Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tampax ad banned

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Yester wrote: »
    How much power do we have here? I mean if enough people complain about Mcdonalds ads could we get them banned from TV?

Why would you want a Macdonalds as banned though. Do Macdonalds ads portray 1/2 the population as loudmouth vulgar thickos?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭katiek102010

you mean someone who talks slightly louder than normal?

You seem to have left off the speaking in a crass and vulgar manner.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,466 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

you mean she was discussing things that you think should not be discussed in public?

ollkiller wrote: »
    That ad is a huge concern. Lol. Nothing wrong with the ad at all. The absolute state of the people giving out about this ad. Grow up will ye.

Women are portrayed in the ad as tasteless loudmouth idiots. You have no objection to that?

splinter65 wrote: »
    Women are portrayed in the ad as tasteless loudmouth idiots. You have no objection to that?

they were explaining something that wasn't immediately obvious to at least one poster here. maybe they have should have demurely discussed knitting or something to suit you.

meeeeh wrote: »
    That didn't bother me one bit.

You and your dad aren’t uncomfortable with women being depicted as shouty thickos with no class or dignity. That’s fine. Own it girl.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,938 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

you mean she was discussing things that you think should not be discussed in public?

There’s no need to be so disingenuous. They weren’t portrayed as discussing anything.

You and your dad aren’t uncomfortable with women being depicted as shouty thickos with no class or dignity. That’s fine. Own it girl.

what it is like living in 1972?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,488 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

gmisk wrote: »
    Shower gel is a lot easier to use than a tampon well done....
    Have you ever got shower gel in your eyes? It's no trivial matter.:D

There’s no need to be so disingenuous. They weren’t portrayed as discussing anything.

they were discussing how to use a brand of tampon that works differently to previous versions.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,654 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Vagina, menstrual bleeding, tampon, put it into your Vagina, get it up there, blood, period, sanitary, discomfort, bleed.

Do these words cause you to squirm and be uncomfortable ?

If so YOU have a problem, not everyone else.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

The Nal wrote: »
    Get it up there girls!

Whatever happened to discreet :o I hardly ever look at ads, just overhear them. And that shít sounded like a woman seizing the initiative in some hardcore geordie porn

• Registered Users Posts: 23,938 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

they were discussing how to use a brand of tampon that works differently to previous versions.

They weren’t? It was easily demonstrated with the animation that was shown during the advert without all the rest of the nonsense portraying women as though they’re a bunch of simpletons.

they were explaining something that wasn't immediately obvious to at least one poster here. maybe they have should have demurely discussed knitting or something to suit you.

I see. I’m trying to oppress my own sex when I say, like many of the rest of us, that I don’t want women portrayed as vulgar crass shouty oafs on the tv.
    It’s people like you that caused the advertising executives (who are mostly men btw) to think that that’s how women actually want to be depicted.
    You be a loudmouth harpie if you want, that’s your right. But clearly that’s not how most women see themselves.

Portrayed as really obnoxious. That's my biggest concern.

Showing that kind of behaviour on TV either in adverts or programming needs to stop as it just glorifies it.

If my kids thought they could speak like that about any topic, they would be severely punished

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

If it was a nasal stick and it said “get it up there lads” there’d be outrage. And rightly so

As I said in my first comment the content was fine.

They could have been discussing the weather, the manner in which they were discussing it was vulgar, crass cheap and nasty.

None of those words cause anyone any discomfort.
    An ad portraying women as a bunch of laughing hyenas aping a bunch of men on a building site is very uncomfortable however.
    Maybe not for you but for enough of viewers that the ad has been banned.

So you opinion of modern women is that they are all trampy loudmouth vulgar idiots.

You should be ashamed

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭feelings

FFS. I really thought Ireland had moved past this type of "I'm offended" rubbish. There is a pandemic with 700k dead and people are offended by a tampax advert? Cop the f**k on and get over yourself.

what it is like living in 1972?

You think all women are shouty thickos with no class or dignity? You do realise that’s very misogynistic?

I see. I’m trying to oppress my own sex when I say, like many of the rest of us, that I don’t want women portrayed as vulgar crass shouty oafs on the tv.
    It’s people like you that caused the advertising executives (who are mostly men btw) to think that that’s how women actually want to be depicted.
    You be a loudmouth harpie if you want, that’s your right. But clearly that’s not how most women see themselves.

Fantastic, thank you. We are not larger loutish idiots and have braincells

feelings wrote: »
    FFS. I really thought Ireland had moved past this type of "I'm offended" rubbish. There is a pandemic with 700k dead and people are offended by a tampax advert? Cop the f**k on and get over yourself.

I can’t be concerned for the pandemic and offended by a horrible depiction of women at the same time? Why not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭YellowBucket

Oh FFS. Seems we’re back to the prudish old days of a bygone Ireland.

Also it’ll be happily running on loads of U.K. channels that we all have anyway.

Well done the rosary bead clutchers - making Ireland look like a backwater again!

I don’t really like those complaints driven processes we have for broadcasting regulation. They’re easily driven to decisions by a few crackpots and now with social media that can easily be generated by a little bubble of outrage.

Periods, tampons and vaginas are hardly something to be offended by in 2020. It’s just practical reality.

You think all women are shouty thickos with no class or dignity? You do realise that’s very misogynistic?

no, i dont think that but i'm not going to get upset because an ad shows a woman that is a bit loud.

Fantastic, thank you. We are not larger loutish idiots and have braincells

I have no idea what you are training to say here.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I hope you missed my other replies because otherwise you have serious comprehension issues or you are intentionally selective in your quoting.

no, i dont think that but i'm not going to get upset because an ad shows a woman that is a bit loud.

A bit loud? Loud stupid vulgar crass thick. I’m not having it. The advertising standards aren’t having it either. Women 1 ad execs 0. Great result.

Where has the idea that the two women in the ad are “trampy” come from?

Oh FFS. Seems we’re back to the prudish old days of a bygone Ireland.

Also it’ll be happily running on loads of U.K. channels that we all have anyway.

Well done the rosary bead clutchers - making Ireland look like a backwater again!

Yes all us women who have been fighting for equality and to be treated with respect and dignity fully appreciate being portrayed as scumbags on tv