Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shelbourne Hotel remove historic statues due to association with slavery - *Read OP**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

She is a ‘freeloader’. She provides nothing of value or merit and is paid handsomely in return for her makey-uppy ‘role’ in UCD.

Her prime time performance was classic car crash TV. But you would never admit that. Instead you hide being accusations of racist / alt right to stifle discussion.

As a UCD alumni I am ashamed that a once august institution of learning has stooped so low to having someone of her calibre as a lecturer and as a representative on RTE.

The term ‘grifter’ is commonly used on this site to describe the likes of Tommy Robinson and what he pedals. Getting paid from conning the public. Her prime time appearance is classic grifter modus operandi.

I see no difference between his ilk and this lady, and I also don’t see you in those threads objecting to the term when applied to them, so I will continue to apply the term ‘freeloading grifter’ to this lady.

Don’t forget her €50 “open day”

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭SoupMonster

She not only foisting herself on the media imo she is being facilitated in this by the national broadcaster and other msm outlets instead of finding someone of whatever colour (I care not which) who knows what they are talking about and can put even a semi-coherent argument forward on matters such as this.. . why is this?

Race baiting creates controversy which generates clicks and views.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

It would be better if people addressed the issue rather then calling someone mad for disagreeing or saying they are having a meltdown.

I don't agree with her but she has as much of a right to her views as anyone else.

Naturally I believe that everyone should be entitled to their opinion, and entitled to voice it.

But what's good for the goose is also good for the gander.

Gemma O'Doherty seems to have had her twitter account disabled today due to her batty views. I know you don't like calling someone bats, but I'm just cutting to the chase. Ebun Joseph is not only given a free pass, but is actually paid taxpayers money to spout her nonsense.

Nonsense? Yeah, I'd say so. After all, she is uninterested in fact. Everything, as another poster said, is seen by her through the prism of race. She was on the verge of calling Michael McDowell a dirty old white man fantasizing over scantily clad black girls on Primetime last night. She thinks that saying 'fetish' is some sort of coup de grace to her argument as she is trying to shoehorn feminism into her racist diatribes.

• Registered Users Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

I thought she was just bad, now I am wondering if she is mad. Human-ice interactions? Stop fetishizing the ice!

Now removing all the BS this is the real crux of the matter as far as she is concerned.

I think we have a regular Gemtrails on our hands! At least Gemtrails isn't paid by the government to spout harmful nonsense.

More racist ranting:

https://twitter.com/EbunJoseph1/status/1289168558262374402

Sorry to be clear here - that glacial feminist bollox is not related with "Dr" Ebun, but my point was it's the same sort of mickey mouse bullsh1t that modern universities are accepting nowadays and won't challenge otherwise they will face a lynch mob

• Registered Users Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Sorry to be clear here - that glacial feminist bollox is not related with "Dr" Ebun, but my point was it's the same sort of mickey mouse bullsh1t that modern universities are accepting nowadays and won't challenge otherwise they will face a lynch mob

Oh I see. I picked that up incorrectly. It read similar to her work so I thought it was herself.

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭SoupMonster

I think we have a regular Gemtrails on our hands! At least Gemtrails isn't paid by the government to spout harmful nonsense.
    https://twitter.com/EbunJoseph1/status/1289168558262374402

I would love to watch a travel show where Gemma and Ebun travel together to some exotic location and criticize everything about the local culture, their food, architecture, art, etc. Tired of all these people thinking the world is a great place with all its variety.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

Sorry did you actually see her “performance” on prime time last night?

It was genuinely disturbing. Even McDowell looked concerned.

She was roaring and shouting spouting streams of nonsensical mumbo jumbo - was not a pretty sight

Shame on RTÉ for putting her on air

She was on the Tonight Show before, saw it sometime ago a lot of shouting and incoherent rambling is all I remember. Had not one single decent point to make.

A lot of commentary about her behaviour says that it is all by design to up her profile and keep her relevant. I really would not give her this much credit, she does not come across as particularly bright. I think she is an extremely angry person for whatever reason, who knows, but I genuinely think she believes in all the bile she comes out with. I also think she is extremely racist. One of the most openly racist people in the public eye and at the same time totally oblivious to it all. Best ignored.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

Race baiting creates controversy which generates clicks and views.

The same reason rte have Katie Hopkins on goes for this individual, reaction response complaints all equal viewing figures and quality to the clowns in rte. It's this inherent laziness that means shallow self serving individuals like the good doctor will always be first port of call for them rather than someone who would make valid intellectual and moral contributions...they think the public are thick as ****.. this laziness also gives us the nepotism of lottie Ryan et al.....and the blandness of Ryan turbrby..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,603 ✭✭✭Yellow_Fern

With its usual talent for historical insight Dublin Civic Trust on the significance of the statues. https://twitter.com/dubcivictrust/status/1289128394328870918

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Notice how she takes offence over 'white' people speaking about 'black' history
    But when it comes to Irish history she - a black woman, calls it "our" history.
    "We" removed Nelsons column. "our" Irish history
    But "you" have no right to speak for black history. Because you're not black.
    Well she has the right to speak about Irish history, but she's not Irish, so I figure on that basis I can speak for Nigerian history(fascinating subject actually) even though I'm not Nigerian. And you can be damn sure if my pasty arse lived in Nigeria for the same length of time as she has lived here, showing up at 30 years old, no way in hell would she consider me a Nigerian and by God no way would she be happy if I were to go on Nigerian media and start bitching about the attitude of Nigerians to me and my forebears*. I'm the wrong colour, but apparently I have to automatically consider her Irish. How does that work then?

*well I have basic manners so it wouldn't occur to me to start pissing on a country I am an extended guest in.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

With its usual talent for historical insight Dublin Civic Trust on the significance of the statues. https://twitter.com/dubcivictrust/status/1289128394328870918
    Well that style was par for the course back then. Such statuary was very popular and Egyptian "style" as hitting its first wave of popularity(King Tut kicked off the second wave) on top of the usual classical. Is she calling for all such statuary to be removed including the classical examples? I have an late 19th century lamp in the shape of a Roman water carrier. Chances are extremely high in Roman times such a woman would have been a slave, but being White that doesn't count I suppose.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

I will never take Ebun Joseph seriously again, she totally embarrassed herself last night on tv,
    and quite frankly i'm sick to my back teeth of getting white privilege thrown at me.
    I don't get to play the race card all the time like a broken record and live far from a life of privilege.

Your first mistake was ever taking her seriously.

Don’t forget her €50 “open day”

Thanks for reminding me - classic grifter con job.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Well that style was par for the course back then. Such statuary was very popular and Egyptian "style" as hitting its first wave of popularity(King Tut kicked off the second wave) on top of the usual classical. Is she calling for all such statuary to be removed including the classical examples? I have an late 19th century lamp in the shape of a Roman water carrier. Chances are extremely high in Roman times such a woman would have been a slave, but being White that doesn't count I suppose.

White slaves or black slave traders are not of interest to her ilk.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Wibbs wrote: »

I have loads of Egyptian bits around the place as i have been there a few times and I like the style including jewelry.

And I never knew I was fetishing black bodies, just like the art. There I was being all racist by being interested in Egypt.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭mick087

Naturally I believe that everyone should be entitled to their opinion, and entitled to voice it.

But what's good for the goose is also good for the gander.

Gemma O'Doherty seems to have had her twitter account disabled today due to her batty views. I know you don't like calling someone bats, but I'm just cutting to the chase. Ebun Joseph is not only given a free pass, but is actually paid taxpayers money to spout her nonsense.

Nonsense? Yeah, I'd say so. After all, she is uninterested in fact. Everything, as another poster said, is seen by her through the prism of race. She was on the verge of calling Michael McDowell a dirty old white man fantasizing over scantily clad black girls on Primetime last night. She thinks that saying 'fetish' is some sort of coup de grace to her argument as she is trying to shoehorn feminism into her racist diatribes.

Your woman Gema makes some good points in that video.
    I think she would also make a good case for he views on a TV debate.
    Ebun Joseph who i admit i have never heard of before was a terrible candidate to discuss the statues at the hotel. She did more harm than good.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,719 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

TheCitizen wrote: »
    Wow, a lot of anger rearing it's ugly head here.

Who said black people should no longer be depicted in any for of art?

It appears there was a myth that these statues were Nubian slaves and a misunderstanding may have resulted. It is however tremendous fun watching the chancer McDowell and Far Right and Alt Right type whingers on here for example apoplectic with the removal of said statues. It's worth removing them for that alone :pac:

So, in essence, you admit that these statues did not depict African slaves, or had anything to do with slavery, yet you are pleased with their removal because it upsets the 'other side'?

Are we in a primary school now or what?

mick087 wrote: »
    Ebun Joseph who i admit i have never heard of before was a terrible candidate to discuss the statues at the hotel. She did more harm than good.

Maybe someone on the prime time staff was trolling us by getting her on the show...

KrustyUCC wrote: »

Does that mean any and all depiction of an African or black person in all Art is now racist?

I am glad we have such an estemed Cardinal in our ranks to tell us the truth according to God.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,192 ✭✭✭Be right back

I thought this was interesting to see. Unlearn racism is a new one to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Her book came out today, 256 pages. Price; £80.00

That's £80.00 for the hardcover and oddly enough £80.00 for the eBook as well.

https://manchesteruniversitypress.co.uk/9781526134394/

• Registered Users Posts: 15,682 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

KevRossi wrote: »
    Her book came out today, 256 pages. Price; £80.00

That's £80.00 for the hardcover and oddly enough £80.00 for the eBook as well.

https://manchesteruniversitypress.co.uk/9781526134394/

Ah here - come on, is that true? Ffs she is absolutely taking the p1ss. Neck like a jockeys howya.

Unreal

White slaves or black slave traders are not of interest to her ilk.
    Well that's par for the course with identity politics of all stripes and political leanings. First establish the "oppressed", who is blameless and without obvious agency, then establish the "oppressor" who is always wrong, no matter how much they agree with the politic. This is usually undercut with actual historical oppression and early revolts against the status quo so is an easy sell.

When that runs out of steam the fringe push harder to keep themselves vital and in business, real or otherwise. These labels become fixed, immutable and immune to any critique or nuance by the identity politic involved. In current US college campus so called "feminism" it's women and men respectively, the only nuance allowed is to blame a nebulous patriarchy when it's undeniable the latter group may also face their own issues. We see this in actual fascist and hard line socialist regimes down the years. We see the same script in damned near every totalitarian regime left, right whatever you're having yourself. It's in every single identity politic throughout history and is almost always a power grab of some nature.

In this individual's case the "oppressed" are always Black, the "oppressor" is always White. If you point out Black or Arabic oppressors of Whites, or their own kind, that's either ignored or blamed on White influence over them. Obviates the need for any nuance and responsibility of course. Those two are kryptonite to identity politics.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭mick087

Maybe someone on the prime time staff was trolling us by getting her on the show...

I think RTE was left wanting here.

• Registered Users Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DelaneyIn

Her PhD thesis would be an interesting read, lol.

She released it on sale the other day.

https://twitter.com/EbunJoseph1/status/1289215118195056643

https://www.amazon.com/Critical-theory-inequality-labour-market/dp/152613439X

It will set you back a hundred euro to buy though.

mick087 wrote: »
    I think RTE was left wanting here.

Not really, they got their money’s worth. Lots of coverage for Prime Time here, on Twitter etc.

I thought this was interesting to see. Unlearn racism is a new one to me.
    Before I clicked on that I expected to see some middle class White woman agreeing with the sentiment. And I suspect I'd be right. As about the most pampered, protected and largely rootless demographic in western society, who find basic contentment just out of reach they're a large percentage of the foot soldiers for this kinda nonsense. The same demographic that laps up fashionista feminism, self help books and the causes de jour. So long as some of the causes are only at the weekend and not living next door... With interior design and writing night classes of course. Fond of unnecessary cushions and candles that are never lit.

DelaneyIn wrote: »

So.... officially a grifter. Gets clicks and views by being controversial and then plugs a €100 book.

Her personal comments on the art historian from the University of London is a disgrace and outright racist nevermind mean and unprofessional. His expertise in Art or the facts did not matter purely because of his skin colour. That is racism 101.

Cat out of the bag with this person. We should move on, and RTE and others should never have her appear on their shows again.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,493 ✭✭✭Masala

DelaneyIn wrote: »

Usually - libraries are given Free copies!! Bet she not that generous - just as capitalistic as the rest of the world!

markodaly wrote: »
    So.... officially a grifter. Gets clicks and views by being controversial and then plugs a €100 book.

Her personal comments on the art historian from the University of London is a disgrace and outright racist nevermind mean and unprofessional. His expertise in Art or the facts did not matter purely because of his skin colour. That is racism 101.

Cat out of the bag with this person. We should move on, and RTE and others should never have her appear on their shows again.

Be careful. Calling Tommy Robinson a grifter is okay, but it is racist to call this lady a grifter.