Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where/ how to begin?

Options
  • 24-07-2020 10:46am
    Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭

Hi all,

Total newbie here, so please forgive my innocence/ stupidity/ naivety!

I'm looking to start up a monthly subscription box business in the autumn and am just looking for some guidance please. I had just hoped to sort suppliers, choose box packaging, delivery costs, launch website and social media and go from there but it seems there's more to it than my simple 1-2-3 process! Who knew...?! :pac:

Really unsure where to begin or what the most important things to sort out are...? VAT, CRO, whether to use startuphub.ie, Shopify, etc?

My understanding was that it's not really necessary to register for VAT until turning over a certain amount. Suppliers and delivery company all charge VAT though, so, if I'm paying VAT, can I claim it back without being VAT registered myself...?

If not registered for VAT, am I then wasting 23c in every euro when paying my suppliers?

When my subs boxes are on sale and website is live, is the price paid by customer inc VAT? If so, do I then need to deduct that amount of what I had imagined were my reasonably healthy margins...which would then make them not very healthy at all....?!

All/ any help greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance smile.png

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Your best starting point is your local enterprise office and see if they have a start your own business course as this covers a lot of the basics no matter what the business.