Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Dickie10

the ghost of marian finucane wandering the bar, coughing as she goes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,258 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,543 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

MrStuffins wrote: »

Bit ridiculous. The same absolutely useless bunch of muppets who couldn't close down a party in the flats the other night, or chose to ignore it.

Great point!

I'm sure they'll object to their licence too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Helped out a little this week but should be in for some serious shifts over the weekend. Been pretty good, owners pressuring us not to enforce the time limits but doing our best to keep all the regs in place and keep it safe and open. People "forgetting" to bring masks and lads trying to order at the bar because "ah sure I was coming back from the jacks" currently the biggest new pet peeves along with kick out time but that was always a pain. Been teased about wearing a mask a few times but already have my stock answer that it has nothing to do with the virus I just feel more comfortable wearing one while I rob you for the price of a drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,108 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Anyone go on a pub crawl or end up just staying in the same place for convenience ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Dickie10

going to a few this weekend. im off monday so will tour a few old men pubs sunday, finsh off with a pub with good live music band

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,283 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

ShooterSF wrote: »
    Helped out a little this week but should be in for some serious shifts over the weekend. Been pretty good, owners pressuring us not to enforce the time limits but doing our best to keep all the regs in place and keep it safe and open. People "forgetting" to bring masks and lads trying to order at the bar because "ah sure I was coming back from the jacks" currently the biggest new pet peeves along with kick out time but that was always a pain. Been teased about wearing a mask a few times but already have my stock answer that it has nothing to do with the virus I just feel more comfortable wearing one while I rob you for the price of a drink.

You need the patience of a saint for bar work. Id be in jail for manslaughter if I had to do that job.

Dickie10 wrote: »
    going to a few this weekend. im off monday so will tour a few old men pubs sunday, finsh off with a pub with good live music band

sounds good but might be difficult enough to find that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Great to get out for a few pints

a little bit odd that for the moment outside of Bank Holidays Sunday has the same closing times as the rest of the week

The rants never stop. What powers did the Gardai fail to use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,119 ✭✭✭joeguevara

The rants never stop. What powers did the Gardai fail to use?

Couldn't have said it better. Police arrive. Crowds dispersed. Seems people want arrests. But let's say that happens. People in close proximity are a Covid risk. The enforcement powers are a deterrent but only a tool for people who are not following directions etc.

Similar to the constant anti government rants. No idea what any other party could do differently. No interest in politics but hate the rants for the sake of giving out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭bobbyy gee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,526 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

Rather than just dump a repeat of the link, let's see what they said.
    A report from the Centers of Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) last week showed that people with COVID-19 were twice as likely to have visited an indoor dining establishment in the weeks prior to symptom onset, and now a new analysis of cell phone data from the Washington Post shows that states that reopened bars saw a doubling of COVID-19 cases 3 weeks later.

The data show that foot traffic to bars was followed by a rise in cases, and in Colorado and Louisiana—some of the few states that make contact tracing data public—20% of all cases can be traced to bars and restaurants.

Bluntly, while I accept that there's a lot of pain for the publicans and their staff, which needs to be addressed by relevant supports from Government, WE DO NOT NEED pubs and bars for the duration of this pandemic, life can continue without them, and if that means a lot less Covid being passed, it is a worthwhile price to pay for the health of the nation.

I could go on more, but the hard core drinkers here have already switched off, so I won't bother.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

• Registered Users Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

There's not a lot to learn from the overall sh1tshow the US have made of managing the virus. Situations aren't comparable but I suppose the article served its purpose to throw a few digs in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 442 ✭✭freak scence

bobbyy gee wrote: »

bars in usa spread it as there absolutely no social distancing masks sanitiser sitting at the counter its a free for all there

Rather than just dump a repeat of the link, let's see what they said.

Bluntly, while I accept that there's a lot of pain for the publicans and their staff, which needs to be addressed by relevant supports from Government, WE DO NOT NEED pubs and bars for the duration of this pandemic, life can continue without them, and if that means a lot less Covid being passed, it is a worthwhile price to pay for the health of the nation.

I could go on more, but the hard core drinkers here have already switched off, so I won't bother.

can't compare us to the usa its a ****efest there most don't even believe covid is real

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Has there been any discussion around the amount of people flying into Dublin airport for the holidays and of course the Irish flying in with most ignoring the 14 day rule.

Surely this is having an affect on the figures we are seeing lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

py2006 wrote: »
    Has there been any discussion around the amount of people flying into Dublin airport for the holidays and of course the Irish flying in with most ignoring the 14 day rule.

No, i think you are the very first poster to even mention people flying into the country, well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

No, i think you are the very first poster to even mention people flying into the country, well done

No need to be a smart arse! I meant from the Government or politicians etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

py2006 wrote: »

No the primary reason for this thread is for the anti drink brigade to come in and wind up people who like going to the pub.

Every other factor has been ignored as it has not fit the mold of the passive aggressive tea-totaling posts.

The reality is that the increase in recent figures is to do with the schools going back, I cannot really see another reason. RTE scraped the barrel last night on the Lifford / Strabane border, no sale here btw. I thought it was a succinctly cheap shot by the news editors to try to blame spikes in Donegal and Derry on cross border traffic, this is what happens when we only have 2 national broadcasters. I mean anyone studying communications and media should step back and appreciate the propaganda that this island is fed on.

Enough shight talk gets bandied about, but no doubt the tone of this thread has been a barrage of hypothetical meltdown from non drinkers looking to point their fingers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,604 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    No the primary reason for this thread is for the anti drink brigade to come in and wind up people who like going to the pub.

Every other factor has been ignored as it has not fit the mold of the passive aggressive tea-totaling posts.

Enough shight talk gets bandied about, but no doubt the tone of this thread has been a barrage of hypothetical meltdown from non drinkers looking to point their fingers.

Do you seriously think that all the people who are not in favour of pubs reopening are non-drinkers or anti-drink? Seriously?

Amazing that you can so glibly dismiss any rise in cases to pubs but so confidently attribute them to schools shows exactly how your thinking is motivated by your preferences. Of course schools will increase transmission. It's completely obvious that an environment where people are together indoors will increase transmissions. And so will pubs increase transmission for exactly the same reason. The difference between pubs and schools is that schools are necessary and pubs are just nice to have. If all schools and students had equipment to do it form home then that would be a handy lever to reduce cases when cases go high again.

I expect you to pretend not to understand the point, but god almighty the motivated reasoning is so childish and to watch adults post these things is actually pretty disappointing. .

Anti drinkers are revelling in it in fairness.

I'm not anti-drink. I love a drink and i miss the pub. Doesn't mean I let that interfere with the reasoning process on whether pubs should be open or not.

I don’t mean you. I wasn’t in favour of them opening during the early clamour either and I love a pint, but there is a real smugness about it from non drinkers about it all that just riles people up more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,654 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I don’t mean you. I wasn’t in favour of them opening during the early clamour either and I love a pint, but there is a real smugness about it from non drinkers about it all that just riles people up more.
    I think that might be more in your (in the general sense, not you in particular) heads, than in reality, though.

There's something quite shocking and depressing about the seemingly widespread absolute obsession with getting pubs back open again, sometimes even at the possible expense of schools (and I'm a drinker with no kids).

How do you know ow how many of them are non-drinkers? I've been assumed to be a non-drinker and anti-drink a few times in this and other threads. Loads of people assume if you're not pro pub, you're anti-drink.

I expect you to pretend not to understand the point, but god almighty the motivated reasoning is so childish and to watch adults post these things is actually pretty disappointing. .

I don't appreciate your condescension if I am being honest. Peoples' opinions are allowed. Your disapproval or objection to them should not warrant such a patronising rebuke.
    How do you know ow how many of them are non-drinkers? I've been assumed to be a non-drinker and anti-drink a few times in this and other threads. Loads of people assume if you're not pro pub, you're anti-drink.

I think it really irrelevant. Your biting response is enough for me to consider your opinion. Which I feel is inconsiderate of others, enough for me to consider you are a non drinker if I am being honest. Are you?

The fact remains that non-drinkers have been smugly high fiving the status quo for months now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,654 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I don't appreciate your condescension if I am being honest. Peoples' opinions are allowed. Your disapproval or objection to them should not warrant such a patronising rebuke.

I think it really irrelevant. Your biting response is enough for me to consider your opinion. Which I feel is inconsiderate of others, enough for me to consider you are a non drinker if I am being honest. Are you?

The fact remains that non-drinkers have been smugly high fiving the status quo for months now.

That's quite some leap of logic! :eek:

There are anti-drinkers but non-drinkers does not automatically mean anti-pub.

Pre-covid I frequented a local pub regularly (3/4 times a month, at least) with my family for their excellent carvery on Sunday, including my mother whom I used to collect from her nursing home and bring down with us. No drink involved.

On average once, maybe twice a week people from work would go for coffee or lunch in the pub next door, soup and sandwiches, no drink involved as it was back to work afterwards.

I can live without my carvery dinner and indeed have done so, even since the pubs reopened offering food because I prioritise my health and the public health as more important then a trip to the pub.

Those who wish to drink were never denied alcohol, off licences are open, supermarkets selling alcohol are open and lots of people have taken to socialising in their own back gardens.

Pubs were never needed if you wanted to have a drink.

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    That's quite some leap of logic! :eek:

i know, how shocking.

The patronising just never ends, does it?

Indeed you didn't pretend not to understand the response, you just ignored them.

Yes, so you consider me a non-drinker. And just as when you assume a lot of other people to be non-drinkers, you're wrong. I love a drink and I miss the pub. But for me the questions of pubs opening and whether pubs will increase transmission and whether it's worth it, isn't simply a matte of whether i personally enjoy the pub , as it is for you. They're separate questions to me.

Indeed you didn't pretend not to understand the response, you just ignored them.

Yes, so you consider me a non-drinker. And just as when you assume a lot of other people to be non-drinkers, you're wrong. I love a drink and I miss the pub. But for me the questions of pubs opening and whether pubs will increase transmission and whether it's worth it, isn't simply a matte of whether i personally enjoy the pub , as it is for you. They're separate questions to me.

How come there were no increases in transmission when the restaurants were open? I frankly don't care if you drink or don't at this point. This is some frivolous stuff you are dangling if I am being honest.

But you accept your instinct was wrong? You assumed I'm a non-drinker because i don't agree with you or whatever reasons and you were just wrong about it.

How do you know there was no transmissions in restaurants? What does the research say?

But you accept your instinct was wrong? You assumed I'm a non-drinker because i don't agree with you or whatever reasons and you were just wrong about it.

How do you know there was no transmissions in restaurants? What does the research say?

The conversation is not about you.

There is no proof of anything, or research, hence the barney.

Talk later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,901 ✭✭✭hynesie08

The research didn't say anything, they said "we can't prove it's pubs because we don't have the ability to check contacts past 2 days, but we can't prove it's not pubs so it is"

The conversation is not about you.

There is no proof of anything, or research, hence the barney.

Talk later.

LOL. In the last post you claimed there was no transmission in restaurants, now you admit you don't have a clue.

You've perfectly summed up the points from my post earlier. Posters assuming those who don't support opening pubs are non drinkers or anti drink. Posters using motivated reasoning because they want the pubs open. Very childish to see a grown adult using motivated reasoning.

Pre-covid I frequented a local pub regularly (3/4 times a month, at least) with my family for their excellent carvery on Sunday, including my mother whom I used to collect from her nursing home and bring down with us. No drink involved.

On average once, maybe twice a week people from work would go for coffee or lunch in the pub next door, soup and sandwiches, no drink involved as it was back to work afterwards.

I can live without my carvery dinner and indeed have done so, even since the pubs reopened offering food because I prioritise my health and the public health as more important then a trip to the pub.

Those who wish to drink were never denied alcohol, off licences are open, supermarkets selling alcohol are open and lots of people have taken to socialising in their own back gardens.

Yep and domestic abuse up massively

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    I

There's something quite shocking and depressing about the seemingly widespread absolute obsession with getting pubs back open again, sometimes even at the possible expense of schools (and I'm a drinker with no kids).

Ah c'mon nobody was arguing for pubs over schools. But the two shouldn't be conflated.

How when there was an average of 16 cases a day was it unsafe, and then they open there was an average of 250 a day? Makes no sense, that's the argument

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭PommieBast

Bluntly, while I accept that there's a lot of pain for the publicans and their staff, which needs to be addressed by relevant supports from Government, WE DO NOT NEED pubs and bars for the duration of this pandemic
    Trouble is the bit about support. A €4k grant is not going to help with six months and counting of unpaid rent and bills.

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭xvril

Was in a wet pub last night in rural Donegal. Have to feel bad for owner and the patrons. Looked to be the only social outlet for some people.

Yep and domestic abuse up massively

And you think thats down to wet pubs being kept closed? (Remember those serving food have been open for the last 3 months).

Here's the thing - if someone is an abuser, they're an abuser, whether the pubs are open or not.

I thought i'd read just about every stupid excuse for keeping pubs open during a pandemic, now its because they prevent domestic abuse.

You couldn't make this **** up.

This "Anti-Drink" or "Anti-Pub" stuff is absolute nonsense.

It's just a cheap way for anyone who can't accept the opinions of others and who refuses to take into account that pubs will most likely exacerbate the spread of Covid.

I don't see those who think the schools shouldn't be open being called "Anti-Education".

Calling someone "Anti-Drink" is a tactic used because those who use the term don't have any other argument for the pubs to be open other than "It's part of our culture".

And you think thats down to wet pubs being kept closed? (Remember those serving food have been open for the last 3 months).

Here's the thing - if someone is an abuser, they're an abuser, whether the pubs are open or not.

I thought i'd read just about every stupid excuse for keeping pubs open during a pandemic, now its because they prevent domestic abuse.

You couldn't make this **** up.

an cop on this was during lockdown same as now , maybe engage your head before typing .

they are for 50k plus people to work , time to live with it rather than hide under rocks , people will die no matter what we do it's called life . People looking for cancer treatment ****ed , can't hide till there is a vaccine , and this **** will come again , as china are horrible fuc ks who will eat and kill anything that moves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,526 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

xvril wrote: »
    Was in a wet pub last night in rural Donegal. Have to feel bad for owner and the patrons. Looked to be the only social outlet for some people.

Pub.

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭xvril

Pub.

I prefer

"Non food selling establishment that serves glasses containing drinkable liquids often containing alcohol"

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I don't see those who think the schools shouldn't be open being called "Anti-Education".

Go on, lets have some elaboration here please?