Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Covid 19 Part XXI-27,908 in ROI (1,777 deaths) 6,647 in NI (559 deaths)(22/08)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,676 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

190 cases “today”, do they think we’re all thick :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Still in a population of of 5 million we have tiny figures in hospital with Covid, 21 last week, what are the current figures?. The whole idea of flattening the curve was achieved, is the focus now on detected cases rather than hospital admissions?
    Meanwhile in Wuhan, they're clear and having pool parties....https://edition.cnn.com/2020/08/18/asia/wuhan-water-park-party-intl-hnk/index.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Where is he getting 2300 from?

Only said to put fear into people. Less than 1700 have died in the republic, a very small amount when compared to the population. Most of the 1700 or so were vulnerable old people who died in care homes and hospitals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

I'm gonna presume no deaths today, they would have mentioned it if any

Should deaths not of gone back up by now? or perhaps because younger people are the majority of people catching it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,621 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Am I right in saying the only actual concrete change is that sporting events take place behind closed doors and all the other things announced are either in place already or completely ambiguous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Arghus wrote: »
    No Leo. Interesting that he's not there when there's bad news to be doled out.

He was probably cognisant of the fact he is no the Teeshock. Martin gets the make the big speeches now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,259 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Well, at least we aren't under the leadership of someone who makes unnecessary journeys to attend a terrorists funeral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

190 cases “today”, do they think we’re all thick :D

We’re all idiots!!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Has to be the first one of these I’ve been cracking up laughing at, it’s just so fooking bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Tandey

Leo is a spin merchant. He lost me and plenty of my friends and family the very second he started his bullsh1te fun and games about quoting movies. Absolute clown

This is a bigger clown.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/election-2020-miche%25C3%25A1l-martin-rules-out-fianna-f%25C3%25A1il-fine-gael-grand-coalition-1.4149063%3Fmode%3Damp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,974 ✭✭✭spookwoman

lol the 200 the other day was a "backlog" and today it's a government conspiracy. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,327 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

shipposter wrote: »
    And a gay bar at that
    Huh?
    Berlin isn't a gay bar....what odds does it make anyway?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,320 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Is he a bit drunk?

Smirking all the way through his "Speech"
    Seems like he's just delighted to be allowed join the grown ups
    Absolute bollix of the worst order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

Powerful stuff from an Taoiseach

I’ve been critical but I have to give it to him, he’s more in control now

Really?are you being sarcastic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,859 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

He was probably cognisant of the fact he is no the Teeshock. Martin gets the make the big speeches now.

Leo stage left furiously trying to shoehorn quotes from American pie or not another teen movie into his script - clown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

Am I right in saying the only actual concrete change is that sporting events take place behind closed doors and all the other things announced are either in place already or completely ambiguous

Got an extra half hour to drink pints too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭The Unbearables

190. Absolutely terrible. Government is stepping up. Great to see.

• Registered Users Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Jenna James

He can barely string a sentence together. So embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,485 ✭✭✭harr

screamer wrote: »
    Held back or not, our average over the past week is not good at all and should frighten us enough to cop on and double down the effort to minimise transmission
    Wrong people getting punished .. not one mention of meat plants all about socialising when a lot of the current cases materialised in factories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Dunno why people make a song and dance about daily numbers - it's Tuesday it the big number day. the rolling average is the best stat to look at.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Hes like a vice principal of a Midlands secondary school
    You've got the "progressive suburban" principal from Cork, the "totes amazeballs" urban one who couldn't distinguish a field if he was told to paraglide into it... It's only fair that there was a midlife crisis also being represented in the holy trinity of stooges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Humberto Salazar

Going to drag on for years, I'm warning you now.

Powerful stuff from an Taoiseach

I’ve been critical but I have to give it to him, he’s more in control now

He's making the position his own.

Leadership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,621 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

The Master wrote: »
    Smirking all the way through his "Speech"
    Seems like he's just delighted to be allowed join the grown ups
    Absolute bollix of the worst order

Why can’t they just give us facts.
    Simple facts and rules and not repeated rhetoric because of their desire to be on camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Marty Bird

Where is he getting 2300 from?

I thought I heard that wrong where did that come from ?

🌞6.02kWp⚡️3.01kWp South/East⚡️3.01kWp West

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,838 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

So that's 6 people inside and outside? Is that 6 in addition to household or total?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Wheels have come off the response. We were plodding along grand and then state departments didn't bother their holes doing their job and some of the public got wreckless.

Need to learn from this and go back a couple of phases for a month ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,542 ✭✭✭JTMan

"Continue to work from home where possible" is a bit vague for places that have already brought people back full time, no? No idea how my place will interpret that.

Your office needs to re-close and resume work from home unless the activity cannot be performed from home and is "absolutely necessary".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭Tippex

Tandey wrote: »

He looked at it as his only chance to be Taoiseach realistically there was no other chance of him being Taoiseach (totally self-serving and a total joke)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Going to drag on for years, I'm warning you now.

Thanks Nostradamus what’s the lotto numbers for tomorrow night.

MM much more polished and in control now. I feel like I judged him too harshly too early. Now more statesmanlike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Marty Bird wrote: »

All Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Island of Ireland

Crap way of using that figure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,685 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Hopefully a journalist challenges him on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Weddings good with up to 50 people, outdoor sport bad.

Jokeshop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,551 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

This is going to turn in to a car crash.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 Oglaigh84

shipposter wrote: »
    And a gay bar at that

Its not a gay bar...and even if it was??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,657 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

"On this island". He's including the North as well. Feck knows why.

spookwoman wrote: »
    lol the 200 the other day was a "backlog" and today it's a government conspiracy. :rolleyes:

Tin foiling on this thread is epic.

Gubbbbbbbbbbbberments fault....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,665 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Martin getting snippy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

harr wrote: »
    Wrong people getting punished .. not one mention of meat plants all about socialising when a lot of the current cases materialised in factories.
    Meat plants can and should be controlled. Socialising is harder to get a handle on.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Tandey

He's making the position his own.

Leadership.

In what way is he making the position his own?

Berlin is sort of a hipster dive bar. All persuasions welcome. As it should be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

MM much more polished and in control now. I feel like I judged him too harshly too early. Now more statesmanlike

You can keep repeating it all you want. Nobody is buying it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,259 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Is 2300 the death number of North and South combined?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭An Ciarraioch

At least your party allegiances are out in the open.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Eod100 wrote: »
    So that's 6 people inside and outside? Is that 6 in addition to household or total?
    Two people each from three separate households need to rent a separate property to congregate.

If more than six people currently live in a house the additional members need to move out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭touts

Exercise Individual Judgement.

Well **** that anyway. It's pretty clear that 99% of people are exercising individual judgement very well but the 1% have been acting the bollix and we need to force them into line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Mr rebel

Virgin Media News with their dodgy ticker again;
    “Public transport should be avoided”
    The Taoiseach only said that older people should reduce public transport usage, didn’t say anything about the general public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,480 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Seems all these new measures are ''all talk'' I see nothing new

Nothing has been announced that will effect the spread that is going on, nothing.

Use public transport only if you need?????? Does he really believe people have nothing better to do that jot ride around on public transport?????????
    WTF

All those joy rider !! You're banned, if you want, up to you really.