Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Criminal who fired machine gun on streets of Ballymun

• 24-07-2020 8:15pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭

I never heard of this incident but well done to three unarmed Gardai. A decent sentence too from the judge.

'A criminal has been jailed for 15 years for firing a sub-machine gun on the streets of Ballymun in Dublin last year .... arrested by three unarmed gardaí, one of whom narrowly missed being shot in the head during the struggle to detain him

.... also had a hand grenade. Officers only realised the pin had been removed after Devoy had been restrained.'

https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0724/1155340-devoy-fired-machine-gun-on-dublin-streets-jailed/

• Registered Users Posts: 15,182 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Nutjob....

• Registered Users Posts: 12,820 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Nutjob....

Ah you’re not that bad

• Registered Users Posts: 15,182 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Ah you’re not that bad
    You are.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,494 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Fûck, that’s some arsehole . No doubt you’ll have the ‘mintal hilth’ brigade along wondering why he wasn’t given a free lifetimes supply of angels delight, somebody to call him up to tell him how great he is and allowed to take his neighbors budgie for a walk...

• Registered Users Posts: 13,897 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Strumms wrote: »
    Fûck, that’s some arsehole . No doubt you’ll have the ‘mintal hilth’ brigade along wondering why he wasn’t given a free lifetimes supply of angels delight, somebody to call him up to tell him how great he is and allowed to take his neighbors budgie for a walk...

I seriously doubt that.

Fûck, that’s some arsehole . No doubt you’ll have the ‘mintal hilth’ brigade along
    No, i bet you won't.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,559 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Strumms wrote:

I think he should get cornettos, delights are rank

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    I think he should get cornettos, delights are rank

I was going to say a magnum but he might have already have one.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Bottlers Lives Matter

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

That took balls by the Gardai and id say they'd a very stiff drink afterwards owing to the grenade pin!

SeaFields wrote: »
    That took balls by the Gardai and id say they'd a very stiff drunk afterwards owing to the grenade pin!

You’d have some feeling in your head after securing the gun then looking and seeing a fûcking grenade minus a pin.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Lucy8080

Some balls alright,fair play. I'd say they had three Adam's Apples when they copped the grenade.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,854 ✭✭✭antimatterx

Can we not put these people down instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Good result really as usually he would get suspended or a couple of years

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Thesiger wrote: »

Unfortunately not a wake up call to other family members or girlfriends or wife's of these scum bags... They're more then delighted to be living the high life....

Always find this mentality funny as they will scream blue murder if anything happens theirkidsbut guns and drugs to others they're fine with that....

• Registered Users Posts: 10 JohnDough

Another one bites the dust

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

The Gardaí really seem to have upped their game when it comes to organised crime since Drew Harris got the top job. He's doing a great job so far.

You have to keep fighting crime at the street level

The alternative is Dublin turns into Baltimore

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

JohnDough wrote: »
    You have to keep fighting crime at the street level

The alternative is Dublin turns into Baltimore

That's not fighting crime though, it's fondling it. The cnut is still breathing and worse, costing us money.

We have the ARW, we know who these people are, can someone explain why they are still breathing.

First they came for the socialists...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

love it :)

JohnDough wrote: »
    Hasn't worked for the US or Mexico

Smaller problem here at the moment. If they started Necklacing lads it'd change things sharpish. I also believe in eliminating demand. Random tests across the population and severe corporal punishment.

Only if you want to solve the issue, anything else is pandering.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,386 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Feisar wrote: »
    I still can't get my head around them taking him on given the collusion with Unionist paramilitaries.

Let's not take anything away from the brass balls of those three Gardai by bringing the North into it.

Sorry, yer dead right, comment deleted

I'd say he's a reasonable person

When someone in your family is murdered it's thought-provoking ime

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Kamu

Both newspaper articles linked give his age as 37, though the articles are written 3 years apart.

15 years will go in the blink of an eye to a man who already spent 10 years in jail and who doesn't age.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Imagine marching up to the Devoys front door to have a row with them over leaving their bins outside your gaff. You’d want to be as mad as a bag of monkeys. Seriously now.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,515 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

I was going to say a magnum but he might have already have one.

I have to say, some people are very witty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭Liamo57

Id have killed the bastard and pretended he aimed at me first.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭McCrack

Whatever about him but his sister getting whacked is nasty