Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Covid 19 Part XXI-27,908 in ROI (1,777 deaths) 6,647 in NI (559 deaths)(22/08)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,551 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

And we're live...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭Morrison J

But why outdoor sporting events?? Why not close restaurants then? Why not close everything except work and schools? There is no sense in that decision.

Closing restaurants does far more damage to the economy than putting a few amateur sports matches behind closed doors. It's basic risk management stuff. Probably is a bit OTT but I'd rather they stick on that side of things to ensure schools open than do the opposite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Bananaleaf

JeffKenna wrote: »
    Strange, weddings are ok but not outdoor sports events.

And stranger again that schools of up to 1000 will be opening up en masse next week.

Talk about p1ssing in the wind

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Here’s Mehole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Useless Martin now speaking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,843 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

froog wrote: »
    why would they do that?

Because they have a report of a party, because they have the wrong house, life is not blank and white, they should always need a warrent or things can become mess real quick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

ForestFire wrote: »
    Few Quick questions on the outdoor indoor events restrictions, for the teams that participate and train:-

1) Can outdoor teams train with more than 15 players? GAA, Soccer etc.. How can they oplay a match if there are 30 players on the field?

2) Can indoor teams train with more than 6?

3) Can Gyms have more than 6 people in at a time

4) Can swimming pools have more than 6 people at a time?

5) Can tourist attraction have more than 6/15 people at a time, eg. Guinness store house (6), Bunratty, Kylemore (15) etc.
    They should all be fine. The outside numbers are just to do with spectators and the other places have their own rules already. It's all about the bigger social gatherings, except weddings of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

anyway, i don't about you guys but i've been in dozens of house parties over the years that were visited by guards after complaints. and they entered the house numerous times.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

Press conference just starting now. MM about to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,665 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

nocoverart wrote: »
    This place is just the same few names debating the same tired arguments, be better off moving it to a WhatsApp group lads and close this sh1t down.

We're like a big dysfunctional family at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DevilsHaircut

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Some people would absolutely be happy to live in a police state if it is sold to them under the guise of "covid measures". That much is obvious from some of the posts here.

Are you still in Las Vegas?

Wouldn't want to get on the wrong side of the cops there, I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,327 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Here we go with the presser.....Ah MM I forgot you were in charge, he has gone missing bar bumping elbows with Boris (not a sexual metaphor)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭yawhat?

MOR316 wrote: »
    Poor ACE

Spends his time on here, giving out numbers and information most of us on here are either too stupid to understand or too lazy to get ourselves...And he gets abuse in return from the same people who feed off the information he provides.

.......while claiming a ban on spectators will effectively stop all local GAA and Soccer matches, and implying he will use physical force to prevent Gardaí with a warrant from entering his house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭el Fenomeno

Nick Nolte with the sign language in the back

M

It wasn't a Dublin bar, it was a Dublin restaurant, get the basics right.

it's unbelievable how bad a speaker martin is. was he always this bad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Tone is stark...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭yawhat?

growleaves wrote: »
    Who needs a society with a fabric anyway? Lets burn it all down for the crack, 0 deaths a day is unacceptable

Can we get a grip here lads. Talk about over reacting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,232 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

MOR316 wrote: »
    Would that not break the rules of social distancing and indoor gatherings then no?

They could lift you on that alone. Be funny if you were carted away in shackles :D

With all due respect,that's a stupid question and comment.I'm sure common sense would be used.

M

Until the vaccine...go back and live in your caves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,657 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

It wasn't a Dublin bar, it was a Dublin restaurant, get the basics right.

He managed to call that out specifically but not the factories. Gobshíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Anywhere on YouTube to watch this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Hiding being NPHET again

Following advice from NPHET

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

I hope the Gardai have those enforcement powers from this evening or at the latest midnight tonight, and not next week or later.

How exactly could they have? Seriously, we dont live in a police state

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

He’s just so bad at speaking, I wouldn’t trust him with my goldfish

• Registered Users Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭MOR316

Closing time of 11:30pm for bars?

Nice to have that half hour back. Extra stout :D

He's bad enough to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,232 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭innuendo141

"Continue to work from home where possible" is a bit vague for places that have already brought people back full time, no? No idea how my place will interpret that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,327 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

pc7 wrote: »
    He sounds like he is rushing through it...he is not a good public speaker

pc7 wrote: »

He can't even read the script FFS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

Oranage2 wrote: »

"Rte news live"

With all due respect,that's a stupid question and comment.I'm sure common sense would be used.

With all due respect, you're not familiar with sarcasm and taking the piss, are you?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

A whole lot of nothing really after all the hype over the last 24 hours.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭kevin12345

Does this mean cinemas, gyms etc. have to close until September 13th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Bananaleaf wrote: »
    And stranger again that schools of up to 1000 will be opening up en masse next week.

Talk about p1ssing in the wind
    A functioning education system is a sign of a functioning country.

Am I right in thinking that they've actually extended the opening hours of "restaurants" by a half hour.

"Sawwwrcrifice"

:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Arghus wrote: »
    Am I right in thinking that they've actually extended the opening hours of "restaurants" by a half hour.

Correct. Bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,485 ✭✭✭harr

Still only asking bar and restaurants to comply , no new powers for guards yet .. “ will consider implementing new powers “

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,685 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Arghus wrote: »

Yeah, weird

• Registered Users Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

190 new cases as per Stephen Donnelly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,662 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Where is he getting 2300 from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

MM including Northern Ireland’s death figures along with our own. Why?

Dramatic affect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Lash in the NI numbers there for added drama

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭alroley

190 new cases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,860 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Powerful stuff from an Taoiseach

I’ve been critical but I have to give it to him, he’s more in control now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,290 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Did they just close gyms again

190 new cases