Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings part 4 - Read OP before posting - updated 30/12/23

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 54 ✭✭Arbuckle

Believe the bloke got pulled over on Friday morning with it in a motor. No inside info on the slashing but doesn't seem to be related.

EDIT: Nah was wrong, was last Sunday morning

Flip sakes, 8 boxes of green he has a bil for best part of 56-65k depending on price.

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭Kaisersosay

The N.I.C was a no go area for many years prior to the Kinahan/Hutch feud, they were dabbling in tablets & heroin on the streets of Dublin & that with impunity & you could see needles lying everywhere, this is a well known fact & should not be brushed aside but should be included as we need to hear both sides of the story but what you see here is that certain posters like G.G keeps on slandering an Irish man’s name that has zero convictions & is residing legally in the emirates not like Taghi who came in on a false passport, still they try to compare him with the likes of Taghi, I know the guy personally & he’s nothing but a good soul, who is perhaps having bad luck with his fathers’s surname but apart from that, D is nothing but gold.

Are you saying that the K.O.C.G. is a figment of the imagination of the Gardai, Interpol and the FBI then?

If you are a SW reader you should know about him as Tallant has written extensively about Taghi in recent months. What is fantasy for you?
    This is all fantasy what the papers report is fantasy, what your posting is fantasy. This is something thay interests people. But let's not make out we know more then we do.

Are you saying that the K.O.C.G. is a figment of the imagination of the Gardai, Interpol and the FBI then?

KOCG is a name afforded to them by a commissioner why regurgitate it.

• Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭GardaGossip

Arbuckle wrote: »
    This is all fantasy what the papers report is fantasy, what your posting is fantasy. This is something thay interests people. But let's not make out we know more then we do.
    So Taghi never flew in on a fake passport no?

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭BoojumBum

You had ideation I my friend have thought it through,as for being immature i can say i have had more life experence good and bad then anybody here.

Oh shut up no ya haven’t more life experience ya waffler, ya come on this forum ranting n raving like a 60 year old man who hasn’t had his hole in 20 odd year, moany eejit

So Taghi never flew in on a fake passport no?

None of us know including you

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Samsonsmasher

Just out of interest.
    I presume all these gangsters watched the likes of Scarface Goodfellas A Bronx Tale Casino The Sopranos Carlitos Way etc etc?
    It always ends badly.
    When you become a professional member of a criminal organization your trajectory is prison a bullet becoming a rat or running off to the other side of the world.
    These guys live in constant fear of being killed.
    What's the appeal?
    Living a safe boring law abiding 9 to 5 life would be better?

Just out of interest.
    I presume all these gangsters watched the likes of Scarface Goodfellas A Bronx Tale Casino The Sopranos Carlitos Way etc etc?
    It always ends badly.
    When you become a professional member of a criminal organization your trajectory is prison a bullet becoming a rat or running off to the other side of the world.
    What's the appeal?

I work 65 hour weeks, mostly in Europe on site. I'd not give it up for the world

Flip sakes, 8 boxes of green he has a bil for best part of 56-65k depending on price.

They put 122k on it. Don't know the youngfella, but heard from a few down that way that he's a dopey ****er way in over his head. For this reason people haven't told him much, but you can be sure what he knows will be said

122k Street yeah. Boxes are coming back between 6500 and 8250. Independent valuer in to inspect the book. Silly boy he's in trouble anyway.

Digging through some stories and remembered about this one. Don't know if it was mentioned before two brothers up for attempted murder on a garda.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/district-court/two-brothers-sent-forward-for-trial-for-attempted-murder-of-garda-1.4327554

Digging through some stories and remembered about this one. Don't know if it was mentioned before two brothers up for attempted murder on a garda.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/district-court/two-brothers-sent-forward-for-trial-for-attempted-murder-of-garda-1.4327554

Yeah little Gavo quinn. I remember that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭stingrayed

john boye wrote: »
    In fairness, The pro Hutch/anti kinahan is a bit much if you're a neutral who just thinks they're all scumbags but trying to paint DK as a victim of a media smear campaign is just as ridiculous.

On this we agree, if you where an honest family, you would have all the news outlets in court for slander, and the DEA also because they have banned the KOCG from the USA.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/lifestyle/arid-31009237.html

stingrayed wrote: »
    On this we agree, if you where an honest family, you would have all the news outlets in court for slander, and the DEA also because they have banned the KOCG from the USA.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/lifestyle/arid-31009237.html

I suggest you check how accurate that is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭stingrayed

I suggest you check how accurate that is?

As accurate as the 3 tons of cocaine seized the other day in Equateur, on its merry way to the UK, and then part of it due to be delivered in Ireland. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭Kaisersosay

Just out of interest.
    It always ends badly.
    What's the appeal?

In order to live the safe boring law abiding life you refer to, you need a few important things like
    1. Some qualifications
    2. A reasonably safe and secure upbringing

I don't think many of those lads you refer to above have either.
    The vast majority are vulnerable.
    There are many reasons they get involved but its not a career choice... its just something to do at the moment. So they drift in to it... make a few quid they never had... get material things they never had... and get used and abused covertly by senior figures.
    The appeal is money and I'd suggest in a lot of cases a perceived sense of being useful and important.

stingrayed wrote: »
    As accurate as the 3 tons of cocaine seized the other day in Equateur, on its merry way to the UK, and then part of it due to be delivered in Ireland. :D

How would you know its destination.

• Registered Users Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Housefree

In order to live the safe boring law abiding life you refer to, you need a few important things like
    1. Some qualifications
    2. A reasonably safe and secure upbringing

I don't think many of those lads you refer to above have either.
    The vast majority are vulnerable.
    There are many reasons they get involved but its not a career choice... its just something to do at the moment. So they drift in to it... make a few quid they never had... get material things they never had... and get used and abused covertly by senior figures.
    The appeal is money and I'd suggest in a lot of cases a perceived sense of being useful and important.

A lot of lower level dealers can make good €€€€ with little to no hassle. Helps to have a good customer base and not run up debts

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭crooked cockney villain

J

To be fair the majority of higher ups get out of the game without having done serious jail time.

Off the top of my head, the only top tier lads who have done serious jail time at the height of their careers would be the Dunnes, Gilligan, Felloni (and he was more a major street dealer than a top tier lad), the Limerick lads, Fat Freddie. While dozens more have been murdered, you can look at it like this- most people currently identified as being top tier lads are aged roughly from their mid 30's to mid 50's. These lads clearly weren't at the very top when cannabis arrived in the 70's, heroin in the 80's, £25 per pill ecstasy in the early 90''s, cocaine becoming widespread a few years later. The lads selling these substances 30- 45 years ago are presumably now in their 70's, and most of them retired very rich men.

To be fair the majority of higher ups get out of the game without having done serious jail time.

Off the top of my head, the only top tier lads who have done serious jail time at the height of their careers would be the Dunnes, Gilligan, Felloni (and he was more a major street dealer than a top tier lad), the Limerick lads, Fat Freddie. While dozens more have been murdered, you can look at it like this- most people currently identified as being top tier lads are aged roughly from their mid 30's to mid 50's. These lads clearly weren't at the very top when cannabis arrived in the 70's, heroin in the 80's, £25 per pill ecstasy in the early 90''s, cocaine becoming widespread a few years later. The lads selling these substances 30- 45 years ago are presumably now in their 70's, and most of them retired very rich men.

The wig, Larry dunne, Ricer, The Husky, pascal Kelly, The list is endless not just a few mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Lord_Slong2

To the lad who mentioned the ‘top’ lads who’ve done time, you’ve missed a few but the sentiment is correct.

Also: mental health isn’t a joke! To any users trying to get some internet points by joking about it, shame on you!

Let’s get the discussion back on track.

The wig, Larry dunne, Ricer, The Husky, pascal Kelly, The list is endless not just a few mate.

Didn't Wig and Rice do their serious time in their 20's? What I mean is, a major drug trafficker in his 30's or 40's being charged with a serious offence and being put away for 10 plus years is nearly unheard of in this country. The higher you climb the less "hands on" you are and the less likely you are to face prison.

The apex, Deco Brady, Moĺloyer, paddy irwin, John troy, Michael tannen. Mate genuinely list is endless.

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭Peepee the knight rider

The greatest risks isnt the guards, it is other ut from dealers . Only for feuds majority of people here and abroad probably wouldn'tbe aware of the amount of "big time" drug dealers and money launderers, gun runners, etc. the traffickers are finding it easier to get drugs to our streets, not harder. And the prison system doesn't really provide much solution to these guys when they get out, as most remain having a feeling of hopeless, and easily sucked back into crime. A nasty wheel that goes round and round. If one is pro drugs, legalise them etc, is a big discussion, so be it, if we against drugs its down to education and attacking the plantation fields were they grown, but again its a revenue there too for poor farmers. Until either occurs, all we can do is watch the wheels turn, crime continues, and the big timers watch over their shoulder while they blossom in gold. This vacuum will always exist, and only be in the public eye when a few cogs in the wheel brake, ie .. a feud.

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭1968

Reading up on Cork. Thought this paragraph in a 2012 article was interesting. It suggests that there is less of a heroin scene in the city because gangs made a decision in the late 70s and 80s not to sell gear?

The Cork drugs lords’ number one product has always been cannabis. Going back to the 1970s and 1980s, when heroin became the scourge of Dublin, the Cork gangs decided they didn’t want the drug on their patch because it caused untold misery and that was bad for their cannabis business.

Today, heroin addicts in Cork have their own supply network. Garda sources indicate that users go to Dublin or Waterford and sell heroin to their friends, thus paying for their habits, which can cost up to €200 a day.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-20207634.html

Is this widely known/accepted?

If there's some truth in that, have things changed in the last 10 years? Article from last year.

"Two men have been charged in connection with the biggest ever heroin seizure in Cork where gardaí recovered three kilos of the drug with an estimated street value of €425,000. Anthony Cuthbert, 57, and Derek Keenan, 42, appeared before a special sitting of Cork District Court today following the drug seizure in Knocknaheeny in the city on Thursday night."

https://www.rte.ie/news/munster/2020/0711/1152723-court-cork/

I believe there's only been six gangland/organised crime-related murders in Cork from 1995 until today. That seems very low for the island's third-biggest city? And of those six, one or possibly two were suspected dealers killed by the Real IRA.

Sherrif St and parallel Mayor Street alone has had six gangland-related murders. Same with some small geographical areas in North and West Dublin. Clondalkin, Blanch, Darndale & Finglas come to mind.

I'm assuming rival gangs just get on better in Cork with each other and don't let feuds develop? And the drugs scene is generally smaller so less likely to fall out? But you obviously can have vicious feuds in small cities e.g. Limerick (20 deaths in eight years, 2002-10).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭trixiebust

trixiebust wrote: »

England generally lets you out after half time served, so 10 years I would imagine, if that.

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭BurnsCarpenter

1968 wrote: »
    Reading up on Cork. Thought this paragraph in a 2012 article was interesting. It suggests that there is less of a heroin scene in the city because gangs made a decision in the late 70s and 80s not to sell gear?

That was widely believed anyway. Never heard of anybody doing heroin when I was growing up in the 90s / early 00s. Apparently local gangs clamped down hard on one or two occasions when someone started trying to sell it.

Regarding feuds - there have been some notable ones alright, e.g. Crinnions and Delaneys. But nothing on the scale of the Limerick or Dublin ones.

1968 wrote: »

The Cork drugs lords’ number one product has always been cannabis. Going back to the 1970s and 1980s, when heroin became the scourge of Dublin, the Cork gangs decided they didn’t want the drug on their patch because it caused untold misery and that was bad for their cannabis business.

I've often wondered if it is a supply issue, that simply there wasn't enough heroin to go around. Would I be right in saying that while heroin was bad in the inner city, Ballyfermot, Finglas and Ballymun in the 80's, it was the 90's before it really took a hold in the newer parts of West Dublin (Clondalkin, Tallaght, Blanch). I remember reading that there wasn't a person charged with supplying heroin in Limerick until 1999, yet the place was awash with other drugs for decades beforehand.

Also, with far less teenagers in Dublin being stupid enough to try the stuff than were doing it 25 years ago, the amount of heroin users will now be in a constant decline, leading the stuff that once was Dublin bound to be sold down the country.

Or maybe in the regional cities/ towns they were afraid of the Provos and had an agreement/ protection to only deal soft drugs, and post Good Friday they no longer feared these lads?

Similar to the issue of heroin and morality that the Examiner article mentions, why is crack only becoming a thing in the last few years, when cocaine has been widely available for decades? Why were, say, the Westies not selling crack 20 years ago? Was the purity of import level kilos too poor until recently to make the stuff?