Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

2020 World Snooker Championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭henke

He's not coming out on top in this safety exchange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,478 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

What is Selby waiting for

Selby pretending to think, the shnake

• Registered Users Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

Silly stuff from Ronnie with that nothing shot on the pink. Foulds was bemused said it was a shot he never saw before. Crazy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

hes packing this in, doesnt seem to have the nerve over long distances anymore

• Registered Users Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

Ronnie really ****ing annoying me now with these shot selections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭DelBoy Trotter

Selby pretending to think, the shnake

Just playing head games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,179 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

If Selby loses this, I think he'll lose the match. Cause this is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,617 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

I wonder is the crowd a factor for Ronnie, he tends to be favoured by supporters and gets a lot of cheers when he comes to the table. Is he missing the audience on some level?

Embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,714 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Ronnie playing angry!!! Silly..

• Registered Users Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Ronnie's losing the plot.

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭amens

C'mon Mark. Finish him off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,684 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Ronnie is the real numpty here

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

Just playing head games

And it's working.

Embarrassing.

That’s the best way to describe it. Unprofessional and unfortunate at this stage of the competition that he can’t keep the head for a small while.

That said, if anyone can come out and win two big frames in a row it’s Ronnie, but I wouldn’t bet on it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

I’m actually a bit worried for Ronnie here I’ve never seen him go this far. But there’s an elephant in the room

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭radiata

That's like a shot I'd take playing pool!

BBC pundits being very diplomatic. It is sad to see how mentally weak he can be at times.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭testtech05

Embarrassing.

Whatever about young lads coming through being amateur or getting into the top 50 if he played like that all the time he wouldn't be long sliding down the rankings himself.....

If he could just keep the head a little bit he's been well in this game not like he was 8-10 frames behind with no hope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,600 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Ken not holding back on Ronnie!

radiata wrote: »
    That's like a shot I'd take playing pool!

....after 8 pints

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

siblers wrote: »
    Ken not holding back on Ronnie!

What did he say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

6 short I think.

Has anyone ever scored that many points and lost a frame?
    Don't think so, the best I ever saw was years ago, Tony Jones, might have been playing James Wattana. I can't recall the exact score, but he was at least 70 behind, and won by a point. He needed a snooker, it may have been 75-0, a 4 point snooker, followed by a 72 clearance with all blacks and reds. The clearance was definitely all reds and blacks to win by 1. Wattana, I think scored 70, may have been 75. Never seen 83 lose a frame before, but then again, I've never seen a frame like that one, it was crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,437 ✭✭✭weemcd

With a bit more sense Ronnie would be right in this, but he's playing complete hatchet snooker, if such a thing exists. Pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭DelBoy Trotter

I’m actually a bit worried for Ronnie here I’ve never seen him go this far. But there’s an elephant in the room

I was thinking the same. He’s crossed the line even by his standards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭radiata

....after 8 pints

At least!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

Classic psychology, he wants to lose it pretending he doesnt give a ****.

Would sting him to dig in, show heart and play Selby for every minute of every frame, and lose.

Hes deadly when things are going his way.

Blanco100 wrote: »

Would sting him to dig in, show heart and play Selby for every minute of every frame, and lose.

Spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

^precisely

• Registered Users Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

I was thinking the same. He’s crossed the line even by his standards

What he do? I haven't been watching.

Look at this ****. He's so annoying.

He just has his mental demons and he's not cut out for this. It's only because his pure genius he has won 5 world's. This is an impressive break though would be unreal if he took it to the decider.

Spot on.

Agree with every word except the second one, I would substitute it with studipity.

• Registered Users Posts: 816 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

The man is an enigma

Blanco100 wrote: »

On this post, sorry

At least I've relaxed a bit. Why should I care if he doesn't?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

What a legend. Selby just bores him into submission at times unfortunately

RedDevil55 wrote: »
    The man is an enigma

That is the word. Look at this stuff. That's why people love watching him and willing him to win. Head gone and turns out an unbelievable century.

What he do? I haven't been watching.

Just bashing balls, like a pool player, every time he is playing safety or out of snooker, not impossible hits either, just acting the maggot.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

Great break. Great to watch him play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭taytobreath

I dont think he’s that immature to do that. It seems like he just wants to get on with it and not be bogged down with Shelby. He has no patience .

He drives me nuts , imagine how his family and friends feel when he plays and does things like that

• Registered Users Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭testtech05

Happy4all wrote: »
    What a legend. Selby just bores him into submission at times unfortunately

I don't know about that I've watched most of this match and can't say I've seen anything from Selby to say he was taking the piss or trying to be over negative.

Just seems like once there is any bit of tactical pkay (which happens in all games) Ronnie just has no interest

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,800 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

To go from what the f*ck are you doing in the last frame to pure class this frame.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

You couldn’t make this **** up

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,015 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Ronnie doesn't want to hold back here, no need for safety.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

That was fantastic.

I have all the respect for Selby but I might not even turn on the snooker tomorrow to watch him!

What's that?

That’s incredible. Just incredible and he made it look easy. Like he hasn’t been playing shyte for the last 5 frames

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭irelandrover

testtech05 wrote: »
    I don't know about that I've watched most of this match and can't say I've seen anything from Selby to say he was taking the piss or trying to be over negative.

Just seems like once there is any bit of tactical pkay (which happens in all games) Ronnie just has no interest

The time he took over the free ball or replacing was a joke. Everyone knew what he was going to do but he stood there humming and hawing