Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Defund RTE

• Registered Users Posts: 22,655 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Mod: cyllyn28 - don't post in the thread again.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

AllForIt wrote: »
    RTE's pro Islam/multicultural stance could not be more obvious.

They did a piece on the news last year that went "Islam is the fastest growing religion in Ireland". The RTE news anchor had a smile on her face presenting this 'positive 'story.

How on earth could anyone think that Islam as a growing religion in Ireland is something to be excited about. It just blows my mind the attitude. You would think they might do a piece on how Christianity is in decline and look sullen about it, but no, they don't, instead just covey a level of happiness and excitement that Islam is on the rise in Ireland.

Totally weird stuff going on. Totally weird.
    It's basically exotic fetishism. Catholicism is drab, old hat etc. Islam is new and exciting.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭AllForIt

kenmm wrote: »
    If we are taking about a complete change as in secularism, great. I misunderstood because you mentioned the looking sullen about Christianity in decline.

I don't think or fear we will turn into some mass Islamic nation, so it's not a concern. It's not hard to become 'the fastest growing' because most religions are in decline.

And most Muslims I know, it's not like they are out there trying to convert people en mass, is it? Most would do their practice and get on with life in private.

Edit: I just noticed you said it was a year ago, sorry!

Edit 2: is the slow rate of decline in Christianity non organic because a bunch of Spanish or Italians moved here? ie would we have a lot less Christianity had we not allowed other Christians to move? If the true organic destiny for Ireland is secularism, then we should stop any religion no? Where does it end?

I think we are getting completely off topic here, happy to discuss elsewhere.

You are making too much of my 'sullen' comment. No, secularism is on the rise in Ireland organically, and how come RTE are't reporting on that.

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭cyllyn28

Go on, I'll bite then. What lies?

I'd like to tell you about the lies.........but as you've seen....I have been "advised" not to post again on this thread..........Because I might say something dangerous.

The conservative fat knacker way of life, is the best way of life.....Criticism of how this conservative fat knacker way of life, is endlessly parasitic....how they need to feed, literally suck the the life blood, of the people who finance the conservative eye rolling, headshaking, worthless Ballykissangel conservative stink mick way of life.

kenmm;.....I would like to tell you the truth.......But you will have to find out the truth yourself...The conservative stink micks do not want you to know.....And they're about to remove my account......Because what I have to say is dangerous to their conservative "way of life"........

Good night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

cyllyn28 wrote: »
    I'd like to tell you about the lies.........but as you've seen....I have been "advised" not to post again on this thread..........Because I might say something dangerous.

The conservative fat knacker way of life, is the best way of life.....Criticism of how this conservative fat knacker way of life, is endlessly parasitic....how they need to feed, literally suck the the life blood, of the people who finance the conservative eye rolling, headshaking, worthless Ballykissangel conservative stink mick way of life.

kenmm;.....I would like to tell you the truth.......But you will have to find out the truth yourself...The conservative stink micks do not want you to know.....And they're about to remove my account......Because what I have to say is dangerous to their conservative "way of life"........

Good night

I hope you can make some peace with what troubles you.

AllForIt wrote: »
    I think we are getting completely off topic here, happy to discuss elsewhere.

You are making too much of my 'sullen' comment. No, secularism is on the rise in Ireland organically, and how come RTE are't reporting on that.

Ye fair enough. I did pick up on the sullen - I thought you were pushing Christianity over other religions - they can all take a jump as far as I am concerned!

And yes - there are other forums more suited to this so will leave it there as it is pushing the topic here.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

cyllyn28 wrote: »
    Yes....because once we get a critical mass of strong armed Islamic refugees...We can wiped out subzidised, worthless, conservative parasitic Ireland, in just a few days....Promise the boys they'll get a farm....They get a farm, we get to stop paying subsidies....and the diseaed infection of conservative worthless beggar people can be removed from Irish government.....

If you really are gay then you'll be one of the ones wiped out first. Islam is very intolerant of homosexuality [intolerant in the burn them alive, drop them head first off tall buildings way. ]Islam taking over Ireland is the last thing gays in Ireland should want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭8kczg9v0swrydm

I would defund RTE in a heartbeat. It has a massive slant in reporting - basically, if leftist-liberal Irish Times had a TV station, it would be RTE.

I'm genuinely curious tho (I don't watch it much).. does it have such a massive slant (some if the posts suggest otherwise)?

And if it does, wouldn't it be better to correct the bias? Similarly to how the BBC have structures in place to prevent bias?

I mean I think I would still rather have public service broadcasting that is fair than none at all, because as a percentage of tax take it really costs feck all in the grand scheme of things.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,465 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

BBC is almost as biased and real balance went out the window a decade ago or more.

E.g. the bbc views on Brexit and climate change is not up for any debate either.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,128 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I'm genuinely curious tho (I don't watch it much).. does it have such a massive slant (some if the posts suggest otherwise)?

And if it does, wouldn't it be better to correct the bias? Similarly to how the BBC have structures in place to prevent bias?

I mean I think I would still rather have public service broadcasting that is fair than none at all, because as a percentage of tax take it really costs feck all in the grand scheme of things.

In this relatively short thread RTE has been accused of being both conservative and left wing.

Public Service Broadcasting that is fair and accountable can indeed be achieved if the right structures are put in place.

The cost is as you say relatively small. If we went for the direct taxation funded model most people would not notice the difference.

That's not to say there should be overspending or wastage which can be eliminated by having proper controls.

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭DrSerious3

elperello wrote: »
    In this relatively short thread RTE has been accused of being both conservative and left wing.

Public Service Broadcasting that is fair and accountable can indeed be achieved if the right structures are put in place.

The cost is as you say relatively small. If we went for the direct taxation funded model most people would not notice the difference.

That's not to say there should be overspending or wastage which can be eliminated by having proper controls.

It is clearly left wing. Look at the debates it has on immigration (none) climate change (none) coronavirus restrictions (none). Look at the criticism of BLM movement allowed on RTE (none). Mention of Roderic O Gorman scandal? (None) The list is endless. If you were to look at the political affiliation of the newsteam in RTE, I suspect you would find a lot of left wing champagne socialists (the type who like to keep loads of their own money though)

BBC is almost as biased and real balance went out the window a decade ago or more.

E.g. the bbc views on Brexit and climate change is not up for any debate either.

It's factually incorrect to say this. It's a well worn trope by certain groups to spread the word that the BBC are biased m, and when you look around they are often accused of so called bias by opposing sides.

So why does this happen? Because being neutral is simply *not* left or right wing. Therefore it's pretty obvious why someone (in this case the governing party, which is mostly right wing) would target something that is not right wing.

We should fight to keep these institutions and fight to maintain there neutrality so that no matter who is in power we get a fair service. If you choose only to listen to news that supports your own views, then go for it.

It's interesting that often the 'problem' cited is that the service is biased, but the 'solution' is to go full on and kill the entire service. Why not explore ways to solve the original problem?

DrSerious3 wrote: »
    It is clearly left wing. Look at the debates it has on immigration (none) climate change (none) coronavirus restrictions (none). Look at the criticism of BLM movement allowed on RTE (none). Mention of Roderic O Gorman scandal? (None) The list is endless. If you were to look at the political affiliation of the newsteam in RTE, I suspect you would find a lot of left wing champagne socialists (the type who like to keep loads of their own money though)

Again, if journalistic integrity is the problem (and it's a pretty big accusation as a lot if journalists take ethics seriously), then we should be aiming to make sure they leave their own personal views at the door if they are going to work for a neutral organisation.

The RTE website makes the Guardian look like the National Review

So if that is the case, why would we (the public) want to get rid of the entire organisation instead of tackling that bias head on?

It's actually a bit like cancel culture, no?

Which is a little ironic as normally more conservative types would mock such a notion, but in this case it's all good?

Someone telling us that we must cancel rte?

What are the chances of clearing out the mgmt of RTE to that extent. There isn't much of a track record in corporate reform and taking a broom to public institutions in this country.

More expedient to let it rot itself down at this stage. Life is too short.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,101 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

the people whinging about bias aren't actually concerned about bias, but simply want a propaganda machine to parrot their views.
    both the bbc and rte are neutral organisations, they are already not allowed to engage in bias via the controls in place and quite rightly.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

the people whinging about bias aren't actually concerned about bias, but simply want a propaganda machine to parrot their views.
    both the bbc and rte are neutral organisations, they are already not allowed to engage in bias via the controls in place and quite rightly.

That's why I ask the direct question.

I know the powers that be want rid of BBC because they don't support them (they can't, they are neutral!).

But the average man in the street still goes on about bias.

What are the chances of clearing out the mgmt of RTE to that extent. There isn't much of a track record in corporate reform and taking a broom to public institutions in this country.

More expedient to let it rot itself down at this stage. Life is too short.

Cancel culture at its best.

Don't like it. Canceled.

Cancel culture at its best.

Don't like it. Canceled.

Not at all. You keep watching away all you like to your hearts content.
    I don't have to put up with it. We are both free to chose. Thats the difference.

Not at all. You keep watching away all you like to your hearts content.
    I don't have to put up with it. We are both free to chose. Thats the difference.

I don't watch it much, but don't want to see an end to public broadcasting.

It seems you don't watch either, but you want it gone completely because there is 'too much bias'*.

Sounds like a form of cancel culture to me.

(*And that's us working from what is already a shaky viewpoint, even this thread shows both left and right complaining about bias - can it be biased both ways?)

The punters are voting with their feet.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

I don't watch it much, but don't want to see an end to public broadcasting.

It seems you don't watch either, but you want it gone completely because there is 'too much bias'*.

Sounds like a form of cancel culture to me.

(*And that's us working from what is already a shaky viewpoint, even this thread shows both left and right complaining about bias - can it be biased both ways?)

Why should we be made pay to watch something we don't watch...

Go full private sector, let the market decide if it has a future.

you aren't made to pay something you don't watch, you are made to pay for having a device capable of receiving a terrestrial television signal, for which the revenue raised happens to go to something you don't watch. there is a difference.
    go full private sector, let the market decide if it has a future, is not viable due to plurality issues, for which there needs to be a state owned media operation to counteract agendas.

Because the market is naturally biased.
    It's good to have a mixture of information sources. Having an unbiased source is good in general. As well as other activities that fall under the remit of public broadcasting (Irish language programming, educational, probably loads others) that are genuinely helpful for society, but wouldn't be supported by a free market.

It not about 'me' necessary, but for the greater good. We pay for lots of sh!t via taxation that we never individually use, this one is cheap.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

you aren't made to pay something you don't watch, you are made to pay for having a device capable of receiving a terrestrial television signal, for which the revenue raised happens to go to something you don't watch. there is a difference.
    go full private sector, let the market decide if it has a future, is not viable due to plurality issues, for which there needs to be a state owned media operation to counteract agendas.

I understand that, fair point.

But my opinion of RTE is based on my personal experience of how utterly unprincipled the organisation has been over a long period of time and as such I resent that I am legally obliged to fund what is to me an organisation that is devoid of accountability, balance and integrity.

I understand that, fair point.

But my opinion of RTE is based on my personal experience of how utterly unprincipled the organisation has been over a long period of time and as such I resent that I am legally obliged to fund what is to me an organisation that is devoid of accountability, balance and integrity.

it's not devoid of balance though, it is fully balanced because if it wasn't then it would be made to be so rather quickly.
    a biassed unbalanced rte would not be tolerated by any of the political parties.
    to be honest i don't like paying the tv license either, nor do i like paying property and all of the other stealth taxes.

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭Randy Archer

Invidious wrote: »
    Plenty of people in their 70s are successfully watching content on Netflix, Sky, and other platforms.

Your image of poor auld Biddy who will be cut off from the world unless everyone in the country keeps handing RTE €160 a year doesn't wash. It's tugging at people's heartstrings in order to keep them forking over the cash, a strategy that RTE itself has perfected over the years.

Next flick app is attached to many newer TVs now , isn’t it ? Many people have some form of iPad or whatever similar brands , so with a special lead they can hook to the the big tv . Getting around Netflix is fool proof . Think we are not giving auld people enough credit in their ability to adapt or like new technology

Christ , the 70 year olds of today have seen it all when it comes to all the changes in modern world. They have adopted and saw everything , the ya re well able to adapt to laptops . They literally were around to witnessed nearly all the major changes in technology and communication .Let’s give them some credit

Do we need two tv stations ? Maybe if done right

RTÉ 1 for the serious adult content - current affairs , news, sport and winning streak ���� and Late Late show (it still has its place ) and documentaries

RTÉ 2 - for kids (they were way better than the British for kids tv bar the weekends) , teens and up to 30 somethings (most of them should be fecking at work)

Content : sport - more the better, something RTÉ have a talent for , their pundits For the GAA , Horse racing (Ted Walsh , Tracey Piggott n Robert Hall) soccer (league of Ireland (Roddy Collins Lol) UCL and EPL ) and Rugby (least with Hookey, Popey n McGuirk) use to get people tuned in for their headline making cracks as much as the sport itself which was also aired in British stations . Even their Olympics coverage was good - even Peter Collins was good if stuck for late late night tv (he gets a lot of stick) . Granted today’s pundits can be a bit bland especially with Joanne Cantwell running Joe Brolly out the door (she knows her stuff and some won’t miss Joe) or Eamonn doing packing it in but the racing folk got some good replacements (Ruby is hardly a replacement but he merits a presence but the others are good too)

Between them and TG4 let them share the GAA club games held in October winter months , likewise league of Ireland (stuff is on times people are in pub so the whingers won’t watch anyway )

I note some will point out that Eir Sport is accessible to many , but it the costs of broadcasting aren’t prohibitive , still broadcast as some don’t have that station

the odd dramas like Ordinary People /love hate/ pure mule ie Irish stuff . We do have the actors , directors and writing talent (well, they dominate some of the current big British made dramas right now as we speak eg Peaky Blinders) Try and do more Irish sketch shows but give them free reign to be funny and controversial (but don’t hire the old usual suspects ) Soupey Norman was funny in parts . Bull island was so funny that the guberment of the day banned them - you all get what I’m saying , I’m sure many did like the shows I listed , I didn’t , they were just examples

It be no harm in having a music charts show like they use to in the 1990- early 2000s (I know chart music is soo 90s) or be controversial and do what TV3 did in the early 2000s with a text in for music videos late at night - MTV itself has forgotten what they use to be and the subscription music stations like VH1 and q (that still going ?) have gone to the dogs - have things gone that bad that YouTube has swallowed up that market too ? Genuine question

Surprisingly a lot of people from the 1980-1990s who watched Home and Away still watch it . RTÉ always seemed to get the latest show before the British too

As for RTÉ televising East Enders ? Why ? Most Irish have BBC . Fair City has ran its course

Other US imported stuff ? Don’t know, thing was there was a time when RTe would get the big shows before the British but maybe Netflix et all has changed things . Do getting film rights cost much ? Traditionally RTÉ were good at putting on a good film most weeks . Christmas tv schedule last year was bad though

Historically when RTÉ teamed up with BBC and BBC NI they produced some great tv dramas so their is justification for them

What to drop ? Ideally the crap on midday that have 3-5 presenters . I know they have to cater for the retired and the house wife but come on

Funny thing about the over payed presenters is, many of them are just piss poor and not likeable . I wonder would there be so much whinging if they genuinely (Miriam cough) were any good ?

The likes of Joe Duffy (I know he still commands an audience ) should be giving his marching orders , least from tv. What on earth does Des Cahill bring to the table ? Ryan Tubridity went off to Blighty for a summer to do BBC and they didn’t bring him back. We have seen Pat Kenny flop on tv for two independent stations doing what he was strong at (his radio show is fine)