Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eamon Ryan

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

LawBoy2018 wrote: »
    I'm genuinely so disappoined in the Greens. They've shown that they're no different from FG or FF and care more about f*cking bike lanes than workers' rights, animal welfare and most-likely the environment itself. Eamon Ryan is nothing more than a greedy snorelax and the level nepotism in the Green party genuinely makes me sick. How could we (young voters) have been so wrong about them?

SF are the only option from here onwards. *sigh* Hopefully if/when they take the reigns, they maintain at least a shred of integrity, unlike the Greens.

Integrity? Not sure you meant to use that word re Sinn Fein. It doesn't mean "everything is free forever because someone else will pay for it"

• Registered Users Posts: 15,182 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

LADS let's not let Michael Martin off the hook though right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

LADS let's not let Michael Martin off the hook though right?

You can't be disappointed by FF.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭ronivek

Some stellar reporting here by Hugh O'Connell. The same Hugh O'Connell who was also responsible for the story which made false claims about Roderic O'Gorman and led to the whole social media storm over claims about gender change legislation for children. I would hazard a guess that he's not too fond of the Green Party.
    Ryan may get eight special advisers, with some earning €100k

Climate and Transport Minister Eamon Ryan has two chiefs of staff and will have up to six more special advisers, some of whom can earn salaries of up to €101,000, the Sunday Independent can reveal.

Mr Ryan has made the unusual move of creating the roles of joint chiefs of staff in the new Green Party leader's office - based in the Department of the Taoiseach - where he is entitled to up to five special advisers.

So is that 8 advisers? Or 5 advisers? Or 6? Hugh doesn't seem too sure.

As to pay for advisers Michael McGrath has stated: 'Special Advisers to Ministers and Ministers of State who regularly attend Cabinet are to be placed on the Principal Officer (Standard) PPC scale: currently €87,325 - €101,114... appointments should normally be on the first point of the scale...' So at least he might have that part technically correct.
    In addition to this, Mr Ryan, who was narrowly re-elected as Green Party leader last Thursday, has also already hired three special advisers to assist him in his role as climate action and transport minister.

Eamon Ryan is Minister for Climate Action, Communication Networks, and Transport.

Unfortunately the ministerial positions are continuously shuffled around so it's hard to make like for like comparisons. In the last Government we had these briefs spread across two different ministers; who also had additional briefs. These were the briefs and adviser numbers per minister:
    • Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment: 2 advisers, one on €85k and one on €88k.
    • Minister for Transport, Tourism, and Sport: 3 advisers, two on €79k and one on €86k.

So three special advisers would seem to tally more or less with the advisers from the last Government for these briefs. Not sure there's much to be getting too outraged about just yet; although naturally many of you aren't waiting for the actual facts.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

ronivek wrote: »
    Some stellar reporting here by Hugh O'Connell. The same Hugh O'Connell who was also responsible for the story which made false claims about Roderic O'Gorman and led to the whole social media storm over claims about gender change legislation for children. I would hazard a guess that he's not too fond of the Green Party.

So is that 8 advisers? Or 5 advisers? Or 6? Hugh doesn't seem too sure.

As to pay for advisers Michael McGrath has stated: 'Special Advisers to Ministers and Ministers of State who regularly attend Cabinet are to be placed on the Principal Officer (Standard) PPC scale: currently €87,325 - €101,114... appointments should normally be on the first point of the scale...' So at least he might have that part technically correct.

Eamon Ryan is Minister for Climate Action, Communication Networks, and Transport.

Unfortunately the ministerial positions are continuously shuffled around so it's hard to make like for like comparisons. In the last Government we had these briefs spread across two different ministers; who also had additional briefs. These were the briefs and adviser numbers per minister:
    • Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment: 2 advisers, one on €85k and one on €88k.
    • Minister for Transport, Tourism, and Sport: 3 advisers, two on €79k and one on €86k.

So three special advisers would seem to tally more or less with the advisers from the last Government for these briefs. Not sure there's much to be getting too outraged about just yet; although naturally many of you aren't waiting for the actual facts.

two chiefs plus 6 more advisors is 8 (6 + 2) , he's entitled to 5 but is going to have 8 , thats why the 5 is included and is the premise of the whole story

• Registered Users Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭ronivek

two chiefs plus 6 more advisors is 8 (6 + 2) , he's entitled to 5 but is going to have 8 , thats why the 5 is included and is the premise of the whole story

On what basis is he entitled to 5? Do Chiefs of Staff count as special advisers? Does his claim that he has already hired 3 special advisers include the 2 Chiefs of Staff? Where did he source any of the information he's presenting? Why is he using words such as 'may' and 'up to' if he actually has reliable source information?

There is no viable premise here; just an awful article full of assumptions and worded so that the author can't be called out for lying outright. It's possible the rest of the article isn't as awful but naturally it's behind a paywall; and I'm not really willing to pay to find out.

A case of..

Everybody_else_is_doing_it_so_why_can%27t_we_%28album_cover%29.jpg

Be nice if some crowd didnt put their feet up once they got in. Don't care who it is. Too easy to let things slide because those came before did it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

WTF do they need 5 for to begin with?

Mr. Karate wrote: »
    WTF do they need 5 for to begin with?

yeah I think thats madness too, but it sounds like a stroke FF pulled decades ago and its never been challenged but Ryan is really taking the piss.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,658 ✭✭✭Floppybits

They are all taking the piss now between the 16k for the special Junior ministers, Aide de camp for Leo, Car and driver for Simon and now 8 advisors for Eamonn Ryan. How can people not think this is taking the piss?

Floppybits wrote: »
    They are all taking the piss now between the 16k for the special Junior ministers, Aide de camp for Leo, Car and driver for Simon and now 8 advisors for Eamonn Ryan. How can people not think this is taking the piss?

They are getting the important stuff dealt with first. Pissing contests and filling their pockets.

Bowie wrote: »
    They are getting the important stuff dealt with first. Pissing contests and filling their pockets.

Yep they are filling their pockets with as much as they can get before everything goes bang.

Floppybits wrote: »
    Yep they are filling their pockets with as much as they can get before everything goes bang.

increase 16k....recession kicks in...."we're taking a 12k a year paycut, look we suffer too" ..... rinse and repeat.

also the knowledge that the greens are going to suffer and atleast one of ff/fg are back to the table should any election be called and they're free to do what they want.

increase 16k....recession kicks in...."we're taking a 12k a year paycut, look we suffer too" ..... rinse and repeat.

also the knowledge that the greens are going to suffer and atleast one of ff/fg are back to the table should any election be called and they're free to do what they want.

https://www.thejournal.ie/cabinet-pay-cut-10-5161441-Jul2020/

I didn't even need to wait.

MM, if you're reading this just cut my feckin taxes since you're taking ideas from me.

They are just taking the absolute piss out of the electorate at this stage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

An empty gesture. This government will be a shīt show until Leo retakes power. Then it will turn into a blame game with one eye always on the next election.

I can see austerity and tax increases coming.

EU had 750 billion to hand out. Ireland got 1.6 billion. We are up the creek.

Send him the bill for that. Should be about 100k that seems to be the going rate for advisors

• Registered Users Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Another resignation and it seems there is now a dissident group being formed...

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/politics/julie-odonoghue-leaves-green-party-22437240

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭Parsnips

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/politics/julie-odonoghue-leaves-green-party-22437240

I think Im right in saying neither of these 2 got elected into the Dail.
    So .. in reality it is just noise to the Greens. they dont give a damn about dissenters that have no sway on their seats. liek the gangland killings...always someone else read to step in. ...Move along nothing to see here."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

She got 1400 votes :-)

Sure Gemma the nut job got more

It’s a massive blow to the Greens alright, massive. I’m sure parties all over Ireland are scrapping to hire her immediately

Parsnips wrote: »
    I think Im right in saying neither of these 2 got elected into the Dail.
    So .. in reality it is just noise to the Greens. they dont give a damn about dissenters that have no sway on their seats. liek the gangland killings...always someone else read to step in. ...Move along nothing to see here."

TBF, they are more than the few seats. The party is split on leadership and if internally people continue to criticise and some leave, it doesn't bode well for the 2021 election.

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭Parsnips

No it doesnt but it just shows....no matter what any paty claim.. if they have a chance in power they will drop everything.
    I didnt vote greens and never will but they should be ashamed of themselves.

Some of the independants did it last time round and kept FG in power...after going tru the whole election campaign talking about change. Absolute traitors to the voters. Yes Zapone Im looking at you. and you wonder why you got the boot this time around.

I will say... it is very VERY abvious the SF where happy to dissapear after this election and be the mud throwers once again. Another party full of Sh**. They are all the same.

As Mark Twain said...."If voting actually made a difference they wouldnt let us do it".

Parsnips wrote: »
    No it doesnt but it just shows....no matter what any paty claim.. if they have a chance in power they will drop everything.
    I didnt vote greens and never will but they should be ashamed of themselves.

Some of the independants did it last time round and kept FG in power...after going tru the whole election campaign talking about change. Absolute traitors to the voters. Yes Zapone Im looking at you. and you wonder why you got the boot this time around.

I will say... it is very VERY abvious the SF where happy to dissapear after this election and be the mud throwers once again. Another party full of Sh**. They are all the same.

As Mark Twain said...."If voting actually made a difference they wouldnt let us do it".

SF should have spoke with PBP, may have been pointless but they'll likely need them in the future.

I'm hoping this is the last hurrah for one or both of FF/FG for some time.
    Give honest parties representing the tax payer a chance to show us what they can do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Bowie wrote: »
    SF should have spoke with PBP, may have been pointless but they'll likely need them in the future.

I'm hoping this is the last hurrah for one or both of FF/FG for some time.
    Give honest parties rpresenting the tax payer a chance to show us what they can do.

Who are these honest parties?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Goodbye and good riddance.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Got elected to nothing and frantic for attention

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

And now this: https://www.thejournal.ie/neasa-hourigan-rent-vote-5163999-Jul2020/

The Greens are turning out to be a disaster so far and here's another of their TD's who would be better off joining People Before Profit. My €20 subscription is still on hold while I watch the self destructive performance by some in the party.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

"She added that she did not believe the road to a just and free society lay in electoral politics"
    A coup, then, is it?

These people are totally unsuitable for politics. They have no concept of negotiation. They cry when their party gets half its manifesto though without actually winning credible popular support, not because that's ridiculous, but because they didn't get the other half through. The environmentalists and socialists of the Dáil will never amount to much more than a protest vote as long as they utterly fail to get a core of people elected who can consistently vote as a block.

mikhail wrote: »
    "She added that she did not believe the road to a just and free society lay in electoral politics"
    A coup, then, is it?

These people are totally unsuitable for politics. They have no concept of negotiation. They cry when their party gets half its manifesto though without actually winning credible popular support, not because that's ridiculous, but because they didn't get the other half through. The environmentalists and socialists of the Dáil will never amount to much more than a protest vote as long as they utterly fail to get a core of people elected who can consistently vote as a block.

That practically what we got :)