Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Chat 2020/21

• Registered Users Posts: 9,683 ✭✭✭Cartman78

Shedite27 wrote: »
    Anyone looking at West Ham defenders, have a look at the goals they conceded against Bournemouth yesterday (3 videos linked to this tweet), then take all the West Ham players out of your team, and go to your bookies on choice and put some money on Moyes being first manger sacked and West Ham to be relegated. As ye know I'm a West Ham fan, place is a mess at the moment, Noble (captain) called the owners out on Twitter for selling Diangana to WB.

https://twitter.com/WestHam_Central/status/1302539790471114753?s=20

Is Antonio capable of rising above all that and performing like he was at the end of last season?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,239 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Cartman78 wrote: »
    Is Antonio capable of rising above all that and performing like he was at the end of last season?
    Isn't that roughly what he did last season? They were in serious dissaray. My only concern with Antonio is that their fixtures are truly truly horrible.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,625 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

eh i dunno wrote: »
    Any mention of matheus pereira from wba in here? 8 goals and 16 assists last season for wba.

I'm thinking about it... Want to have a punt around the 6m mark, maybe him or Trossard.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,054 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

I'm thinking about it... Want to have a punt around the 6m mark, maybe him or Trossard.

Trossard stats after covid were the highest in the league I read somewhere for xg or whatever that is called

Think whoever told you that might have been taking the mickey. He had an xG of 5.35 for the entire season combined putting him behind the likes of Joelinton.

He will need to make big steps forward to be a good option this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,054 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

CSF wrote: »
    Think whoever told you that might have been taking the mickey. He had an xG of 5.35 for the entire season combined putting him behind the likes of Joelinton.

He will need to make big steps forward to be a good option this year.

Not the best but in the top ten since the restart
    https://twitter.com/fplfantasyguide/status/1301434728294293504?s=09

• Registered Users Posts: 22,625 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Not the best but in the top ten since the restart
    https://twitter.com/fplfantasyguide/status/1301434728294293504?s=09

I really like him as a player, hopefully he's nailed down his spot now but who knows with Potter.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,915 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

I like Trossard too and he could be good value at 6 but I wouldn't touch him before GW5 when they have a decent run of fixtures but I'd want to see some positive signs from Brighton before that.

I think Ceballos at 5 could be a good option. He seemed to play better under Arteta and he obviously wants to use him as he brought him back to the club. Guendouzi is not in the good books with Arteta and Torreira wants to leave so he should be starting CM. Could be a bit of an assist the assister but could be worth a punt for the first two GWs and be an enabled at that price. Should be on some set pieces too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭Minime2.5

With a week to go.... I’m all over the place.

Reading so much and trying to select a team that isn’t going to collapse or need a week1 wildcard.

Bielsa with Leeds seems to have the gengenpressen (klopp version) or bielsa press, which might make Leeds players attractive, can they do it at the top level, can they do it against premierleague opposition? Liverpool on the other hand seem to be defensively unsure, minimimo seems to be the standout player of pre-season for them, but he isn’t ensured of a starting place when the season restarts.

Auba - the FantasyFootball troll - has been in great form, but he is a fantasy football troll and may be waiting for the Fulham game to do what he does best .... ruin a perfectly good fantasy football weekend.

Kane, traditionally a slow starter to league form, is rarely mentioned at the moment, in a team which has had quite a few changes, not sure if they will be fully settled and they face an Everton team who could be a push over or a solid wall.

Chelsea, seem to be hit with quite a few changes and an expanding squad, difficult to know if they will all work cohesively as a unit or will be confused on the pitch, also seem to be a high level of self isolation required in the squad, unclear what the starting line up could be.

United/city/villa/Burnley, none feature in first game-week, which leaves a lot of players who could feature in teams, interestingly KDB has over 35% ownership despite not playing in first game.

West ham, Leicester, Everton, southampton, wolves etc.... of them all, I would say Southampton are most likely to produce a win.

West ham seem to have a lot of disruption between management and the board - a rising Star was sold to west brom and both manager and various players gave reactions online.

Leicester - you never know who will turn up, vardy is probably the only one of interest, but even at that ... he may have the waggatha christy trial coming up sometime.

Everton, playing a spurs team which may or may not turn up, Everton signed a midfielder and striker during the break so far ... they may give spurs a run for their money or might get railroaded.

Southampton playing a weakened palace team ... could produce an opportunity for ings to be the star of the week.

Wolves, lost Doherty to spurs and at the moment traore is on the sick list , which will have an impact on their ability to beat teams.

My team is officially blank again !!!

Did you have a question?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Irishphotodesk

Minime2.5 wrote: »
    Did you have a question?

Just venting my frustration and throwing out opinions on first game week to see if people agree/disagree with my views.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,271 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

https://twitter.com/FFPundits/status/1302502028900433920?s=19

Thoughts on Ward-Prowse?

A player I often nearly own!

Anyone know of any trustworthy bigger money leagues that are run elsewhere ?

I’m guessing twitter might be the place to find them.

Thinking of entry fees between 100-500

Anyone know of any trustworthy bigger money leagues that are run elsewhere ?

I’m guessing twitter might be the place to find them.

Thinking of entry fees between 100-500

Most would be keeping well underground this year I'd say.

I know a guy on twitter that used to run a few bigger stakes leagues.

I'll PM you his handle.

Edit: also these guys have a high stakes one at about €230 buy in.

I’m not big in to hoop jumping so having looked at fplmanagerindia I’ll pass. Do this. Tweet that. Tag this.

Life is getting too complicated for me.

What ever happened to email. Just pay up and receive the code.

I’m not big in to hoop jumping so having looked at fplmanagerindia I’ll pass. Do this. Tweet that. Tag this.

Yeah they didn't used to do that. I was in their regular league a few years ago, and it was just email communication!

An absolute dearth of cheap starting options.

4.0m starting defenders or a 4.5m starting midfielder are the absolute basis of teams I’ve picked in the past.

Nada this season. Not even a gamble like TPT who may start AND score points.

Looks like I’ll be starting with a boring ‘no gamble’ 15 which is weird for me.

It’s a weird one for me. Means I’ll have weekly options on the bench which I don’t like.

Feel like the only hope now is Brewster moving to a team that will guarantee him minutes but it won’t happen in time for GW 1 so is of little interest right now anyway.

Going to be a boring/safe team for me, early doors, but that may actually work out if Covid really does add to the randomness or injuries/availability.

• Registered Users Posts: 42,092 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

An absolute dearth of cheap starting options.

4.0m starting defenders or a 4.5m starting midfielder are the absolute basis of teams I’ve picked in the past.

Nada this season. Not even a gamble like TPT who may start AND score points.

Looks like I’ll be starting with a boring ‘no gamble’ 15 which is weird for me.

It’s a weird one for me. Means I’ll have weekly options on the bench which I don’t like.

Feel like the only hope now is Brewster moving to a team that will guarantee him minutes but it won’t happen in time for GW 1 so is of little interest right now anyway.

Going to be a boring/safe team for me, early doors, but that may actually work out if Covid really does add to the randomness or injuries/availability.

Well there's Oriol Romeu who currently looks the best option for 4.5 midfielders over the opening six gameweeks. But yeah I get you, no real standout option there.

For 4m defenders, there is Tyrick Mitchell of Palace or Pascal Struijk of Leeds. Mitchell looks like starting the first few games because PVA is only just back to training after a few months out with an injury.

Struijk looks like he could start alongside Cooper in Leeds' central defence.

Well there's Oriol Romeu who currently looks the best option for 4.5 midfielders over the opening six gameweeks. But yeah I get you, no real standout option there.

For 4m defenders, there is Tyrick Mitchell of Palace or Pascal Struijk of Leeds. Mitchell looks like starting the first few games because PVA is only just back to training after a few months out with an injury.

Struijk looks like he could start alongside Cooper in Leeds' central defence.

Yeah. I hear what you’re saying but I’m trying to avoid definite transfers out. With a blank GW 1 it’s just more transfers waiting to happen. Like who hasn’t planned their first 3-4 transfers already ? Very different to any other season when your GW 1 team is your first ‘wildcard’.

It’s not like AWB or Lundstram when it looked like their place to lose.

Johnson is the only possibility I see but I’ve zero confidence in him also.

So that guy at Leeds may be the option but I know nothing about him. Time to call my Leeds supporting brother-in-law I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 42,092 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

Yeah. I hear what you’re saying but I’m trying to avoid definite transfers out. With a blank GW 1 it’s just more transfers waiting to happen. Like who hasn’t planned their first 3-4 transfers already ? Very different to any other season when your GW 1 team is your first ‘wildcard’.

It’s not like AWB or Lundstram when it looked like their place to lose.

Johnson is the only possibility I see but I’ve zero confidence in him also.

So that guy at Leeds may be the option but I know nothing about him. Time to call my Leeds supporting brother-in-law I suppose.

I know nothing about Struijk either in truth. It's just that I've seen him in a few predicted lineups for Leeds and a few prediction models have Struijk as one of the best 4m options as he's either the 2nd or 3rd-choice Leeds CB it seems.

He looks like he's competing with Robin Koch for the starting berth. Wikipedia also says he started the last few games for Leeds last season but that may be because Bielsa was rotating as their promotion was sewn up then I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

The $1k and $500 ones I've mentioned here before have gone underground it's all by email and even harder to get into now guessing a lot are going that way. Doubt many will be that easy to get into would actually be a bit suspicious if they were!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,683 ✭✭✭Cartman78

He looks like he's competing with Robin Koch for the starting berth.

So you're saying he'll be Koch fighting to get into the team?

jimmii wrote: »
    The $1k and $500 ones I've mentioned here before have gone underground it's all by email and even harder to get into now guessing a lot are going that way. Doubt many will be that easy to get into would actually be a bit suspicious if they were!
    Jaysus, entering a grand into an FPL league is serious business indeed.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,254 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Worth posting in here too.

https://twitter.com/City_Xtra/status/1302894657337253888?s=20

2 week quarantine/self isolation from today perhaps.

Doubtful to start that Wolves game on the 21st.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Its been going for years the level is incredibly high for being mostly US players. Nothing compared to some of the amounts on the US sports game though!

jimmii wrote: »
    Its been going for years the level is incredibly high for being mostly US players.
    But, the problem with leagues of that buyin, everyone you're competing against will be elite level. Hard to have any advantage there. Almost like entering a lottery.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

He looks like he's competing with Robin Koch for the starting berth. Wikipedia also says he started the last few games for Leeds last season but that may be because Bielsa was rotating as their promotion was sewn up then I think.
    Cartman78 wrote: »
    So you're saying he'll be Koch fighting to get into the team?
    More a Koch blocker.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,705 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

it's all relative as well - like they probably wouldn't be bother playing $100 games. No different than people who bet that amount in a casino really - if you are wealthy or know you have an edge you probably won't be playing for $50

Ace2007 wrote: »
    it's all relative as well - like they probably wouldn't be bother playing $100 games. No different than people who bet that amount in a casino really - if you are wealthy or know you have an edge you probably won't be playing for $50
    The wealthy bit I can get, but the knowing you have an edge bit I'm not so sure with. I assume there is no fish whatsoever in these leagues. The luck variance in FPL feels so much higher than in poker.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,621 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

Have to agree with minime2.5,the more I look the harder it gets only 100% are TAA, KDB and ROBBO Mo or Mane

I never get the ‘must haves’ conversation.

You’re limited to how many premium players you can get.

And I know it’s probably a boring thing to say but I can never get away from the fact that Ben Crabtree won FPL outright without owning any Liverpool player, all season, as he is a Everton fan.

I think that was the season Firmino, Coutinho and Mane did well.

He also had a top 500 finish before he won it.

The truth is not one player is a must have.

Any combo of 2-3 from a pool of 7–10 players can help you do well. It’s all about the timing.

You could go the whole season without TAA or Salah and win it.