Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

pjohnson wrote: »
    I can imagine the scuzzy backwaters. Probably full off 16 year olds aswell. Those dives are everywhere.

Not really. Pibs serving food with booked out tables filled by people who have been at work themselves all week.
    Normal service has resumed for some.
    Time limit bring ignored

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Ultima Thule

I always thought the relationship between Paddy and his pint was down to banter. But we really are dependent on alcohol in this country. The panic and outrage of pubs staying closed is surprising.

People give out about their income during covid yet give out about not being able to spend the money they have got on an unnecessary luxury.

Besides, well before covid the whole world and its aunt knew that pubs were going down the gastro route. Yet some just stayed aa they are.
    Then Covid hit, and they had a chance to adapt for a few months, yet the same chose to stay the same. They want the world to change for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

I always thought the relationship between Paddy and his pint was down to banter. But we really are dependent on alcohol in this country. The panic and outrage of pubs staying closed is surprising.

People give out about their income during covid yet give out about not being able to spend the money they have got on an unnecessary luxury.

Besides, well before covid the whole world and its aunt knew that pubs were going down the gastro route. Yet some just stayed aa they are.
    Then Covid hit, and they had a chance to adapt for a few months, yet the same chose to stay the same. They want the world to change for them.

I couldn't give a toss about going for a pint, but I think it's a disgrace that NPHET are destroying people's jobs and businesses in the pub trade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

GazzaL wrote: »
    I couldn't give a toss about going for a pint, but I think it's a disgrace that NPHET are destroying people's jobs and businesses in the pub trade.

Any thoughts on a once in a lifetime global pandemic?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,262 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

You have to look at the types that are pushing for this within the medical Quangos and NGOs. High level Medical professionals are the types that shoot 600-625 in a leaving cert and remain hermits throughout their university education. Then when they got into their jobs they became careerists. Pushing for promotion after promotion. They have robot personalities. Socially inadequate. They see life in an analytical perspective.

Fair play to them, they have succeeded professionally, they must be earning a packet. But I am not taking social advice from them and they have absolutely no business in trying to interfere with our social lives beyond a national emergency, of which it is over.

Generalise much?

Whatever the merits of your "lockdown/restrictions r nonsense" argument, you seriously undermine it with ****e like this.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

I'd say most sensible publicans can accept staying closed, but for a small pub in Ballymuck in a county that has had minimal infections and has to stay closed, even though they have safety features installed...and at the same time yanks are jetting in from Texas and wandering around to heart's content.

It's the frustration of consistency that riles them I'd say. I was in my local Tesco express. Small enough. There was about 20+ people in there. People grabbing things, putting them back. People not really staying distanced, yet at the same time only 3 of us wearing masks. A lof of the safety protocols put in place seems fundamentally futile.

Bottom line, as I heard someone saying yesterday, what's going to be so different in 3 weeks? It's can kicking stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

NPHET are the lads that made the taxpayer pay €100,000,000 per month to keep private hospitals empty. Public hospitals were also deserted. People haven't just been miraculously cured or stopped developing non-COVID illnesses. Our health service are not above being questioned, particularly given that they have brought scandal after scandal down through the years. You'll have to forgive people who don't deify them.

And you were shouting at the time that that was a really bad idea, yeah? As we looked on and saw that hospitals in Italy making decisions over sharing ventilators, etc, does it not occur to you that that was what they were preparing for?
    I completely agree that the health service are not above being questioned (cervical check, etc springing to mind), but they were working on a brand-new virus about which the whole world knew very little.
    Hindsight is 20/20. I'd rather they prepared for it and it not happen than not prepare for it and then be finger pointing and blaming.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,571 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Was in a small rural pub last night.
    Family owned, 5 of the same family run the place and have a lot to lose, more than most.

Had two pints in the smoking area, plenty of space.

Only stayed an hour, didn’t have food so presumably I’m going to die.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Banjaxed82 wrote: »
    Bottom line, as I heard someone saying yesterday, what's going to be so different in 3 weeks? It's can kicking stuff.
    We're going to know for certain whether cases are rising or remaining steady. Right now the government is being told by NPHET that cases are rising, so this buys time.

We're in a pandemic. There will be lots of can kicking, and we will be going backwards and forwards with restrictions until we have a vaccine.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Any thoughts on a once in a lifetime global pandemic?

The one that poses zero risk to young, healthy people or is there another one we're supposed to be scared of?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,406 ✭✭✭Macy0161

hmmm wrote: »
    We're going to know for certain whether cases are rising or remaining steady. Right now the government is being told by NPHET that cases are rising, so this buys time.
    It also gives the population a kick up the arse that it's not over, and if people don't stick the "rules" (and the spirit of the "rules") that enable the easing restrictions, it'll slow the process.

I have to say though, the picture being painted of rural pubs is laughable. If the couple auld lads (probably includes me at this stage) sitting belly to the bar over a couple of pints a few nights a week are that crucial to income, those pubs are already screwed or have very low costs. The reality is most rural pubs I know that are reliant on the alcohol trade are packed with young people - that's why I go to the bar not the lounge!

The one that poses zero risk to young, healthy people or is there another one we're supposed to be scared of?

The young people who are going back to their families and social circle to potentially pass it on to far more vulnerable people, seeing as it's highly infectious for days before you even know you've got it?

And young people have died, and suffered severe consequences from infection, so there's not "zero risk".

• Registered Users Posts: 28,476 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Despite all the protests here it appears that pubs being kept closed is broadly supported.

Any polls I have heard of on various media sources are showing support of the closures running at 70%-75% which is very high.

NPHET are the lads that made the taxpayer pay €100,000,000 per month to keep private hospitals empty. Public hospitals were also deserted. People haven't just been miraculously cured or stopped developing non-COVID illnesses. Our health service are not above being questioned, particularly given that they have brought scandal after scandal down through the years. You'll have to forgive people who don't deify them.

They didn't make the taxpayer pay anything.

They advised the government and the cabinet made the decision.

At the time the number of cases forecast was much higher than turned out and it was 100% the correct decision to be prepared.

If they hadn't done that and the numbers had turned out much higher and there was not enough hospital beds for patients then there would have been huge criticism and you probaby would have been on here calling them idiots

So they just can't win.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,023 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

murpho999 wrote: »
    Despite all the protests here it appears that pubs being kept closed is broadly supported.

Any polls I have heard of on various media sources are showing support of the closures running at 70%-75% which is very high.

They have most people programmed to be terrified, one look on RTE news is enough to make you think this virus will wipe out half the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

Of course. Most people know it is madness to open them. It's only people with a vested interest and the cognitively challenged looking to do so.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

Was in a small rural pub last night.
    Family owned, 5 of the same family run the place and have a lot to lose, more than most.

Had two pints in the smoking area, plenty of space.

Only stayed an hour, didn’t have food so presumably I’m going to die.

How many people were there out of interest?

I've been hearing stories about rural pubs on the radio, one was paying 900eur a month for sky sports and was too small a space to do food, just a little bigger than a house he said. How do these pubs make money?

niallo27 wrote: »
    They have most people programmed to be terrified, one look on RTE news is enough to make you think this virus will wipe out half the country.

People are not that stupid.

I don't know why people underestimate this virus. Even if it killed 1% of the population, which it could easily do if not stopped, then on the island of Ireland that would be approx 67,000 deaths.

I think that's worth fighting for.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,651 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

People are not that stupid.

I don't know why people underestimate this virus. Even if it killed 1% of the population, which it could easily do if not stopped, then on the island of Ireland that would be approx 67,000 deaths.

I think that's worth fighting for.

Many posters here reckon they'll be in the 99% who live and they don't give a damn.

Dont believe everything you hear in the media. Full of bullsh!t

In relation to this there is no bull****, most people do not want the spread of this disease.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,690 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    The young people who are going back to their families and social circle to potentially pass it on to far more vulnerable people, seeing as it's highly infectious for days before you even know you've got it? And young people have died, and suffered severe consequences from infection, so there's not "zero risk".

I believe the whole point is that what is keeping the pubs closed really going to achieve... A lot of in particular young people are going to house party's or hanging around parks etc. buying cheap booze at the Supermarket.. and in some cases buying cheap drugs... completely unregulated.. no bar staff, no security, no Gardai... and all in small houses where social distancing isn't an option at all, even if you wanted to...

These same young people may go home and spread the virus to older relatives and not have any symptoms at all, or even know they had Covid.

In relation to this there is no bull****, most people do not want the spread of this disease.

I am not talking about the disease. I was talking about the polls in the media saying that 70-75% of people are happy that pubs are closed

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    I believe the whole point is that what is keeping the pubs closed really going to achieve... A lot of in particular young people are going to house party's or hanging around parks etc. buying cheap booze at the Supermarket.. and in some cases buying cheap drugs... completely unregulated.. no bar staff, no security, no Gardai... and all in small houses where social distancing isn't an option at all, even if you wanted to...

These same young people may go home and spread the virus to older relatives and not have any symptoms at all, or even know they had Covid.

My post was specifically in reply to another one saying there was zero risk to young people.

And I believe (anecdotally, can't prove it) that young people will engage in all of the above regardless of whether pubs are open or closed - pubs are a lot more expensive than informal home/outside socialising.

And that's a huge problem.

But a separate one to the one of pubs opening for drinking only.

I'm talkng about public polls they're not articles.

I'd believe experts like Prof Browne who has just been on Newstalk quicker than I'd believe on boards.

You can't just say eveything in the media is BS just because you don't like it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

Tenzor07 wrote: »

That is their own choice. If they want to take the risk of killing a family member, it is up to them to decide whether it is worth going to that house party for that risk.

I am happy with the level of risk I and my family are taking. That is all i can control. If some stupid kid thinks the risk isn't there for them, well it'll be too late crying at mammy or granny's funeral. But that is their own decision.

I'm talkng about public polls they're not articles.

I'd believe experts like Prof Browne who has just been on Newstalk quicker than I'd believe on boards.

You can't just say eveything in the media is BS just because you don't like it.

These polls are bullsh!t. I dont believe that 70-75% of people want pubs to stay closed. Were these polls carried out amoung pioneers or anti social gobsh1tes that dont go near pubs

I am not talking about the disease. I was talking about the polls in the media saying that 70-75% of people are happy that pubs are closed

People who do not want the spread of the disease do not want restrictions to be relaxed while case numbers are increasing. They may not be happy that pubs are closed, but they see the need for it.

These polls are bullsh!t. I dont believe that 70-75% of people want pubs to stay closed. Were these polls carried out amoung pioneers or anti social gobsh1tes that dont go near pubs

They're public polls on the internet. How is a poll "Do you support pub closure? Yes/No/Don't know" BS? It's very simple,

Why don't you believe them?

Also, people I speak to support the closures.

It's just that those are against it are the most vocal here, in the media, Journal.ie comments etc.

I have learnt lately that what's posted here does not actually reflect public opinoin. Was also shown in recent referendum on abortion that very strongly gave the opinion it would be defeated but won easily.

They're public polls on the internet. How is a poll "Do you support pub closure? Yes/No/Don't know" BS? It's very simple,

Why don't you believe them?

Also, people I speak to support the closures.

It's just that those are against it are the most vocal here, in the media, Journal.ie comments etc.

I have learnt lately that what's posted here does not actually reflect public opinoin. Was also shown in recent referendum on abortion that very strongly gave the opinion it would be defeated but won easily.

Well i cant wait for the pubs to be open so i can have a nice few pints with my mates. Feck the anti pub brigade