Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Defund RTE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

I understand that, fair point.

But my opinion of RTE is based on my personal experience of how utterly unprincipled the organisation has been over a long period of time and as such I resent that I am legally obliged to fund what is to me an organisation that is devoid of accountability, balance and integrity.

If it is so bad tho, why aren't we campaigning to reform it?

It's hard for me to argue the RTE case tho - because I think there is less political will (than in the UK) to destroy RTE and the people just don't like it because.. well its a a bit sh!t really, isn't it?

The UK case is particularly nasty, because there are strong reasons fore the (current) powers that be to not have a genuinely neutral news outlet that plays well into the narrative of "having to a pay a tax". The BBC is incredible value for money - quality radio stations, local regional news (which few commercial stations cane make viable), online content and educational/ kids TV.

The government could easily change all of this by changing the funding of the BBC to come from general taxation (potentially making it fairer) and fight any perceived bias (which they wont do, because it's a lie, which for some reason people are lapping up).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

What are the chances of clearing out the mgmt of RTE to that extent.

This is why RTE have jumped on the Hate Trump bandwagon. The last thing they want is for Irish business people to start running for office, and winning. If Trump was here he would have taken a chainsaw to RTE's budget by now and made the Champagne Socialists with their half million a year salaries and either fecked off BBC if they were really worth that much, or stripped them of their luxury salaries. And any business person in Ireland would do the same thing if they got elected. This is why RTE are the voice of the establishment. They keep the gravy train rolling for them.

Mr. Karate wrote: »
    This is why RTE have jumped on the Hate Trump bandwagon. The last thing they want is for Irish business people to start running for office, and winning. If Trump was here he would have taken a chainsaw to RTE's budget by now and made the Champagne Socialists with their half million a year salaries and either fecked off BBC if they were really worth that much, or stripped them of their luxury salaries. And any business person in Ireland would do the same thing if they got elected. This is why RTE are the voice of the establishment. They keep the gravy train rolling for them.

Hold on a sec - can we break this down a little so I am not misunderstanding something?

What hate trump bandwagon is RTE on? Are you saying that RTE are actively pushing an anti trump agenda here?

And from that you are proposing they are doing this to frustrate any Irish business person from going into politics, in case they decide to cut RTE budget.

I mean just because you are paranoid, doesn't mean they are not out to get you etc.. but that's a bit of a leap really?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

kenmm wrote: »
    Hold on a sec - can we break this down a little so I am not misunderstanding something?

What hate trump bandwagon is RTE on? Are you saying that RTE are actively pushing an anti trump agenda here?

And from that you are proposing they are doing this to frustrate any Irish business person from going into politics, in case they decide to cut RTE budget.

I mean just because you are paranoid, doesn't mean they are not out to get you etc.. but that's a bit of a leap really?

Are you saying RTE are not fiercely anti Trump?

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Are you saying RTE are not fiercely anti Trump?

I wouldn't know, I don't follow much American news on RTE - please help me out here and cite some of this bias - anti trump or otherwise - but even IF that is the case, how do we take that massive leap to RTE not wanting a business person to become a politician in the off chance he become leader of the country and decides to act in the same way as trump.

It's hard to image an Irish news organisation taking a for/against stance on a foreign president.

I wouldn't know, I don't follow much American news on RTE - please help me out here and cite some of this bias - anti trump or otherwise - but even IF that is the case, how do we take that massive leap to RTE not wanting a business person to become a politician in the off chance he become leader of the country and decides to act in the same way as trump.

It's hard to image an Irish news organisation taking a for/against stance on a foreign president.

What's hard about it?

Well its easy to "imagine" when someone on the internet is saying such a thing I guess.

But until you can back it up, then I don't really believe it. A quick google suggests there is a lack of evidence, you seem to know more so please, enlighten me as I am keep to understand this from all angles.

Its getting harder to have these conversations these days as no one is really willing to put effort in to understand. Instead, back to this "I don''t like it, canceled"

• Registered Users Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

RTE report on Trump without sucking him off like Fox. So, ipso facto, in the minds of geniuses they have an "anti Trump" bias.

Just one example. That's all I ask?

Tony EH wrote: »
    RTE report on Trump without sucking him off like Fox. So, ipso facto, in the minds of geniuses they have an "anti Trump" bias.

I'm surprised that there aren't more people outraged by the way they are played.

We have a whole thread here about defunding a public entity (not even a word, but we wouldn't want to say cancel as that gets us confused with cancel culture, oh no, not us) because someone over in the UK started a company called defund the BBC to try and paint them as corrupt and bias in an attempt to close them down.

And instead of being annoyed about being treated with such contempt, some people just lap it up. It's so fu(king easy to remain in power these days, the proverbial lambs are slaughtering themselves.

Well its easy to "imagine" when someone on the internet is saying such a thing I guess.

But until you can back it up, then I don't really believe it. A quick google suggests there is a lack of evidence, you seem to know more so please, enlighten me as I am keep to understand this from all angles.

Its getting harder to have these conversations these days as no one is really willing to put effort in to understand. Instead, back to this "I don''t like it, canceled"

Why is it hard to imagine RTE taking a negative stance against a foreign leader?

you already asked, I already replied:
    What's hard about it?

But I'll say it again, it's pretty unusual for a neutral Irish news organisation to be taking a stance against another countries president. Commercial entities happily serve up opinion pieces and generally have a strong political leaning one way or another (as that's how they raise funds).
    Some change with the leadership (i.e. follow the money), some don't (and stick to their own views).

Give me an example of what you allege regarding RTE and then I won't need to imagine it. I am interested, because that is pretty serious if it is happening on a regular basis.

EDIT: There are several sections in this document detailing why the must remain impartial and editorial independent - so it really would be strange for them to publish guidelines and then immediately ignore them. So if you can provide some examples, we can report it to them and see what RTE say?

https://static.rasset.ie/documents/about/journalism-guidelines-2014.pdf

Lots of speculation, and lots of 'likes' for it, but actual evidence is thin on the ground.

It should be easier to find facts and figures in this age we live in - but somehow misinformation and propaganda spreads even easier.

you already asked, I already replied:

But I'll say it again, it's pretty unusual for a neutral Irish news organisation to be taking a stance against another countries president. Commercial entities happily serve up opinion pieces and generally have a strong political leaning one way or another (as that's how they raise funds).
    Some change with the leadership (i.e. follow the money), some don't (and stick to their own views).

Give me an example of what you allege regarding RTE and then I won't need to imagine it. I am interested, because that is pretty serious if it is happening on a regular basis.

EDIT: There are several sections in this document detailing why the must remain impartial and editorial independent - so it really would be strange for them to publish guidelines and then immediately ignore them. So if you can provide some examples, we can report it to them and see what RTE say?

https://static.rasset.ie/documents/about/journalism-guidelines-2014.pdf

What's this "neutral 'business you speak of when referring to RTE?

It is their entire remit, their starting position, as outlined in the document linked.

Example of bias please, preferably showing a fierce anti trump viewpoint

It is their entire remit, their starting position, as outlined in the document linked.

Example of bias please, preferably showing a fierce anti trump viewpoint

I already have a job, teaching you what the dogs in the street know isn't it

Avoidance. No problem.

Anyone else able to provide some examples?

I mean, it really shouldn't take more time than it does to post the accusations in the first place. I will even spend my time doing the complaints to RTE - that sound fair?

Mr. Karate wrote: »

I am still interested to know how this breaks down as well (after the tangent we went off there with mad_maxx)

Incidentally, I really am curious about his - not to win some internet argument, but because I believe something and if it turns out to be false, I am happy to learn from it.

If we all stay blinkered to our own views, and don't look to others, then we never learn, and end up continually seeking validation to only support our own views - and I don't think that's good for anyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

I'm surprised that there aren't more people outraged by the way they are played.

They're just not that smart.

They set themselves up with a "wing" of politics and then follow all the drivel they're told to follow. They end up being blinder than Helen Keller and the only thing that matters to them is getting one up on the "other side".

It'd be funny if it wasn't so pathetic.
    We have a whole thread here about defunding a public entity (not even a word, but we wouldn't want to say cancel as that gets us confused with cancel culture, oh no, not us) because someone over in the UK started a company called defund the BBC to try and paint them as corrupt and bias in an attempt to close them down.

And instead of being annoyed about being treated with such contempt, some people just lap it up. It's so fu(king easy to remain in power these days, the proverbial lambs are slaughtering themselves.

There's too much **** talk about so called "bias" which is really just useless noise coming from dull minds, because news items don't get reported the way they want it reported and certain figures aren't gloated about, like they are on certain YouTube channels that are more interested in pushing a particular POV, whilst pretending to be "neutral" and all the while, ironically and childishly, whining about a biased "MSM".

For instance, Donald Trump news stories can be negative, because he himself can be. He can be shown as an ass, because...guess what...he can be an ass. If the news reporting about Trump shows in him in a particular light, it's because he's shone that light upon himself.

And his sycophants get their knickers in a twist and start whinging about a "biased" media and then go running to YouTube to hear what their favorite bullshitter has to say.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Just one example. That's all I ask?

TD Jim O'Callaghan was a regular guest on Primetime when he was a Dublin Councillor allowing him a much bigger profile than his role as a Councillor would ordinarily expect.

His sister is a co host of that very program.

Bertie Ahern is a regular guest on RTE programs to this day, this is after he dragged the Office of an Taoiseach through the ignominy of failing to account for the massive hoards of cash he had in his possession in a very public Tribunal, the public gallery laughed at the ridiculousness of his responses.

Don't get me started on the completely unprincipled manner in which they treated my home city, we have lost count of the amount of times, Pat Kenny, or Primetime investigators or a number of different documentary makers all of whom managed to walk into random people on the streets of Limerick who were all carrying weapons at the time and seemingly had no problem talking to the national broadcaster as they went about their business!!!!

I believe they did similar to other parts of the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,618 ✭✭✭StevenToast

I wont pay the TV Licence if RTE continue to broadcast Mrs Brown Boys.....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

The broadcaster should be impartial. Reporting on Trump is like commenting on a Circus act. The stories coming out are like a soap opera material. That's going to colour the reporting.

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scoondal

Bowie wrote: »
    The broadcaster should be impartial. Reporting on Trump is like commenting on a Circus act. The stories coming out are like a soap opera material. That's going to colour the reporting.

I have no influence about who is president of USA. I don't care.
    Last week 2 articles sat side by side on the rte website ... https://www.rte.ie/news/us/2020/0820/1160214-joe-biden/ and
    https://www.rte.ie/news/us/2020/0820/1160293-donald-trump-qanon/

This is not an impartial news organisation.

What happens if I do not renew my TV licence ?
    Obviously, people investigating my non payment are not allowed on private property. But what happens next ?

They're really cheer leading for another lock down ,they love the " zero covid strategy " medical opinions

• Registered Users Posts: 27,340 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Scoondal wrote: »
    I have no influence about who is president of USA. I don't care.
    Last week 2 articles sat side by side on the rte website ... https://www.rte.ie/news/us/2020/0820/1160214-joe-biden/ and
    https://www.rte.ie/news/us/2020/0820/1160293-donald-trump-qanon/

This is not an impartial news organisation.

What happens if I do not renew my TV licence ?
    Obviously, people investigating my non payment are not allowed on private property. But what happens next ?

Unfortunately you seem to be conflating a factual news report and an opinion piece by their Washington correspondent. Two vastly different types of stories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

They're really cheer leading for another lock down ,they love the " zero covid strategy " medical opinions
    Out of chaos, comes opportunity.
    This is how RTE sees the pandemic in Ireland. As long as Covid stays around, they operate as if their status quo is not affected. No cutbacks, no layoffs, no realistic business plan to respond to their financial losses, no re-alignment to reflect the majority in this country, and definitely no deviation in their ultra-liberal bias.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,101 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Kivaro wrote: »
    Out of chaos, comes opportunity.
    This is how RTE sees the pandemic in Ireland. As long as Covid stays around, they operate as if their status quo is not affected. No cutbacks, no layoffs, no realistic business plan to respond to their financial losses, no re-alignment to reflect the majority in this country, and definitely no deviation in their ultra-liberal bias.

and as already stated, they do reflect the majority in this country by reporting the basic facts and engaging in indepth discussion without having to scrape up headbangers.
    there is no ultra-liberal or even a liberal bias, never has been and it wouldn't be allowed.
    if you want a propaganda machine to parrot the views you hold then youtube and facebook are your options, it is not going to be rte and rightly so.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scoondal

Unfortunately you seem to be conflating a factual news report and an opinion piece by their Washington correspondent. Two vastly different types of stories.
    I stand corrected.
    Carry on.