentally. Not sure if I can do lockdown after lockdown without a bit of a breather til the end of this year :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Well I'm officially on my first Christmas period off in over 2 decades, usually I only get the one day! Unfortunately it took a global pandemic to bring it on and I might not have a job in the new year but one must look on the bright side. All my family and friends are healthy. I have a stockpile of food and drink for tomorrow. I can have a hangover on Stephens day and suffer in peace for once :D Lots of PC, oculus and board, games to dive into over the next couple of weeks. A stack of books I keep meaning to read, including Meehan's bartender manual which is a hefty hardback book. A new season of the expanse to watch. A guitar that I seriously need to start trying to learn again. I bought a nice bottle of antica sweet vermouth and luxardo maraschino cherries to make some delicious manhattans at 6am tomorrow and they both arrived on time :) . Here's to a better year in 21 and hope you all, regardless of differing views on this stupid virus, have the best couple of weeks you can and any of you stuck in retail or other work get time somewhere in between the mayhem that is this season to make yourself and those around you merry.

ShooterSF wrote: »
    Well I'm officially on my first Christmas period off in over 2 decades, usually I only get the one day! Unfortunately it took a global pandemic to bring it on and I might not have a job in the new year but one must look on the bright side. All my family and friends are healthy. I have a stockpile of food and drink for tomorrow. I can have a hangover on Stephens day and suffer in peace for once :D Lots of PC, oculus and board, games to dive into over the next couple of weeks. A stack of books I keep meaning to read, including Meehan's bartender manual which is a hefty hardback book. A new season of the expanse to watch. A guitar that I seriously need to start trying to learn again. I bought a nice bottle of antica sweet vermouth and luxardo maraschino cherries to make some delicious manhattans at 6am tomorrow and they both arrived on time :) . Here's to a better year in 21 and hope you all, regardless of differing views on this stupid virus, have the best couple of weeks you can and any of you stuck in retail or other work get time somewhere in between the mayhem that is this season to make yourself and those around you merry.

This post made me smile! Enjoy it xx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,113 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

God wish I was having a few Xmas eve pints now. Only a handful of places open for the few hours today. Would be a waste of money

Cans and YouTube it is so

Yeah I get that, but level 5 didn’t work last time and I’m not sure how it didn’t.

Its no mystery how level 5 didn't work.

Its because it was "level 5" in name only, in practice, it was probably more like level 1.5.

Non compliance or incorrectly worn masks was rampant, non-essential retail all open, public transport packed, shops packed, social distancing not adhered too. House parties every weekend (at least where I live) and those who were supposed to work from home but going into offices, (though not always their choice....)

Level 5 was a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

Ah here, I don`t think you are being altogether fair here. Anyhow as you are a moderator I assume you have some control on the threads so if you think it reasonable to close a thread down so be it but that tastes of controlling the media and fair discussion at the very least. This is a thread to discuss the state of pubs reopening and the issues relevant to that.

Also its not about anyones excessive dependance or otherwise on alcohol, a pub is not necessarily a place to go to drink to excess although I accept some people do that. For most people and I say most, its a place to go to meet friends and mates, to have a couple of drinks, watch the footie, escape the mayhem at home or at work and relax chill for an hour or 2

Anyhow, they are now closed more is the pity and I for 1 look forward to the day all pubs get to reopen properly. I don`t get the government trend that they want the "Irish pub model" to serve food, have customers who stop by to have a couple of bottles of beer. This is more the trend in Europe and we are Irish and will stay Irish. I don`t want to sit in a pub and have food all the time. I simply want to have a drink in a pub, thats all

ShooterSF wrote: »

Well, now, that's the spirit! Both literally and metaphorically.

But.... Manhattans at 6am??? eek.png

I'm a lifelong shift-worker, and long-distance sailor, so well used to meals at very odd times - but I'm not sure even I could face a cocktail at 6am! Although the way things are going......

Drifter50 wrote: »

Also its not about anyones excessive dependance or otherwise on alcohol, a pub is not necessarily a place to go to drink to excess although I accept some people do that. For most people and I say most, its a place to go to meet friends and mates, to have a couple of drinks, watch the footie, escape the mayhem at home or at work and relax chill for an hour or 2

Anyhow, they are now closed more is the pity and I for 1 look forward to the day all pubs get to reopen properly. I don`t get the government trend that they want the "Irish pub model" to serve food, have customers who stop by to have a couple of bottles of beer. This is more the trend in Europe and we are Irish and will stay Irish. I don`t want to sit in a pub and have food all the time. I simply want to have a drink in a pub, thats all
    Agreed.

Mostly.

But I honestly don't think there's a government trend to change the pub model. That seems to be a conspiracy paranoia brought on in some by the madness of the last year. Once the virus is under control we'll be back to business as usual, and there will be the gastropubs and the usual pubs - maybe not under the same ownership, but there's a huge grá for them so I can't see them disappearing totally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭Timistry

Time is relative Heidi. 6am if your on nightshift is like 8pm for a dayshift worker. Often drank at that hour but its definitely a novelty!

Was working all week, it was tough today not being able to go to the pub for a few with friends I have not seen all year. Felt almost unnatural being home so early, I'm normally home at 12 or so on xmas eve. I'm sure we will have a few sessions for the next few days.

This anti alcohol rhetoric is depressing in the extreme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭PommieBast

But I honestly don't think there's a government trend to change the pub model. That seems to be a conspiracy paranoia brought on in some by the madness of the last year.
    The way the Irish government strang publicans and pubgoers along (elaborated enough in this thread already) just made people think it was dishonest politicians as usual, so such paranoia is understandable.

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

I dont care if you believe me or not. I am going to enjoy my Christmas and not be living in fear of Covid :D

I believe ya. Had a few myself this evening in the local with a few of the lads. Same crack for the racing on saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,689 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

PommieBast wrote: »
    The way the Irish government strang publicans and pubgoers along (elaborated enough in this thread already) just made people think it was dishonest politicians as usual, so such paranoia is understandable.

They couldn't reopen normal pubs because the level of adherance to regulations is not great in many, many gastro pubs
    Or by customers in those pubs

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

Drifter50 wrote: »
    Ah here, I don`t think you are being altogether fair here. Anyhow as you are a moderator I assume you have some control on the threads so if you think it reasonable to close a thread down so be it but that tastes of controlling the media and fair discussion at the very least. This is a thread to discuss the state of pubs reopening and the issues relevant to that.

It's one of the shortcomings of the Boards software, a moderator tag shows in every forum, I'm not a moderator of this section, only aviation, so I have no more influence over what happens here than any other user, and I'm not speaking as a moderator, just a Boards user who has been watching this thread for some time, resisting the temptation to comment on many occasions, and coming to the conclusion that some of the posters here have a serious problem with either authority, or alcohol, or both.

I wish it was that simple, there's a pub not far from here that I visit when I can, with a group of friends who have similar interests, and I miss those trips out, as the evenings we spend there are good evenings. Not bothered about things like the Footie, too often, that's a very noisy background distraction that means we end up having to shout at each other rather than chat at normal volume levels, but yes, there are good valid reasons for having a place like that, IF times were normal, and that is the sad factor, things are very much not normal, and while we don't like having to admit it, there are some venues where Covid can spread very easily, and a high percentage of pubs come very close to the top of that list, and the lack of personal responsibility over things like masks and hand washing only serve to make the problem worse.

No argument as such there, mandatory food is a bad idea, it's being used at the moment as a (sub optimal) way to try to limit social contact, and part of that reasoning is the simple fact that food tends to mitigate the onset of poor behaviour when drink is in the mix.

There's a balance somewhere in the middle between the "gastro" pubs and the "wet" pubs that serve nothing other than drink, and over time, I'd like to hope that the pendulum will move to encourage the non food places to at least serve more than just packets of crisps and if you're lucky, salted peanuts.

As for when they will re open, that's going to depend on how good a job the HSE do on getting the vaccine out to the people that need it, and I'm not altogether happy about their track record in these areas, and the other side of the coin will be how virulent the new strains are in comparison to the existing strains, there is a lot of concern verging on panic in a number of places both here and abroad that are supposedly in the know, and that's not encouraging. My own instinct is that we will be lucky to see much open before Easter, maybe later, depending on how bad the spike from Christmas and the new strain is.

In the meantime, here's hoping that as many people as possible get to have as good a Christmas as possible, given the circumstances that are causing such significant upset.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭cityboyjim

KISS .15 per Bar .Cases in the area close until its clear. .Regionalise it for FCUK sake.Think of the older people for once .Keep it simple stupid is what Kiss means by the way .Happy Christmas to the keyboard warriers .God knows what ye will do after this is over .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,113 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Never went out much on Stephens Day but for many its a massive tradition and it will be tough enough for them but suppose Paddys Day was the same and we all know what happened there

So hard to see us being 'left have fun' and the pubs been open by/for Paddys Day 2021. We were very bad boys and girls when we were allowed have our pints these last few weeks and our leaders (mostly Dr Tony) will remember that in our annual review

Hope everyone stays safe and enjoys this unique christmas

• Registered Users Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

Right now I would be in my local rural pub having my Christmass eve cuppa of spirit tea. Shame that it is not even open outdoors these last months except for two weeks. You know up there in the Dail...its not always about alcohlic drink but community and looking out for each other when times are bad down here in rural Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

PTH2009 wrote: »

Out of interest what countries still have pubs opened ?

Australia and New Zealand.

Mind you they shut their borders rather than the approach we took- leaving them open to infested areas then lying and saying it only caused 2 percent of cases. It was at that stage I stopped believing anything they said .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

PommieBast wrote: »

And it’s not just that they shut them down. The last 2 times they’ve shut them up at times when they would have had thousands of euros of stock bought, last time they closed them before a weekend, this time on Xmas Eve, when they’d need to have stock in for Stephens Day etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

They couldn't reopen normal pubs because the level of adherance to regulations is not great in many, many gastro pubs
    Or by customers in those pubs

Strange that the Gardai stated that the vast majority of pubs were compliant, and it was just a handful breaking the rules. Where are you getting your info from??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

Does the virus know if a business is essential or not?

Strange that the Gardai stated that the vast majority of pubs were compliant, and it was just a handful breaking the rules. Where are you getting your info from??

It only takes a handful of packed pubs to add a few hundred cases to the tally as we saw with the Wexford mess. The type of person who’s happy to wedge themselves into a packed pub is not the type of person who is going to self isolate for the benefit of others so it leads to community spread. Most pubs may have been compliant but many have also been sanctioned. If a pub owner orders in thousands of euro worth of stock when they know full well they could be told to close with a days notice that’s their own fault. Anyone with half a brain knew a lockdown was coming.

I seem to remember reading many posts from yourself boasting about ignoring restrictions and it’s people like that that are causing the pubs to close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,604 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I seem to remember reading many posts from yourself boasting about ignoring restrictions and it’s people like that that are causing the pubs to close.

You can expect the ones who boasted about ignoring the restrictions to take absolutely no responsibility for the increasing numbers.

They will whinge about restrictions and then brag about breaking them and they can be easily ignored when it comes to decision making - and it’s clear that government doesn’t care about what these self-interested folks say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

A pub owner i know tells me between himself and his wife getting the 350 each plus grants hes got hes better off than when the pub was open.
    It is a medium size bar in a rural town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Choosehowevr.

As for when they will re open, that's going to depend on how good a job the HSE do on getting the vaccine out to the people that need it, and I'm not altogether happy about their track record in these areas, and the other side of the coin will be how virulent the new strains are in comparison to the existing strains, there is a lot of concern verging on panic in a number of places both here and abroad that are supposedly in the know, and that's not encouraging. My own instinct is that we will be lucky to see much open before Easter, maybe later, depending on how bad the spike from Christmas and the new strain is.

In the meantime, here's hoping that as many people as possible get to have as good a Christmas as possible, given the circumstances that are causing such significant upset.

Where is this concern from people in the know?