Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,111 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

What about health and safety? Surely some kind of license is required

It doesnt say either way. Just a "substantial meal". Eating outside food on the premises was always the publicans choice so I don't see anything different here. 12 inch pizza in a box, provide a few napkins. Done.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 396 ✭✭Open the Pubs

Anyone dare to guess a date when nightclubs would be allowed back open. It's not allowed even on Level 1. Are nightclubs and casinos, finished as an industry in Ireland?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,310 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Anyone dare to guess a date when nightclubs would be allowed back open. It's not allowed even on Level 1. Are nightclubs and casinos, finished as an industry in Ireland?

Until a vaccine

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Will regular opening hours return?

Few of the wet pubs that opened down here doing food open at 5pm each day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,901 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Nightclubs - vaccine

Casinos - they've flown under the government's radar for a while now, they'll be open when the government figures out their cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,961 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

I'm all for nightlife to return as it was before, but surely nightclubs are off-limits until a vaccine is rolled-out? Probably a similar story for a lot of concerts and other live music events. In fairness, who the hell wants a socially-distant concert...that's an oxymoron if ever I heard one! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭MoodeRator

So if we are now Stage 2, "Wet Pubs" are now open ? https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/18e18-level-2/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

I was recently away in a pub in Wexford and the routine was he ordered food delivery from the local chippers around 2 times a day. As with anything else it really depends on how hard the local Gardaí are on the pub in question.

One of my local pubs is quite well run and does very well, but he has a bad relationship with Gardaí and they have made life very difficult for him during the pandemic. They told him they would challenge his license if he isn't squeaky clean for the next while.

Why does he have a bad relationship with the Gardai?

MoodeRator wrote: »
    So if we are now Stage 2, "Wet Pubs" are now open ? https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/18e18-level-2/

From Monday yes, except for Dublin which is at stage 2 but has level 3 and 4 restrictions mixed in, but is definitely at level 2, it's not confusing at all.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

What about health and safety? Surely some kind of license is required

They took that requirement away at the start of the pandemic. Health and safety doesn't matter during a pandemic or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

Even at stage 4 they are open with seats outside only.

We're apparently at stage 2.5 in Dublin, which makes little sense, since "wet" pubs can be open even at stage 4 according to their plan. We really have clowns running the show.

https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/dc29a-level-4/#wet-pubs

Wet pubs
    Outdoor seating only, limited to a maximum of 15 patrons.

Nightclubs, discos and casinos

Nightclubs, discos and casinos will remain closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,526 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

We're apparently at stage 2.5 in Dublin, which makes little sense, since "wet" pubs can be open even at stage 4 according to their plan. We really have clowns running the show.

Wet pubs

What a mess.

Good news, if we find ourselves in level 5 lockdown, non food pubs will be open for *checks notes* food delivery.......

A thousand monkeys with a thousand typewriters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,488 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Wet pubs

well they can be open for "outdoor" seating only

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,108 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Level 3/4 outdoor seating

Me bullock's is that working for some places esp with possible weather

At least from Monday no obligation no buy food and we can enjoy a pint til 11pm (well outside of Dublin)

lawred2 wrote: »
    well they can be open for "outdoor" seating only

But Dublin at level 2 can't. It's ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Level 3/4 outdoor seating

Me bullock's is that working for some places esp with possible weather

At least from Monday no obligation no buy food and we can enjoy a pint til 11pm (well outside of Dublin)

To be fair, as far as I can see, most pubs in Dublin do food. I haven't looked in detail at the new restrictions but is there clear enforcement planned for pubs in Dublin claiming to do food or is the continued enforcement of that rule absent in the guidance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

Do you still have to order food in a pub that serves food from Monday & do they still have the time restriction?

MattS1 wrote: »
    Do you still have to order food in a pub that serves food from Monday & do they still have the time restriction?

Time restrictions apply if 2m social distancing doesn't.

Technically you won't have to order food, gonna be interesting to see how that works out.

Yep you still need to order food.

Time restriction applies if less than 2m social distance I think, and my understanding is this was always the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

hetuzozaho wrote: »
    I don't know why this door handles thing comes up.

If you've 7 people in your house and 1 person has it there's a big chance 7 will have it after a night of wine and cheese. No door handle licking needed.

That's why they want 6 from 3 households and talk of 2 households in Dublin now to stop spread.

Where I live has the second lowest rate of infection in the whole country. All invitees are either unemployed or working from home. 4 of said invitees live together in a house share, so only 3 households are involved.

I assessed the risk and came to the conclusion that it was safe enough to go ahead with. To me the benefit for all of us outweighs the risk.
    As I said before, I will absolutely take sensible precautions but the downright hysterical & nasty reaction to what I posted is a clear sign of why those in favour of restrictions are losing support by the day.
    In your personal opinion, based on what I posted above, do you feel I should be legally prosecuted for my ‘selfish and reckless’ actions?
    Or can you acknowledge that arresting someone for something like that is absolute hyperbole?

Nobody here is even waiting to find out more information any more, they cast judgments and accusations my way without any clue of how many close contacts I have or what else I’m doing to be responsible.
    That’s why I’m saying I won’t feel guilty, because these people clearly have no interest in reasoned debate or logic.
    They are only interested in finger wagging from their high horses and after listening to them for the last 6 months day in day out, I just have no interest in it any more and won’t entertain it.
    If other people want to play the martyr they can work away but I won’t be doing it, and if they think Irish people will spend Christmas holed up in their houses avoiding most of their friends and family then they’re in for a serious disappointment, cause it won’t happen.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Technically you won't have to order food, gonna be interesting to see how that works out.

How come?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,108 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Time restriction applies if less than 2m social distance I think, and my understanding is this was always the case.

you don't have to order food

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Time restrictions apply if 2m social distancing doesn't.

How come?

We're all clear Micheál, cheers for clearing that up :D

Bah I was assuming Dublin! My bad! Sorry MattS1

How come?

Can't sit at the bar, so if you have lads come in by themselves, they need a table, depending on your setup and size, you could end up having to turn away 4 people for lunch while nedser milks 2 pints.

I could see places still insisting on food.

SusieBlue wrote: »
    Where I live has the second lowest rate of infection in the whole country. All invitees are either unemployed or working from home. 4 of said invitees live together in a house share, so only 3 households are involved.

I assessed the risk and came to the conclusion that it was safe enough to go ahead with. To me the benefit for all of us outweighs the risk.
    As I said before, I will absolutely take sensible precautions but the downright hysterical & nasty reaction to what I posted is a clear sign of why those in favour of restrictions are losing support by the day.
    In your personal opinion, based on what I posted above, do you feel I should be legally prosecuted for my ‘selfish and reckless’ actions?

Ha not at all! Apologies if I came across that way.

Think I'm just tired of everyone explaining why they are not 100% following the rules and it's ok because of x, y and z.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

The Master wrote: »
    The Dart to Bray next week

07092018-Banner-2-equitymaster.jpg

And leixlip.

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    And leixlip.

The lad from bradys in maynooth isn't crying now......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,409 ✭✭✭xtal191

Anyone been up North recently? Do you have to order food in pubs like here too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭Risteard81

xtal191 wrote: »
    Anyone been up North recently? Do you have to order food in pubs like here too?
    No. You just have to sit in the rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

SusieBlue wrote: »
    If other people want to play the martyr they can work away but I won’t be doing it, and if they think Irish people will spend Christmas holed up in their houses avoiding most of their friends and family then they’re in for a serious disappointment, cause it won’t happen.

i would advise never apologise nor explain to the mob. they don't care and only want blood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

paw patrol wrote: »
    i would advise never apologise nor explain to the mob. they don't care and only want blood.

The mob. Lol. Suzie posted about how she's been organising weekly parties at her gaf since June in breach of the regulations. She went on to justify her actions saying she "risk assessed" them. No idea how she did that since she doesn't have access to the information to properly conduct one - did it go beyond saying it feels safe because I want to have my party? Not just content with that reasoning she further added that she ignored the rules to essentially make herself feel better. The problem with covid is that it doesn't care about your feelings or your bs risk assessments so that's why we've been given a few simple rules to follow.

Perhaps it's a little unfair to single out one person but actions of many Suzie's will ensure that the covid restrictions are here to stay. If it just affected her well then I wouldn't care. It's the fact that she's unabashedly saying she's putting herself first is what's galling. Are all the Suzie's likely to accept the consequences of outbreaks linked to their parties? Is a night of wine and cheese worth putting someone (a friend or a family member of theirs) in hospital for? This isn't hyperbole, it's the actual risk associated with the disease.

Will this all happen at Christmas. Almost certainly. Will I be purple with rage? Nope, I'm not angry now, I have come to expect it -

I don't make any apologies for calling out this behaviour. Organising parties that do not comply with the regulations is both reckless and selfish especially if you do it regularly. There is plenty of scope for quality social interaction within the regulations. Moreso now.

The mob. Lol. Suzie posted about how she's been organising weekly parties at her gaf since June in breach of the regulations. She went on to justify her actions saying she "risk assessed" them. No idea how she did that since she doesn't have access to the information to properly conduct one - did it go beyond saying it feels safe because I want to have my party? Not just content with that reasoning she further added that she ignored the rules to essentially make herself feel better. The problem with covid is that it doesn't care about your feelings or your bs risk assessments so that's why we've been given a few simple rules to follow.

Perhaps it's a little unfair to single out one person but actions of many Suzie's will ensure that the covid restrictions are here to stay. If it just affected her well then I wouldn't care. It's the fact that she's unabashedly saying she's putting herself first is what's galling. Are all the Suzie's likely to accept the consequences of outbreaks linked to their parties? Is a night of wine and cheese worth putting someone (a friend or a family member of theirs) in hospital for? This isn't hyperbole, it's the actual risk associated with the disease.

Will this all happen at Christmas. Almost certainly. Will I be purple with rage? Nope, I'm not angry now, I have come to expect it -

I don't make any apologies for calling out this behaviour. Organising parties that do not comply with the regulations is both reckless and selfish especially if you do it regularly. There is plenty of scope for quality social interaction within the regulations. Moreso now.

You seem like an angry man. Chill out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,373 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Shame about the pubs in Dublin I was kind of hoping to go out for a few drinks after dinner for my birthday but que sera.
    Will have a nice a dinner and a few drinks with dinner and head home.

You have to feel sorry for the pub owners in Dublin, I think they should be given the chance to reopen and prove they can put measures in place. Obviously if they can't come down on the rule breakers like a tonne of breaks.

This will seriously encourage people to take trips outside or co Dublin I would think which will increase spread of corona

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Fitz* wrote: »
    September 21st now for the vast majority of the country. :)

A very welcome relief for all of the rural pubs that were about to go out of business. A meeting point for thousands who live alone and isolated has returned.

I know 2 rural pubs, one I worked in, not reopening. Lot of those pubs were barely scraping by and midweek especially relied on the few lads propping up the counter for 5-8 and the few night heads. One of the managers told me regulars aren't too keen on sitting at tables 2m apart and waiting to have their pint brought over. Plus you still have to have a member of staff on the floor at all times apparently so 2 people on will be too much of a burden for some. Still better than nothing for the industry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

I posted that I found it amusing that some people would liken my wine nights with a few pals to a Project X style massive session, when what I’m doing in no way resembles a ‘soirée’ or ‘house party’. It’s a small gathering of friends in my home.
    You then decided I was breaking the rules by hosting these weekly ‘house parties/soirees/sessions’, even though you had no idea how many households were involved, how many close contacts are involved, or what other precautions were put in place.
    You jumped to conclusions without all the information and went on the attack.
    You are still making nasty assumptions about me even though you actually have no idea if I’m even breaking the current rules or not.

My point remains.
    You won’t endear anyone to your draconian cause if you are saying someone should be arrested and prosecuted for inviting 6 friends over to their home.
    It’s overdramatic hyperbole, no matter how you try to dress it up, and I hope the law in this country never ever goes in that direction.
    You won’t endear anyone to your cause if you are likening said gathering to some wild drunken house party when that couldn’t be further from the truth.
    I won’t make any apologies for not taking a blind bit of notice of you and your scathing judgment, because I know I’m not being selfish and reckless.

I never once ‘unabashadly said I was putting myself before others’, that’s a complete fabrication on your part. I said I have sacrificed a lot and will continue to sacrifice a lot, as has everyone else and I’m ok with that.
    And that I’m unwilling to forego spending time with my family and friends any longer while I’m making these sacrifices.
    I will continue to see my 7 friends both at home and in public places and I will see my parents and siblings too.
    I won’t let you, a stranger on the internet, guilt me into feeling bad for that when you know absolutely nothing about me and my life, or my family situation.
    I see no shame in that and I don’t think that’s an unreasonable position to take whatsoever.

I suggest you dig deep and try to find some compassion, understanding and empathy for people other than those who have been afflicted with coronavirus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

You mean the regulations that say pubs can open at level 2, and with restrictions at level 3, and outdoors only at level 4, but can't at "level 2.5". Despite the government making a categorical statement this day last week that pubs would only not open as part of a wider lockdown affecting other businesses.

A plan that's the same for schools at level 1 as at level 5? Despite the fact that there are numerous international experiences of school reopenings leading to increased cases. But here it's politically inexpedient to even suggest that might be a factor.

The genius concoction of a government that's now restricting their movements because the minister for health appears to be incapable of following the basic guidelines regarding Covid symptoms that have been in place for over six months? Who are so adept at communicating important information that the minister for justice found out she was supposed to be restricting her movements when she was asked about it by RTE?

Those regulations? You must be joking.
    Sod the regulations. I've had contact with a handful of people since March. I have friends in the same situation. If I had half a dozen people over from different households, all of whom have had minimal wider contact, that's against the regulations; but I could six people over from two households, all of whom were at different parties the previous weekend, and that's fine?

People need to use their common sense rather than obsessing over regulations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,459 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

I could see places still insisting on food.

It's a wrong rule, makes you poop, keep way from some ones else's pooper in a pandemic. ;)

Would be nice if places encouraged you to wee outside, I'd much prefer it considering the circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,017 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

So where you at the gates to Leinster House protesting against the Oireachtas Golf society outing where 81 people partied like it was 1999...Literally!

Or are you an angry Keyboard warrior who likes to come on and lambaste female posters here who likes to have a bit of wine and cheese with a few close friends? Big man eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,109 ✭✭✭circadian

Well, this whole pandemic has really highlighted those that are truly selfish. The majority of people are making efforts and following the guidelines but there are a selfish few who;

Refuse to wear masks,
    Refuse to adhere to social distancing,
    Refuse to follow guidelines on gatherings,
    Antagonise those who are making the effort and are just as pissed off about it as those selfish childish ****ers who aren't willing to pull their weight.

The irony here is, many of those not pulling their weight are the first to give out about dole scroungers etc. Get over yourselves, there's no great conspiracy and everyone else is doing what they can to get through this.

On another point, if Susieblue is having a few mates over for wine and cheese every so often then I don't see a problem with that. It's large gatherings that are stupid and I seen one on our street back in April/May which pissed the rest of the neighbours off and rightly so.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

circadian wrote: »
    Well, this whole pandemic has really highlighted those that are truly selfish. The majority of people are making efforts and following the guidelines but there are a selfish few who;

Refuse to wear masks,
    Antagonise those who are making the effort and are just as pissed off about it as those selfish childish ****ers who aren't willing to pull their weight.

The irony here is, many of those not pulling their weight are the first to give out about dole scroungers etc. Get over yourselves, there's no great conspiracy and everyone else is doing what they can to get through this.

On another point, if Susieblue is having a few mates over for wine and cheese every so often then I don't see a problem with that. It's large gatherings that are stupid and I seen one on our street back in April/May which pissed the rest of the neighbours off and rightly so.

A street party what happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

bigpink wrote: »
    A street party what happened?

There was a party. On a street.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

circadian wrote: »

Refuse to wear masks,

This is such hogwash. Just because people are critical about the rules, doesn't mean that they are disobeying them. I have a problem with many of the standards, but I've abided by most of them.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,258 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

TomTomTim wrote: »
    This is such hogwash. Just because people are critical about the rules, doesn't mean that they are disobeying them.

I didn't see in his post where he said everyone who is critical is disobeying.

There are many people who are refusing to adhere to the rules. Many of them are doing so under weird delusions, conspiracies and paranoia.

Others are just absolute arseh*les.

Either way, they are contributing to the spread of this virus and the need for the restrictions that they don't want to exist.

If they want life to go back to normal, then join together with the rest of us and fight the virus, instead of ranting on Facebook that "Me Hole Martin" is a lizard made of 5G masts who wants to take away your freedom to be a c*nt whenever you want and then actively go against the restrictions. It helps nobody. In fact, it's counter-productive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

What has selfish people congregating at massive parties in April and May got to do with opening of pubs?

It's the conflating of the two that's been the issue from day one. In government's view, pub owners and pub goers can't be trusted. And that's why it's taken this long and even still Dublin will remain at level 5 restrictions going forward when it comes to pubs.

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I didn't see in his post where he said everyone who is critical is disobeying.

There are many people who are refusing to adhere to the rules. Many of them are doing so under weird delusions, conspiracies and paranoia.

Others are just absolute arseh*les.

Either way, they are contributing to the spread of this virus and the need for the restrictions that they don't want to exist.

If they want life to go back to normal, then join together with the rest of us and fight the virus, instead of ranting on Facebook that "Me Hole Martin" is a lizard made of 5G masts who wants to take away your freedom to be a c*nt whenever you want and then actively go against the restrictions. It helps nobody. In fact, it's counter-productive.

How exactly do you fight the virus??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

Stay on the outside, hold it off with your jab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,526 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Apparently by calling anyone who disagrees with the current strategy...

A tinfoil hat wearer.

Alex Jones.

A lizard.

Something to do with 5g.

Because that’s what his posts consist of.

You’re better off ignoring this one. It took months for him to admit the pubs were even closed.