Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Covid 19 Part XXI-27,908 in ROI (1,777 deaths) 6,647 in NI (559 deaths)(22/08)Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

But all signs are that we're not moving on and living with it. If they go ahead with opening the schools, we're effectively being told that having 50 people watching a sports game outside is more dangerous than having 30 kids in a classroom. There's no logic or consistency here.

if we don't do something now, and i mean right now, the schools are not opening. not with increasing community transmission and 50-150 cases a day. no school is an absolute disaster across multiple metrics; education, mental health of parents and children alike, the economy. it is the number one priority right now and everything that helps or possibly helps that should be considered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,922 ✭✭✭gifted

Wonder why its Taking a long time for this briefing....

Some ministers are revolting?
    The actions are so bad that the sign writers are refusing to ...sign?
    The Taoiseach is looking for a report on the fundamental situation?
    Some gaa head is slapping ministerial heads with a Hurley?
    They're all supping pints in the bar in Leinster house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭celt262

BENDYBINN wrote: »
    It’s the traveling to matches and the socializing assosiated with matches that’s the problem..

How many more times do you have to be told this?

How do people travel to weddings and do they not socialise at them?

Arghus wrote: »
    Of course they assumed that the virus would still be here in Autumn, but I'm pretty certain that they thought of that as a situation where we'd have sporadic cases popping up every now and again and that we'd have figured out a way to stay on top of it with the minimum of disruption. There's no way they saw hundreds of cases per every couple of days again within about 7-8 weeks and parts of their plan never seeing the light of day. The proof of that was in their behaviour. Leo was just interested in giving us good news for the last month of his reign - we're going to rip through the phases, summer isn't lost etc, etc - and FF were entirely occupied by the own navel gazing for their first few weeks in government. They didn't want to say it, but the crisis was pretty much over as far as our politicians were concerned. They didn't think it was going to be like this going into September.

Our rollling average is stable under 80 per day. And 80 per day now is likely an reasonably accurate assessment of the true number of cases. In march it was a fraction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2020/0805/1157396-limerick-chief-accepts-logic-of-govt-decision-on-crowds/

So I suppose if that applies to 500 people it also applies proportionately to 50 people. Even with a few dozen spectators, there's a chance a group of them from different families will have traveled to the match together in the same car.

Yet you can have 400 on Northern Ireland

That logic hadn't resulted in many cases due to people travelling together or else that would have featured heavily in the media

We have over well over a 1000 members with no cases in my club

Yet for any future matches the max numbers is 24 players and 5 officials

• Registered Users Posts: 706 ✭✭✭tiredblondie

It's a wedding, not essential that it's a celebration with 50 people, could be a registry office gig with handful of people if needed.

I get that, and if it was for people only starting out and planning their wedding then fine - but not for the poor feckers getting married this week or next!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

Just heard 30 more cases in local factory( not 100% on this atm)

• Registered Users Posts: 372 ✭✭Jimi H

Will wait and see what is announced, although the Screenshot above gives an indication.

I just hope they justify their decisions by saying we are stopping sports attendance because...
    We are retaining weddings and religious services because....
    And so on.

But I have to say I am so far very disappointed in the new Gov. They appear to be running around like headless chickens.

Exactly. We’ll see what they say but feels like they may be going hard on easy targets and watering down other restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,665 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

What do people think the government can do to prevent people having house parties? People saying "yeah, but house parties!" The government really can't do anything about this, unless you want to live in a complete police state. They only apply measures to what's in their control.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,302 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

It’s the traveling to matches and the socializing assosiated with matches that’s the problem..

But yet 50 people can go to mass, an older demographic and how do they travel to mass ?

Weddings of 50, people don't travel to them alone.

Same logic applies to anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Will wait and see what is announced, although the Screenshot above gives an indication.
    List is still there: https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0818/1159815-covid-19-blog/

Mass and weddings being allowed to go ahead really does smell of FF trying not to annoy their core vote.

One could argue perhaps weddings are being protected to protect the businesses who supply them.

But overall it makes it all sound really ramshackle, and worst of all confusing.

Clear guidelines with clear purpose are what is needed. Cherry-picked restrictions with no obvious pattern will just make people ignore them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

It's a wedding, not essential that it's a celebration with 50 people, could be a registry office gig with handful of people if needed.

I'm guessing your single and don't have a woman telling you this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,676 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

What do people think the government can do to prevent people having house parties? People saying "yeah, but house parties!" The government really can't do anything about this, unless you want to live in a complete police state. They only apply measures to what's in their control.
    House parties are far from the big problem here. Week before last Glynn said house parties hadn't had a case in 2 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,974 ✭✭✭spookwoman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Patser

Looks like seasons will be stopped again yes, the 200 included players, thats now to be 15.

Yeah, was wondering that - will this be the end of all training too. Even with kids/teams working in pods of 15 will more than 1 pod at a time rule out training.

Rugby 7s will have a great time though - even space for a ref

• Registered Users Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

Are they waiting to for today's numbers before they hold the presser......?

:O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭Roger the cabin boy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

We had thousands marching with no marked increase, and support from all political parties.

This limit of 15 seems excessive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,552 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

niallo27 wrote: »
    I'm guessing your single and don't have a woman telling you this.

Yes, lol. Drive thru wedding for me.

Our rollling average is stable under 80 per day. And 80 per day now is likely an reasonably accurate assessment of the true number of cases. In march it was a fraction.

I don't think having 80 per day you're going to stay stable for too long.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,230 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Aye, a problem normally not associated with weddings I've been told :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,657 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

froog wrote: »
    if we don't do something now, and i mean right now, the schools are not opening. not with increasing community transmission and 50-150 cases a day. no school is an absolute disaster across multiple metrics; education, mental health of parents and children alike, the economy. it is the number one priority right now and everything that helps or possibly helps that should be considered.

By the logic being used at the moment by government, the schools should not open. If it's unsafe to have a few spectators outdoors at a social event, or have more than 6 people in a house, then it's absolutely unsafe to have 30 kids in a classroom. Mental health and the economy don't seem to be considered too much when it comes to other restrictions, why should schools be any different?

This is the kind of inconsistent logic that's frustrating people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

interesting. you'd swear it was an outright singular attack on the GAA by some of the posts here.

I play GAA to a very good standard all my life and not getting the outrage. I've opted out this year and my opinion is it should never have went back at club level as it falls down the pecking order of what is really important.

Schools resuming is far more important for example.

Do they not realise that having sport and such gets people out of the house and is a deterrent for parties? I could've gone to 5-6 in the past 3-4 weeks but simply couldn't due to matches. They're only going to get bigger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,685 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

spookwoman wrote: »

That reads like a police state with guards telling you what you can do in your home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

gifted wrote: »
    Wonder why its Taking a long time for this briefing....

Some ministers are revolting?
    The actions are so bad that the sign writers are refusing to ...sign?
    The Taoiseach is looking for a report on the fundamental situation?
    Some gaa head is slapping ministerial heads with a Hurley?
    They're all supping pints in the bar in Leinster house?

Big Numbers first then speech I would say

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

At the start, the virus was unprecedented so we acted quickly, doing things that would curb the spread and lower transmission.

Now we have a precedent for taking actions that curb the spread. However those actions upset the wrong people. These are vested interests, voters and the workforce.

Businesses have separate rules, as the clusters detected don't seem to come from them, although I would highlight that between one third and one fifth of cases are community transmission.

Office staff are now meant to go back to working from home.

Weddings are still permitted with fifty people allowed. This is another form of business, hospitality industry.

Outdoor events are only allowed fifteen people (down from 200) even though there is little or nothing to suggest that they account for any transmission.

6 people from 3 households can gather in private homes. Not sure if there's a time limit on that. Generally close contact of 2 metres for 15 minutes is regarded as a risk, although in some settings this is not required.

Pubs and restaurant visits restricted to 105 minutes with social distancing (1m?) between tables.

Meat plants and other factories involved in food production, the main source of virus transmission for the past month, are open with little oversight and there is no firm guidance or research on the safety of groceries, especially on washing down shopping or safe storage and consumption of food that doesn't require cooking (deli meats, etc).

Schools will be reopening in a week's time with thousands of people from different households mixing indoors, close quarters, poor ventilation, inadequate sanitation facilities with children engaging in unpredictable behaviours for 6+ hours. Schools will not necessarily close if there is an outbreak in them and although 25% of the workforce are high risk, only the "extremely high risk" (I heard a figure of 2% quoted at the start) are permitted to give support working from home. No online provision has been made.

Previous CMO left during a very contentious period, under the pretext of family circumstances, when he wanted to take measures to prevent this current outbreak from happening. Current CMO is being slated in leaks from "senior government sources" as personally wanting to impose "draconian" measures.

This will be heralded in the history books as the most frustrating time to have even the remotest grasp of the subtext and agendas at play in public health decisions.

Announcement was meant to be at 3, delayed now supposedly until 7 but leaks are being drip fed all day, putting out feelers to see what the plebs want so they can retract that later. There have been around 300 cases across the previous four days and tomorrow it will be a week since the last biweekly press conference, at a time when there are higher figures than anything we've seen since the previous wave, where after a couple of weeks people started dying in large numbers.

Oh yeah and there are loads of clusters in nursing homes again. Did I forget anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Any link to the press conference online? I dont have the Irish channels on my TV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Some people would absolutely be happy to live in a police state if it is sold to them under the guise of "covid measures". That much is obvious from some of the posts here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

They're taking their time with this conference. No doubt some speechwriter is trying to spin all these things into a positive.

I’ve just finished MM speech:

“ In less than an hour GAA and soccer clubs from here will join others from around the world. And we will be launching the largest non spectator championships in this history of mankind.

Mankind -- that word should have new meaning for all of us today.

We can't be consumed by our petty differences anymore.

We will be united in our common interests.

We will not go quietly into the night!

We will not vanish without a fight!

We're going to live on!

We're going to survive!

And by Jesus we will lock Up every man , woman and child before we don’t open up the schools at the end of Month”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭thecomedian

House parties are far from the big problem here. Week before last Glynn said house parties hadn't had a case in 2 weeks.

That’s going to change... I’ve heard of one where a lot from it are being tested.
    I’d say they will be highlighting it soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

How do people accept these things without questioning them?

Why in god's name is the government trying to directly police people going to matches in the same car? When people do something else with their day instead, how do they think they are going to travel? Most people travelling together would be the same household anyway.

And where are they congregating after matches? That's just stupidity.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

Hopefully the announcement about reducing the indoor gatherings numbers will be accompanied by giving Gardaí extra enforcement powers to break up house parties etc, that are a huge part of the cause of the rise in new cases.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

By the logic being used at the moment by government, the schools should not open. If it's unsafe to have a few spectators outdoors at a social event, or have more than 6 people in a house, then it's absolutely unsafe to have 30 kids in a classroom. Mental health and the economy don't seem to be considered too much when it comes to other restrictions, why should schools be any different?

This is the kind of inconsistent logic that's frustrating people.

there are obvious risks with schools but we need to try. they are much more important than live sport attendance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

What do people think the government can do to prevent people having house parties?
    I think a fine of a thousand euros for the owner of a property if a Garda finds more than the allowed number at the location would sort this out quickly.

Drumpot wrote: »
    I’ve just finished MM speech:

“ In less than an GAA and soccer clubs from here will join others from around the world. And we will be launching the largest non spectator championships in this history of mankind.

Mankind -- that word should have new meaning for all of us today.

We can't be consumed by our petty differences anymore.

We will be united in our common interests.

We will not go quietly into the night!

We will not vanish without a fight!

We're going to live on!

We're going to survive!

And by Jesus we will die before we don’t open up the schools at the end of Month”

But tonight I say, we must move forward, not backward; upward, not forward; and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,654 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

What's the start time for the conference?

Hopefully the announcement about reducing the indoor gatherings numbers will be accompanied by giving Gardaí extra enforcement powers to break up house parties etc, that are a huge part of the cause of the rise in new cases.
    Do you have a source for that?

M

Big Numbers first then speech I would say

They will need about 180 to set the scene. Perhaps the calls to Liveline yesterday with people waiting 4 or 5 days with no sign of their test results will get them today.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

Do they not realise that having sport and such gets people out of the house and is a deterrent for parties? I could've gone to 5-6 in the past 3-4 weeks but simply couldn't due to matches. They're only going to get bigger.

Friends of mine are only ever off the drink for the football but when there's no championship, they're off the rails.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,230 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

How do people accept these things without questioning them?

Why in god's name is the government trying to directly police people going to matches in the same car? When people do something else with their day instead, how do they think they are going to travel? Most people travelling together would be the same household anyway.

And where are they congregating after matches? That's just stupidity.

It's alright, BendyBinn has a direct line to the cabinet and is here to explain it away.

Just er... don't ask him about the wedding exemption, he won't respond. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,745 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Don't think I've seen factories mentioned in a single one of these leaks

Any link to the press conference online? I dont have the Irish channels on my TV

Rte news online

Did he say that? I guess we'll have to assume that everyone in contact with the tracing system is being 100% truthful at all times so. I'm sure no one lies about being at a house party in those instances.

there are obvious risks with schools but we need to try. they are much more important than live sport attendance.

They're more important but they're also a much higher risk. Both importance and risk should be taken into account when making these decisions.

GooglePlus wrote: »
    Friends of mine are only ever off the drink for the football but when there's no championship, they're off the rails.
    I and my teammates only ever take a drinking ban seriously during championship season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

s1ippy wrote: »
    Did I forget anything?

Clayton Pearse Street.

M

Or have something as crazy as unannounced visits to meat factories.

They will need about 180 to set the scene. Perhaps the calls to Liveline yesterday with people waiting 4 or 5 days with no sign of their test results will get them today.

I'm thinking much higher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Rte news online

I was looking for a direct link, Is that RTE Player? Its ****e, rarely works for me.