Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings part 4 - Read OP before posting - updated 30/12/23

• Registered Users Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

Ah come on, that's not fair.

It wasn't him who gave the false info on Flashy a few days back, it was his "sources".

• Registered Users Posts: 6,783 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

And it was him who said that the (unrelated) Jackson’s of Ceder Park are related.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Back on topic please, play the ball not the man.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,340 ✭✭✭Gusser09

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭Captain Fantastic 1984

Of course its all pride. If Rattigan had any cop on at all back at the start he'd have said nothing after the raid in the hotel that time. Instead he called Gavin a rat and so we had the Crumlin/Drimnagh fued. Imagine if he'd have jus taken the hit how big his gang would've gotten. He'd not have spent the next 12 odd years in jail and 17 lives wouldn't have been lost. All for pride and to show himself to be the big man.

I recognised them both straight away having been an avid gangland follower. Coates had a weird grin that I cant put into words. Kinda half charming half frightening. But yes he was definitely the more mannerly and more gentleman of the 2. Sugg was a dick. Plain and simple.

You do realise that if CAB are all over the yard in relation to horses bought with money from the proceeds of crime, it has nothing to do with Gordon??? Hes simply jus the trainer. Hes already had a horse removed a few years ago in relation to the Kinahans and nothing came on him, so I'd say this will be the same situation if it does happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 dublinbrigade

What's your take on the Icelandic lad gone missing lads?

This search operation seems to be taken seriously with the new information.

Hard one to get the head around.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭GavPJ

2 anonymous letters sent to Gardai. I'd say it's just some nut job wasting their time.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 dublinbrigade

Cadaver dog signalled somthing might be in there.

Area dog signalled now sealed off.

• Registered Users Posts: 748 ✭✭✭declanleo

• Registered Users Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Labaik? Great horse when he was arsed...

• Registered Users Posts: 635 ✭✭✭Paul_Crosby

Rattigan was safe for most of the feud, considering the players involved, who was present, and who they'd go on to associate with, that kind of gang pride usually petters out after a few deaths, Crumlin Drimnagh had what most of the deadliest feuds have, drug money at stake

That is also what pretty much caused the Adair / UDA feud, politics and loyalist infighting over the ceasefire was all a cover for , as It was put to Johnnys face when he claimed he wanted "Fresh new leadership for the UDA" (Himself as Supreme commander) "I spoke to your opponents and they say the largest element of this feud is you've been muscling in on their patch" Adair shakes his head and covers the camera at the audacity of the question (hit close to home)

He was threatening their drugs empire and wanted to take it over, and there's always eager hot headed young gunmen waiting to be exploited by that type, especially when they can hand you a wad as thick as a donkeys dick to walk the dogs around the corner

These boys shot up Gusty Spences house, he's pretty much a God of loyalism, without the drug money (and right place right time with the upturn in C Company recruits) Johnny would never have had the influence he did

Johnny was also in jail for the worst of the loyalist feud, got airlifted to Scotland after the Gregg killing when the UDA (many were defected C Company members actually, led by Adairs best mate Mo Courtney, after Courtney found out Adair also wanted him dead) went into his no go stronghold and desecrated it, chasing the rest of C Company out of the estate, once guarded by many armed C Company members (RUC miraculously showed up in time to save Greggs killer from three men with large knives pushing him into a boot)

"What did John Gregg ever do for loyalism apart from nearly kill Gerry Adams"

Actual Johnny Adair quote

Nothing this serious really kicked off over protection rackets, but drugs, that's money worth killing for

Old video with **** quality especially sound, but apart from the cheesy nickname opening (I think he does this on purpose to take the piss) this covers the UDA drug feud up to Greggs killing very well

"It got to the stage where they could "advise" who would live where, you wanted to have a party? Better get permission from C Company"

• Registered Users Posts: 46 smuggled spud

Gregg was just a thug. He became brigadier because he failed to kill someone and because he was able to bully others on the back of that. First thing he did as leader was flood his own areas with drugs. He was more involved in violence with other loyalists . Lost his eye in a fight with a band, killed a UVF over a pub row. Adair was a lot of things but he was right about Gregg .

• Registered Users Posts: 648 ✭✭✭ghostfacekilla

Fred looking like jail is ageing him in today’s Sunday werldid photos.

• Registered Users Posts: 345 ✭✭40supple

Honestly, he looks early 60’s, probably on the Bobby or has the aids

• Registered Users Posts: 648 ✭✭✭ghostfacekilla

They’ll work hard to ensure that he’s in as long as is legally possible. He’s beyond reform. I wouldn’t be surprised if he ends up in a Eugene Cullen style fatality as the body ages coupled with a steady stream of high quality supply and nothing to do with his time. Rattigan was young when he went in. That’s what saved him.

• Registered Users Posts: 25 Brian rattigan analyst

Saw the Sunday world took a few snaps of him at court today. Honestly that man just looks to be pure evil. He must be solely responsible for the most gangland related deaths in the Republic of Ireland . There are a lot of horrible criminals in this country but Fred doesn’t seem to have a single redeeming quality about him. No brains, no charm, not funny, evil and looks like a horrible thing.

i have no doubt Rattigan is just as evil but the man has some charisma and charm people will tell you. Old school psychopaths like Cahil and Gilligan could be funny. Fred really has nothing going on for him.

"First thing he did was flood his areas with drugs" indeed, so what was Adairs motivation to feud with Gregg and want to take control of Rathcoole?? Humanitarian reasons?? Johnnys little crew were house-breaking hoods and John McMichael said either bring them into the UDA or kneecap them, when Special Branch got rid of McMichael (killed by Sean Savage who was also taken care of by the Brits in Gibraltar), the UDA went full Fiefdom war, Johnny Adair wanted to control all of the drugs, Jim Grey was a dirty scumbag who flooded East Belfast with drugs after he and (the real Brigadier) Gary Matthews killed previously in charge serial killer Ned McCreery (Son founded the EDL with Tommy Robinson after the UDA put him out of Belfast), Adair got Grey shot by the LVF at a wake, because Grey was a wanker?? No because Grey was another rival drug dealer, so Adair told Stephen Warnocks family Grey was behind it, and Grey was shot in the face when he turned up to pay condolences at Warnocks house.

The LVF weren't too happy when they found out Adair was leading them down a merry path into a feud they couldn't win, they sent Wreaths and a cortege to Greggs funeral, practically begging for no retaliation for calling for Adairs lies

It was the Red Hand Commandos who shot Warnock on behalf of the UVF

And hey, John Gregg had a sixteen year old kid beaten to death, I'm not going to bat for Gregg of all people, but wasn't shooting Gerry Adams a better reason to become Brigadier than why Andre Shoukri was made Brigadier of North Belfast?? Because he sold drugs with Adair, then Adair got jealous of him and they fell out "What did he do for loyalism except shoot Gerry Adams" is hilarious from a man who almost single handedly destroyed the UDA with his own ego, and also only person he ever shot was that kid they drugged, and started a feud of the Shankill that still affects it twenty years later, UVF members have attacked former C Company members (the ones who denounced Adair and stayed) because they dont forget the time they put their families out at gunpoint, Mo Courtney was nearly killed by a UVF member who spotted him on the Shankill, nearly started another feud

The Shankill feud was so bad they had to let kids out of school at different times and segregate classes, because some children were YCV (Young Citizen Volunteers UVF youth wing) and some were UYM (Ulster Young Militants, UDA youth wing)

Post edited by Paul_Crosby on

The guy who shot Gregg was riding Gina Adair in Bolton too, before getting done for dealing heroin with Johnny Jr (since dead) ah the loyalty

"I've never been convicted of drug dealing, and when C Company shoot marijuana dealers we get vilified by the press" Johnny Adair on allegations of major drug dealing in the Lower Shankill, and the hard time he gets from the establishment

The other pearler was the IRA hitman with the AK47 who shot him in the head at the UB40 concert, he was actually a drug dealer with a wet derringer to protect himself from the IRA who saw Johnny and took a pop but the powder was wet, got shot dead a year later by the IRA, Jim Grey was killed by the UDA. Johnny likes to mention how everybody who tries to kill him ends up dead, implying he's the one behind it, when it was the IRA and UDA who killed them, the ones who wanted Johnny dead too until he ran. And surviving an AK47 bullet to the head, man, "how many people can live to say that???" 😂😂😂 😂

If it wasn't for the murder and mayhem he would be the most hilariously unselfaware egomaniac I've ever seen, including even your Donald Trumps, but then again he seems good at convincing people of bullshit too

Post edited by Paul_Crosby on

• Registered Users Posts: 8,187 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Will any sentence he may get run consecutive to the life sentence he is currently serving?

He speaks about himself in the third person.the Queen and Garth Brooks are the only others I've heard do that. I'm not disagreeing with you on anything. Loyalists with any semblance of political ideals were always sidelined by knuckleheads. Even the fact that Gusty Spence was held in such high esteem shows how low the bar was in their circles. He murdered innocent barmen . I never knew Gregg,but his death and who he was killed by, was good news .

I know you're not really disagreeing mate that's why I'm quick to say I'm not defending that scumbag or saying he was a top operator (he shot himself in the foot, literally) but the quote "What has he done for loyalism except shoot Gerry Adams" especially from Johnny Adair is a golden one, it sums Johnny up perfectly, Johnny was so pathetic he got jealous when Stephen McKeag (the one doing most of the murdering for him, proper and complete sadist, Johnny was more hands off) got a bigger ovation than him from the LVF, just a twisted mind

Spence accidentally burned a protestant woman to death in his first "Operation", word is though he actually quite liked the Stickies and even had a little (secret) pro socialism phase, hey it was called the Progressive Unionist Party after all! But the whole situation around his listing from the UVF is cloudy

C Company shot up Gusty Spences house the day the feud broke out! absolutely nobody else would have gotten away with that, I think the intelligence services had use for Johnny splitting loyalism at that time, it almost went wrong but in the long run Adair got airlifted out, the LVF were neutered, C Company were neutered, dissident loyalists were neutered, and the loyalists can be placated with community restoration money to replace some of the drug dealing and curb any future drug turf battles

there is one going on now ironically of course in John Greggs old Brigade but they basically said **** you to the community money we're just dealing drugs.They aren't even technically a part of the UDA any more. Inevitably, greed, fallout, loyalist drug feud

• Registered Users Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭chicorytip

The advent of drugs changed everything. There was little indictable crime committed in Limerick prior to the mid 1990's. Christy Keane, from St. Mary's Park, was the first to introduce drugs to Limerick. The rest, as they say, is history.

Salient point about Adair being very useful . Just like his hero Wright. Security forces groomed these lads for years. Michael Stone was another, probably through his relationship with John McKeague .

People like David Irvine knew there were agents everywhere causing the collapse of a cohesive voice, especially after the agreement.

Johnny had Gina dress and look like a bloke for a reason

Reminds me of this old belter, when you're so irrelevant you've to chat with stoned hoods just taking the loss out of you then even they get bored

The accents are very broad Belfast with coked up idiots but you get the gist of it in a while, try to note what time they start to get bored listening to him talk about himself

A far cry from the thousands of whooping loyalists and the Deputy Lord Mayor sharing a state with his firing squad

Johnny got away with his life but you can tell without the attention it's been a **** miserable one for him, imagine when your number one fan Tommy Robinson becomes more relevant and richer than you ever were and you literally have not got a single friend left on Earth except maybe your daughter ( and only British State intervention stopped him getting his brains blown out in front of her on a school run, as detailed in a fascinating now deleted article written by the Intelligence agent involved)