Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Criminal who fired machine gun on streets of Ballymun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

The Gardaí really seem to have upped their game when it comes to organised crime since Drew Harris got the top job. He's doing a great job so far.

It’s hardly police mastermind category, the dude was in the middle of a street letting off some lead.

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Kamu

McCrack wrote: »
    Whatever about him but his sister getting whacked is nasty

Goes to show there is no morality or empathy in the gang trade. If you get caught in the cross-hairs that's on you. Whoever is doing the hit doesn't care.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

begbysback wrote: »
    It’s hardly police mastermind category, the dude was in the middle of a street letting off some lead.

What would you have done once you changed your trousers?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,386 ✭✭✭corner of hells

McCrack wrote: »
    Whatever about him but his sister getting whacked is nasty

What happened to his sister was terrible, but CAB had turned their beady eye on her over money laundering.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,663 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Kamu wrote: »
    Both newspaper articles linked give his age as 37, though the articles are written 3 years apart.

15 years will go in the blink of an eye to a man who already spent 10 years in jail and who doesn't age.

I think he got off lightly with this sentence of 15 years, out in 10. He already had previous for weapons offenses so this wasnt his first rodeo. He fired five shots at Gardai with one just missing the Gardas head by inches. Thats attempted murder in my book and he should be in prison for a lot longer than 10 years given he has already been done for guns before. He had his chance to reform, he didnt take it so the book should be thrown at him for committing the same offenses and endangering the life of three Gardai. Theres no reforming someone like that so its best to get them locked up until at least their mid 60s.

• Registered Users Posts: 56,343 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I never heard of this incident but well done to three unarmed Gardai. A decent sentence too from the judge.

'A criminal has been jailed for 15 years for firing a sub-machine gun on the streets of Ballymun in Dublin last year .... arrested by three unarmed gardaí, one of whom narrowly missed being shot in the head during the struggle to detain him

.... also had a hand grenade. Officers only realised the pin had been removed after Devoy had been restrained.'

https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0724/1155340-devoy-fired-machine-gun-on-dublin-streets-jailed/

Decent sentence?

15 years? Be out in what, 11-12 years? Before turns 50

Life of serious serious crime, and got this very serious crime he will be out in 11-12 years..

Our sentencing is disgusting for serious criminals. This man should be locked up for life...

Read up on his career...the disgusting thing is not only this crime, but this country’s allowing a man like this to be fee amongst society to be able to continually carry out serious crimes.

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

Sadly it's part of the culture and the psyche in Ireland and the U.K to look up to these types of people as 'hard' or 'important/powerful', in places like Switzerland, Finland or Norway they'd be pretty much regarded as anti-social village idiots, the types of societies they have there also produce far less of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,824 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The gun he used is like something you would present to the Antiques Roadshow on a Sunday afternoon, last produced in 1977.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,538 ✭✭✭jmreire

The gun he used is like something you would present to the Antiques Roadshow on a Sunday afternoon, last produced in 1977.

Don't be fooled by appearances..it will kill you every bit as quick as a brand new one....and depending on how far away from it you are, whoever happens to be standing behind you as well !!! :cool: It is a lethal weapon, the Guards were very lucky,,,and with the grenade, and the pin out, God was looking after them.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,078 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Funny how some are saying it's a stiff sentence, it's actually very lenient given what he did do and what he tried to do. Blow himself up and take several Gardai with him.

This guy should never walk free again. Simple as that.

I feel sorry for the family who had their home blown up because of this scumbag. Imagine how terrified you'd be if some guy with a gun charges into your house?

© 1982 Sinclair Research Ltd

• Registered Users Posts: 19,663 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

jmreire wrote: »
    Don't be fooled by appearances..it will kill you every bit as quick as a brand new one....and depending on how far away from it you are, whoever happens to be standing behind you as well !!! :cool: It is a lethal weapon, the Guards were very lucky,,,and with the grenade, and the pin out, God was looking after them.

Definitely this, the Gardai said the gun was capable of firing 600 rounds per minute, thats 10 bullets per second.

We need to get to a stage where even possessing an illegal gun is a mandatory 10 years and then whatever sentence for what they did or attempted to do with it goes on top of that. If someone has an illegally held weapon ultimately their intention is to kill someone

• Registered Users Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Will you stand in front of it while someone pulls the trigger
    I thought so. Sudden filling of your underpants.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭McCrack

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Definitely this, the Gardai said the gun was capable of firing 600 rounds per minute, thats 10 bullets per second.

We need to get to a stage where even possessing an illegal gun is a mandatory 10 years and then whatever sentence for what they did or attempted to do with it goes on top of that. If someone has an illegally held weapon ultimately their intention is to kill someone

Mandatory sentences are not the way. There isn't one size fits all. I agree there should be stiff sentences for firearms but not every situation or offender are the same.

That's why s15 misuse drugs is presumptive mandatory 10 years.. The law recognises not everything is equal

• Registered Users Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭McCrack

Funny how some are saying it's a stiff sentence, it's actually very lenient given what he did do and what he tried to do. Blow himself up and take several Gardai with him.

This guy should never walk free again. Simple as that.

I feel sorry for the family who had their home blown up because of this scumbag. Imagine how terrified you'd be if some guy with a gun charges into your house?

17 years with 2 suspended is about as severe as a court can give in fairness