Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinions on onlyfans and adult entertainment industry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,270 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

My issue with people paying for Onlyfans is that there is an endless supply of adult content on the internet that is available for free, so by definition any paying for Onlyfans content is doing so because they believe that they have some sort of chance of developing a personal relationship with the people charging them for the content.

There most definitely is a moral issue relating to this dynamic but it isn't the traditional morality of sex and sexual content being considered taboo.

The real issue is people charging for nude pictures and videos of themselves when they know well that the people paying for it are lonely desperate people who are desperate to develop the type of relationships they lack the confidence or social nous required to pursue such ventures in the real world which is keeping them in a cycle of partial gratification through paying someone they believe they have a rapport with online.

The money they are making is dirty money, not because they took their clothes off to earn it but because they turned a blind eye to the means by which they convince people to part with it.

I feel genuinely sorry for people paying for Onlyfans content, they should be pursuing real relationships and not wasting money on something that is readily available for free.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,467 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

You're generalising. Lots of people pay for OF because they prefer the amateur side of things. Or one of the many other services the people on OF offer. Yeah, some may think that they might make a connection, but that's on them, not the performers. And I wouldn't call it dirty money either, there's more than just porn offering people what they think they need, but no one is forcing anyone to buy any of that. They offer a service which people are willing to pay for. It's the same as blaming McDonalds for obesity. One doesn't have to be lonely or desperate to pay for this content, they might just like it and live a perfectly normal life otherwise.

°°°°°

Amateur stuff is freely available as well.

The fact is that a normal functioning person most likely isn't spending money on Onlyfans.

The comparison with McDonald's being responsible for people's obesity isn't fantastic either. Why would people go to McDonald's at all if Big Mac's were available for free all around them? The consumption of the content isn't the issue, it's the fact that the content is only being paid for with the expectation that the recipient of the money is in some way attainable to the customer. It may not he the problem of the person being paid but the morality is pretty clear.

Glazers Out!

Nah, I think it's more a fact that they're getting pics and videos that other people won't get because they're not paying for them. Another elitist way of showing how much better they are than others, even if that show is only inside their head. I think you're reading too much into the types of people who pay for this. Yes, there are those crazy fringe elements, but I'd be of the opinion that most people who spend money on that are normal, everyday folks. And Arabian princes.

°°°°°

Pics and vids that other people won't get?

Of what? Boobs and fannies? Jesus the internet is held together by that type of content.

There is a palpable desperation attached to paying for that type of thing. I haven't described anyone as part of a crazy fringe element, I just think they're socially inept people who are struggling to form real relationships in a world where it's ever harder to do so. Onlyfans is a sad Indictment of our society, not because of the sexual aspect but because of the culture of isolation and loneliness it represents.

Glazers Out!

I don't agree. Yes, there are some out there like that, but I'd say far from a most. Why are people socially inept if they can't find a partner? Are you judging their ability by your own ability? Do you think that people who suffer from social anxiety are wrong, or that there's something wrong with them because they don't partake in what people consider normal socialising? And you said it yourself, it's a world where it's ever harder to form a real relationship, so those who were already struggling are now struggling more, and OF is an avenue of release but there's something wrong with them to be using it?

While we're generalising, everyone who drinks is a raging functional alcoholic. All weed smokers are stoner wasters. People who drink coffee have no self motivation. People who drink gin are manic depressives. People who wear labels believe themselves to be better than everyone else.

°°°°°

I have suffered with social anxiety in my life as have most people. Part of life is facing that type of thing head on and dealing with it. The problem with the modern world is that there's a cop out for everything and everyone in every situation.

Paying some girl to show you her genitals on Onlyfans is not some panacea for the socially awkward. You are suggesting that people who suffer from social anxiety should be left to fire their hard earned money at girls online as a replacement for making the effort to actually grow themselves as people by getting out into the world and developing real relationships. Just because it's harder to do that now (it was never easy by the way) doesn't mean it isn't worth doing.

I'm not going to respond to those examples of generalisation as they're not relevant and it's a pretty cheap tactic.

Glazers Out!

We'll agree to disagree. Or at least I will.

°°°°°

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

I support bodily autonomy and therefore defend the rights of consenting adults to engage in the adult entertainment industry.

Once it doesn't affect them in the future. Unfortunately the world we live in is not one in which your mistakes or regrets can never come back to haunt you - I'm thinking mostly in terms of career when it comes to this topic. And I understand people not wanting their children to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

I'm all for freedom and choice etc but this in particular is glamorizing a unusual type of porn and another part of the internet that has unseen consequences

I think young naive girls feel that because its a faceless transaction (the buyer isnt seen) its easy money for simply taking your clothes off and filming it. YOLO

Those same girls could set up a stall outside their local GAA pitch selling naked polaroid's and it would be very lucrative but I've not heard of any of them doing that for some reason

Because it would incur unnecessary expense? But most likely to avoid the in person interactions with the religious nutjobs who would protest and call her the devil. It is Ireland after all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Precisely

Don't do anything online you wouldn't be comfortable doing in person

Teaching your kids that is very important

Ireland is nowhere near how sexually repressed it used to be. Sometimes it feels like the polar opposite (although it could be argued that sex obsession is another form of sexual repression).

Huge changes in defiance of the church have taken place in the last 30 years.

I wouldn't say they would be uncomfortable, just avoid unnecessary hardship. I could buy an orange tree, plant it, look after it until it starts to give me oranges and make my own orange juice. But it's less hassle to just buy a carton in the shop. These people would totally be selling their nudes at GAA matches or outside church on Sundays (beside the collection) if they knew they wouldn't get any hassle from relics and holier-than-thou busybodies (and comments from others who should just walk past something they don't like but have the urge to voice their opinion), but that will factually happen so it's less hassle to do it online.

Not all obviously, but no doubt there would be some who would do it like that if they wouldn't get hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭maik3n

Holy thread bumpage batman. 😊

Interesting developments with Hollyoaks veteran Sarah Jayne Dunn.

One could certainly argue that Hollyoaks today wouldn't be as saucy/racy as the calendar days. It seems to have tamed down quite a bit but family friendly might be a bit of stretch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,090 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

It's giving the power and, more importantly, the money to the girls working. Rather then pimps or nightclubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,826 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

what sort of stupid argument is that? masturbating in public is a criminal offence. selling nude pics of yourself isn't.

when it adversely affects others, yes. Selling nude pics doesn't adversely affect others. I'm surprised something as simple as that needs to be explained to you.

What you're saying is that it adversely affects others if they see someone masturbating so therefore it should be illegal. Why do you think it adversely affects others to see someone masturbating in public?

if you need something as simple as that explained to you then further discussion is pointless.

well clearly you do if you ask such a ridiculous question.

pointless discussing anything with you. you think you can start from a ridiculous premise and develop that into some sort of point. goodbye.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,425 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

@Alberta64 stop trolling the thread if you want to keep participating in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

No and it is not the same thing. Onlyfans requires registration. There is no way of requiring registration to view public masturbation because they more than likely would not be aware it was happening unless they see it. The internet is not really a public place. Of course parents have a responsibility to property supervise their children's internet use so they don't come across porn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭it takes 2 2 tango

I was speaking to a local lady in the bookies where I go for the odd flutter. I know her well as I’m a customer in her butcher shop for years and my parents were customers of her parents for decades.

I’m in my late 30’s and she’s in her late 40’s with a daughter in her early 20’s. I gave her chemistry grinds for the LC years ago (I’m not a teacher but I’ve worked in R&D for years and the local secondary teacher is pure rubbish as I had her myself). She always seemed like a lovely girl and not someone who’d engage in such shenanigans.

The lady confided in me that she has asked her daughter to leave the house and not return as she is on OnlyFans, she is a very religious and pious lady and you couldn’t meet a nicer person, but “online prostitution” as she puts it is against her morals.

I have to say I agree with her. I wouldn’t like a daughter of mine to do that to herself. What happens when you enter a relationship or get married? Where’s the exclusivity when thousands of men have seen your bits and bobs.

My own wife is in agreement and is 100% behind her in expelling her daughter from the home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭JizzBeans

Interesting subject OP, I recently came across this issue in the I teach in. Its a DEIS school so its no surprise that a lot of female students are on, or wish to get on Only fans.

Not so long ago I was informed that a female student in my religion class was "performing" on Onlyfans. I tried to speak to her and explain what she was doing was wrong, regardless that she was 18. Unfortunately I had to inform her parents as she would listen.

Needless to say OP I agree with your take on the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Greyfox

I'd be unhappy but I would also be intelligent enough to realise I can't force my daughter to stop once she's over 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

JizzBeans - sounds like the name of someone who enjoys a bit of onlyfans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,449 ✭✭✭ratracer

Happy New Year Mr Feg!

She’s doesn’t have to let her 22 year old daughter stay in the house though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Healy92

She's religious/pious and yet is open to reveal to someone outside the family about something that she see as shameful about her daughter. Very surprising!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Notmything

2/10 for effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Yeah thats very true. Although throwing her out could lead her to be on onlyfans more given the extra privacy she has after moving out.

As long as she’s not in the family.

She said she’ll allow her back into the family and into the home if she stops posting and donates all proceeds she’s gotten so far to a worthy charity.

Did the daughter seriously believe it would go unnoticed by her family?

So this pious woman is treating her daughter like a leper...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,380 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Subscribe, you have to support family

Stop blowing it out of proportion and making this lady seem like a Nazi.

She’s well within her rights to run her home as she sees fit.

She brought her daughter up better than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,241 ✭✭✭beachhead

wot's tis ting only fans? fanny of wot

When a woman posts lewd and degrading images online on the internet for money. Disgusting.

holy shiite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭Fred Astaire

I'm an athiest so religion or sinning doesn't come into it for me unlike the lady mentioned in the OP. But I would probably feel like I had failed as a parent.

Onlyfans is the apex of the Social Media/Instant Gratification trend (which is the worst trend in living memory for me) - where you get your kit off, without even having to leave your room, for thirsty lads on the internet. It combines the increased sexualisation of social media - where the likes follow the arses, with a way to make easy money.

1. A lot of OnlyFans 'creators' are young and probably see some career ahead of them? Well if it's a respectable profession then it's game over before you even step foot in the door.
    2. Once those pictures are out there, they are out there forever. Those pictures are all over whatsapp, all over file sharing sites, absolutely everywhere. It can't be undone.
    3. What about when she has kids of her own? Will she try to pretend this faux-prostitution was 'empowerment'?
    4. If she ever met a guy she liked, if he had any sense he would run a mile from someone on OnlyFans. So future relationships at risk.
    5. Continuing along the guy theme - why bother getting into a relationship with someone who is actively flaunting the bits you should only be seeing in a relationship to everyone? Imagine going on a night out with a girl, walking into a pub where all the customers had seen her bits?
    6. A lot of OnlyFans involves cultivating this personal relationship with subscribers. After all, porn is free - a lot of these people are paying for you to have this virtual relationship with them. How many boundaries are going to be crossed there?
    7. There are almost certainly people on OnlyFans taking advantage of lads by leading them on to keep spending money - by intentionally cultivating these false relationships.
    8. What happens if one of your subscribers becomes a bit too enamoured with you and finds out where you live?
    9. It teaches people the opposite of life lessons that people want to engrain into their children. Hard work leads to rewards.
    10. What seems to follow in a growing number of cases is plastic surgery.
    11. There also seems to be this trend of visits to the likes of Dubai where who knows what is going on. I'll just speculated that the 'faux prostitution bit doesn't become so faux anymore.
    12. It's finite - you will soon be replaced by the next 'hot young thing' as you grow older.

Wouldn’t it be a great idea to set up a shop that only sells fans and call it “Only Fans”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,672 ✭✭✭✭banie01

I wouldn't subscribe but, I'd up her rent!

great idea.bet there is a rush before the new year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭SamStonesArm

Niece of mine is on it doing a bit of everything. She doesn't care what anybody thinks because she only cares about making money. She's making 30000 a month , she must be doing some mad stuff on it cos she's a plain looking gobshite 🤣.

Kerry Katona is on it, what ever happened to lingerie catalogs