Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2020 the battle of the septuagenarians - Trump vs Biden, Part 2

• Registered Users Posts: 15,664 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Could you please provide a link or some sort of evidence to how he got rich on Putin's money. Take your time if you must.

His sone stated that their business was based on lending from Russia.
    according to several sources with knowledge of Trump’s business, foreign money played a large role in reviving his fortunes, in particular investment by wealthy people from Russia and the former Soviet republics. This conclusion is buttressed by a growing body of evidence amassed by news organizations, as well as what is reportedly being investigated by Special Counsel Robert Mueller and the Southern District of New York. It is a conclusion that even Trump’s eldest son, Donald Trump Jr., has appeared to confirm, saying in 2008—after the Trump Organization was prospering again—that “Russians make up a pretty disproportionate cross-section of a lot of our assets.”

https://foreignpolicy.com/2018/12/21/how-russian-money-helped-save-trumps-business/

Again, all of this could be easily dealt with if Trump simply stood by his own promise, to release his tax returns. So you have no idea either way, but you appear to be willing to forego all the circumstantial evidence and ignore that it is a very significant likelihood.

He has never explained why he has never raised any critique of Putin. He chose Putin over is own security services, which he all but admitted to in a recent tweet where he used the, now familiar, tactic of denying something but stating that even if he did it it wasn't wrong.

And its fine if you rather give people the benefit of the doubt, to only believe something when it is proven in court or by admission. But that has to run across the board. Would you give the same levels of benefit to people you dn't happen to like and support?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,308 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Sean.3516 wrote: »
    He was obviously trying to boast because he bragging idiot by calling it hard. He passed it. Never mind what he thought of it.

Do you think Joe Biden could count backwards from 100 in 7s?

How do you know he passed it? He lied about the content of the test, he lied that he got "extra points" in the test. He lied when he said he was told "nobody gets it in order". It's not a stretch to think he's lying that he even took or passed the test.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,452 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Could you please provide a link or some sort of evidence to how he got rich on Putin's money. Take your time if you must.

You're yet to show proof that he's a billionare as you claimed

• Registered Users Posts: 19,663 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Was reading an article that speculated that Bidens pick of Kamala Harris is the one the Trump campaign wanted the least. Said they would have preferred Susan Rice so they could go banging the Benghazi drum again.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,620 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

He said that it got very tough towards the end.

Whatever about the difficulty and Trump’s boasting, he passed the thing.

Here's the thing about that test.

Firstly - It's not supposed to be hard , if you find ANY of it even remotely difficult , that is a huge warning sign that you have a problem.

When evaluating the test , doctors don't just look at the right/wrong answers , they also consider how long it took a person to complete the test or if they struggled to get to the answers.

By suggesting that the "last few questions were really hard" Trump is indicating that he has a problem

Second - They only administer that test if they have concern that you might be suffering from a cognitive issue either a degenerative issue or caused by an event like a stroke.

It's not a standard test that they administer to older people as a matter of course , like a PSA test for men for example.

It's administered in response to a concern about the mental condition of the patient.

Trump made a big deal out of this and because he lies and brags about anything , he thought that by making it sound really difficult it would make him look better and more "Manly" for allegedly passing it.

However ,due to his ignorance of the purpose of the test , he made himself sound weak and damaged.

Joe Bidens response about taking a test - "I haven't had a test , why would I?" was actually a far more appropriate one , certainly in terms of refuting the suggestion of impairment.

• Registered Users Posts: 83,514 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

If you have an issue with the methodology of the study in question, you’re welcome to point it out or provide evidence of your own.

It was a nationwide phone and online survey that polled people from both parties.

MediaBiasFactCheck ranks Rasmussen as slightly right of centre in it’s editorial stance and “HIGH” in terms of factual reporting. https://www.google.ie/amp/s/mediabiasfactcheck.com/rasmussen-reports/%3famp

Is that the poll that only asked people if Kamala would fill the role before the term and not Pence? Yes, fair and balanced poll so it must be.

As I said the other day to that poll: even Dick Cheney served as President before the end of GWBs second term. He was in surgery. If you had me take this poll I’d have likely said yes to both Pence or Harris assuming the role in some short form capacity because both candidates are in their 70s and likely to need a surgery of some kind, however non life threatening. But the question listed on the poll doesn’t really capture that nuance now does it. Don’t read too much into it.

pjohnson wrote: »
    Ah are the Birthers crawling out again?

Yes I’ve already seen that online.

• Registered Users Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Sean.3516

he lied about the contents of the test yet you are convinced he passed. and saying a test is hard when it isn't is basic stupidity not boasting.

He didn’t lie about the content of the test.
    He was explaining to an interviewer the type of memory question that was asked where you were given words in a specific order and later were asked to recall the words in order.

“Person, woman, camera, tv” were just random words he was using as an example of the type of question.

Accusing him of lying because he didn’t say the exact words that were used in his actual test is ridiculous

• Registered Users Posts: 15,664 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

But is there any reason at all to believe he even took the test? Never mind passed it?

He says he did, but we know he thinks that labeling Biden as senile is a way to attack so lying about taking a test would fit into that perfectly.

What proof has he actually provided, on which you are so certain?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,467 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

He was explaining to an interviewer the type of memory question that was asked where you were given words in a specific order and later were asked to recall the words in order.

“Person, woman, camera, tv” were just random words he was using as an example of the type of question.

Accusing him of lying because he didn’t say the exact words that were used in his actual test is ridiculous

well that part in bold is a lie. there is no requirement to repeat the words in order as part of the MOCA test. and the representative words he chose were completely bogus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭The Unbearables

Quin_Dub wrote: »
    Here's the thing about that test.

Firstly - It's not supposed to be hard , if you find ANY of it even remotely difficult , that is a huge warning sign that you have a problem.

When evaluating the test , doctors don't just look at the right/wrong answers , they also consider how long it took a person to complete the test or if they struggled to get to the answers.

By suggesting that the "last few questions were really hard" Trump is indicating that he has a problem

Second - They only administer that test if they have concern that you might be suffering from a cognitive issue either a degenerative issue or caused by an event like a stroke.

It's not a standard test that they administer to older people as a matter of course , like a PSA test for men for example.

It's administered in response to a concern about the mental condition of the patient.

Trump made a big deal out of this and because he lies and brags about anything , he thought that by making it sound really difficult it would make him look better and more "Manly" for allegedly passing it.

However ,due to his ignorance of the purpose of the test , he made himself sound weak and damaged.

Joe Bidens response about taking a test - "I haven't had a test , why would I?" was actually a far more appropriate one , certainly in terms of refuting the suggestion of impairment.

Biden also went on to call the presenter a cocaine junkie, that will go down well with the black community no doubt. The first of many Joe gaffs the next few months.

Billionare proof while you're at it replying to other posts

• Registered Users Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

The funniest thing about the whole cognitive test, is that he said the doctors were surprised he passed. LOL, what a moron, he can't see what an insult that is. I'm guessing he made that up that too, most doctors are professional enough not to insult their clients.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭relax carry on

So we are still stuck with a Trump supporter claiming Biden has dementia/some sort of undiagnosed cognitive decline but Trump is fine because he's too stupid to have any level of decline. Is there any chance of maybe comparing and contrasting their election promises/policies rather than going round in circles trying to determine which is better, an unbelievably stupid patently unfit old man or an intelligent somewhat gaff prone fit old man?

the problem with that is that trump doesnt really have any policies. he couldn't even answer a soft question from hannity about them.

Update on the USPS: Trump still threatens to veto any spending bill that includes money for the mail service

https://www.washingtonpost.com/business/2020/08/12/postal-service-ballots-dejoy/

This is a game he’s been playing back since April, even before his mega donor took over the agency. Trump admits the post office needs more money but won’t let it receive any. He also threatened to veto any funds for election security. Bottom line is he wants then to fail even if it holds up relief for Americans; if the Post Office were to be funded then it would treat election mail as first class mail which would cut the processing time in half. Trump knows that a free and fair election will doom him, his only avenue for winning is to undermine the integrity of it.

No he didn’t. We saw what transpired and you’re lying.

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭PhantomHat

C'mon Man!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,941 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Remember this?

Are Trump supporters going to pretend that this never happened?

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭The Unbearables

I don't think Biden is unbelievably stupid or unfit. Do you know anyone with early stage dementia i think you are being very harsh.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,021 ✭✭✭✭briany

Remember this?

Are Trump supporters going to pretend that this never happened?

If you told a die-hard Trump supporter that a grand piano had fallen out of the 40th floor window they were standing below, their response would be,

"FAKE NEWS!

FAKE NEWS!

FAKE N-"

Here’s birtherism 2.0 in full swing already

If you’re not white the right demand to see your freedom papers

https://twitter.com/reignofapril/status/1293835548092768256?s=21

• Registered Users Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Sean.3516

Igotadose wrote: »
    Well, that's decided then. No need to see the Taxes - estimates are good
    I don't care about knowing what the guys exact net worth is. My point was that it's not easy to turn a few millions into 4 billion and the fact that Trump managed to do that reasonably successfully is an indicator of basic intelligence at least.
    Igotadose wrote: »
    Eric was on about how they get their money from Russia. US Intelligence said repeatedly the Russians helped him win via election meddling. Are either of these news to you? Somewhat surprising.
    Trump has removed himself from all decision making capacities at the Trump Organisation. His personal profits since becoming president were from deals made before he became president.

I find it hard to believe the line that Trump was always a Russian stooge when he took steps against Russia like arming the people of Ukraine to fight Russian paramilitiaries (which Obama refused to do). American soldiers in Syria have killed literally hundreds of Russian military contractors.

Yes, Russians wanted to help him win. They made overtures to him during the campaign but we have no evidence that Trump himself ever colluded. The Mueller Report found nothing.

By the way Trump did not win in 2016 because of Russia. He won because Hillary supporters did not show up in the swing states. He got less votes in Wisconsin than Mitt Romney in 2012 and Romney lost the state. Trump won it.
    Yes, Russia interfered but there's no evidence they are the reason Trump won.

Trump doesn't win because he's a genius. He wins because he's good at maximising on the stupidity of his opponents which is why he'll win in 2020.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,620 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Except that's not quite what happened now is it?

The exact context and quote are below
    “No, I haven’t taken a test. Why the hell would I take a test? Come on, man. That’s like saying to you before you got on this program if you had taken a test [on] were you taking cocaine or not?” Biden said. “What do you think, huh? Are you a junkie?”

The point being - Suggesting that he had dementia and that the absence of test results refuting it was evidence that he had was akin to someone suggesting that the reporter was a junkie just because he couldn't show the results of a test proving otherwise.

A clunky analogy for sure - But not a slur on the reporter or his race in any way shape or form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

you have no idea how he scored on his cognitive test. he claimed the test was hard. it isn't. he lied about the "person woman man camera TV". those words would never form part of the test. he just described what he seen around him.

Is there anywhere I can see the contents of the test Trump took?

• Registered Users Posts: 419 ✭✭8mv

Person, woman, camera, tv” were just random words he was using as an example of the type of question.

I'm sorry to tell you failed the test.

this will be almost identical to the test that trump took. https://www.mocatest.org/pdf_files/test/MoCA-Test-English_7_1.pdf

if anybody descibes that as hard or difficult in any way they are not fit to be president.

I don't care about knowing what the guys exact net worth is. My point was that it's not easy to turn a few millions into 4 billion and the fact that Trump managed to do that reasonably successfully is an indicator of basic intelligence at least.

Trump has removed himself from all decision making capacities at the Trump Organisation. His personal profits since becoming president were from deals made before he became president.

I find it hard to believe the line that Trump was always a Russian stooge when he took steps against Russia like arming the people of Ukraine to fight Russian paramilitiaries (which Obama refused to do). American soldiers in Syria have killed literally hundreds of Russian military contractors.

Yes, Russians wanted to help him win. They made overtures to him during the campaign but we have no evidence that Trump himself ever colluded. The Mueller Report found nothing.

By the way Trump did not win in 2016 because of Russia. He won because Hillary supporters did not show up in the swing states. He got less votes in Wisconsin than Mitt Romney in 2012 and Romney lost the state. Trump won it.
    Yes, Russia interfered but there's no evidence they are the reason Trump won.

Trump doesn't win because he's a genius. He wins because he's good at maximising on the stupidity of his opponents which is why he'll win in 2020.

The two bolded parts. Where does it show that Trump is worth 4 billion (the forbes figures are supplied by trump himself so we can exclude that or any source referencing it)?

Trump did not put his business in a blind trust as every president has before him

This is an example of the kind of test he likely took

Obviously there are lots and lots of variants of the test , but the type and level of questions would be indicative of the test he most likely took.

https://www.parkinsons.va.gov/resources/MOCA-Test-English.pdf