Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2020 World Snooker Championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,780 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Love to see Ronnie win this!!!

Where's all the " Kyren Wilson / A. McG will beat Ronnie" crew now? :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Wtf is Selby at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,361 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Mark would want to wake up.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭testtech05

Does the ref not need to move the reds back too after the foul/miss on the pink by Selby?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,851 ✭✭✭redarmy

O'Sullivan 4/9
    Selby 7/4

That was a tough red pot there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,361 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

FFS Selby!

It's great to see this. Ronnie coming out and 'Playing Snooker' - The jester don't like that.
    Unlucky on that red just now, but well done to him for taking it on. Deserved that 'result' with cueball.

I'd be a more casual fan than most on here but just curious as to what causes this opinion of Selby?
    Seems to be a pretty solid all round player to me can score well when the chance is there and not overly negative in general obviously not as attack minded as Ronnie but who is!

14-13 has to be!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

Ronnie looks pretty relaxed though you have to say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

testtech05 wrote: »
    I'd be a more casual fan than most on here but just curious as to what causes this opinion of Selby?
    Seems to be a pretty solid all round player to me can score well when the chance is there and not overly negative in general obviously not as attack minded as Ronnie but who is!

This is why:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

I find Selby an enjoyable player to watch. Not the quickest on the planet, but I would not consider him to be that negative either

Still shouting for Ronnie all the way here though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭irelandrover

As a casual fan as well I just find him so slow to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,291 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Selby stealing this frame

This be a sickener to lose this frame!

Because, more than most of the top, and winning-most players, Selby is content to go several minutes with safety battles on a regular basis. You would see this if you watched him a lot.

He definitely plays the percentage game more than most. Can be very hard to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭henke

paulie21 wrote: »
    Selby stealing this frame

Hopefully this doesn't knock Ronnie's mentality back.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

Absolute hammer blow.

It is but he's won 4 of the last 5 so can't let this get to him but Selby won't lie down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,257 ✭✭✭Augme

Such a contract is style. For all the world Ronnie should be ahead now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,281 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Ronnie was flying there.

How that ended up a free ball was poxy.
    Needs to win this one, two frame lead again before the mid session would be awful.

I know he had a lead and was unfortunate with the cue ball, but I doubt this is going to upset Ronnie too much. He's playing well, and I'm sure expected that there'll be ebbs and flows. If he loses the next though, that will make things very tricky

mdwexford wrote: »
    Ronnie was flying there.

Needs to win this one, two frame lead again before the mid session would be awful.

To leave a free ball and that was the end of the frame for Ron was incredibly harsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,291 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Never seems to make a mistake amongst the balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,496 ✭✭✭AllForIt

mdwexford wrote: »
    Ronnie was flying there.

Yeah he should have at least hit the bunch but was very unlucky to leave a free ball on top of going in off. Very unfortunate timing just when he was on a roll.

If he goes two behind here which it looks like I'm not sure he can bounce back again. The last frame could be decisive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭DelBoy Trotter

henke wrote: »
    If he goes two behind here which it looks like I'm not sure he can bounce back again. The last frame could be decisive.

Yeah, my feelings too. I think this frame is huge, whoever wins it; will win the match I think

That badly judged canon into the pack has ruined Ronnie's fight back and given Selby a breather when he looked to be on the ropes. A real killer blow.

It's the hope that kills you. Was exciting when he levelled it up and looked to be going ahead.

henke wrote: »
    It's the hope that kills you. Was exciting when he levelled it up and looked to be going ahead.

Your dead right. The bloody hope is the one that kills you.

That hit and hope wasn't a great sign from Ronnie. Made the decision to power through the frames now. Will play into Selby's hands to slow things down now at the very least.

Augme wrote: »
    That hit and hope wasn't a great sign from Ronnie. Made the decision yo poor through the frames now. Will play into Selby's hands to slow things down now at the very least.

Didn't really seem to look at any other options just smashed it.

Ronnie has played that kamikaze hit and hope shot about 5 times in.this match so far and it is never a good sign. The psychology has swung back in Selbys favour now and i always feared one or two bad bits of luck would come back to haunt Ronnie again which it has.

Didn't really seem to look at any other options just smashed it.

Worry I'd you just got the sense he just was happy to write off the frame and do wonder if he is willing to slug it out because you need to against Selby.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Classic Selby. Should be behind, takes a 2 frame lead.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

If Ronnie gets in, unlike earlier, I fancy he could reel of the next two. It's down to Selby's ability to keep him out to close out the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭BQQ

Wilson needs to forget about winning on a fluke
    He needs to pull himself together
    If it happened in the first frame we wouldn’t even be talking about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

BQQ wrote: »
    Wilson needs to forget about winning on a fluke
    He needs to pull himself together
    If it happened in the first frame we wouldn’t even be talking about it

Exactly, he won 16 other frames that were all important. Tough on McGill, he was getting better as the tournament was progressing.

Super play here..

walshb wrote: »
    Super play here..

Commentators curse.....

walshb wrote: »
    Super play here..

Good while it lasted :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

Ronnies goose is cooked. The head will go now aswell

• Registered Users Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Spudman_20000

Vicky-watch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,486 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

Pretty sure balls don't get replaced if you foul the colour, play on from there Dennis...

And DT checks out Vicky

Courtesy front row tickets for Terry Griffiths and Cliff Thorburn being left at reception :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

Stick it back in yer trousers Dennis, stalking that poor woman again

• Registered Users Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Will ye stop on about the commentators jaysus

Brilliant!

Blanco100 wrote: »
    Ronnies goose is cooked. The head will go now aswell

Another one - Commentator's curse strikes again :D