Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Celtic FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2024/25

• Registered Users Posts: 5,322 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Lucky to only lose by 2. Shot ourselves in the foot in the 2nd half. Seeing it again Lagerbeilke unlucky to get a 2nd yellow but Holm was an idiotic challenge.

Some very poor performances with Hatate and Palma being the standouts but McGregor also poor and when he's not driving the team we always struggle. Scales had a very good game.

Really issue is the poor recruitment over the summer, didn't bring in any experienced players. Players like Yang, Holm, Palma aren't ready for this level

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭markw7

The recruitment issue is kind of where we have to be placed tbh in the modern game.

We get them in young, build them up and sell for a profit to Premier League or whoever the highest bidder is.

Once the lads we get in beat the other lot to the title and a cup more often than not, the board will be happy.

I'm not defending them, thats just the reality - win the league as cheaply as possible and let the other lot drown in debt trying to catch us.

I've no problem with the idea of us buying young players, developing them and selling on but feel we haven't stepped this up as the fees we receive have risen.

We should be consistently improving the quality of players we are bringing in but this summer feels like a backwards step. Jota has gone and the replacements look to be miles off even though the money was available to get a bit more quality.

I think we also need to be bringing the odd player with a bit of experience to mix with the youth especially when it comes to European games.

Fully agree, need a better mix of established players coupled with youth.

I just think we've been priced out of the market almost with the amount of money sloshing around. The hunger for young talent with potential is only increasing in clubs across Europe with the Saudis buying players all sides.

Once the shareholders aren't extracting wealth a la Man Utd and invest in the best that will come and put in a shift along with updating the facilities/infrastructure I'm happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

It’s fine to be financially prudent, in fact it’s important to be like that but the yearly financial results were released yesterday and there’s 72million sitting in the bank. Peter Lawwell in a statement with the accounts being released said the club needs to keep a “buffer” in the bank for years that we don’t get to the Champions League.

Managers and players come and go and some are better than others and try their best. However essentially as a club when it comes to Europe (which is where we should be aiming to test ourselves) we prepare for failure.

The opportunity is there for Celtic as the biggest club in Scotland to claim a place at the Champions League table. We need to be more ambitious though because the way we operate behind the scenes we don’t deserve to be there and as the CL continues to evolve we won’t be in it.

We're in an enviable position as top dog in our league no doubt, but as evidenced in the summer - we're at the mercy of bigger clubs in better leagues or clubs with deep pockets in emerging leagues.

I'm resigned to us being in a constant state of flux tbh due to consistent loss of talent/management. If we do well in Champions League, players, coaches and other staff will move on and we're left scrambling to replace.

The obvious answer is plan ahead in advance of this, what happens though if we miss out on Europe or disgrace ourselves like last night and are left with players draining our coffers through ever increasing wages.

I don't even know what my point is tbh, we are almost destined to fail in Europe and dominate domestically.

Hail, Hail!!!

How will we miss out on Europe and the CL funding if we’re the top team in Scotland? We should be taking advantage of that position instead we continue to hedge our bets in case of what? That we don’t win the league in Scotland one time out of ten?

Lawwell and his influence has been there too long. They’re not fit for purpose. We’re not moving with the European project. We’ll eventually become irrelevant and they’ll find a way to squeeze us out of the CL. We don’t deserve to be in it because we don’t as a club have the ambition and drive to modernise and take our place in the Champions League. The opportunity is there but the ambition isn’t there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭Pogue eile

Bit OTT to say we disgraced ourselves last night, we were the better team in the first half and I saw absolutely nothing to suggest that with anywhere close to a full squad we will take 3 points in the return leg. Feyenoord are a top team and we went toe to toe with them up until the very soft sending off of who is probably now our 4th or even 5th choice Centre Back. Johnson continues to flourish and I thought was the best player in the pitch last night, Scales has been a huge bonus. It's not all doom and gloom to be fair and as I said at the beginning far from disgraced ourselves.

I agree 100% with all that, just cognisant of what happens to clubs that chase European glory and splurge.

Is the CL spot baked in now with the changes next year or could Scotland slide down with a poor co-efficient and leave us with qualifiers even if 1st in the league?

Ya disgrace is too strong on reflection, twas a naive performance at best in second half and the injuries have taken their toll too.

Brendan needs to lean on the more experienced in the group, was surprised to see Holm on ahead of Turnbull last night. He could have started Forrest instead of Palma as well maybe and bring him on in second half to ease him into it. Benefit of hindsight though and all that.

It's there for next year with no qualifiers. If Celtic as a club take it seriously they could become a permanent fixture club in the CL. It won't happen with the attitude that Peter Lawwell has. All he cares about is the current finances. Celtic could try a lot harder to become a better CL club without breaking the bank. There's 72 million sitting in the coffers apparently. If they're not spending it on players, upgrade the stadium and facilities. At least make an effort to be a CL club and not some two bob outfit from a backwater. If UEFA continue to modify the Champions League and Celtic get squeezed out they've no one to blame but Peter Lawwell and his minions.

The players tried hard, the manager set us up well. Scales was good and Johnston as you say. A few players were overawed by the occasion but they might improve with experience. You're right to say it's ott to say the performance was a disgrace, the board at Celtic though are a disgrace. They continuously let the football side of the club and supporters down.

• Registered Users Posts: 254 ✭✭dom40

im still raging after last nite,they conned the ref from the start with their carry on,and the useless ref obliged.we were well in this game until the goal we conceeded at the end of the 1st half,i though Joe should have saved it but the wall done him no favours (kyogo)rte also said the wall was ilegal with their players at it,the penalty was an absolute joke,fair play to Joe on stopping one for a change.sendings off really done us altogether again very harsh.Before the game i was hoping for a draw at least but not to be,im still positive that we can get something out of this group if we are a bit more clever and a bit more streetwise against these cheating european teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,049 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Feyenoord are not a top team. Not when compared to most top 20 cl teams. Watching the game it was the standard of a EL or a Conference League game , not a CL one.

Dutch league is a poor standard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,296 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

They may be, but watching them, they are not a top European team any more.

The Dutch league is probably being ranked higher by uefa that it is actually at in reality. Based on history. IMHO, it's standard has dropped a lot in the last few years.

Saying they are a top European side is trying to equate them to City, Madrid or Munich and such teams. They are miles off that top level.

1 up against Livingston, Hatate wins and converts a penalty.

These plastic pitch games are a hard watch, so scrappy. Hopefully no injuries will be added to the list.

Ah FFS, Hart sent off with stupid attempt for the ball just outside the box.

Definite red - idiotic from the defence and Hart

O'Riley puts us two clear now with only 10 men, great start to second half! Good cross from Kyogo.

That is an important goal from O'Riley :)

What a lovely goal from Maeda in the last minute to make it 3

Fantastic goal from Maeda, great win in the end after a nervy end to the first half.

We seriously need to get a better back-up to Hart, that Bain is a liability. His decision making and awareness is nowhere near good enough, third choice is what he should be.

Great win at what can be a tricky venue in the circumstances. Brendan’s experience of the SPL is proving important while we get through these games waiting for Carter Vickers to return and some of the new signings to hopefully start to settle in to the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭crossman47

Thought Maeda was brilliant. He did the work of two men so it never looked like 11 v 10.

He’s got a great work ethic Maeda. What he lacks in quality as regards composure when in on goal he more than makes up for in his value to the team. If he could be more clinical he’d be a top drawer striker.

2 massive CL games coming up in Oct.

Having seen a bit of Lazio this week, I'd fancy winning that game.

Perhaps not so much the Atleti game, they looked very good against Real, but did benefit from terrible Real marking for the 3 goals. And they gave up a lot of chances, which Real couldn't capitalise on.

It'll all come down to how the defence fares. Its not instilling a lot of confidence at present.

Good chance CCV and Nawrocki will be back from injury by the Atletico game, but match fitness will be an issue.

We have a really good chance of beating Lazio, the make-shift defence might be clicking more by then hopefully.

Hatate (5 years) and now O'Reilly (4 years) signing new contracts is great news. All of our key players are on long deals now which is something we struggled to do previously.

Hopefully we'll get the recruitment right in the next few windows and we could have a really strong team

Palma gets a beauty for his first Celtic goal, Motherwell have defended really well today.

Motherwell score from a feckin throw-in, lack of concentration from us again. O'Riley with a goal at the back post, finishes 2-1.

All the action in the last 10 minutes

Two great goals from Palma and O'Riley

Nice 1. Perfect day

Been brilliant work since Brendan’s return. Picking up vital points while key players have been out injured and the new signings haven’t gelled yet or perhaps aren’t good enough.

Big tie at home v Lazio in the CL coming up and that’s where the quality is needed to compete at that level. No complaints about today and the domestic season so far under difficult circumstances with Brendan.

Fantastic goal from Kyogo to put Celtic 1 up

Hatate punched in the face and the ref and VAR do f all. I demand a replay if Celtic lose this one

Very even half, we had some great spells and it was an excellent team goal finished by Kyogo.

Yang has been poor, getting plenty of the ball but decision making and passing has been awful at times. Hatate hasn't been great either but seemed to improve as the half went on

We looked really sharp in the first 20 mins....passing and movement both really good.

Then we lose concentration yet again and concede from a feckin set-piece.

What use is VAR if a player gets punched on purpose in the face and nothing done? Absolute farce - we get nothing from these refs in European games.

How an earth was that not a high boot against the Lazio player? O'Riley is about 6 foot 1 or 2

Poor Hatate, kicked in the face on Saturday to be punched tonight.

Ah for f**k sake!! Didn't deserve that and a hint of offside.

Might get a replay

Only Celtic can do that

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

Need to see that goal again not sure how there wasn’t even a check on it?

Showed the VAR check on TNT and he was onside, so disappointing to lose that game.

That was a sickener after a fairly good performance, especially in the second half when there was only one team looking to win the game. Next one a must win now at home to Atletico who are probably the best team in the Group.

Think that was the nail in the coffin for chances of 3rd in the group.

I think Lazio probably worst team of the 3, and best chance of 3pts at home.

Atleti ate playing well, can't see Celtic getting anything from that game.

Celtic need to call this out - the guy attempted to elbow Hatate, missed then punched him in the face... all missed by the officials

We got two red cards in Rotterdam and rightly so but that there was also red and would have hugely influenced the game at the time it happened. Yes the club should be questioning how VAR failed there.

Hatate puts us ahead at home to Killie with a nice finish, deservedly so after 20 mins of constant pressure.

Palma with an absolute beauty of a goal, this lad looks promising.