Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings part 4 - Read OP before posting - updated 30/12/23

• Registered Users Posts: 591 ✭✭✭White lighting

Christopher Slater

The Whistleblower has for a long time named him as the second lad that tried to shoot the Monk with Cumberton

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭tobeme2020

UUJ_Lad wrote: »
    Spot on. Ryan upset an awful lot of people during his time. As someone else commented, proper Republicans you never hear of. He was caught at a training camp when he was younger, he was a marked man from that moment on, battering dealers wasn't going to help.....there is always someone bigger than you.

Ryan was a criminal, he fell in love with the notoriety and that's what had him clipped. A far cry from his earlier philosophical days of refusing to call junkies, junkies instead referring to them as victims.

The brother driving over Kelly's head? They had no chance of lasting.

Was it AR brother who drove over his head. Why did he do this.

Cute Hoor wrote: »
    He is wanted in England for the 'road accident' on April 15th 2020, he is wanted for the Limerick murder in 2003

Sorry. I must have read it the wrong way.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,768 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

tobeme2020 wrote: »
    Was it AR brother who drove over his head. Why did he do this.

To kill him presumably.

P.Walnuts wrote: »
    To kill him, presumably.

Ireland is a scary place when you hear of incidents like this.

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭UUJ_Lad

Someone who knows a bit more than me might be able to tell the circumstances, not sure if it was intentional or not to be honest. Kelly was gunned down in broad daylight, might have been collateral damage in the quick getaway. But I'd have hardly thought so knowing the Ryans.

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭gangstergossip

Happy Christmas lads the champers is flowing slater have a nice Christmas with eamo its the first of many. Two muppet should of walked away when yous had the chance after lanzarote but yous got to greedy look what happened your brother eamo when you got nicked cancer took his passport and held him ransom in Spain incase you ratted him up then he topped himself couldn't handle cancers bullying still one more to go for the barr murder boys keep running and Roddy your bird Lesley as a spotter in the sunset house that night yous would want to hope she keeps her mouth shut

• Registered Users Posts: 987 ✭✭✭Pinoy adventure

Happy Christmas lads the champers is flowing slater have a nice Christmas with eamo its the first of many. Two muppet should of walked away when yous had the chance after lanzarote but yous got to greedy look what happened your brother eamo when you got nicked cancer took his passport and held him ransom in Spain incase you ratted him up then he topped himself couldn't handle cancers bullying still one more to go for the barr murder boys keep running and Roddy your bird Lesley as a spotter in the sunset house that night yous would want to hope she keeps her mouth shut

Welcome back.
    Cabra will be a better place with that snake banged up.word has it gardener is on the brown big time in the joy

• Registered Users Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Eyes1

Where is Roddy the ginger b@stard

• Registered Users Posts: 27 MagoP

UUJ_Lad wrote: »
    Spot on. Ryan upset an awful lot of people during his time. As someone else commented, proper Republicans you never hear of. He was caught at a training camp when he was younger, he was a marked man from that moment on, battering dealers wasn't going to help.....there is always someone bigger than you.

Ryan was a criminal, he fell in love with the notoriety and that's what had him clipped. A far cry from his earlier philosophical days of refusing to call junkies, junkies instead referring to them as victims.

The brother driving over Kelly's head? They had no chance of lasting.

Never understood how Big still around if it was him behind it. Did Ryan not have a load of brothers? Would have thought they'd be out for his blood.

• Registered Users Posts: 192 ✭✭Alliance123

MagoP wrote: »
    Never understood how Big still around if it was him behind it. Did Ryan not have a load of brothers? Would have thought they'd be out for his blood.

Family of complete fools

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭UUJ_Lad

MagoP wrote: »

Might be out for blood but they didn't have anyway to hurt those type of guys. By that stage they had moved onto a different level, just none of us knew.

Ryan being taken out signified the rise of the Drug Gangs. Wasn't until Ryan was clipped the game was up for the bastard versions of the IRA and they were eclipsed, basically they lost their fear factor. Something really unthinkable even as close as the 2000s I suppose.

The bastard IRAs were shown for what they were, in the South anyway, all bark no bite. Ryan was given a military funeral for PR purposes. Obviously the Real IRA in the North would have the capability to wage some kind of war if Ryan was worth it. But the fact there was no instant retaliation said it all. Ryan was good at bringing in money because he was a hard unit at one point, but that was all he was good for, once he started creaming off the top and the money stopped going North like apparently it had. He was finished. All he had was the family and his local lackeys.

• Registered Users Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Eyes1

It’s quite simple the RIRA are nothing to fear anymore.

Drugs brings in unlimited cash and with that you can get things done.

No more keeping the paramilitaries sweet with bungs. You can just tell them to f*** off now if you’re an established drug gang.

Ryan dined out on the name of the RIRA but where did it get him? Pushing up the daisies. Unlucky.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,768 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Wasn't Eammon Kelly killed as token retribution?

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭PLATOBONG

P.Walnuts wrote: »
    Wasn't Eammon Kelly killed as token retribution?

Wasnt Kelly one of the first to bring in a large shipment of coke in early 90's, coke wasnt even popular then. It was more heroin, hash and pills around that time.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Discojay1307

Eyes1 wrote: »
    It’s quite simple the RIRA are nothing to fear anymore.

Drugs brings in unlimited cash and with that you can get things done.

No more keeping the paramilitaries sweet with bungs. You can just tell them to f*** off now if you’re an established drug gang.

Ryan dined out on the name of the RIRA but where did it get him? Pushing up the daisies. Unlucky.

Spot on they can’t get away with bullying anymore they’re full of informants and the up and comings just couldn’t care

Everyone bleeds as they say.

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭Random Account

Merry Christmas to yous all. Hope tomorrow goes well.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,654 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Anyone know how many gangland murders we had in 2020. Im thinking it was a relatively quiet year but the murders were high profile like KMW and Lawlor. Other than that Thomas McCartney shot in Ballymun back in July, was there any others? 2020 was probably more about a lot of players getting sent to prison, the Gardai were putting more and more away every few months in the Special Criminal Court.

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭PLATOBONG

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Anyone know how many gangland murders we had in 2020. Im thinking it was a relatively quiet year but the murders were high profile like KMW and Lawlor. Other than that Thomas McCartney shot in Ballymun back in July, was there any others? 2020 was probably more about a lot of players getting sent to prison, the Gardai were putting more and more away every few months in the Special Criminal Court.

I think you got it right there , just the three KMW, R. Lawlor, & T Mc Carthy. there was a few non fatal shootings. Cl darndale , and someone in Bray couple weekends back..
    (Havent included the 6 counties)

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭Thesiger

Yeah just those three, and Lawlor was outside the jurisdiction. Must be smallest number since the early 90s. Although according to someone on here your man Wolverson could be turned off any minute which would add another one.

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭Thesiger

According to this it’s the quietist year since 1998 when there were two gangland murders - https://ganglandireland.wordpress.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 8,032 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

This year has been a massive victory for good over evil, the Gardai have done a huge job in securing the convictions of so many murderers for hire that there are literally none left to do the bidding of the greedy scum.

I'd say slowly but surely they are working their way up the ladder and it's only a matter of time before the guys at the very top who orchestrated all this will be staring at the four walls wondering how it all went wrong.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Beltby

This year has been a massive victory for good over evil, the Gardai have done a huge job in securing the convictions of so many murderers for hire that there are literally none left to do the bidding of the greedy scum.

I'd say slowly but surely they are working their way up the ladder and it's only a matter of time before the guys at the very top who orchestrated all this will be staring at the four walls wondering how it all went wrong.

If you think there are no hit men left, you are badly mistaken. That's not to say they aren't known. I know one who has a checkpoint at his cul de sac regularly.

Beltby wrote: »
    If you think there are no hit men left, you are badly mistaken. That's not to say they aren't known. I know one who has a checkpoint at his cul de sac regularly.

He's not much good as a hit man so is he unless you want someone living in his cul de sac shot.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Beltby

He's not much good as a hit man so is he unless you want someone living in his cul de sac shot.

You said there's literally none left. I know of one. I'm sure there's more. You would be surprised what people will do for money.

Beltby wrote: »
    You said there's literally none left. I know of one. I'm sure there's more. You would be surprised what people will do for money.

Here, I'm going to leave you and the hit man get on with whatever it is ye do that has somehow resulted in him confiding in you what he does and you not worrying about posting about it on the biggest public forum in Ireland.

Have a great Christmas the two of ye.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,017 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Here, I'm going to leave you and the hit man get on with whatever it is ye do that has somehow resulted in him confiding in you what he does and you not worrying about posting about it on the biggest public forum in Ireland.

Have a great Christmas the two of ye.

I need someone whacked 2 doors up :)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,654 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Thesiger wrote: »
    According to this it’s the quietist year since 1998 when there were two gangland murders - https://ganglandireland.wordpress.com/

Good list and yeah it confirms that 2020 has been a quiet year with only three gangland murders compared to 10 in 2019. When KMW happened in January you'd have been forgiven for thinking it would be a very bloody year but it didnt turn out that way.

It was definitely a good year for the Gardai though, it seemed like every couple of months there were putting more and more away. In the Kinahan plot to murder Patsy Hutch they secured convictions against nine members of the sub cell totaling over 80 years, that was their largest single hit but they had a good few others with smaller numbers too. 2020 also the year that gangland realises using luxury cars to launder money no longer works, CAB seized some amount of vehicles this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Cute Hoor

2020 also the year that gangland realises using luxury cars to launder money no longer works, CAB seized some amount of vehicles this year.

Some of the CAB seizures this year, I'm sure there were lots more

16th January
    CARS, LUXURY WATCHES and around €4,000 in cash have been seized following searches in Dublin and Kildare this morning.
    Five searches were carried out by the Criminal Assets Bureau (CAB) at three residential properties (one in Dublin 8 and two in Co Kildare), one business premises in Dublin 2 and one professional premises in Dublin 2.
    During the searches, gardaí seized:
    • A 152-registered Audi A6 car
    • A 132-registered BMW series car
    • 3 Rolex watches
    • A Breitling watch
    • Approximately €4,000 in cash
    • Approximately £400 in cash
    • Two electronic weighing scales
    • A pair of runners that cost €550
    • Documents
    In addition to the items seized, in excess of €30,000 held in financial accounts was restrained on foot of orders granted pursuant to Section 17(2) of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering & Terrorist Financing) Act 2010.

30th January
    THE CRIMINAL ASSETS BUREAU has seized a number of items of clothing, watches and cash in a “significant development” into its ongoing investigations into a local organised crime gang in the Dublin 9 area today.
    The search was assisted by officers from the local Detective and Drug Unit along with the Regional Armed Support Unit.
    The items seized included €6,000 in cash, five Canada Goose coats, one Moncler coat and two Rolex watches.

13th February
    THE CRIMINAL ASSETS Bureau (CAB) and members of An Garda Síochána seized cash, cars and other items as part of a search operation in Cork and Tipperary earlier today.
    Searches at 21 locations in county Cork and one location in county Tipperary were conducted in total.
    The search locations included 11 residential dwellings, four business premises, one hotel room and six professional premises (solicitors, accountants, etc).
    During the course of the search, the following was seized:
    • €22,500 in cash
    • 191-registration Renault Kadjar
    • 182-registration Kia Sportage
    • 142-registration Skoda Superb
    • 171-registration Range Rover
    • 162-registration Hyundai Santa Fe
    • 151-registration Volkswagen Passat
    • Two Louis Vuitton bags
    • One Rolex watch
    In addition to this, a small quantity of suspected cocaine and cannabis herb, mobile phones, financial records and business records were seized, and funds were restrained in four different financial accounts.

21st February
    A WHITE MERCEDES Benz and €5,000 in cash were among the items seized by the Criminal Assets Bureau during a raid in Louth linked to a Moldovan gang.
    The raid was carried out by the Criminal Assets Bureau, alongside the Emergency Response Unit and the Revenue Customs Dog Unit, at a residence in Louth this morning.
    An expert property valuation professional also assisted in the raid, during which the €5,000 in cash was seized along with a white AMG Mercedes Benz C200 coupe, with a 171 registration.
    CAB also seized various electronic devices including laptops and mobile phones, as well as assorted documents and banking records.

11th March
    A NUMBER OF luxury items have been seized in a Criminal Assets Bureau raid this morning, carried out across four Dublin locations.
    The items seized include two cars, three bags, four watches, nine jackets and a number of financial and banking documents.
    The primary focus of these searches was a residential property in Crumlin. A second residence was searched in Tallaght, and a further search was conducted at a business premises in Kilmainham.
    “A professional search is also being conducted in the Tallaght area,” a Garda statement said.
    The following assets were seized in those raids:
    • A 162 registered BMW 730D
    • A 151 registered Volvo XC60
    • A Rolex watch
    • A Tag Heuer watch
    • A Breitling watch
    • A Bvlgari watch
    • 3 Canada Goose coats
    • 5 Moncler jackets
    • A Fendi Designer handbag
    • A Michael Kors handbag
    • A Prada jacket
    • A Gucci man bag
    • Documents and paperwork
    • Banking and financial documents
    • Three mobile phones including 1 encrypted phone
    • A computer hard drive.

26th May
    A CAR, WATCHES and a number of other items were seized by the Criminal Assets Bureau (CAB) during a search operation in Meath earlier today.
    CAB officers, assisted by detectives attached to the Garda Meath Division, the Armed Support Unit and the Customs Dog Unit, conducted a search at an address in Co Meath this morning.
    During the course of the operation, the following assets were seized:
    • Audi A7
    • Two Tag Heuer watches
    • One Gucci watch
    • Miniature mobile phone
    • Laptops, mobile phones and documentation

30th June
    CASH IN EXCESS of €1 million has been seized following search operations carried out by the Criminal Assets Bureau (CAB) in Dublin and Wicklow today.
    CAB officers carried out the searches this morning as part of an ongoing intelligence-led operation targeting foreign nationals involved in laundering the proceeds of crime accumulated by Irish-based organised crime groups.
    Today’s operation took place in the Dublin Metropolitan Region and the Wicklow Division.
    Thirteen sites – five business premises and eight residential addresses – were searched during the operation.
    Vehicles, high-value goods and €733,499 in cash were seized. A further €301,594 in funds were frozen in Irish bank accounts.
    Seven people have been arrested for money laundering offences contrary to section seven of the Criminal Justice Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing Act 2010 and are currently being detained at garda stations across Dublin.

9th July
    OVER €66,000 IN cash, two encrypted phones and an Audi car were seized by the Criminal Assets Bureau (CAB) in a Dublin search this morning.
    The CAB held a search operation in the Dublin Metropolitan Region today, during which a residential address in the south of the area and a commercial business in the west were searched.
    This operation yielded the seizure of €66,865 in cash, a 161 Audi Q7 car, two encrypted phones and some documentation.
    The operation was described by gardaí as a “significant development” in an ongoing investigation into cash and other assets gathered by a local organised crime group from the sale and supply of drugs.

11th October
    GARDAÍ HAVE CARRIED out a raid on an amateur football club in Dublin as part of an operation targeting suspected money laundering. Houses, business premises, dental practices and other professional premises were searched during the operation.
    The following items of note were seized:
    • Cash of €13,200
    • €35,921 frozen in a bank account
    • BMW and Ford vehicles
    • Records in relation to a number of significant property transactions

20th October
    THE CRIMINAL ASSETS Bureau (CAB) has conducted a search in south Dublin this morning of what is described as a “single, heavily fortified compound”.
    During the search, 10 motorcycles were seized along with a number of cars and €4,000 in cash.
    It follows on from previous cash discoveries, and gardaí said in a statement that the raid today “marks a significant development in an ongoing money laundering and proceeds of crime investigation”.
    The search was conducted by CAB in conjunction with Crumlin District personnel and supported by the emergency response unit (ERU), air support unit, armed support unit and the Customs dog unit.

11th November
    THE CRIMINAL ASSETS Bureau (Cab) has frozen bank accounts containing over €260,000 as part of two separate investigations today.
    The first investigation relates to contact made to Cab yesterday by a US federal agency investigating a company involved in the illegal manufacture of drugs, contrary to US law.
    The US agency had identified an Irish bank account that was being used to receive funds as part of this crime which was then forwarded to a bank account in another country.
    An investigation was launched by Cab in cooperation with US authorities, and approximately €150,000 was subsequently frozen in an Irish bank account.
    The second investigation is part of Cab’s contribution to Operation Thor, which targets organised crime groups involved in burglaries and thefts across the country.
    Today’s activity is a follow on from an operation on 29 October which saw a BMW, rolex watches, designer clothes and cash seized.

21st November
    GARDAÍ HAVE SEIZED a number of vehicles and stolen goods in searches of a premises in Saggart,Co Dublin.
    The search today was carried out as part of an investigation into an organised crime gang.
    Gardaí from the detective unit in Tallaght garda station conducted these searches with the assistance of colleagues from the Emergency Response Unit, Criminal Assets Bureau, Stolen Motor Vehicle Investigation Unit and the Garda Dog Unit.
    Two cars, a Breitling watch and a crossbow were seized.
    A number of other vehicles and goods seized in earlier searches as part of this investigation include: €3,800 in cash, six cars and three caravans.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,017 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Is “ pure” a bit harder on the nose :) ?