Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How will schools be able to go back in September? (Continued)

1322323324325326328»

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

Mrsmum wrote: »
    Personally I think for the sake of the economy and for schools, people need to cop on and behave way better than they are doing.

Who are “people”? Honest question, Irish people? Or people who are in and out of our open airports and uncontrolled northern border which has separate policy with an exceptionally high infection rate? Who is “people”?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

Who are “people”? Honest question, Irish people? Or people who are in and out of our open airports and uncontrolled northern border which has separate policy with an exceptionally high infection rate? Who is “people”?

All of us, myself included.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 962 ✭✭✭irishblessing

"Primary teachers' union the INTO said that should the country be taken to Level 5 this week, it demands an immediate review of the public health landscape for schools.

It said such a review must determine if it is safe for schools to stay open."

https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/1004/1169272-coronarvirus-ireland/

• Registered Users Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭combat14

was wondering would teaching unions accept their workers going into schools with minimal to zero protection when rest of country shut down ..

we will have to wait and see ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 838 ✭✭✭The_Brood

We're about to be put to the sword thanks to parents and schools and the government. This should never, ever be forgiven.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭jrosen

I would think if schools stay open and everything else doesnt then perhaps it would be safer as everyones contacts will be slashed. But how can teachers work?
    In the last 24 hours ive heard of 3 large family gatherings for communions. Bouncy castle the works and a case of a student going on a school trip while they were awaiting test results. Its decisions like this that are causing spikes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭jrosen

I would think if schools stay open and everything else doesnt then perhaps it would be safer as everyones contacts will be slashed. But how can teachers work?
    In the last 24 hours ive heard of 3 large family gatherings for communions. Bouncy castle the works and a case of a student going on a school trip while they were awaiting test results. Its decisions like this that are causing spikes.

• Registered Users Posts: 132 ✭✭niamh247

"people" are the ones who force the schools to remain open, defying all logic.

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scoondal

Teachers can work and take inspiration from our supermarket staff who have continued to work since March .
    This is not a time for excuses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Smacruairi

Why do you make this point and ignore all the alterations and changes made to retail outlets, every single time. Like, what gives?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 962 ✭✭✭irishblessing

Scoondal wrote: »
    Teachers can work and take inspiration from our supermarket staff who have continued to work since March .

You're comparing apples and oranges. Not even close to the same environment or conditions.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Let's do what supermarkets do and restrict the amount of people allowed in a confined space. Fair is fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭Hand in Your Pants

yer wan on the south westerlies is cute, i wood definitely show her my north pole, anybody else watching?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭Beanybabog

If the goal is to get numbers down schools should close. They can reopen them first and see how things go, but if they are really going to go for level 5 they may as well go full lockdown for the shortest period possible

• Registered Users Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭alroley

I'll gladly take inspiration from them.

Can teachers work behind a screen, have all others in the room wear masks and only have reduced numbers in the building?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭ruwithme

Yeah,let's close the schools and put the staff on the pup.I'm sure they would only be closed for 2weeks anyway.

I'll gladly take inspiration from supermarket workers.

Can teachers work behind a screen, have all others in the room wear masks and only have reduced numbers in the building?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭ruwithme

Yeah no comparison between classrooms and supermarkets for working in. A different tom,dick and harry every minute of the working day arriving in.school's same children day in day out and their not even mixing with other classrooms.

Oh but we better not chance it though cause we are a special class of employees.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

alroley wrote: »
    I'll gladly take inspiration from supermarket workers.

Yet lets not forget your Tesco til worker is ‘front line staff’ who should be applauded for their efforts and sacrifice...yet teachers are moany lazy good for nothings who just want more pay and less work.

As an aside, can the thread title not be changed? Schools/teachers went back to work in August officially but an awful lot of them worked long before September also.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,431 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Most workers would love to be in a situation, given every other profession was locked down, to have an exception made for them to allow them to continue.

Some other ones might feel that they are worn out after doing 4 weeks back from a 6 month break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Thierry12

Schools open in September

Country in full lockdown in October

Good job lads

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 285 ✭✭TexasTornado

They'll have to close the schools now. It's madness keeping them open as it's become obvious they are a major spreader. Close them now for 2 weeks and forget about the Halloween break this year.

ruwithme wrote: »
    Yeah no comparison between classrooms and supermarkets for working in. A different tom,dick and harry every minute of the working day arriving in.school's same children day in day out and their not even mixing with other classrooms.

Oh but we better not chance it though cause we are a special class of employees.

What are the chances you are going to be within 1-2m of someone for over 15 mins in a supermarket?

Oh and they're mixing classes in secondary schools.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭Beanybabog

On the government website if you go to level 5 it says schools open, but the picture version of restrictions says “recommendations based on situation and evidence at the time”. Is that always the way it was ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭mirrorwall14

Beanybabog wrote: »
    On the government website if you go to level 5 it says schools open, but the picture version of restrictions says “recommendations based on situation and evidence at the time”. Is that always the way it was ?

After some outcry when it was first published they changed it to the recommendations line. However there’s no other plan anywhere. The DES seem to have been more interested in having repurposing the inspectorate to covid inspectors than actually planning for any eventualities.

But I’m sure they’ll have a circular for us at 6 o clock next Friday. Or a few weeks after we go to level 5. They have form....

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,138 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty