Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eamon Ryan

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    So you wanted Ireland to hold onto thousands of houses/apartments. Give them free to people who wouldn't pay rent and cripple the country even more?

How exactly does that make sense? Just look at the arrears from every county council in Ireland from government housing

Are you mad, never said for free but what they did do is give many free and in bundles too to big vulture funds for example.

There was one US one and they were hoping to have 5k units, they don't pay tax or 53% of rental income like any other LL....
    They do pay €250 yearly but that's two hundred and fifty euro.....

Yes many places were not finished but this could have easily been fixed and it would have kept employment and in turn less would have been on the scratch....

Look up the £1 houses in the UK.... Similar idea but it gets houses back to what they were built for and taxes coming in and in turn employment and money into the local economy.

Now I didn't say free or even the extreme of £1 what I said was say a house was worth 200k or apartment... If you or I was renting then the bank be given permission to give us a mortgage to take on the property, the bank makes money, the government makes money and it frees up rentals and a worker would have something at the end instead of pis#ing money away to have both no home or stability.

I think you need to read what happened in the crash, I don't support the Greens but even I know they didn't "fcuk us"

Yes they did and especially our health....

They added on taxes, they gave us the carbon tax where it hits the most vulnerable and those just managing to get by....

They gave us the diesel and co2 chape tax system where it ended up losing the government money but also then had many buy cars they didn't need and were totally not suitable for their driving needs... Diesel and city driving isn't a good thing, they were designed to be out on the motorway and long distance.

Much more.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭sdanseo

They added on taxes, they gave us the carbon tax where it hits the most vulnerable and those just managing to get by....

They gave us the diesel and co2 chape tax system where it ended up losing the government money but also then had many buy cars they didn't need and were totally not suitable for their driving needs... Diesel and city driving isn't a good thing, they were designed to be out on the motorway and long distance.

Much more.

The new(er,) 07/2008+ tax system isn't based on Diesel, it's based on emissions in gCO2/km. Problem is that manufacturers are permitted to declare this value based on "combined" figures which do not accurately reflect an average value for a city driver vs say a travelling salesperson.

There are very few countries who have managed to get that second part right.

sdanseo wrote: »
    The new(er,) 07/2008+ tax system isn't based on Diesel, it's based on emissions in gCO2/km. Problem is that manufacturers are permitted to declare this value based on "combined" figures which do not accurately reflect an average value for a city driver vs say a travelling salesperson.

There are very few countries who have managed to get that second part right.

I know that.... It meant many bought diesels that wasn't suited to them, jaysus I thought it would be self explanatory with all the information I stated.... People ditched the petrol as it was cheaper to have a 2.0 diesel then to tax a Micra....

• Registered Users Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I know that.... It meant many bought diesels that wasn't suited to them, jaysus I thought it would be self explanatory with all the information I stated.... People ditched the petrol as it was cheaper to have a 2.0 diesel then to tax a Micra....

All that says is the previous rates were too high, or the new rates were too low in comparison.

A graduated scale of tax based on the level of emissions is a fundamentally good idea, it was just poorly implemented, probably because of gombeen rural TDs and their objections rather than because the Greens thought it should be the way it ended up.

For what it's worth I share your hatred of the Diesel legacy. Hell, in July 2008 I was 20, I'd have bought a Diesel in a heartbeat for the cheaper tax, but also because I wasn't educated that petrol is actually a much cleaner fuel.
    Even now I drive a 320d, not by choice but because second hand in the trim and colour I wanted the dealer told me there were exactly 85 in Ireland, and 2 of them were in petrol. And both way outside my price range.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Sorry but that wasn’t the government fault, that was the stupidity of the Irish people....spending thousand on a car to save a few hundred in tax

Much more.

Ok, you mention health and then mention carbon tax, you do realise carbon tax is to clean the air which is better for our health?

How can those that can hardly afford to get by then get hit with even more tax making it even harder to be able to change to cleaner fuel for example

Carrot and stick

Carrot unfortunately never works for Irish so best them with a stick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

Carrot and stick

Carrot unfortunately never works for Irish so best them with a stick

The Irish version is the big stick and small stick approach.

If you don't do x we will wallop you with the big stick. If you do x then it's a smack of the small stick.

The Irish version is the big stick and small stick approach.

If you don't do x we will wallop you with the big stick. If you do x then it's a smack of the small stick.

Take electric cars for example....years now Irish people could have swapped, loads of benefits, Vrt free import second hand from UK etc, tolls free, big advertising campaigns, didn’t happen...very few moved even with millions of family second cars in major cities which would be easily replaced

Now government starts to hit combustion to push electric and its “ oh we never knew, oh why didn’t someone tell us blah blah blah”....

Just look on here and you have one of the little posters thinks he is insulting me by mentioning I have solar PV I stalled??? As if it’s a bad thing. Seriously you couldn’t make this up.

Take electric cars for example....years now Irish people could have swapped, loads of benefits, Vrt free import second hand from UK etc, tolls free, big advertising campaigns, didn’t happen...very few moved even with millions of family second cars in major cities which would be easily replaced

Now government starts to hit combustion to push electric and its “ oh we never knew, oh why didn’t someone tell us blah blah blah”....

Just look on here and you have one of the little posters thinks he is insulting me by mentioning I have solar PV I stalled??? As if it’s a bad thing. Seriously you couldn’t make this up.

The country is massively in the red now. This years vat and income tax take will be a pittance in comparison to usual. No deal Brexit around the corner with internal government memos showing that Ireland may not be able to cope with a second economic shock.

The idea of Ev infrastructure, cycling greenways or anything similar is now firmly on the back burner. It ain't happening

The country is massively in the red now. This years vat and income tax take will be a pittance in comparison to usual. No deal Brexit around the corner with internal government memos showing that Ireland may not be able to cope with a second economic shock.

The idea of Ev infrastructure, cycling greenways or anything similar is now firmly on the back burner. It ain't happening

Exact opposite should happen, we should double down and become the experts. Selling out CO2 credits and selling our Green skills around Europe could be the way to get out of a recession

It’s very short sighted to say we should just continue doing what we current do, we will end up in a very very bad place then

Exact opposite should happen, we should double down and become the experts. Selling out CO2 credits and selling our Green skills around Europe could be the way to get out of a recession

It’s very short sighted to say we should just continue doing what we current do, we will end up in a very very bad place then

We will need to borrow on an unprecedented scale in that case.

The bean counters would say no.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Brilliant idea, brilliant.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

We will need to borrow on an unprecedented scale in that case.

The bean counters would say no.

The huge gaps in the market is renewables, organic etc. We should look to move into these markets while keeping our economy stable. China is spending billions on renewable technology, we have companies already that specialise in this area, so why not promote them.

Doing the same thing we always done and hoping for a different result is .....

Ah bless him, he was trying to be nice, just what this country needs right now....

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40025336.html

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Eamon is heading into some very stressful times in the next six weeks, and when that holiday is over the proverbial won't be long hitting the fan.

He hasn't got the mental toughness to cope with the situation he's after finding himself in and the writing is on the wall for him and his party.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭Mav11

In the last election I gave Catherine Martin a vote because surprise, surprise, I believe that there are environmental issues that need to be urgently addressed. I didn't vote for a party that would, at the first opportunity throw the toys out of the pram over a residential tenancies bill. So my vote could be classified as wasted.

The Greens, under Eamon Ryan, now have an opportunity, particularly on the back of yesterday's Supreme court judgement, to make a real difference. My fear is that the Greens are so "flaky", dysfunctional and up their own arses that they will waste this chance to do something positive!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Eamon is heading into some very stressful times in the next six weeks, and when that holiday is over the proverbial won't be long hitting the fan.

He hasn't got the mental toughness to cope with the situation he's after finding himself in and the writing is on the wall for him and his party.

You keeping telling yourself that if it makes you happy. The Greens are here to stay and there's no point harking back to the days when you could drain every bog, cut every last sod of turf and blast everything that moved.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Eh.... Electric cars didn't take off cos they were rubbish. Maybe in about 10 years they will take off when battery life improves and it doesnt take the day long to recharge them.

The rest of the Green agenda depends on money. Lots of it. It is only when people are rich they can indulge their organic lettuce fantasy or choose to go on holidays on ten million dollar carbon fibre yacht instead of Ryanair. Brexit and covid will enforce a reality check on all this fluff

Truthvader wrote: »
    Eh.... Electric cars didn't take off cos they were rubbish. Maybe in about 10 years they will take off when battery life improves and it doesnt take the day long to recharge them.

The rest of the Green agenda depends on money. Lots of it. It is only when people are rich they can indulge their organic lettuce fantasy or choose to go on holidays on ten million dollar carbon fibre yacht instead of Ryanair. Brexit and covid will enforce a reality check on all this fluff

The greens only have a sniff of power due to our proportional representation system. 7% of the vote and yet they are in government.

A complete con

Del.Monte wrote: »
    You keeping telling yourself that if it makes you happy. The Greens are here to stay and there's no point harking back to the days when you could drain every bog, cut every last sod of turf and blast everything that moved.

My dear man it gives me no pleasure whatsoever to see the Greens self implode, but that's what's happening before your very eyes.

If you choose to ignore it or deny it, that's no skin off my nose.

Down here in south Kerry we don't have to hark back to the days of draining bogs or cutting turf or shooting. Those activities have been going on a long long time before Eamon Ryan was born and they will be going on a long, long time after he's dead too.

For your information there has never been and never will be plans to strip the legal rights of turf cutting in Ireland for private use. It's a great source of renewable energy and a tradition that is very much alive and footing.

The rights are enshrined in law since the start of the eighteenth century and shooting rights over lands are also enshrined in law.

There's no need for Eamon or yourself to stress about reintroducing wolves either because the shooting fraternity are doing a better, safer and more selective job than any pack of wolves could ever do.

My dear man it gives me no pleasure whatsoever to see the Greens self implode, but that's what's happening before your very eyes.

If you choose to ignore it or deny it, that's no skin off my nose.

Down here in south Kerry we don't have to hark back to the days of draining bogs or cutting turf or shooting. Those activities have been going on a long long time before Eamon Ryan was born and they will be going on a long, long time after he's dead too.

For your information there has never been and never will be plans to strip the legal rights of turf cutting in Ireland for private use. It's a great source of renewable energy and a tradition that is very much alive and footing.

The rights are enshrined in law since the start of the eighteenth century and shooting rights over lands are also enshrined in law.

There's no need for Eamon or yourself to stress about reintroducing wolves either because the shooting fraternity are doing a better, safer and more selective job than any pack of wolves could ever do.

Shooting rights are not, I can buy land anywhere in Ireland, as I own the land I can ban all shooting on it.

Also are you trying to say a law made in the 18th century can’t change? Or get updated to laws based on the current laws?

Shooting rights are not, I can buy land anywhere in Ireland, as I own the land I can ban all shooting on it.

Also are you trying to say a law made in the 18th century can’t change? Or get updated to laws based on the current laws?

Way to miss a point, true to form as always.

Let us know there when you're done with your land buying spree and we'll all give you a wide berth.

Electric cars are rubbish why?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Electric cars are rubbish why?

Are you able to read? Again because battery life is too low and it takes all day to recharge

So you don’t know anything about electric cars I’d what your saying? Thanks for clearing that up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

The environmental impact of creating those batteries is huge.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

Bowie wrote: »
    The environmental impact of creating those batteries is huge.

A bit like windmills needing full tanks of diesel and tonnes of lubricant which are both fossil fuels to get them going...

But they won't tell you that, because it's all a smoke screen...

Contracts for the boy's like