Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings part 4 - Read OP before posting - updated 30/12/23

• Registered Users Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭TheAnalyst_

Which type of phones or secure apps are the usual lads using now?

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭Googleyes

The most highlighted murder of nearly all murders in irelands history, over a year later they end up finding the torso of the young lad buried in shallow ground a stone throw away from the murder scene, highy upsetting for the family, like what where the guards at? Who was in charge of search? Without the key intelligence they received it would of never being found.. massive embarrassment for the guards question needs to be answered, media need to highlight this.

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭Tomtom3105

Gardai believe the torso was buried there within 24 hours of his death.

Crazy like no dogs or nothing picked it up

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Googleyes wrote: »
    The most highlighted murder of nearly all murders in irelands history, over a year later they end up finding the torso of the young lad buried in shallow ground a stone throw away from the murder scene, highy upsetting for the family, like what where the guards at? Who was in charge of search? Without the key intelligence they received it would of never being found.. massive embarrassment for the guards question needs to be answered, media need to highlight this.

Looks like that in hindsight but not so much in real time.
    If you look at the area in Google Maps there is literally hundreds of acres of grass and potential burial spots within half a mile of the estate. There's also hundreds of houses, gardens, garden sheds and cars within the same area.
    Parts of the body ended up in Dublin, who's to say more parts didn't end up there. If it's true that the torso is still not found this sounds like it's literally a small number of body parts in a small hole.

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭Googleyes

Looks like that in hindsight but not so much in real time.
    If you look at the area in Google Maps there is literally hundreds of acres of grass and potential burial spots within half a mile of the estate. There's also hundreds of houses, gardens, garden sheds and cars within the same area.
    Parts of the body ended up in Dublin, who's to say more parts didn't end up there. If it's true that the torso is still not found this sounds like it's literally a small number of body parts in a small hole.

The torso was found literally across the road from the murder House no more that 150metres away theres a walk way the brings you into the estate next door people use it every day, you cudnt make this **** up like!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭markc1184

Googleyes wrote: »
    The torso was found literally across the road from the murder House no more that 150metres away theres a walk way the brings you into the estate next door people use it every day, you cudnt make this **** up like!!!!

And the area was walked and searched by gardai shortly after the murder so if anything was buried then I've no idea how nobody spotted freshly disturbed earth.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 50 ✭✭BensMixed

I would have thought hyperspectral imaging would have been used in the surrounding areas which can pick up on changes in light coming from the soil which would have given them a recent burial location.

• Registered Users Posts: 10 lolsean

Is it true one of the Boylan bros was living in Swords?

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭Thesiger

Bit strange at times the way gangland is reported in this country (and discussed on here). We seem to hear a lot about random youngfellas in places like Coolock and Finglas who plaster themselves all over social media. Media picks up on their online profiles, etc., finds “Kinahan links” or a connection to the “Coolock feud” and blows their significance way out of proportion.

Meanwhile we have a guy here - Charles McClean from Clondalkin - who in the last year has been charged with the murders of Mark Desmond and Thomas McCarthy, and the attempted murder of Wayne Whelan. That’s two heavy hitters and the only Dublin gangland murder of 2020. And we know nothing at all about him. No idea which crew he’s with, what his record is, etc. Despite the fact that he’s clearly (allegedly) a trusted hit-man for some very serious players in Dublin.

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.thesun.ie/news/6051629/charles-mcclean-charged-murder-mark-desmond/amp/

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/amp.rte.ie/amp/1168454/

https://m.sundayworld.com/crime/courts/two-appear-in-court-charged-with-murder-of-dublin-grandad-thomas-mccarthy-40110448.html

• Registered Users Posts: 51,707 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

antics1 wrote: »
    Tell me, is no one else baffled how the guards did not find the torso of that young lad in drogheda until now? As someone said, the field is right beside the house, the most obvious place to bury it. This is a complete embarrassment for guards. Right up there at the top of the tree on their list of **** ups

It was moved several times according to a person close to that scene.
    The guards don’t have to search much at all when someone is giving them the heads up. Modern policing.

• Registered Users Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Speedline

Thesiger wrote: »
    Bit strange at times the way gangland is reported in this country (and discussed on here). We seem to hear a lot about random youngfellas in places like Coolock and Finglas who plaster themselves all over social media. Media picks up on their online profiles, etc., finds “Kinahan links” or a connection to the “Coolock feud” and blows their significance way out of proportion.

Meanwhile we have a guy here - Charles McClean from Rowlagh - who in the last year has been charged with the murders of Mark Desmond and Thomas McCarthy, and the attempted murder of Wayne Whelan. That’s two heavy hitters and the only Dublin gangland murder of 2020. And we know nothing at all about him. No idea which crew he’s with, what his record is, etc. Despite the fact that he’s clearly (allegedly) a trusted hit-man for some very serious players in Dublin.

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.thesun.ie/news/6051629/charles-mcclean-charged-murder-mark-desmond/amp/

https://m.sundayworld.com/crime/courts/two-appear-in-court-charged-with-murder-of-dublin-grandad-thomas-mccarthy-40110448.html

I'm from the area and never heard of him to be fair.

I mentioned a few weeks ago that I knew of another hitman living in the area who wouldn't be well known at all, and I had other posters mocking me on here. In fact the poster claimed there were no hit men left in Dublin at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭PLATOBONG

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/murdered-gangster-robbie-lawlor-personally-23703292

Its easy to lay the blame on a person who is no longer here.

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭Tomtom3105

PLATOBONG wrote: »

They blame him for some amount of stuff in that article, and have loads of ideas about the remains and stuff they know about the movements of these body parts all of a sudden , what happened to the theory he was in a hotel that night on camera why wait til now to give his name up. I know the red tops are ****e but is there any system for fact checking at all there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

markc1184 wrote: »
    And the area was walked and searched by gardai shortly after the murder so if anything was buried then I've no idea how nobody spotted freshly disturbed earth.

That was two or three days after the murder and probably walked by hundreds of people in the following days yet nobody else spotted anything out of place either.

Bear in mind that this now appears to be the torso that has been recovered. A 2ft x 2ft hole would suffice. This is scrubland, so replace the sod, and given the rain at that time, there wouldn't be a whole lot to see.
    At the same time you'd have to wonder how well the area was searched. Given that most of the other parts were scattered in Dublin it wouldn't be a stretch to imagine that the search in this area was pretty routine and not hugely concentrated on finding a body.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Spanish police seize homemade drug smuggling submarine

https://www.rte.ie/news/world/2021/0313/1203780-spain-submarine/

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users Posts: 719 ✭✭✭1968

I don't understand why Eamon Kelly was killed, they said it was retaliation for Ryan but was he ever suspected of involvement? It's said Kelly was an old supporter of the stickies (Official IRA who went on ceasefire in the 70s who the Provos and INLA originated and split off from) which isn't something you'd hear a lot from Dublin gangland figures as most of them probably don't even know who the sticks were (The INLA made a move to eliminate them after their ceasefire but they found out they still had guns and weren't afraid to use them)

Have to disagree. Of course, most Dublin criminals would have been aware of the Official IRA (aka Group B) in the 1970s and 80s. Dublin was a small place, there was an overlap between those involved in robberies and counterfeiting for 'political' reasons (PIRA, OIRA, INLA) and various criminal gangs. There were overlapping friendships between criminals and OIRA members. Others knew each other from being from the same areas or being related through blood or marriage. The OIRA was never a huge organisation in Dublin but were considered strongest in Ballyfermot, Ballymun and the NIC/North Strand. 

Brian Hanley and Scott Millar in The Lost Revolution illustrate that there were connections between criminals and Official IRA members in Dublin going back to the early '70s. Sometimes they worked together, other times the relationship was hostile. They recount that Group B members and the Dunne family had agreed to go on a joint robbery of a major jeweller and split the profits. On the day of the proposed robbery, Group B individuals led by Jim Flynn (shot dead by INLA in 1982) tied up the criminals and did the job on their own. The Dunne's made threats but backed down when shots were fired at one of their houses.

Barber Billy Wright, connected to the IRA pre 1969 and OIRA afterwards, was known to supply criminals with fake wigs and disguises across Dublin. He was shot dead by former OIRA associates in 1975 in Cabra after he was accused of passing on information to the police regarding a robbery in 1973.

Another criminal contact for the OIRA, according to The Lost Revolution, was armed robber Eamon Saurin. He was blamed for the murder of another criminal Christy McAuley in Killester in March 1978.

Eamon Kelly and his brother Matt were definitely connected to the Officials. Eamon took out full-page advertisements every month in Workers Life (WP/Offical magazine) throughout 1981 and 1982. The Lost Revolution says he had a network of about a dozen people who were engaged in armed robberies, counterfeiting and burning properties for insurance claims. There was a huge overlap between Kelly's crew and Group B members in the early '80s.

That working relationship ended in Aug 1984 when Eamon Kelly stabbed Pat Quierney (Ballymun WP member) outside the Officials drinking club (Club Uí Cadhain) in the basement of 28 Gardiner Place. Kelly was charged and sentenced to 10 years. The conviction was quashed following an appeal and reduced to three years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭stingrayed

FBI just issued 2 arrest warrants for the owners of the Sky ECC application, wonder what servers and info they will give up to save their bacon.

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭TruthHurts1

Thesiger wrote: »

Meanwhile we have a guy here - Charles McClean from Clondalkin - who in the last year has been charged with the murders of Mark Desmond and Thomas McCarthy, and the attempted murder of Wayne Whelan. That’s two heavy hitters and the only Dublin gangland murder of 2020. And we know nothing at all about him. No idea which crew he’s with, what his record is, etc. Despite the fact that he’s clearly (allegedly) a trusted hit-man for some very serious players in Dublin.

That's because a lot of what's being discussed here is from contributors who just get their info from following social media accounts or newspapers and as you said that's the kind of lad that's plastering himself all over social media or loving himself appearing in papers.

Any serious criminals won't want that kind of attention. And on another part of your post..... CJ has his own small crew...unlikely to be pulling triggers himself so he's not your hitman... More likely he's a planner and not getting involved on anyone elses behalf but his own

• Registered Users Posts: 43 slowdive74

That's because a lot of what's being discussed here is from contributors who just get their info from following social media accounts or newspapers and as you said that's the kind of lad that's plastering himself all over social media or loving himself appearing in papers.

Any serious criminals won't want that kind of attention. And on another part of your post..... CJ has his own small crew...unlikely to be pulling triggers himself so he's not your hitman... More likely he's a planner and not getting involved on anyone elses behalf but his own

I wonder if that means someone has grassed him up

stingrayed wrote: »
    FBI just issued 2 arrest warrants for the owners of the Sky ECC application, wonder what servers and info they will give up to save their bacon.

Make something up pal , a lil story

• Registered Users Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Paul_Crosby

Gnu ffs

1968 wrote: »
    Have to disagree. Of course, most Dublin criminals would have been aware of the Official IRA (aka Group B) in the 1970s and 80s. Dublin was a small place, there was an overlap between those involved in robberies and counterfeiting for 'political' reasons (PIRA, OIRA, INLA) and various criminal gangs. There were overlapping friendships between criminals and OIRA members. Others knew each other from being from the same areas or being related through blood or marriage. The OIRA was never a huge organisation in Dublin but were considered strongest in Ballyfermot, Ballymun and the NIC/North Strand. 

Brian Hanley and Scott Millar in The Lost Revolution illustrate that there were connections between criminals and Official IRA members in Dublin going back to the early '70s. Sometimes they worked together, other times the relationship was hostile. They recount that Group B members and the Dunne family had agreed to go on a joint robbery of a major jeweller and split the profits. On the day of the proposed robbery, Group B individuals led by Jim Flynn (shot dead by INLA in 1982) tied up the criminals and did the job on their own. The Dunne's made threats but backed down when shots were fired at one of their houses.

Barber Billy Wright, connected to the IRA pre 1969 and OIRA afterwards, was known to supply criminals with fake wigs and disguises across Dublin. He was shot dead by former OIRA associates in 1975 in Cabra after he was accused of passing on information to the police regarding a robbery in 1973.

Another criminal contact for the OIRA, according to The Lost Revolution, was armed robber Eamon Saurin. He was blamed for the murder of another criminal Christy McAuley in Killester in March 1978.

Eamon Kelly and his brother Matt were definitely connected to the Officials. Eamon took out full-page advertisements every month in Workers Life (WP/Offical magazine) throughout 1981 and 1982. The Lost Revolution says he had a network of about a dozen people who were engaged in armed robberies, counterfeiting and burning properties for insurance claims. There was a huge overlap between Kelly's crew and Group B members in the early '80s.

That working relationship ended in Aug 1984 when Eamon Kelly stabbed Pat Quierney (Ballymun WP member) outside the Officials drinking club (Club Uí Cadhain) in the basement of 28 Gardiner Place. Kelly was charged and sentenced to 10 years. The conviction was quashed following an appeal and reduced to three years.

So the Kinahans and Mr Big , flashy and ears would be up to speed on the Irps and the Sticks? You're talking fellas decades ago mate, I said today

Interesting stuff but in no way does that mean Dublin criminals are up to speed with the Officials, they aren't up to speed in Belfast

So the Kinahans and Mr Big , flashy and ears would be up to speed on the Irps and the Sticks? You're talking fellas decades ago mate, I said today

Interesting stuff but in no way does that mean Dublin criminals are up to speed with the Officials, they aren't up to speed in Belfast

We can't even designate the difference between the Ra and RIRA in this thread

• Registered Users Posts: 46 farleyholmes

Flashy and ears are the same person and he barely runs a housing estate at this stage

True but never gets arrested, very strange for such a flashy rat.

sucioguapo wrote: »
    Make something up pal , a lil story

back in ya mobile home hideout Ears, no worries little bit of bedtime reading to keep you going.

https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/news/security/ceo-of-sky-global-encrypted-chat-platform-indicted-by-us/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭theballz

True but never gets arrested, very strange for such a flashy rat.

All his mates inside. His time is coming

Ducking nicknames

We can't even designate the difference between the Ra and RIRA in this thread

Theres little enough point to doing so except for the superfans

For many people drawing a distinction between "career criminals" and "republicans" is likewise redundant tbh

back in ya mobile home hideout Ears, no worries little bit of bedtime reading to keep you going.

https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/news/security/ceo-of-sky-global-encrypted-chat-platform-indicted-by-us/

i bet the thought that u are texting wardy makes u horny , strange man