Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part V - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users Posts: 18,583 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Jizique wrote: »
    Do you know how many flights are hitting Dublin daily compared to last year?

I do. The information is freely available as are passenger numbers.
    If you haven't gotten my point at this stage nothing I say will help you get it unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,771 ✭✭✭hynesie08

They have tiny numbers of cases and deaths though and that’s their priority and should be our priority also.

They tanked their economy for zero covid and couldn't manage it, not a situation we should be replicating......

• Registered Users Posts: 28,476 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

So restaurants and pubs are allowed to open under level 3? But just not in dublin/donegal level 3?

Where does this come from?

Won't they all be closed all over the country except for outdoor or takeaway service?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Never bother with pubs but I haven't been in a restaurant or cafe or even bothered with takeout since last Christmas and I'm surviving.

What the hell is it with people and their insurance on going to pubs, or travelling unnecessarily during this pandemic?

The way some went on until pubs reopened you'd think their lives depended on it.

We so have off licences. Even supermarkets that sell alcohol.

If your mental health is dependent on going to/meeting others in a pub then you're in a sorry state.

• Registered Users Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Rrrrrr2

sligeach wrote: »
    There are sections on this island that are complete ¥0$$€r$, don't care, have never cared, no doubt didn’t watch the Taoiseach's speech just now. It won't change their attitude. I could say cop on here, but, they won't be frequenting sites like this.

I didn’t watch the Taoiseach either- I’ve heard it all before, it’s all been tried before, none of it works. An utter waste of time and money we now don’t have.
    Feel free to disagree with any of that but it’s the cold hard reality. If lockdowns worked we wouldn’t be repeating them, over and over. Nothing Martin has to say will change that.
    This is an endemic respiratory virus that can’t be controlled by endless daily press conferences and every other futile measures they politically try to foist upon us.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,571 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Donald Trump feels like he's in his 50s.

Never felt better

Hahaha! He also said, back when he had his medical before the presidency, that the doctor told him that he couldn't believe how fit he was. Fittest president ever. Believe me.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

Never bother with pubs but I haven't been in a restaurant or cafe or even bothered with takeout since last Christmas and I'm surviving.

What the hell is it with people and their insurance on going to pubs, or travelling unnecessarily during this pandemic?

The way some went on until pubs reopened you'd think their lives depended on it.

If your mental health is dependent on going to/meeting others in a pub then you're in a sorry state.

Some people enjoy the food, drink and socialising. These are things that keep people going. Just because you do none of these doesn’t give you the right to take them away or ridicule their importance for others.
    I find your kind of dismissive attitude a hell of a lot more distasteful tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

Actually, its more of an epidemic in Ireland, not a pandemic.

(Penfailed style post)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

"look at me I hate the pub and I'm tight as a ducks arse so eat and drink at home, why is everyone else not like me?"

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭greengrass88

murpho999 wrote: »
    Where does this come from?

Won't they all be closed all over the country except for outdoor or takeaway service?

See this https://www.athboyfamilypractice.com/2020/09/novel-coronavirus/

Says in level 3 that pubs cafes and restaurants are open with additional restrictions for indoor dining. When you look at level 4 it says 15 people for outdoor only - based on this dublin would be on level 4 in terms of bars/cafes/restaurants

• Registered Users Posts: 5,862 ✭✭✭daheff

You're clearly an introvert or somewhere in the middle of the range. The kind of social isolation you're describing is the kind of social isolation which legitimately leads to extremely serious mental health crises and self harm among extroverts

Plenty of ways for people to talk with others so they are not isolated. Ever heard of the telephone, email, zoom,FaceTime, WhatsApp,Skype etc???

While it's not the same as in person, it's not isolation.

daheff wrote: »
    Plenty of ways for people to talk with others so they are not isolated. Ever heard of the telephone, email, zoom,FaceTime, WhatsApp,Skype etc???

While it's not the same as in person, it's not isolation.

These are all jaded boring rubbish at this stage. People enjoy and need physical human interaction. And it isn’t obligatory either, if you’re uncomfortable you don’t have to partake

• Registered Users Posts: 8,378 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Claire Byrnes only visible talent is asking a question, interrupting the answer and also answering the question at the same time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭eleventh

a scamdemic, technically

Leo has fired Tony under a bus here.

He wont do that again

Tony I mean, that leak last night was criminal

He cant hold the country to ransom

• Registered Users Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭snowcat

Leo has fired Tony under a bus here.

He wont do that again

Tony and nphet getting a right dressing down. Proper order. Well done Leo.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,157 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

See this https://www.athboyfamilypractice.com/2020/09/novel-coronavirus/

Says in level 3 that pubs cafes and restaurants are open with additional restrictions for indoor dining. When you look at level 4 it says 15 people for outdoor only - based on this dublin would be on level 4 in terms of bars/cafes/restaurants

The level 3 additional restrictions for indoor dining/drinking is outdoor dining/drinking instead, limited to 15 people. From midnight tomorrow any restaurant/pub that can't facilitate this will be effectively closed.

snowcat wrote: »
    Tony and nphet getting a right dressing down. Proper order. Well done Leo.

very well done Leo, sounding like a boss! Finally:)

Fair play to Leo!!! Excellent stuff!

very well done Leo, sounding like a boss! Finally:)

He was very articulate.

Held no punches

• Registered Users Posts: 544 ✭✭✭agoodpunt

resignations NPHET clowns people dont trust you, got away with trollies before covid 19 well done Leo tonight

• Registered Users Posts: 48,212 ✭✭✭✭km79

Grandeeod wrote: »
    The level 3 additional restrictions for indoor dining/drinking is outdoor dining/drinking instead, limited to 15 people. From midnight tomorrow any restaurant/pub that can't facilitate this will be effectively closed.

It’s all so confusing !
    What about hotels ? It says “services “ are for residents only
    Are the bar and restaurants “services “?
    Is indoor dining therefore allowed ? We have a 2 day break booked in our own county in a coupe of weeks .
    If the restaurant and bar are open to residents we might still go
    Sounds like it will be nice and quiet !

Rrrrrr2 wrote: »
    Some people enjoy the food, drink and socialising. These are things that keep people going. Just because you do none of these doesn’t give you the right to take them away or ridicule their importance for others.
    I find your kind of dismissive attitude a hell of a lot more distasteful tbh

And I did all of these things, multiple times most weeks proper to the virus outbreak but I’m doing just fine without them until it’s safe to do so again.

We even managed without takeaway from March to June and did all our own cooking again from people who got takeaway twice most weeks. The off-licences never closed either and I’d say I’ve single handedly filled one of the brown glass bottle banks such is the amount of beer I’ve gone through since early March all without setting foot in a pub. I love the pub but I have no problem staying away until the pandemic is over.

Hahaha Sam is on now

Lord jeasus

Talking about the underworld

• Registered Users Posts: 28,476 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

agoodpunt wrote: »
    resignations NPHET clowns people dont trust you, got away with trollies before covid 19 well done Leo tonight

Resignations for having a different opinion to the government?

Seriously, that's not how things work.

The leak last night was wrong and they've clearly had their knuckles wrapped.

Government have taken a chance today but not following their advice but if the government have gotten it wrong then they may end up following their advice in the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,157 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

km79 wrote: »
    It’s all so confusing !
    What about hotels ? It says “services “ are for residents only
    Are the bar and restaurants “services “?
    Is indoor dining therefore allowed ? We have a 2 day break booked in our own county in a coupe of weeks .
    If the restaurant and bar are open to residents we might still go
    Sounds like it will be nice and quiet !

According to Level 3 restrictions, Hotel guests are limited to "essential" guests and not "leisure" guests. They'll be in touch with you or you should get in touch with them to clarify.

• Registered Users Posts: 48,212 ✭✭✭✭km79

Grandeeod wrote: »
    According to Level 3 restrictions, Hotel guests are limited to "essential" guests and not "leisure" guests. They'll be in touch with you or you should get in touch with them to clarify.

That’s the decision made so

• Registered Users Posts: 9,987 ✭✭✭normanoffside

Thank feck for that show tonight. Finally a bit of sanity returned to the governance of the country.

(Penfailed style post)

Who's being a díck to who again?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

eleventh wrote: »
    a scamdemic, technically

Conspiracy thread >>>