Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline: de Welsh Megamint edition (see warning, 1st post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,170 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

goose2005 wrote: »
    reminds me of the old hobo marks

hobo-signs-symbols-05.jpg
    wat colour was the chalk...so to speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

The great man of the peeple himself will grace de peasants wit his presence twoday so to speak as they say PC. Here's what he MIGHT discuss:

Francesca McDonagh OBE said technological transformation was de furst ting she'd fix and dat. Wan Bank Official said he (OR SHE!) never heard of Da Lahv Lahn - little digeen from de modest one. Who's hacking into de Bank Of Ireland Text Messaging masheen so to speak as they say? Dis is what she said on anudder program earlier. Mr. Duffy treading on "tin ice" legally so to speak I'd say here wit some of his phraseology.

De poor publicans. :rolleyes:

De Oirish Band Fonatines DC. Wunderful, fantastic so to speak.

dvcireland wrote: »
    1) BOI Scandal, tis a disgrace, thowhands.
    2) poor publicans.
    3) fontaines dc, dubbalinese bhand

Duz de DC stand for Dubalin City I wunder?

no dat was Fatima Mansions DC

Haven't been focussing as much as usual here lately with distractions and dat, but did I hear right that a caller or two purported that scams are allegedly originating within a bank itself?

I have zero technical knowledge in the IT security department, so my brain there is a blank page, but I'm imagining this would be a very alarming situation if there was a grain of truth in it, and therefore a highly unlikely scenario. De old copy and paste and bot scamming is something I broadly understand.

Haven't been focussing as much as usual here lately with distractions and dat, but did I hear right that a caller or two purported that scams are allegedly originating within a bank itself?

I have zero technical knowledge in the IT security department, so my brain there is a blank page, but I'm imagining this would be a very alarming situation if there was a grain of truth in it, and therefore a highly unlikely scenario. De old copy and paste and bot scamming is something I broadly understand.

I work in IT Security. I think the main problem from BOI's point of view, is they do send text messages with adverts and information in them, including links. This practice has desensitized some of their clients, which means when the scammer spoofs the source text message people think it's really from BOI.

Spoofing SMS source addresses is trivial.

Edit: Haha, just after writing this I got a cold called scam purporting to be from Amazon.

Yes. A few have made such allegations that it’s an inside job so to speak as they say.

What’s the development?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

Why is he trying to link the two topics?

This could be very good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,139 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Why should the CEO apologise for a scam?

There’ll be an apology for that comment, so Mr. Duffy Will have anudder breakeen again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭mountain

Bank of Ireland SCANDAL!!

Scam surely..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,145 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

I taut he'd have yer woman dat was on the [email]News@1...The[/email] Bookseller of Beruit on first.

I'd rather that they apologised for running the bank into the ground and requiring us to bail them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,267 ✭✭✭Kalimah

No no no no no!!!! No one is breaking into the B of I systems. Is the man thick!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,820 ✭✭✭Red Fred

Maybe the CEO should take a day off and on that day get somebody else to make an apology on their behalf!

feck this, any callers with a barking dog or rogue trader story.

Kalimah wrote: »
    No no no no no!!!! No one is breaking into the B of I systems. Is the man thick!!!!!

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,168 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

It seems technology is not for everyone, actually a lot more people than I thought.

They are not in BOI's IT system, how can Joe say this , you gave them your passwords. FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,373 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

HOW MUCH WAS ROBBDEDD!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,024 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

This is unbelievable stuff. Joe totally living in dream land. PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITY!

BOI will be closed by 3pm

Has there or has thee not been a hacking? Is what I would like answered.

If there actually had been one BOI definitely owe a duty of care, if people are just falling for a coincidentally arriving text message without coming from BOI's masheen, then they don't, although they should keep reminding people not to click on links.

They are not in their IT system!!!!

I work in IT Security. I think the main problem from BOI's point of view, is they do send text messages with adverts and information in them, including links. This practice has desensitized some of their clients, which means when the scammer spoofs the source text message people think it's really from BOI. Spoofing SMS source addresses is trivial.

Yeah I think that is a good description of the problem.

He needs to stop saying "on the Bank of Ireland thread"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

It’s like leaving your bag of coke at the front door of Rte and expecting no one to take it Joe.

There is no hacking - number spoofing is the easiest thing in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,716 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

The cretin clicked the link. He is to blame

I was hoping Warren was going to say “I don’t have a car”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

This could be very good!

How often have we thought that, only to be disappointed.

So he had his password all saved on his iphone to give to them....to cancel it....or process it on their side....

If they say thread one more time I think I'll scream!!!

There has not. See my reply to your comment on the previous page.

Gods Gift wrote: »
    It’s like leaving your bag of coke at the front door of Rte and expecting no one to take it Joe.

If they take it they might leave it at the front of a presbytery though?

If they say thread one more time I think I'll scream!!!

I think I heard you.

add enshurance to liveline bingo card

I can go into the dark web and buy 1000 legit phone numbers for €50

Ally Dick wrote: »
    The cretin clicked the link. He is to blame
    He clicked on the link....filled in his pin....then gave them his password....seriously....

I cannot get over how thick people are - most shouldn't be let out on their own.

There is no hacking - number spoofing is the easiest thing in the world.

Good to have this answered by our IT folk here, because I wouldn't have the first clue how to do it myself. I'm sure it's easy when you are motivated.

gmisk wrote: »
    So he had his password all saved on his iphone to give to them....to cancel it....or process it on their side....

If you are receiving a confirmation code from a company, some new phones autofill the box for you...but you still have to confirm the transaction

dvcireland wrote: »
    add enshurance to liveline bingo card

It’s inshuredance, with a “d”. And if you don’t claim at the end of your policy you get all the money back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,168 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

'the only reason you lost money is because you have an account with Bank of Ireland'

Wow - RTE solicitors on red alert ??

Clearly BOI have an issue as well to some degree....any calls about another bank?...... but there has to be some personal responsibility...look at the sender...look at the web address ffs!!!

Didn't someone call in last week to say they got the text and they aren't with BOI?

Please stop saying car keys you muppet.

2smiggy wrote: »
    'the only reason you lost money is because you have an account with Bank of Ireland'

Wow - RTE solicitors on red alert ??

They’re already panicking after his opening comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,531 ✭✭✭cozar

Joe not a fan of Francesca probably because she would'nt lower herself to come on liveline.