Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part V - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

theballz wrote: »
    Honestly, because they are insuring rules are being followed.

Chin up bro.

I think you missed the point.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

polesheep wrote: »
    It's all relative. If I were obese, damn right I'd be starving myself. I have friends who are smokers, they are scared sh*tless, but none of them have stopped smoking!

as a smoker I get an awful whiff of ****e off this despite my diminished sense of smell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

as a smoker I get an awful whiff of ****e off this despite my diminished sense of smell

Skin in the game Tony. One by one you all reveal yourselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,573 ✭✭✭Penfailed

polesheep wrote: »
    That's a fair old figure that you don't often quote penfailed.

I think you missed the point.

Don't believe anything everything Fintan posts.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,110 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Any hope of Dublin exiting level 3 any time soon?

• Registered Users Posts: 870 ✭✭✭xl500

Gael23 wrote: »
    Any hope of Dublin exiting level 3 any time soon?[

More Likely others parts of the country going to Level 3, not Dublin exiting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Gardai told the meeting of city and county councillors that they had closed down “35 house parties” off-campus in the Castletroy area, since last Sunday.

Gardai said that they found “in excess of 30 people” at each of the 35 parties.

https://www.thejournal.ie/limerick-student-parties-arrests-5222145-Oct2020/

You'd think we have no crime in Ireland...

They’ll go after those guys no problem but call them about scumbags setting off fireworks and fighting on the road and suddenly there’s no one available in the area. Despite being 5 minute walk from a Garda station.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,266 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

Penfailed wrote: »
    An information campaign?! Are you serious? It's information overload at the moment and has been for ages. Fear mongering I think some of you called it...

I don’t agree and posted that point before Donald ended up in hospital. There are people in at risk categories taking silly risks, I’ve seen this myself. They’re unaware they are more at risk from the virus than others. Their focus is still ‘We are all in this together’. The horror stories that Nphet wheel out keep focusing on the ‘in this together’ message which isn’t working.
    Donald Trump is a classic example, older, overweight and very open about the fact his diet is McDonald’s half the time...possibly other unknown risk factors also (rumours of stroke previously).

This is the way we should move forward for the winter. Allowing those not at risk out and to work&socialise. Look at Sweden, clear messaging and their population all followed the rules. They didn’t protect nursing home residents well at all but I think they did the restrictions for the general population the correct way ultimately.

As has been said over and over. The number Older and vulnerable people is too high and they are too intertwined with the rest of society for it to work. Everyone has to work together and all restrictions, isolation, etc need to be for everyone not just the act risk groups.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Fakediamond

Yes, to go to level 4.

• Registered Users Posts: 706 ✭✭✭manniot2

Give the lockdown merchants what they want- level 5 for 9 months. **** it, no point arguing at this stage just accept it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭walus

-5 death's today.

This ****ing virus is rising the dead

That could be an early sign of the beginning of a new pandemic - the rise of zombies. I’m very concerned. The next 10 days will be crucial. I hope level 5 lockdown will work this time. I’m dead serious btw, pardon the pun. ;)

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

• Registered Users Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭walus

Great to see so many cases with -5 deaths. It is bolstering the data that shows this is not harmful except for extremely old and (not "or") vulnerable.

Here's some reassuring data screenshot. In particular I would highlight worldometer and the 1m deaths it has logged as against 34m cases. That puts the headline figure at around 2/3%. Now, I saw in an article today that the WHO estimates that 750m of the population in the world have been infected with covid. I think it is widely acceptable that the actual recorded positive cases are way understated and deaths are more likely to be overstated. If not, let's just take these figures as they are, that gives a death rate of 0.13% from covid right now (and it is ever getting closer to 0). Even without a vaccine it is looking way less harmful than the flu!

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/covid-19-world-in-for-a-hell-of-a-ride-in-coming-months-dr-mike-ryan-says-1.4370626?mode=amp

Quite believable estimates. The Germans suggested, based on their studies, that the death rate could be close to 0.25%. The more data, the lower the error rate and more accurate estimation.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

• Registered Users Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

I am hoping it does as supposed to be going away with a few friends to Wexford. Looking unlikely though

• Registered Users Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I have yet to hear NPHET explicitly advise anyone to loose weight as a matter of urgency, especially so for those over 65.

How often do our NPHET experts encourage people to go for a walk, a cycle or a jog?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,456 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

They are ignoring guidelines which have been in acted to help protect everyone, why does that house or any one thing they are entitled to ignore these vitally important guidelines.

As you have no doubt seen the gardai will break up house gatherings so it is very obviously worth reporting.

I would also take photos and plaster them over social media and properly shame anyone with the selfishness and arrogance to have a house party or house gathering with multiple households, large numbers of people etc.

Aren't you that guy that travels into work despite being fully able to work from home?

Who are you to preach when you admit that you ignore guidelines yourself whenever it suits you?

Also, why do you ignore the guidelines regarding drink driving, aren't they there to protect other people?

Are you just a hypocrite?

Nox, whatever about spying and calling the gardai on your neighbors, scummy as it is...these boasts of splashing peoples names on social media is dangerous stuff.
    You never know who is , isn't, shouldn't be at those gatherings COVID aside. Your actions though motivated by publics safety in your opinion, would go beyond citizens duty. People have had their windows smashed, cars burnt and even legs broken for splashing information about the wrong people on social media.

I get that you like riling people up on this site, fair enough but this shyte talk of creating a one man campaign of name and shame against thy neighbor will end in tears. stupid talk altogether and you know it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,266 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

As has been said over and over. The number Older and vulnerable people is too high and they are too intertwined with the rest of society for it to work. Everyone has to work together and all restrictions, isolation, etc need to be for everyone not just the act risk groups.

This doesn’t make sense to me as currently the Restrictions apply to all. Obviously if you just apply to at risk groups it’s far less. I do wonder do these particular groups just not want to be left behind and so the All in this together mantra continues. It’s understandable to a degree but there are ways for these groups to get out and about while taking more precautions than others. It would also be ‘short term’ as the beloved lockdown people claim their approach would be, while the virus was circulating. Risk to these at risk groups would drop once virus transmission lessened in the general Population.
    It would allow low risk groups to help sustain jobs, companies, hotels, and many other industries over the winter by doing a more targeted approach.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,979 ✭✭✭✭JRant

There's no chance Dublin gets below level 3 before November. There's a bank holiday coming up and if we know one thing about NPHET it's that they are very concerned around bank holidays. Can't have people doing anything other than exactly what they are told.

Then we get into the Christmas period and they will be extremely concerned. People might meet family or friends, sure ya can't be doing that.

People need to realise that the numbers don't matter for any of this. Hospitalization, ICU, cases, positive rate of infection, how many magpies land in the CMO's garden, are all equal valid reasons for NPHET to advise for more severe restrictions as they see fit.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users Posts: 12,979 ✭✭✭✭JRant

This doesn’t make sense to me as currently the Restrictions apply to all. Obviously if you just apply to at risk groups it’s far less. I do wonder do these particular groups just not want to be left behind and so the All in this together mantra continues. It’s understandable to a degree but there are ways for these groups to get out and about while taking more precautions than others. It would also be ‘short term’ as the beloved lockdown people claim their approach would be, while the virus was circulating. Risk to these at risk groups would drop once virus transmission lessened in the general Population.
    It would allow low risk groups to help sustain jobs, companies, hotels, and many other industries over the winter by doing a more targeted approach.

We all heard McConkey on Primetime during the week. They want to go for ZeroCovid. It's the only game in town as far as they are concerned. Only 3 "short" months of lockdown he reckons and we'll be free of this covid for ever more. Remember Harris saying they knew restrictions could only be used for short periods of time, well that was 7 months ago and we've barely been out of them in all that time.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users Posts: 28,849 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I am convinced that nox is just another paddygreen. Posting increasingly bizarre stuff just to provoke a response

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    I am convinced that nox is just another paddygreen. Posting increasingly bizarre stuff just to provoke a response

Paddy is funny and is clearly pulling the piss. Nox is a troll. His posting history proves that. Imagine trying to argue drinking alcohol while driving is ok and appealling a ban for saying such.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

If hes not a troll its a man losing his mind

Paddy is funny and is clearly pulling the piss. Nox is a troll. His posting history proves that. Imagine trying to argue drinking alcohol while driving is ok and appealling a ban for saying such.

I've no time for either of them TBH. I don't get these attention-seeking "comedy" posters that litter threads at all. Keep that nonsense to AH where it belongs

Anyway...

Mandatory mask-wearing was due to expire on the 5th I read on one of these threads. Has it been extended does anyone know?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

Penfailed wrote: »
    We're in the middle of a pandemic. If the guards didn't do anything they'd have a lot of questions to answer. Five people arrested too.

The year was 2024, daily corona virus cases just reached all time low of 2 a day in Ireland, Penfailed was still posting on boards "we are in a middle of a pandemic" :rolleyes:

daft

• Registered Users Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

I've no time for either of them TBH. I don't get these attention-seeking "comedy" posters that litter threads at all. Keep that nonsense to AH where it belongs

Anyway...

Mandatory mask-wearing was due to expire on the 5th I read on one of these threads. Has it been extended does anyone know?

How can they justify extending it? Cases went up since 10th of August.... from 5 - 15 a day, to 300 - 450 a day.

You ll see all the happy seals posting now "yeah but if masks werent introduced cases would be over 1000 a day now" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭robbiezero

DellyBelly wrote: »
    I am hoping it does as supposed to be going away with a few friends to Wexford. Looking unlikely though

If it was me I'd go. I think you will be waiting quite a long while otherwise. Just dont lick the locals.

DellyBelly wrote: »

It's all only advisory anyway. Make your own decisions based on the people/"risk" involved

Was on the weekly zoom call with the lads last night myself and we're planning a get together in January. Not because we're worried about CV-19 but because it's probably the first weekend we're all free between now and then.

Anyway...

I’m not attention seeking or a “comedy” poster I’m giving my real opinions the same ones I give in real life, in WhatsApp group arguments etc.

It’s exceptionally annoying to have you opinions dismissed as trolling etc even more so when the opinions are actually the mainstream, majority opinion and that of the experts. Like it’s you and a few others in here that are in the minority and bar one or two posters who are definitely trolling I don’t believe most are even if I do disagree with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,874 ✭✭✭acequion

I’m not attention seeking or a “comedy” poster I’m giving my real opinions the same ones I give in real life, in WhatsApp group arguments etc.

It’s exceptionally annoying to have you opinions dismissed as trolling etc even more so when the opinions are actually the mainstream, majority opinion and that of the experts. Like it’s you and a few others in here that are in the minority and bar one or two posters who are definitely trolling I don’t believe most are even if I do disagree with them.

And how do you know for a fact that it's "mainstream majority opinion"? Oh yes it's mainstream, majority opinion in Govt, NPHET and mainstream media but they don't constitute the entire population of Ireland? There is increasing evidence that your mainstream, majority opinion is in fact propaganda which is being ignored by more and more people as time goes on as the evidence is showing. So your minority one or two [or 20] posters here may actually be expressing what many people are increasingly feeling.

And in many ways it's regrettable. You need people on board to be responsible and not take unnecessary risks and get this thing to manageable levels so that we can all live again. But the constant hysteria, scaremongering and finger wagging propaganda has turned people right off and has backfired spectacularly, especially among the young.