Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users Posts: 7,784 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

aziz wrote: »
    I've only been out once since the "Pubs" reopened.
    Went into one premises and had a meal and a few pints and was then given the bums rush after two hours.

Left and walked 20 minutes to another premises where had to order more food before we were given a drink and then had to leave a hour and a half later as they were closing,

Couldn't be arsed going out again after that
    ( but the pints were lovely)

Plenty of pubs breaching these regs, I think the Gardai themselves caught 80 plus.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,171 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Grandeeod wrote: »
    The pubs could have and perhaps should have been the complete social experiment. But it looks like the schools will be that experiment now.

I said it ages ago, put the warriors like me on the front line of this experiment, I'll drink a few pints to save the children. The pubs is where the first round should be played not schools.
    I don't want to catch this but I definitely don't want my kids to catch it.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,733 ✭✭✭✭briany

A quiet pub on a weekday afternoon would pose very little risk of spreading Covid around. Not any more than a barbers might, anyway. The problem comes in on the weekend when people typically go out drinking in numbers. People with the intention of going out to generally socialise and have a good time aren't really going to pay much attention to social distancing guidelines, and most people's idea of a great night out tends to consist of more than 2 hours down the pub before being ferried out the door. The whole thing would be hard enough to police in a small pub, never mind a big nightclub where younger people are going to get the shift and the ride and social distancing really defeats the purpose of the whole endeavour.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

God yeah, I’d love the pubs open and can’t wait until such a day they’re opened up again properly. This just isn’t the time though and there are far more important things.

You've been one of the most neurotic posters on here for months, don't bother pretending to be anything else.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 9,214 ✭✭✭pgj2015

briany wrote: »
    A quiet pub on a weekday afternoon would pose very little risk of spreading Covid around. Not any more than a barbers might, anyway. The problem comes in on the weekend when people typically go out drinking in numbers. People with the intention of going out to generally socialise and have a good time aren't really going to pay much attention to social distancing guidelines, and most people's idea of a great night out tends to consist of more than 2 hours down the pub before being ferried out the door. The whole thing would be hard enough to police in a small pub, never mind a big nightclub where younger people are going to get the shift and the ride and social distancing really defeats the purpose of the whole endeavour.

well then they will need to close the pubs serving food because iv seen stag parties over the weekend drink in a house for hours, then go to a pub get some food, fall out onto the street, chat up women they just met, invite them back to a house party, 30-40 at the house party.

also was talking to a friend at 9 pm sunday night, he was in his local, he was there since 1 pm.

im not against pubs opening btw, id love them all to be open but the ones serving food aren't special, if they are allowed open so should them all.

• Registered Users Posts: 738 ✭✭✭aziz

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Excellent. That sounds like a brilliant night. I'm only allowed to eat one meal when I am out with the missus. :D

I told her I'd cover her in the second place😀

TomTomTim wrote: »
    You've been one of the most neurotic posters on here for months, don't bother pretending to be anything else.

How does that mean I wouldn’t love to see the pubs open as normal as soon as possible? Just because I don’t think they should open now doesn’t mean I don’t like the pub. Stupid statement.

Don2012 wrote: »
    Do you still believe the figures they are putting out? It has become so obvious they are lying through their teeth. Every death they are marking as Covid regardless of how someone died. Ask yourself, where has the flu/cold? or any other illnesses and diseases gone since this all started??
    How convenient that last week they put up the cases just before a bank holiday weekend. They want this to continue forever.

You reckon only 1700 ish have died in the last 6 months?
    No covid deaths in a day means no one has died at all?

You're viewpoint is ludicrous.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭joe40

pgj2015 wrote: »
    well then they will need to close the pubs serving food because iv seen stag parties over the weekend drink in a house for hours, then go to a pub get some food, fall out onto the street, chat up women they just met, invite them back to a house party, 30-40 at the house party.

also was talking to a friend at 9 pm sunday night, he was in his local, he was there since 1 pm.

im not against pubs opening btw, id love them all to be open but the ones serving food aren't special, if they are allowed open so should them all.

If numbers spike again then that may well happen. They may be shut down. A small minority of selfish people could make this lockdown longer than needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭the rock29

What about staff of said pubs hoping to get back to work and he says maybe next year what's the difference if everything thing is done right like sign in social distance etc

pgj2015 wrote: »

Essentially what you're saying is that these pubs serving food should have to close on the basis of a load of behaviour not even carried out on their premises. The only bit the pub is responsible for is serving the food and drink while there and ensuring they're out of there within a couple of hours. They're not accountable for what a stag party does before, after or nearby.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

There are 2 pubs in my village and over the last 2 weekends I was in both.

Pub A - Run by a local county councilor (member of a large political party) and here I had to sit at a seat and I could only leave this seat to go to bathroom. I was in the pub for 4.5 hours and on leaving I had to buy a pizza. All staff were wearing face masks and everyone was in their seats. At one stage I stopped to talk to a neighbour on the way to my seat when returning from the bathroom and I was asked to move back and sit at ,y own seat.

Pub B - Was in this pub yesterday. The guards have been here a lot. Had to knock on door to get in and owner let me in. Went in and absolutely no regulations being followed. Sit/Stand where you like even at the bar. There is a pizza menu on the bar. During my first pint a guard came to the door and the owner went out to her. One room of the pub was locked up by one of the locals (it was full of lads in early 20's) and all of us in the bar moved apart so it looked like we were socially distancing. A couple of empty plates magically appeared on a a few tables and the girl behind the bar put on a mask. After 5 minutes the guard left and the owner came back in, told us all was good, and it became a like a pre lockdown pub again. At around 8pm someone actually asked for a pizza and owner said kitchen was closed!! Spent 3.5 hours in there.

I'm sure a lot of rural areas are pretty similiar to my local pubs.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,774 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Pub A - Run by a local county councilor (member of a large political party) and here I had to sit at a seat and I could only leave this seat to go to bathroom. I was in the pub for 4.5 hours and on leaving I had to buy a pizza. All staff were wearing face masks and everyone was in their seats. At one stage I stopped to talk to a neighbour on the way to my seat when returning from the bathroom and I was asked to move back and sit at ,y own seat.

Pub B - Was in this pub yesterday. The guards have been here a lot. Had to knock on door to get in and owner let me in. Went in and absolutely no regulations being followed. Sit/Stand where you like even at the bar. There is a pizza menu on the bar. During my first pint a guard came to the door and the owner went out to her. One room of the pub was locked up by one of the locals (it was full of lads in early 20's) and all of us in the bar moved apart so it looked like we were socially distancing. A couple of empty plates magically appeared on a a few tables and the girl behind the bar put on a mask. After 5 minutes the guard left and the owner came back in, told us all was good, and it became a like a pre lockdown pub again. At around 8pm someone actually asked for a pizza and owner said kitchen was closed!! Spent 3.5 hours in there.

While the pub are ignoring the requirement to socially distance, so too are you.

This is why the pubs aren't being allowed to open.

I do feel sorry for publicans though. Easy for me to preach about rights and wrongs but I still have my wages coming in.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

I originally posted in another thread that the LVA told us in March that Halloween is a possibility. That's looking more likely now.
    Talking to a few publicans tonight and the atmosphere is dangerous. Plenty saying they are going to open next Monday anyway, either that or they are gone.

I don't begrudge any publican flouting the advice and opening up anyway, when it's either that or lose everything. However, it is doubly necessary for them to follow precautions to the letter and take no messing from patrons. If they're successful in the venture, then I think the government should overlook any technical breach of regulations when it comes to reissuing licenses. But if their reopening contributes directly to a big uptick in cases, then I predict public sympathy for the publicans will be limited.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,476 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Neither pub is right but Pub B is definitely a problem.

One person in there with the virus and everybody has it.

Whatever about rules and regulations why can't people themselves take responsibility and realise the risk they're taking and do the right thing.

This is why pubs are being kept closed.

Also, the outrage on this thread is funny to me as most people I'm in touch with are not surprised by today's decision and agree with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,655 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Maybe in your local but I've never been stuck for a lift home from any of my locals.
    Another reason rural and city/large town pubs should be differentiated between.

But stopping people getting into cars with people from other households is one of the objectives of the measures

Pubs run like pub B above needed to be closed down, if only to avoid making eejits out of the compliant.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,214 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Essentially what you're saying is that these pubs serving food should have to close on the basis of a load of behaviour not even carried out on their premises. The only bit the pub is responsible for is serving the food and drink while there and ensuring they're out of there within a couple of hours. They're not accountable for what a stag party does before, after or nearby.

if these pubs werent open, the lads im talking about wouldnt have went into town to the pub. therefore wouldnt have got drunker and met up with the strangers they invited back to the house they were staying in. the women they met were only in town because the pubs were open as well.
    also the stag party would be at home 2 hours away.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,476 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Maybe in your local but I've never been stuck for a lift home from any of my locals.
    Another reason rural and city/large town pubs should be differentiated between.

How can you do that? You can't have one rule one for one and another for others despite what the Healy-Raes want.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,171 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

But stopping people getting into cars with people from other households is one of the objectives of the measures

Pubs run like pub B above needed to be closed down, if only to avoid making eejits out of the compliant.

Look if 4 guards from different households can get into the one squad car everyone else in the country should be able to as well.
    It's one rule for them and one rule for us, it's bollixoligy and i'm not buying it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Poorside wrote: »
    Why don't they just make sure we all have these magic €9 meals that stop the Virus.

There is talk now that this virus might only be out after 11pm. Like some sort of microbiological Jack the Ripper. :D

Coward politicians have handed over the running of Ireland to doctors. You may as well ask an archbishop to declare a bordello as safe.

It was a dogfood plant with asylum seekers working in it that spiked the numbers - not ordinary Joes looking for a quiet pint. God forbid we are ever in a war because we'll put our soldiers every where except where the enemy is on the basis of what I have seen over the last six months.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,270 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Fitz* wrote: »

But is it still only 105 mins total inside with food?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,273 ✭✭✭emo72

we are never going to get the cases down to zero when airports are bringing in tourists from ravaged areas every day. this is bull****.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

I don't begrudge any publican flouting the advice and opening up anyway, when it's either that or lose everything. However, it is doubly necessary for them to follow precautions to the letter and take no messing from patrons. If they're successful in the venture, then I think the government should overlook any technical breach of regulations when it comes to reissuing licenses. But if their reopening contributes directly to a big uptick in cases, then I predict public sympathy for the publicans will be limited.

They should leave menus from the local Chinese on each table and let people order their nine euro meal from there. Gets around the health and safety issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭bloopy

Does anyone know what the criteria is for reopening?
    How many cases per day and for how long?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

We cant be trusted to go to the pub.

mikeym wrote: »
    We cant be trusted to go to the pub.

In fairness, that’d probably a lot of it too. We’ve shown ourselves up as very selfish and not to be trusted to do the right thing. You’d only have to look as the lack of mask wearing in the past week or two, or the travelling around during the restrictions.

If people could be trusted to go to the pub, socially distance, and not act the twat then it would be a different story but so many won’t even do that and the pubs closed.

• Registered Users Posts: 617 ✭✭✭afro man

joeguevara wrote: »
    Why did you write exactly the same response At 20.37 to the post I had replied to at 20.30.

Why do you need to know??? Are you the thread corrector!!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,550 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

topper75 wrote: »
    There is talk now that this virus might only be out after 11pm. Like some sort of microbiological Jack the Ripper. :D

Coward politicians have handed over the running of Ireland to doctors. You may as well ask an archbishop to declare a bordello as safe.

It was a dogfood plant with asylum seekers working in it that spiked the numbers - not ordinary Joes looking for a quiet pint. God forbid we are ever in a war because we'll put our soldiers every where except where the enemy is on the basis of what I have seen over the last six months.

Asylum centers should be completely locked down since March - no movement out of the centres until a vaccine

Similarly there should be travel bans on a long list of countries since March

But no, instead we have pathetic headless chicken leadership and that’s why we are in this mess

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

bloopy wrote: »
    Does anyone know what the criteria is for reopening?
    How many cases per day and for how long?

A good question. We were asked to flatten the curve. We did. We were told it was about hospital capacity. There are 4 critical in our hospitals as I type.

People don't like lies and false promises. They are funny like that.

Eradication is impossible so open the damn pubs.